Bitcoin Forum
September 27, 2020, 10:11:09 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 ... 2083 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4628872 times)
EFFV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:24:45 PM
 #1141

This coin sounds pretty cool.
Can someone explain ring signatures to me?

Thanks

"A leader is best when people barely know he exists, when his work is done, his aim fulfilled, they will say: we did it ourselves."  -Lao Tzu
My Trust Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=474589.new#new
1601201469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1601201469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1601201469
Reply with quote  #2

1601201469
Report to moderator
1601201469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1601201469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1601201469
Reply with quote  #2

1601201469
Report to moderator
1601201469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1601201469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1601201469
Reply with quote  #2

1601201469
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1601201469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1601201469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1601201469
Reply with quote  #2

1601201469
Report to moderator
fartbags
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:26:36 PM
 #1142

Is this coin bitmonero?
Can this coin be merge mined with fantomcoin? What hashrate do you get with the fantomcoin merge miner?

Bitmonero may be forked soon but until now it is the same.

Yes you can merge mine both fantomcoin & Monero BUT you have to use an other miner that is 6 times slower than the one to mine Monero alone.

It is not worth it, you'll lose too much hashrate and fantomcoin has no value.


your right. I am getting 4 times slowing mining and only mining 2 coins at once. It is not worth it.

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:28:54 PM
 #1143

This coin sounds pretty cool.
Can someone explain ring signatures to me?

Thanks

Ring signatures mean that when you sign a tranaction to spend an output (coins), no one looking at the block chain can tell whether you signed it or one of the other outputs you choose to mix in with yours. With a mixing factor of 5 or 10 after several transactions there are millions of possible coins all mixed together. You get "anonymity" and mixing without having to use a third party mixer.

There are a number of other anonymity features, explained in the first post on this thread and the pages linked from there.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:31:33 PM
 #1144


What was the command line to upgrade the linux version ?


Easiest thing to do is

1. Securely back up your wallets

2. Rename your source+build tree. (I'd say delete but I don't want people deleting their wallets when they ignored #1)

3. rm -r ~/.bitmonero (possibly-poisoned block chain is in here)
 
4. Follow the directions in the first post to do a fresh git clone and compile.

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:32:51 PM
 #1145

Is this coin bitmonero?
Can this coin be merge mined with fantomcoin? What hashrate do you get with the fantomcoin merge miner?

Bitmonero may be forked soon but until now it is the same.

Yes you can merge mine both fantomcoin & Monero BUT you have to use an other miner that is 6 times slower than the one to mine Monero alone.

It is not worth it, you'll lose too much hashrate and fantomcoin has no value.


your right. I am getting 4 times slowing mining and only mining 2 coins at once. It is not worth it.

I tried the merged miner and it didn't even work. Mined fantom just fine but any MRO blocks it found resulted in unspendable coins.

This is not FUD, just my experience. If someone were to figure out how to fix the merged miner I would use it.
pwrz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:35:18 PM
 #1146

Just making sure - is the healthy blockchain in the OP?
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:37:09 PM
 #1147

Windows binaries have been uploaded. Everything in the OP now has the security fix. I'll upload blockchains soon (check for May 8th date).
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1097



View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:41:27 PM
 #1148

Windows binaries have been uploaded. Everything in the OP now has the security fix. I'll upload blockchains soon (check for May 8th date).

Please provide an additional dropbox link.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 08, 2014, 09:49:01 PM
 #1149

Just making sure - is the healthy blockchain in the OP?

Blockchain download is being updated (the old link was removed). If you use the current build from OP you can sync yourself, or wait for the updated blockchain download.
emontmon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 08, 2014, 11:21:30 PM
 #1150

HOPE you don't fork over weekend. I am out of town.
AnonyMint
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 521


View Profile
May 08, 2014, 11:54:54 PM
 #1151

There are at least two critically necessary improvements needed to the CryptoNote anonymity algorithm to make it function well in the real world. I am withholding my ideas until I see a coin that has an extremely capable Benevolent Dictator For Life (none of this Foundation and communism BS that has wrecked Bitcoin), a premine to fund contributions, and partial open source to prevent a plethora of clones in the ramp up phase.

Upthread I have alluded to other improvements (e.g. CPU only, better IP obfuscation than Tor and I2P, pools that force decentralization, one click mining for the masses, etc) to which I implied I know of the solutions to. I have stated what I want to see in order to offer my support.

If you think you can win with what you have now, I think you are mistaken.

Good luck.

unheresy.com - Prodigiously Elucidating the Profoundly ObtuseTHIS FORUM ACCOUNT IS NO LONGER ACTIVE
Ivan166
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153
Merit: 103


View Profile
May 08, 2014, 11:59:29 PM
 #1152

Windows binaries have been uploaded. Everything in the OP now has the security fix. I'll upload blockchains soon (check for May 8th date).

Russian thread updated.

Monero is your money privacy.
SlyWax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248
Merit: 251



View Profile
May 09, 2014, 12:05:32 AM
 #1153

Can you explain how someone could corrupt the block chain ?
If I'm synced with the network, then the checkpoint won't affect me since they are in the past.
And I won't accept changing old blocks.

So you should explain us how the checkpoint corrupted the blockchain, and how to check for a good or bad one.

Is'nt there a command to recheck the entire blockchain, without having to download it ?
If not, it is needed.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 09, 2014, 12:16:14 AM
 #1154

Can you explain how someone could corrupt the block chain ?
If I'm synced with the network, then the checkpoint won't affect me since they are in the past.
And I won't accept changing old blocks.

So you should explain us how the checkpoint corrupted the blockchain, and how to check for a good or bad one.

Is'nt there a command to recheck the entire blockchain, without having to download it ?
If not, it is needed.

If you had a full chain, it very likely was never corrupted. (Of course there could always be bugs but we don't know of any that would do this.)

If you had tried to sync after the checkpoint was added, the code could have accepted some earlier blocks (before the checkpoint) without fully validating them.

If you downloaded a valid blockchain file (which would have included all of the blocks up to the checkpoint) and used the code version with the checkpoint, you were in all likelyhood not affected, other than some invalid blocks being accepted by your node (but offchain), bloating your memory and disk usage. This could have eventually become a denial-of-service issue, if the number of invalid blocks continued to grow.

There were probably very few people directly affected.

But when it comes to the integrity of the blockchain it does not pay to take chances. So the checkpoint has been temporarily removed forcing all blocks to be fully validated and will likely soon be added back in a safer way.

A command to validate the existing block chain is a good idea. We will look at that, possibly in connection with the improved checkpoint feature.
equipoise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 794
Merit: 1000


Monero (XMR) - secure, private, untraceable


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2014, 12:22:58 AM
 #1155

I tried to build optimized executables from the first time I start mining with the not optimized ones. Finally I built windows optimized executables (check points removed!). Those are up to three times faster on my 3rd gen core i7 then the previous optimized ones (see the bold text bellow before reading it all – you may want to skip it).
Here is the process I used to build them:
1) built boost 1_55
set intel variables:
Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\bin\ipsxe-comp-vars.bat" intel64
for 3rd gen i7 i5 i3:
Code:
b2 variant=release address-model=64 instruction-set=core-avx-i toolset=intel --build-type=complete --with-system --with-filesystem --with-thread --with-date_time --with-chrono --with-regex --with-serialization --with-atomic --with-program_options stage
for 2nd gen i7 i5 i3:
Code:
b2 variant=release address-model=64 instruction-set=corei7-avx toolset=intel --build-type=complete --with-system --with-filesystem --with-thread --with-date_time --with-chrono --with-regex --with-serialization --with-atomic --with-program_options stage
for previous gen i7 i5 i3:
Code:
b2 variant=release address-model=64 instruction-set=corei7 toolset=intel --build-type=complete --with-system --with-filesystem --with-thread --with-date_time --with-chrono --with-regex --with-serialization --with-atomic --with-program_options stage
for pentium-m (SSE3) intel processors:
Code:
b2 variant=release address-model=64 instruction-set=pentium-m toolset=intel --build-type=complete --with-system --with-filesystem --with-thread --with-date_time --with-chrono --with-regex --with-serialization --with-atomic --with-program_options stage
2) create the msvc project with cmake as specified in the op
3) open the project in msvc and select Release instead of Debug
4) right click on project external -> upnpc-static -> Intel Composer XE SP1 -> Intell C++. Same with those projects: comman, crypto, cryptonote_core, rpc, daemon
5) setting the same options for all those projects (right click -> properties) (https://www.dropbox.com/s/5l3t5gysk4uhu7n/screenshots_intel_options.rar).
6) copy all boost files starting with libboost_ and ending on -iw-mt-s-1_55.lib to the build\src\Release folder
7) right click on daemon -> properties -> linker -> input -> additional dependencies and set those to:
Code:
Release\libboost_serialization-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;Release\libboost_program_options-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;Release\libboost_atomic-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\compiler\lib\intel64\libmatmul.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\ipp\lib\intel64\ippcore.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\ipp\lib\intel64\ippvm.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\ipp\lib\intel64\ipps.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\compiler\lib\intel64\libiompstubs5md.lib;Release\libboost_regex-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;Release\libboost_filesystem-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;Release\libboost_chrono-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;Release\libboost_system-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;Release\libboost_date_time-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\compiler\lib\intel64\libdecimal.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\compiler\lib\intel64\svml_dispmt.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\compiler\lib\intel64\libirc.lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Composer XE 2013 SP1\compiler\lib\intel64\libmmt.lib;kernel32.lib;user32.lib;gdi32.lib;winspool.lib;shell32.lib;ole32.lib;oleaut32.lib;uuid.lib;comdlg32.lib;advapi32.lib;Release\rpc.lib;Release\libboost_thread-iw-mt-s-1_55.lib;Release\cryptonote_core.lib;Release\crypto.lib;Release\common.lib;..\external\miniupnpc\Release\miniupnpc.lib;ws2_32.lib;iphlpapi.lib
Cool Build
In the build there was some errors with the Intel compiler. Some of those were with Lambda Expression. Those are fixed this way: instead "() {}" it's "() -> bool {}"
There were some declaration errors. Those were fixed this way: instead "someclass foo = somefunction(foo);" it's "someclass foo; foo = somefunction(foo);". I'm not sure if there were other errors, because I didn't kept track of those. There are huge amount of warnings, but I ignored all of them.
9) ReBuild again and again until no errors are present.
I only tested the 3rd gen and Pentium M versions. The Pentium M is actually faster on my 3rd gen!? NoodleDoodle told me in irc that I don't need AVX, but just SSE3, but I decided to test it anyway (just to lose 6 more hours). Those executables may need libiomp5md.dll in the same folder in order to tun (needed for the 3rd gen executable not sure for the pentium-m. it's included in the archive). The only problem with those executables is that they don’t want to synchronize with the blockchain Sad so they can’t be used.
Tip me some MRO: 4AyRmUcxzefB5quumzK3HNE4zmCiGc8vhG6fE1oJpGVyVZF7fvDgSpt3MzgLfQ6Q1719xQhmfkM9Z2u NXgDMqYhjJVmc6KX
Also I want to buy 0.02623544 BTC worth of MRO. Someone?

About me | zRMicroArray - phase 2 - Gene Expression Analysis software | [Weed Like to Talk - Bulgaria] Start a wave of cannabis seminars in Europe | Monero weighted average price stats: moneroprice.i2p
BTC: 1KoCX7TWKVGwqmmFw3CKyUSrKRSStueZar | NMC: NKhYEYpe1Le9MwHrwKsdSm5617J4toVar9 | XMR (Tip me a beer OpenAlias Monero address): tip.changetheworldwork.com
[XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency: 4AyRmUcxzefB5quumzK3HNE4zmCiGc8vhG6fE1oJpGVyVZF7fvDgSpt3MzgLfQ6Q1719xQhmfkM9Z2u NXgDMqYhjJVmc6KX
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 09, 2014, 12:28:46 AM
 #1156


So tldr does this work or not?

I will tip you some MRO regardless. Trying things even if they don't work is still useful.

eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 09, 2014, 12:33:10 AM
 #1157

Important

(Big scary red letters because it really is important.)

First, get the newest builds (all fully updated on the OP).

Second, unless your blockchain.bin predates the May 3rd update, you should delete it and download the latest from the OP and replace yours. You might have saved it and overridden it after May 3rd and that's fine. However, a full sync starting from the genesis block after the May 3rd update may have partially corrupted your blockchain. Clean blockchains have been uploaded for 64-bit Windows and 64-bit Linux/OSX. 32-bit versions don't exist because it was added recently. If you're unsure of when your blockchain dates from, update it.

The attack works by flooding the network with low height (i.e. early) blocks. They would normally be added as alternates but if you're in the process of synching, they might get added as real blocks. This is because the checkpointing in the BCN code is not done well and it doesn't validate the headers of pre-checkpoint blocks. The number of people affected probably isn't that big but we can't have inconsistency in the network.

Because the attack is ongoing, if you resync from scratch you'll grab a few of these invalid blocks (about 1 in every ~500 blocks) so you'll still have a slightly corrupted chain. Update from the OP with the latest builds and chains and you'll be clean and protected. In the future, better checkpointing will be implemented but until then it won't be used.
trogdorjw73
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2014, 12:47:43 AM
 #1158

Important

(Big scary red letters because it really is important.)

First, get the newest builds (all fully updated on the OP).

Second, unless your blockchain.bin predates the May 3rd update, you should delete it and download the latest from the OP and replace yours. You might have saved it and overridden it after May 3rd and that's fine. However, a full sync starting from the genesis block after the May 3rd update may have partially corrupted your blockchain. Clean blockchains have been uploaded for 64-bit Windows and 64-bit Linux/OSX. 32-bit versions don't exist because it was added recently. If you're unsure of when your blockchain dates from, update it.

The attack works by flooding the network with low height (i.e. early) blocks. They would normally be added as alternates but if you're in the process of synching, they might get added as real blocks. This is because the checkpointing in the BCN code is not done well and it doesn't validate the headers of pre-checkpoint blocks. The number of people affected probably isn't that big but we can't have inconsistency in the network.

Because the attack is ongoing, if you resync from scratch you'll grab a few of these invalid blocks (about 1 in every ~500 blocks) so you'll still have a slightly corrupted chain. Update from the OP with the latest builds and chains and you'll be clean and protected. In the future, better checkpointing will be implemented but until then it won't be used.
Question: I did not update any of my miners with any of the new builds (e.g. with checkpointing) in the past day or two -- everything I have is from around May 4/5 I think. Does that mean my nodes are clean, or do I have to clear them all out, grab the latest version, and resync on all systems? My PC right now *thinks* it's mining, and it had at least through block 28000 or so prior to these attacks, so I should be safe, right? Will updating at this point benefit me or am I just asking for trouble? (It would be great to add a "version" command in the wallet and daemon -- provided of course that each new build remembers to update the version number.)

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 09, 2014, 12:54:48 AM
 #1159

Important

(Big scary red letters because it really is important.)

First, get the newest builds (all fully updated on the OP).

Second, unless your blockchain.bin predates the May 3rd update, you should delete it and download the latest from the OP and replace yours. You might have saved it and overridden it after May 3rd and that's fine. However, a full sync starting from the genesis block after the May 3rd update may have partially corrupted your blockchain. Clean blockchains have been uploaded for 64-bit Windows and 64-bit Linux/OSX. 32-bit versions don't exist because it was added recently. If you're unsure of when your blockchain dates from, update it.

The attack works by flooding the network with low height (i.e. early) blocks. They would normally be added as alternates but if you're in the process of synching, they might get added as real blocks. This is because the checkpointing in the BCN code is not done well and it doesn't validate the headers of pre-checkpoint blocks. The number of people affected probably isn't that big but we can't have inconsistency in the network.

Because the attack is ongoing, if you resync from scratch you'll grab a few of these invalid blocks (about 1 in every ~500 blocks) so you'll still have a slightly corrupted chain. Update from the OP with the latest builds and chains and you'll be clean and protected. In the future, better checkpointing will be implemented but until then it won't be used.
Question: I did not update any of my miners with any of the new builds (e.g. with checkpointing) in the past day or two -- everything I have is from around May 4/5 I think. Does that mean my nodes are clean, or do I have to clear them all out, grab the latest version, and resync on all systems? My PC right now *thinks* it's mining, and it had at least through block 28000 or so prior to these attacks, so I should be safe, right? Will updating at this point benefit me or am I just asking for trouble? (It would be great to add a "version" command in the wallet and daemon -- provided of course that each new build remembers to update the version number.)

If you never had the checkpoint version and you synced everything yourself then your nodes are not affected by this issue.

Updating will give you a performance boost on mining. I can't think of any other changes that are really important.


SlyWax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248
Merit: 251



View Profile
May 09, 2014, 01:00:15 AM
 #1160

Can you explain how someone could corrupt the block chain ?
If I'm synced with the network, then the checkpoint won't affect me since they are in the past.
And I won't accept changing old blocks.

So you should explain us how the checkpoint corrupted the blockchain, and how to check for a good or bad one.

Is'nt there a command to recheck the entire blockchain, without having to download it ?
If not, it is needed.

If you had a full chain, it very likely was never corrupted. (Of course there could always be bugs but we don't know of any that would do this.)

If you had tried to sync after the checkpoint was added, the code could have accepted some earlier blocks (before the checkpoint) without fully validating them.

If you downloaded a valid blockchain file (which would have included all of the blocks up to the checkpoint) and used the code version with the checkpoint, you were in all likelyhood not affected, other than some invalid blocks being accepted by your node (but offchain), bloating your memory and disk usage. This could have eventually become a denial-of-service issue, if the number of invalid blocks continued to grow.

There were probably very few people directly affected.

But when it comes to the integrity of the blockchain it does not pay to take chances. So the checkpoint has been temporarily removed forcing all blocks to be fully validated and will likely soon be added back in a safer way.

A command to validate the existing block chain is a good idea. We will look at that, possibly in connection with the improved checkpoint feature.

Thank you for the clarification.

How come an offchain block is stored on disk ?
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 ... 2083 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!