Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2019, 08:57:26 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 [285] 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256101 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 07:43:29 PM
 #5681

For planning purposes ... Can you tell us what order number you are currently shipping and when you expect to ship the balance of the Aug GB units?

Suggestion:  In the order status, how about putting an "anticipated ship date"
or something on the website, "currently shipping order #"
I really like this.  Why don't we have a counter: 124/1200 out the door on 08/15/14

Is there any official date for when the RoadStress group buy units are shipping to the hosting facility?

I understand how painful it is to wait for ordered miners, but I am sure spondoolies is producing a quality product as fast as possible.
We all appreciate this thanks.  However, that doesn't preclude them from publishing some estimations about where they are and where they expect to be at the end of the week.  We are trying to make serious plans which are contingent upon these arriving.  Open ended: after Aug 15th really screws our ability to operate with efficiency.  ST knows when that group buy will begin to ship and approximately how many units per week are possible.  Thus, they could be giving some pretty good guesses now as to where we all are.

Silence is KnC's trademark.  ST doesn't need to use their playbook.

Let have some progress reports - even if they are not 100%

Our margins are REALLY thin.  In part this is due to a reduced hash rate.  Careful planning is essential to squeeze out a tiny profit.  I'll miss this tiny profit if I don't have the information which ST clearly knows.  Why can't they just give us a better update on where we are and where we expect to be at the end of the next week?  I'll end up paying an extra month rent if I don't get this right.


Very well said

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
1563915446
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563915446

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563915446
Reply with quote  #2

1563915446
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563915446
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563915446

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563915446
Reply with quote  #2

1563915446
Report to moderator
1563915446
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563915446

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563915446
Reply with quote  #2

1563915446
Report to moderator
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1254



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 08:25:59 PM
 #5682

Can someone from spondoolies tell me whats going on with my hosted units? Order #1125

http://eligius.st/~wizkid057/newstats/userstats.php/1P19DeFn9dSkvv3d23y3BRJmmabTQiYHym

https://upload.robert-hager.at/uploads/static/eligius.PNG

 I am fine with this spikes as long as they level out, but it would be interesting what causes it? Especially would be interesting how three SP30 do 17 TH's ?  Grin

We're compensating you for a unit down time.
We'll replace your hosted unit with another units early next week, after production. One of your unit has issues.

With all due respect, I do have some doubts about that program which pushes PSU to the actual limit through repeated shutdowns.
Could it be the culprit? Perhaps, it is better to limit power to 1300 or even 1250W?
It is not worth a few extra GH if it significantly increases the PSU failure rate (for the purposes of argument- I don't know if this is true or not).
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 09:44:52 PM
 #5683


With all due respect, I do have some doubts about that program which pushes PSU to the actual limit through repeated shutdowns.
Could it be the culprit? Perhaps, it is better to limit power to 1300 or even 1250W?
It is not worth a few extra GH if it significantly increases the PSU failure rate (for the purposes of argument- I don't know if this is true or not).

I think the algorithm is pretty awesome. I think it would be awesomer if it had a temperature coefficient built in, of course, but it's still pretty great.

I'm an electrical engineer. I've made consumer hardware devices before. Sometimes they fail. Sometimes when they fail, it's a design error. Usually, it's a manufacturing error. I'd say the chances are pretty good that something wasn't soldered properly, or there was a capacitor that blew, or a fan locked up, something like that. My expectation is that about 80% of the failures Spondoolies gets would have happened even at 1250W. I could be wrong, though.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 09:54:24 PM
 #5684

By the way, here's a little mod to SP10s and SP30s to improve the graphs. This changes the graphs so that they don't start the vertical axis at 0, and instead start it at something close to the lowest hashrate observed by the unit. This makes it much easier to see what's going on in detail.

First, enable SSH access via the WebUI if you haven't already. You'll probably need to create a password. Then:

Code:
ssh root@[your miner's local IP address]
[your password]
vi /etc/cron.d/RECORDHashrate
Next, use the arrow keys to scroll down to around line 60, to the line that says
Code:
        "--lower=0",
and press 'i' (to go into 'insert' mode in vi). Add a # sign at the beginning of the line, so it says
Code:
#        "--lower=0",
and then press ESC (to leave insert mode), then type ':w' and enter (without quotes, to write to disk), then ':q' and enter, and you're done! Graphs should update with the new vertical axis in a few minutes, or you can type
Code:
/etc/cron.d/RECORDHashrate
to make it update immediately. Type "exit" (enter) to quit the SSH session.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 09:57:54 PM
 #5685

Sorry for the repeated question SP TECH, but I need to make a decision.   
I have 208V power (three phase 460 transformed to 208V).   Your post about SP30 having a programmed cutoff at 210, is that a hard number?   Will 208V see lower results?   If so, how much lower?   I can re-tap each of the transformer windings to get it up to 220V, but there is a cost to that and I need to figure out if it is worth it.
Zvisha will reply on Sunday.

208 is a bit low, and might have some small performance impact (~2%) - it really depends on exact voltage.
We will investigate next week to see if we can improve that.
bobsag3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500

Owner, Minersource.net


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 10:19:52 PM
 #5686

Sorry for the repeated question SP TECH, but I need to make a decision.   
I have 208V power (three phase 460 transformed to 208V).   Your post about SP30 having a programmed cutoff at 210, is that a hard number?   Will 208V see lower results?   If so, how much lower?   I can re-tap each of the transformer windings to get it up to 220V, but there is a cost to that and I need to figure out if it is worth it.
Zvisha will reply on Sunday.

208 is a bit low, and might have some small performance impact (~2%) - it really depends on exact voltage.
We will investigate next week to see if we can improve that.

My Units are not showing any noticeable impact on 208, Im happy to let you remote in and play with the settings if that will help Smiley
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 10:47:25 PM
 #5687

208 is a bit low, and might have some small performance impact (~2%) - it really depends on exact voltage.
We will investigate next week to see if we can improve that.

My Units are not showing any noticeable impact on 208, Im happy to let you remote in and play with the settings if that will help Smiley

2% is a little difficult to notice.

I think my SP30 might be running a little bit faster now on 260V than when it was doing burn-in in Israel (probably at 230V). The difference looks like about 1-2%, if it's not just my imagination. That might just be due to tweaking or a firmware update, though. I doubt it's due to cooler temperatures, because 93% of my datacenter's cooling equipment is still offline and we're running at 27°C intakes.

One of these days, I'll have to figure out the format for /mnt/mmc-config/rrd/hashrate.rrd so I can actually compute the numbers instead of guesstimating from the graphs...

In other news, the performance of my SP30 seems to vary by roughly 8 GH/s per 1°C difference in intake temperature. Last evening, when intake temps were around 22°C, I was getting around 4530 GH/s out of my SP30, but now, with intake around 28°C, I'm getting around 4485 GH/s. I'm looking forward to summer ending and improving our cooling.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
hashfastisawesome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 11:28:08 PM
 #5688

I've successfully migrated our SP30s over to our 258V supply. Performance is up.

Device ID     Hashrate (cgminer)      AC power usage     Top PSU lim (DC)Bot PSU lim     J/GH
Mine    4527 GH/s3024 W136213670.668
Wanna14476 GH/s2928 W134513510.654
Wanna24459 GH/s2960 W134413470.663
Wanna34470 GH/s2992 W134913490.669

Thank you for the review. It seems that the competition is spreading lies about SP30 power consumption.

If you are talking about the knc newsletter, it is badly researched.

Quote
0,57 J/GH - KNC Neptune - 1950 watts at 3400 GH/s (reported average)
0,62 J/GH - Bitfury BF3500 - 2200 watts, 3500 GH/s (stated, unconfirmed)
0,76 J/GH - Spondoolies SP30 - 3200 watts at 4200 GH/s (reported average)

It also claims bitfury be 3500 does 0.62J/GH, which not even bitfury themsleves claim (it is ~0.775)
Edit:
Most of the reports I've seen of the 20nm competition are over 0.6 W/GHs
We're overclocking the extreme slow corners 28nm ASICs we got. The power ratio for October units will be 0.55 W/GHs

For those of you who don't understand semiconductors: You do not get multi lots and multiple wafers of an "EXTREMELY SLOW CORNER." Stop letting Guy take advantage of your lack of knowledge. Given the orders which they have in the pipe and what they have communicated, I would guess there are AT LEAST 12 lots (25 wafers per lot) in the pipe. You do NOT get 12 lots processed systematically to a slow corner unless you deliberately asked for it.

You're welcome
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 01:49:37 AM
 #5689

For those of you who don't understand semiconductors: You do not get multi lots and multiple wafers of an "EXTREMELY SLOW CORNER." Stop letting Guy take advantage of your lack of knowledge. Given the orders which they have in the pipe and what they have communicated, I would guess there are AT LEAST 12 lots (25 wafers per lot) in the pipe. You do NOT get 12 lots processed systematically to a slow corner unless you deliberately asked for it.

You're welcome

Your argument is essentially that TSMC might have poor precision, but they wouldn't have poor accuracy. Your argument is that TSMC would not have made a systematic error in their production process. I think it is quite plausible that TSMC might have had one of their machines poorly calibrated for the low voltage threshold transistor type that is so important for bitcoin mining ASICs, but less important for most other applications.

By the way, is that username chosen to deliberately troll people?

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 04:10:19 AM
 #5690

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 04:13:01 AM
Last edit: August 15, 2014, 04:30:12 AM by Spondoolies-Tech
 #5691

Can someone from spondoolies tell me whats going on with my hosted units? Order #1125

http://eligius.st/~wizkid057/newstats/userstats.php/1P19DeFn9dSkvv3d23y3BRJmmabTQiYHym

https://upload.robert-hager.at/uploads/static/eligius.PNG

 I am fine with this spikes as long as they level out, but it would be interesting what causes it? Especially would be interesting how three SP30 do 17 TH's ?  Grin

We're compensating you for a unit down time.
We'll replace your hosted unit with another units early next week, after production. One of your unit has issues.

With all due respect, I do have some doubts about that program which pushes PSU to the actual limit through repeated shutdowns.
Could it be the culprit? Perhaps, it is better to limit power to 1300 or even 1250W?
It is not worth a few extra GH if it significantly increases the PSU failure rate (for the purposes of argument- I don't know if this is true or not).
Not related at all to the PSUs

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
hashfastisawesome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 04:41:26 AM
 #5692

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

My point is that TSMC will not have 'accidentally' botched 3 separate batches of lots (August, September, October). Remember, these are the same 28nm lines that Qualcomm and Broadcomm use. The notion that it is TSMC's 'fault' is simply a convenient excuse to a design mistake. I have no doubt that TSMC is capable of a retarget of your LVT devices to meet your original performance target. However, that 10% increase you were hoping to achieve with a post engineering run retarget has disappeared. Guy, I applaud your ability to perform damage control.

jtoomim, yes my name is intentionally chosen to troll. That doesn't delegitimize my arguments. Source: I run fab sync for a major US semiconductor company. You don't have to believe me, but you can do your own research on the topic.
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 05:18:41 AM
 #5693

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

My point is that TSMC will not have 'accidentally' botched 3 separate batches of lots (August, September, October). Remember, these are the same 28nm lines that Qualcomm and Broadcomm use. The notion that it is TSMC's 'fault' is simply a convenient excuse to a design mistake. I have no doubt that TSMC is capable of a retarget of your LVT devices to meet your original performance target. However, that 10% increase you were hoping to achieve with a post engineering run retarget has disappeared. Guy, I applaud your ability to perform damage control.

jtoomim, yes my name is intentionally chosen to troll. That doesn't delegitimize my arguments. Source: I run fab sync for a major US semiconductor company. You don't have to believe me, but you can do your own research on the topic.

Your expert opinion?

What specific degrees or experience do you have?

Why anonymously?

Not that I discount anything you are posting just trying to get a measure of your interest or bias potentially. There are people who have come on these forums to purposefully devalue brands so it be nice to know if this is intended as consumer protection versus narrative management for the purpose of degrading a company's image. The "truth" can be put in MANY different ways.

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 05:22:15 AM
 #5694

My vague statement was correct. I don't reveal the full details on purpose.
In about 45 days (October batch) the SP30 will be 5.5 THs
(The limiting factor will remain the PSUs. The RockerBox has much more potential for over clocking)
This will be done without mask fix, just production tuning.

jtoomim more or less got it right.

Guy

My point is that TSMC will not have 'accidentally' botched 3 separate batches of lots (August, September, October). Remember, these are the same 28nm lines that Qualcomm and Broadcomm use. The notion that it is TSMC's 'fault' is simply a convenient excuse to a design mistake. I have no doubt that TSMC is capable of a retarget of your LVT devices to meet your original performance target. However, that 10% increase you were hoping to achieve with a post engineering run retarget has disappeared. Guy, I applaud your ability to perform damage control.

jtoomim, yes my name is intentionally chosen to troll. That doesn't delegitimize my arguments. Source: I run fab sync for a major US semiconductor company. You don't have to believe me, but you can do your own research on the topic.

I don't blame TSMC (or GUC). The ASICs we got and getting are within TSMC acceptence criteria.
My hands are tied here. With one WAT graph I can prove my claims, but I won't.
You're welcome to email me privately. If you're not working for a competition, I'll disclose the info after signing mutual NDA.
It's much more than 10% increase and it's not post engineering.
I'm as transparent as I can be here. No damage control, but simple truth.
Even with the underperforming slow ASICs we have the best miner in the market.

Cheers,
Guy

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
Easy2Mine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 500


einc.io


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 06:55:28 AM
 #5695

Even if you had faster running ASIC, he will still makes it look dark.
I am not a customers of ST yet. I have admire their enginering skills from the beginning.
If you took the time to look closer how well designed the case is and easy to mass deploy a big
farm with SP 30 is, compared with all the other options out there.
Saying that their chip is bad with no proof except telling that you have some skills is hard to believe.

Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:02:05 AM
 #5696

My sp30 travelled from Israel to jtoomim´s WA hosting facility in only 2 days. (thank you Spond∞lies and FedEx)

A short review of my hosting experience so far can be found in the hardware hosting comparison thread:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.msg8361310#msg8361310


Also: I was faster than you, RoadStress
murdof
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:25:02 AM
 #5697

My sp30 travelled from Israel to jtoomim´s WA hosting facility in only 2 days. (thank you Spond∞lies and FedEx)

A short review of my hosting experience so far can be found in the hardware hosting comparison thread:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.msg8361310#msg8361310


Also: I was faster than you, RoadStress

So you guys suggest http://toom.im/ for best solution for SP30?
What happened to the Iceland data center? Aren't you using this for SP10?

Buy me a beer: 1mrdfyA1GhKmTPhaSkvyq5DBterQ5m7ZK

Run your own P2Pool with Ubuntu 16.04 LTS and merge mining
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:31:32 AM
Last edit: August 15, 2014, 09:12:37 AM by Collider
 #5698


So you guys suggest http://toom.im/ for best solution for SP30?
What happened to the Iceland data center? Aren't you using this for SP10?
I am still running one sp10 at the Iceland facility, and I will not change that one (also, I have a minimum contract length there).

Toom.im offers 76$/kW/m at the same 6 month contract lenght Thor DC (Advania, Iceland) offers. (Thor is 120$/kW/m though, and does not accept bitcoin or paypal payments).
Contracts with Toom.im are 90$/kW/m on a one-month term, with prices as low as 70$/kW/m.

I can say however, that I am moving an sp10 from spondoolies to Toom.im aswell.
Ambient temperature might be slightly lower in Iceland during the summer, but certainly not in the winter. While the sp10 is fairly temperature sensitive, sp30 isn´t.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:34:04 AM
 #5699

My sp30 travelled from Israel to jtoomim´s WA hosting facility in only 2 days. (thank you Spond∞lies and FedEx)

A short review of my hosting experience so far can be found in the hardware hosting comparison thread:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.msg8361310#msg8361310
Also: I was faster than you, RoadStress

I will compensate Collider  Cool

So you guys suggest http://toom.im/ for best solution for SP30?
What happened to the Iceland data center? Aren't you using this for SP10?

We are decentralizing!

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 08:42:41 AM
 #5700

My sp30 travelled from Israel to jtoomim´s WA hosting facility in only 2 days. (thank you Spond∞lies and FedEx)

A short review of my hosting experience so far can be found in the hardware hosting comparison thread:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.msg8361310#msg8361310
Also: I was faster than you, RoadStress

I will compensate Collider  Cool

So you guys suggest http://toom.im/ for best solution for SP30?
What happened to the Iceland data center? Aren't you using this for SP10?

We are decentralizing!

Smiley

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
Pages: « 1 ... 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 [285] 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!