Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 04:19:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 ... 91 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Announcement] Avalon ASIC Batch #1 Ships  (Read 237018 times)
BitSyncom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336

Avalon ASIC Team


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 10:58:56 PM
 #741

I should probably say Jeff's unit, I paid about ~$400 USD to "get it out of the country", so it is definitely on it's way and I'm sure it'll arrive before this week ends assuming there's no problems with US customs.

Again, only a matter of time.

1511194745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511194745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511194745
Reply with quote  #2

1511194745
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511194745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511194745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511194745
Reply with quote  #2

1511194745
Report to moderator
Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:03:39 PM
 #742

Will there be advanced notice before the next Batch is open for orders?
Evan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 499



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:05:30 PM
 #743

I should probably say Jeff's unit, I paid about ~$400 USD to "get it out of the country", so it is definitely on it's way and I'm sure it'll arrive before this week ends assuming there's no problems with US customs.

Again, only a matter of time.


At this Point I will pay $2500 for a unit in my hands by Feb 1

I am poor, but i do work for Coin Smiley
1PtHcavXoakgNkQfEQdvnvEksEY2NvwaLM
PuertoLibre
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:19:48 PM
 #744

I should probably say Jeff's unit, I paid about ~$400 USD to "get it out of the country", so it is definitely on it's way and I'm sure it'll arrive before this week ends assuming there's no problems with US customs.

Again, only a matter of time.
Why did it cost so much?


               ████
             ███  ███
           ████     ███
         ███  ███    ███
       ████     ███    ███
     ███  ███     ███    ███
   ████     ███     ███   ██
 ███  ███     █████████████████
███     ███     ███           ██
 ███      ███     ██          ██
   ███      ██████████      ███
     ███      ██████      ███
       ███      ██      ███
         ███          ███
           ███      ███
             ███  ███
               ████

GUTS
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
smart-ticket protocol for events
live product with market traction!
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
  BTC ANN
  WEBSITE
  BLOG
   
  SANDBOX
  WHITEPAPER
  BOUNTY
   
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:22:11 PM
 #745

I should probably say Jeff's unit, I paid about ~$400 USD to "get it out of the country", so it is definitely on it's way and I'm sure it'll arrive before this week ends assuming there's no problems with US customs.

Again, only a matter of time.
Why did it cost so much?

Would've been more with a tracking number.
PuertoLibre
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:25:40 PM
 #746



Anyone notice that they always take a picture of it from the rear?

Why are they hiding the front for? (Hidden nexus 7?)

(Kidding)

Edit: You have all these exhaust fans in the back, so what does the front look like? It has to be slotted in the front right?


               ████
             ███  ███
           ████     ███
         ███  ███    ███
       ████     ███    ███
     ███  ███     ███    ███
   ████     ███     ███   ██
 ███  ███     █████████████████
███     ███     ███           ██
 ███      ███     ██          ██
   ███      ██████████      ███
     ███      ██████      ███
       ███      ██      ███
         ███          ███
           ███      ███
             ███  ███
               ████

GUTS
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
smart-ticket protocol for events
live product with market traction!
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
  BTC ANN
  WEBSITE
  BLOG
   
  SANDBOX
  WHITEPAPER
  BOUNTY
   
hardcore-fs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2013, 11:33:38 PM
 #747

................ and everything will be clear then.
This includes also, that the other customers will know when they get their units?
Currently you would have sent about 108 units!

Ah actually, this is probably something I should update, the original plan is to assemble one and send one, of course this isn't working out, we currently have sent a batch of 53 to a different route, as it currently stands, this 53 has the biggest chance to make it out of the country, then we can attempt again if the news make it back to us before Feb 2. which is the deadline for getting things out of the country before CNY.

Honestly, this is probably something we underestimated and I'd like to personally apologize for having similarity with BFL, it is so pathetic. Then again though, since we did originally promise to ship everything out before Feb ends I don't really see a problem with this.

As for new information, we are still dealing with the custom issues I've previously mentioned, but Jeff should receive his units within this week, and everything will be clear then.

You seriously believe that shipping one unit to one customer will make you earn 750k$ in preorders? During the weekend, maybe?

Dude,
It is up to us. He has nothing to believe in. We are the ones to decide if he will get 750K or zero. From what i see here the answer is yes he will sell 500 batch in 20 mins max if the site does not hang:) Let me refresh your memory first batch 300 units was sold for less than 20 minutes or so even though Avalon was about three mounts behind from shipping compared to BTCFPGA and BFL promises


Couldn't have said it better myself, I'm writing up the batch #2 pre-sale thread right now.

I could pick one up in ShenZhen....... that would put a stop to any issues related to people thinking its a scam.....

BTC:1PCTzvkZUFuUF7DA6aMEVjBUUp35wN5JtF
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:35:14 PM
 #748



Anyone notice that they always take a picture of it from the rear?

Why are they hiding the front for? (Hidden nexus 7?)

(Kidding)

Edit: You have all these exhaust fans in the back, so what does the front look like? It has to be slotted in the front right?

PuertoLibre
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:41:22 PM
 #749



Anyone notice that they always take a picture of it from the rear?

Why are they hiding the front for? (Hidden nexus 7?)

(Kidding)

Edit: You have all these exhaust fans in the back, so what does the front look like? It has to be slotted in the front right?


Um, if that is the front, then how do we control the bloody thing? Telepathy?

There aren't any USB or Ethernet ports.


               ████
             ███  ███
           ████     ███
         ███  ███    ███
       ████     ███    ███
     ███  ███     ███    ███
   ████     ███     ███   ██
 ███  ███     █████████████████
███     ███     ███           ██
 ███      ███     ██          ██
   ███      ██████████      ███
     ███      ██████      ███
       ███      ██      ███
         ███          ███
           ███      ███
             ███  ███
               ████

GUTS
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
smart-ticket protocol for events
live product with market traction!
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
  BTC ANN
  WEBSITE
  BLOG
   
  SANDBOX
  WHITEPAPER
  BOUNTY
   
lucif
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Clown prophet


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:44:46 PM
 #750

lol
inbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181



View Profile
.
January 28, 2013, 11:46:22 PM
 #751

.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:46:43 PM
 #752

I should probably say Jeff's unit, I paid about ~$400 USD to "get it out of the country", so it is definitely on it's way and I'm sure it'll arrive before this week ends assuming there's no problems with US customs.

Again, only a matter of time.
Well, I'm not quite sure why my question about you being in China or the USA got ignored.
Maybe you've said elsewhere that you flew to China and I missed that, but I thought that was pretty relevant if I hadn't missed some comment from you saying when you had gone to China in the past - since I clearly got the impression you were indeed in New York at least in the past - but that impression may have been also completely incorrect.

Anyway, your posts have changed 3 things you have said or shown recently, that is making me wonder about all this:

1) You said you had already shipped 2 not 1.
 1 to jgarzik and 1 to someone on the bitcoin foundation - you've now said that is false.
2) The box is obviously different to the one you showed before and was on the site
 I was wondering where the PSU was on the one on the site but assumed for some weird reason some fool had put it on the hidden front - or the fans were supposed to be the front ...
3) You said you wouldn't take pre-orders for Batch #2 until the device had been demonstrated
 Maybe you're just getting ready for that to eventuate?

(and of course the old one prior to today ... 4) you said you'd demonstrate the device long ago)

Yes as you said today, you do indeed seem to have turned into the BFL you describe very poorly.
Though, who knows if your description of BFL is correct ...

Who's controlling the defcon number? I'd step it up one more Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
January 28, 2013, 11:46:50 PM
 #753



Anyone notice that they always take a picture of it from the rear?

Why are they hiding the front for? (Hidden nexus 7?)

(Kidding)

Edit: You have all these exhaust fans in the back, so what does the front look like? It has to be slotted in the front right?


Um, if that is the front, then how do we control the bloody thing? Telepathy?

There aren't any USB or Ethernet ports.

I could be wrong, but I see an Ethernet and a 2.4 GHz antenna on the back.

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:53:47 PM
 #754



Anyone notice that they always take a picture of it from the rear?

Why are they hiding the front for? (Hidden nexus 7?)

(Kidding)

Edit: You have all these exhaust fans in the back, so what does the front look like? It has to be slotted in the front right?


Um, if that is the front, then how do we control the bloody thing? Telepathy?

There aren't any USB or Ethernet ports.

I could be wrong, but I see an Ethernet and a 2.4 GHz antenna on the back.

If only an antenna you have some issues you need to overcome.
IP address (dhcp or static)
wireless sid
default username/passwd to get into a root shell
or default username/passwd to get into web interface

If a static IP and a static wireless sid.. man you will have to jump through some hoops to get in.
If it is using dhcp.. how does it know the sid? how does it know the encryption passwd for the wifi network?
ugh.

There has to be an ethernet port. It is the only sane way to start using it. Static default IP. Use a laptop to
connect to it and change the IP address to your lan or turn on dhcp....

so yea.. the little small cut in the middle botton is the right size for ethernet.

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
szuetam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 367



View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:56:36 PM
 #755

so yea.. the little small cut in the middle botton is the right size for ethernet.

Like in the spec. right?

Great, when could I order one?

MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:58:01 PM
 #756

It's hard to tell if it's an RJ45 or a USB-B port without seeing a better image. It does look a little big and rectangular for a USB power though.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 12:00:37 AM
 #757

Yeah here:

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
rchapoteau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 12:04:49 AM
 #758

I haven't done any actual investigation on how this unit is supposed to work, or even thought about it until now.  Is this thing running its own operating system like linux, and you have to telnet/ssh into it?  How do you even know what ip address it picked up if its running dhcp?  Maybe they will all come with a static address and you have to connect directly with a pc through ethernet?

If it isn't running linux, and it is just acting as a dumb box that you control via a pc over ethernet, then how will the software you are using on your pc communicate with it?

Does anyone actually know how this thing is supposed to work?
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190



View Profile
January 29, 2013, 12:07:22 AM
 #759

I haven't done any actual investigation on how this unit is supposed to work, or even thought about it until now.  Is this thing running its own operating system like linux, and you have to telnet/ssh into it?  How do you even know what ip address it picked up if its running dhcp?  Maybe they will all come with a static address and you have to connect directly with a pc through ethernet?

If it isn't running linux, and it is just acting as a dumb box that you control via a pc over ethernet, then how will the software you are using on your pc communicate with it?

Does anyone actually know how this thing is supposed to work?

It is supposed to run linux.. and when you run linux anything is possible with free tools or if you have time to create your own.

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 12:08:57 AM
 #760

You could certainly fit a Nexus 7 on the front.  I mean, the thing is the size of a Minirig SC.  Heh... a BFL single with power brick at the same GH/s is smaller than the PSU of the Avalon.  Comedy gold.  

But I digress... with regards to buying out all the supplies of capacitors/resistors/etc... it's entirely possible.  BFL ran into the same problem.  It's not the fact that there are no resistors/capacitors/other parts available - there are.  There just aren't those parts in the foot print and profile the board is designed for.  So a 2mm cap may not be available, while a 2.5mm one is, but it won't fit on your board.  It's something we've very carefully worked out on our ASIC boards so that we don't run into supply issues again.  Most of the parts that could potentially run into those issues have been designed with a footprint area that can be exchanged for different parts if need be.  Our power and USB pads are an example of this.. they were designed in such a way so that we could swap out power, USB or something else entirely if we need to and not be constrained by the components around it in terms of footprint.

Although, with a limited run of 300 units, running a supplier out of parts seems pretty crazy, I will admit.  Unless there's like 1500 parts per unit.  Given the size, it's quite possible, but without seeing what's inside, who's to say?  


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 ... 91 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!