Bitcoin Forum
October 13, 2019, 11:56:54 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300686 times)
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 02:48:17 PM
 #1421

I'm assuming there is no issue with stacking S4s? Or would running them vertical (PSU intake side up) be preferable?
They have rack mount ears--they are designed to be mounted in a DC horizontally.

What I meant was stacking them directly on top of each other, without a cabinet supporting the weight of each unit.

Although not the strongest case I've ever seen, I'd be comfortable doing 4 deep so long as the bottom one was well supported.  e.g Sitting on a solid shelf, not front finger mounted support by 6 small screws.  I wouldn't go more than 2 deep if the bottom one was only finger mounted.

Also note they vibrate a bit - so use the rubber feet on the bottom one.

Cassey
1571011014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571011014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571011014
Reply with quote  #2

1571011014
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571011014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571011014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571011014
Reply with quote  #2

1571011014
Report to moderator
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 918
Merit: 1002



View Profile
November 20, 2014, 03:11:54 PM
 #1422

I'm assuming there is no issue with stacking S4s? Or would running them vertical (PSU intake side up) be preferable?
They have rack mount ears--they are designed to be mounted in a DC horizontally.

What I meant was stacking them directly on top of each other, without a cabinet supporting the weight of each unit.

Although not the strongest case I've ever seen, I'd be comfortable doing 4 deep so long as the bottom one was well supported.  e.g Sitting on a solid shelf, not front finger mounted support by 6 small screws.  I wouldn't go more than 2 deep if the bottom one was only finger mounted.

Also note they vibrate a bit - so use the rubber feet on the bottom one.
Yeah, my bad--I should have been more clear.  They are designed to be ran horizontally, but you should use shelving to support every two or so.  The ears aren't designed to support the weight of the unit, just to keep them in place in the rack.

Cheers.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2014, 04:28:17 PM
 #1423

I'm assuming there is no issue with stacking S4s? Or would running them vertical (PSU intake side up) be preferable?
They have rack mount ears--they are designed to be mounted in a DC horizontally.

What I meant was stacking them directly on top of each other, without a cabinet supporting the weight of each unit.

They're not that heavy, although I wouldn't go more than 4 in a stack. You could probably go more but I wouldn't.

nexus99
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 06:27:32 PM
 #1424

The 400 coupon seems to make these one of the better buys. Competitive with the SP20.
pak13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 06:40:50 PM
 #1425

I'm assuming there is no issue with stacking S4s? Or would running them vertical (PSU intake side up) be preferable?
They have rack mount ears--they are designed to be mounted in a DC horizontally.

What I meant was stacking them directly on top of each other, without a cabinet supporting the weight of each unit.

They're not that heavy, although I wouldn't go more than 4 in a stack. You could probably go more but I wouldn't.

If you do follow this dogie employee's blah blah advice, remember to strap them as one. They will vibrate or worst case, if you live in an earth quake region, they could potentially fall, kill or create a fire.
pak13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 06:43:35 PM
 #1426

The 400 coupon seems to make these one of the better buys. Competitive with the SP20.

SP20 far cheaper long term. And from what we've seen, more reliable.

The new low power chips are less than a month away. This is the same fire sale as with the S2's before the newer models come out.
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 06:48:33 PM
 #1427

How so on the SP20?  Lower output, similar power requirements....

Cassey
pak13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 07:00:09 PM
 #1428

How so on the SP20?  Lower output, similar power requirements....

Power is always the primary concern for cost over time.

Real world numbers ... 15% more power = 15% less profit or 15% longer to get a positive ROI assuming initial costs are equal.
1200w for 1.7TH 0.7
+0.8 for S3 S4

Ask the question, why it's difficult to get hold of a spondoolies but easy to buy a bitmaintech. Why are we still stuck on batch 11 for the s3's. Why are they giving such great deals at the moment. End of life products. (within the month most likely)
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 07:06:05 PM
 #1429

How so on the SP20?  Lower output, similar power requirements....

Power is always the primary concern for cost over time.

Real world numbers ... 15% more power = 15% less profit or 15% longer to get a positive ROI assuming initial costs are equal.
1200w for 1.7TH 0.7
+0.8 for S3 S4

Ask the question, why it's difficult to get hold of a spondoolies but easy to buy a bitmaintech. Why are we still stuck on batch 11 for the s3's. Why are they giving such great deals at the moment. End of life products. (within the month most likely)

1200W for 1.7Th = 706 W/TH for SP20
1400W (worst case) for 2.0Th - 700W/TH for SP4

Where are you getting 15% difference?

Cassey
pikachuy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 07:48:49 PM
Last edit: November 20, 2014, 09:44:20 PM by ckolivas
 #1430


Please post all of these coupons and others similar in the Marketplace. That is what it's for.

I don't like having a post alert and come and check to see it was only coupon offerings/for sale...

█ BTC: 32aWPuC6oLREi1LWWrEinnzGaV4w28Pzwb
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 20, 2014, 11:40:37 PM
Last edit: November 20, 2014, 11:52:42 PM by notlist3d
 #1431

Thanks for coupon the first one after is now up and running Smiley

And shipping in 2 days!
Cyper_BLC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 270


Reverse Engineer


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 02:43:26 AM
Last edit: November 21, 2014, 03:52:19 AM by Cyper_BLC
 #1432

Hi everyone,
i have got a strange problem with my Antminer S4 batch2, i listed founded problems:
1-my S4's has different connections with FPGA controller, one of them is top left hash board connected to J7, other s4 same board is connected to J6. this is very strange or poor assembly.
2-this J7 connector is going to the first hash board i think, but other  hash boards red led is off except this J7 connected board led blink. 5 minutes waiting then this board getting hot and another five minutes all boards leds are on. then all of them is hot but THERE IS NO ETHERNET CONNECTION.  Huh
3-i worried power comp. and i changed 0720 to 0700 then i measured all hash boards voltages on 1500uF/2,5V capacitor.. wouuwww THERE WAS A PROBLEM! because we can never change 1 hash board's (j7 connected) voltage. this is allways 0750V. than i read confidential pdf of CSD95372B and TPS53641 this is i2c controlled buck converter and this is controlled by pic12f1822 on every hash board. So this 0,750 Volt i measured is over voltage protection limit.
i am an electronic engineer by the way.

I ASK TO BITMAINTECH,
WHY OUR HASH BOARDS HASHING SOMETHING STANDALONE (or why warming up) AND WHY 3 HASH BOARDS VOLTAGE CONFIGURABLE BUT 1 IS NOT ?

thanks, any ideas ?

Dogie said to me "paste pictures to forum" then i did.
Now any ideas for this? Sad when i did sniff controller->buck i2c communication, i will make a seperate or online live voltage changer ):
software bugs are minor but we have got a major hardware bugs.








For donations : 1CYPERv5yZ4c9FRzPyCz5u8vhttyKmVkto
Emeğe Saygı Göstermeyenler, BECERIKSIZ kişilerdir.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1087


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 04:00:06 AM
 #1433

Hi everyone,
i have got a strange problem with my Antminer S4 batch2, i listed founded problems:
1-my S4's has different connections with FPGA controller, one of them is top left hash board connected to J7, other s4 same board is connected to J6. this is very strange or poor assembly.
2-this J7 connector is going to the first hash board i think, but other  hash boards red led is off except this J7 connected board led blink. 5 minutes waiting then this board getting hot and another five minutes all boards leds are on. then all of them is hot but THERE IS NO ETHERNET CONNECTION.  Huh
3-i worried power comp. and i changed 0720 to 0700 then i measured all hash boards voltages on 1500uF/2,5V capacitor.. wouuwww THERE WAS A PROBLEM! because we can never change 1 hash board's (j7 connected) voltage. this is allways 0750V. than i read confidential pdf of CSD95372B and TPS53641 this is i2c controlled buck converter and this is controlled by pic12f1822 on every hash board. So this 0,750 Volt i measured is over voltage protection limit.
i am an electronic engineer by the way.

I ASK TO BITMAINTECH,
WHY OUR HASH BOARDS HASHING SOMETHING STANDALONE (or why warming up) AND WHY 3 HASH BOARDS VOLTAGE CONFIGURABLE BUT 1 IS NOT ?

thanks, any ideas ?

Dogie said to me "paste pictures to forum" then i did.
Now any ideas for this? Sad when i did sniff controller->buck i2c communication, i will make a seperate or online live voltage changer ):
software bugs are minor but we have got a major hardware bugs.









Any symptoms prior to this other than ethernet going out?  Such as 1 or 2 boards much warmer Celsius than the others, etc...?

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
Cyper_BLC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 270


Reverse Engineer


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:00:09 AM
 #1434

Others perfecly normal only J7 connected hash board is unconfigurable, if you want to proof of that disconnect this board power cord and you will see chain 1 is gone and look at your power wattage. or try to configure voltage and repower again. i have 2 S4 and all of them have same problem.
and i found best configuration and best efficiency (0.52 but not stable) => 187.5 Mhz at 0.685 Volt (you can add this value like that = 0685)
this is the best...

For donations : 1CYPERv5yZ4c9FRzPyCz5u8vhttyKmVkto
Emeğe Saygı Göstermeyenler, BECERIKSIZ kişilerdir.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1087


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:08:35 AM
 #1435

Others perfecly normal only J7 connected hash board is unconfigurable, if you want to proof of that disconnect this board power cord and you will see chain 1 is gone and look at your power wattage. or try to configure voltage and repower again. i have 2 S4 and all of them have same problem.
and i found best configuration and best efficiency = 187.5 Mhz at 0.685 Volt (you can add this value like that = 0685)
this is the best...

Wow!

So, you recommend all of us with batch 2 to switch to 187.5 Mhz at 0.685 Volt?

Will doing this lower my hash rate? 

If so, by how much will it lower the hash rate?

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
Cyper_BLC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 270


Reverse Engineer


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:11:12 AM
Last edit: November 21, 2014, 05:22:04 AM by Cyper_BLC
 #1436

Smiley of course that is lower than 2Thash but also eat lower energy Wink and also lower Temperature and lower noise Wink
like 1800Ghash 1060W

i think that voltage adjust problem is master reason of psu's blowing because developers unexpected situation like that.
they put a 12V 120A top limit psu and they expect 1200w power usage but not, some of hash boards still working warning limits...

For donations : 1CYPERv5yZ4c9FRzPyCz5u8vhttyKmVkto
Emeğe Saygı Göstermeyenler, BECERIKSIZ kişilerdir.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1087


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:15:38 AM
 #1437

Smiley of course that is lower than 2Thash but also eat lower energy Wink and also lower Temperature and lower noise Wink
like 1800Ghash 1060W

I was just about to ask you for the actual hash rate and wattage.

Thank you...

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1087


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:20:42 AM
 #1438

Others perfecly normal only J7 connected hash board is unconfigurable, if you want to proof of that disconnect this board power cord and you will see chain 1 is gone and look at your power wattage. or try to configure voltage and repower again. i have 2 S4 and all of them have same problem.
and i found best configuration and best efficiency (0.52 but not stable) => 187.5 Mhz at 0.685 Volt (you can add this value like that = 0685)
this is the best...

Curious:

Does this also mean board J7 will remain at 0.725 Volts while the others are at 0.685 Volts?  Cause I think you said J7 was un-configurable?

This would mean we can expect this one board to probably be considerably hotter than the other boards in miner status.

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
Cyper_BLC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 270


Reverse Engineer


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:26:30 AM
 #1439

Others perfecly normal only J7 connected hash board is unconfigurable, if you want to proof of that disconnect this board power cord and you will see chain 1 is gone and look at your power wattage. or try to configure voltage and repower again. i have 2 S4 and all of them have same problem.
and i found best configuration and best efficiency (0.52 but not stable) => 187.5 Mhz at 0.685 Volt (you can add this value like that = 0685)
this is the best...

Curious:

Does this also mean board J7 will remain at 0.725 Volts while the others are at 0.685 Volts?  Cause I think you said J7 was un-configurable?

This would mean we can expect this one board to probably be considerably hotter than the other boards.

Yes thats right.  i can measure stable results, only after i found a master problem and solve it

For donations : 1CYPERv5yZ4c9FRzPyCz5u8vhttyKmVkto
Emeğe Saygı Göstermeyenler, BECERIKSIZ kişilerdir.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1087


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:28:33 AM
 #1440

Others perfecly normal only J7 connected hash board is unconfigurable, if you want to proof of that disconnect this board power cord and you will see chain 1 is gone and look at your power wattage. or try to configure voltage and repower again. i have 2 S4 and all of them have same problem.
and i found best configuration and best efficiency (0.52 but not stable) => 187.5 Mhz at 0.685 Volt (you can add this value like that = 0685)
this is the best...

Curious:

Does this also mean board J7 will remain at 0.725 Volts while the others are at 0.685 Volts?  Cause I think you said J7 was un-configurable?

This would mean we can expect this one board to probably be considerably hotter than the other boards.

Yes thats right.  i can measure stable results, only after i found a master problem and solve it

And the way to solve it [for now] is to reduce to 187.5 Mhz at 0.685 Volt?  Just making sure you did not do something else as well?

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!