Bitcoin Forum
February 18, 2019, 11:40:56 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 152944 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1541


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 04, 2017, 10:05:48 PM
 #1141

Just kinda wondering why the cgminer compile for windows and specifically the gekko compiled one has a virus attached, i had to disable windows defender multiple times, plus add exclusions to avoid it being deleted. Being new to using the 2pac, I even had to use Firefox to download it as chrome flagged it as well.

windows defender has its head up its ass  .


make a folder  named mining  go to windows defender and exclude  the folder named mining

put the cgminer folder  in that folder named mining\


problem fixed

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
xhomerx10
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1941



View Profile
December 05, 2017, 01:12:17 PM
 #1142

Well there's your problem. You're trying to pull a full amp through the port and the Pi doesn't like it. That's why basically everyone uses a powered hub.
It's odd that it has worked for a month, but is getting flakey now.
I down-speed to 100 and it's working much better.
Thanks

 It's not odd, it's lucky.  You might have caused some damage to the circuit or it might have cause a fire.  USB ports are designed for 0.5A max.


DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 02:48:35 PM
 #1143

Well there's your problem. You're trying to pull a full amp through the port and the Pi doesn't like it. That's why basically everyone uses a powered hub.
It's odd that it has worked for a month, but is getting flakey now.
I down-speed to 100 and it's working much better.
Thanks

Your issue will likely go away if you use a powered hub. I had similar problems using a cheap POS "powered" hub until I did some troubleshooting and found it was actually pulling the majority of power from my Pi. Up until then it would randomly crash... Now that I have an actual powered hub the problem has gone away. It's not expensive to get a Plugable hub off amazon, like $30.
ricknamer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 127
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 04:22:00 PM
 #1144

Well there's your problem. You're trying to pull a full amp through the port and the Pi doesn't like it. That's why basically everyone uses a powered hub.
It's odd that it has worked for a month, but is getting flakey now.
I down-speed to 100 and it's working much better.
Thanks

Your issue will likely go away if you use a powered hub. I had similar problems using a cheap POS "powered" hub until I did some troubleshooting and found it was actually pulling the majority of power from my Pi. Up until then it would randomly crash... Now that I have an actual powered hub the problem has gone away. It's not expensive to get a Plugable hub off amazon, like $30.

Agreed - this is a great little USB hub - can easily handle 3 overclocked sticks.
chiwalfrm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 01:27:43 AM
 #1145

What are you guys mining with these USB stickminers?  They don't appear to make anything on Bitcoin due to low hash rate, am I right?  I see these sold on HolyBitcoin.com for $65.  A Bitmain Antminer S9 sells for $1415 or roughly 21.77x more.

Assume you buy 22 of these to equal the S9's price, that's 11 GH/sec times 22 = 242 GH/sec, compared with the S9's 11.5-14 TH/sec.  So Hashpower per dollar isn't competitive.  Just wondering what coins can be mined with these?  I like the concept a lot since it is silent compared with a regular Antminer.

Thank you for any information.


DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 05:34:08 AM
 #1146

What are you guys mining with these USB stickminers?  They don't appear to make anything on Bitcoin due to low hash rate, am I right?  I see these sold on HolyBitcoin.com for $65.  A Bitmain Antminer S9 sells for $1415 or roughly 21.77x more.

Assume you buy 22 of these to equal the S9's price, that's 11 GH/sec times 22 = 242 GH/sec, compared with the S9's 11.5-14 TH/sec.  So Hashpower per dollar isn't competitive.  Just wondering what coins can be mined with these?  I like the concept a lot since it is silent compared with a regular Antminer.

Thank you for any information.



I started out with these sticks but I got smart and ran the numbers just like you pointed out. If you want to actually earn Bitcoin it makes more sense to buy any used Antminer out there as far as I can tell. I think it appeals to people with limited space who see this more as a hobby than serious investment, but could be wrong. Just wait though until Sidehack comes out with his pod and then the numbers might shift the other way...
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 111



View Profile
December 06, 2017, 06:42:00 AM
 #1147

Just wondering what coins can be mined with these?  I like the concept a lot since it is silent compared with a regular Antminer.

You can buy used Antminer S5 for $150 USD. 1 Terahash: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Newest-BTC-miner-Antminer-S5-speed-1200G-28NM-BM1384-Bitcoin-Miner-ASIC-miner-better-than-avalon/32259519981.html

what can you mine with a Gekko 2Pac? Any SHA256 coin. I make about $0.01 per day per 2Pac stick. I expect to recover my investment in about 50 years assuming I continue to make a penny a day, there's no inflation, and electricity is free.

Quote
Just wait though until Sidehack comes out with his pod and then the numbers might shift the other way...

I wish someone would come out with a x11 USB ASIC. Then I'd have an ASIC for all algorithms on multipool.us! Smiley
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2017, 05:08:37 PM
 #1148

I´m running 2 sticks at 250 MHz making currently 0,12 $ a day. Power costs are about 0,2 to 0,25 $ a day.
I think the most people here do this as a hobby.
But I´m thinking about doing some cloud mining. If the bitcoin price rises any further it is a good investment. My pool offers a lifetime contract with a one time price and daily fees. At the current bitcoin price it´s even after 200 days. And after that it´s lifetime earnings as long as it´s profitable (profit > daily fees).

NoComply
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2017, 12:23:38 AM
 #1149

My 2Pac has been running well for several months. However, lately it has started to mis-behave.
It will run for 1-2 minutes, and then disappear. It requires me to unplug the USB port and re-plug it back into a different port in order for it to get recognized again.
Plugging into the same port does not cause the 2Pac to be seen, it must be into a different port.
If one port is unusable, how do you make it usable again? I assume it´s a hub? Do you power it off? Or restart the system?
Im running on a RPI3, so it has 4 USB ports.
All I do is stop cgminer with a ^C, unplug and replug into a different port and restart cgminer.
No reboot or power cycle needed.
Not related to your problem but thought I'd mention that its possible to 'reset' the USB ports via the command line without replugging. I don't have it to hand but it's mentioned over on the Pi forums with some discussion and pictures of different cmds to reset different ports. Off the top of my head you can reset 2 ports at a time (top pair or bottom pair) or all 4 at once. Quite handy for remote management.
Baliw
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 03:08:25 AM
 #1150

Consider wear and tear, an average lifetime of this stick would be?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1325

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 03:45:47 AM
 #1151

Depends a lot on your "wear and tear". Stock settings, adequate cooling - could be years. High overclock and no fan - days, maybe hours.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 111



View Profile
December 08, 2017, 05:19:43 AM
 #1152

I´m running 2 sticks at 250 MHz making currently 0,12 $ a day.

What are you mining if you don't me asking. I'm making $0.01 a day at 20 GH/s
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 111



View Profile
December 08, 2017, 05:22:06 AM
Last edit: December 08, 2017, 05:36:04 AM by sunk818
 #1153

Not related to your problem but thought I'd mention that its possible to 'reset' the USB ports via the command line without replugging. I don't have it to hand but it's mentioned over on the Pi forums with some discussion and pictures of different cmds to reset different ports. Off the top of my head you can reset 2 ports at a time (top pair or bottom pair) or all 4 at once. Quite handy for remote management.

This let me a rabbit hole, but found a tool called devcon.exe that Microsoft puts out. In theory, you can restart USB controllers or USB devices. I had cgminer running and 2Pac would not restart (as it was being used). I've had better luck restarting 2Pac after I quit cgminer, restart the USB devices via devcon.exe (devcon.exe restart *PID_EA60*) , then restart cgminer. Put in a batch file loop. Your mileage may vary... Otherwise, I'm going back to USB HuB with hard power switch and a power timer that will turn off USB HUB every hour.
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2017, 04:26:36 PM
 #1154

What are you mining if you don't me asking. I'm making $0.01 a day at 20 GH/s
I´m mining with a total average of 55 GH/s with my two sticks. My pool is the bitcoin.com pool.

mradentz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 03:19:22 AM
 #1155

Greetings.

Has anyone successfully compiled the vthong/cgminer for these really cool looking sticks (thanks in advance vh/sidehack!!!) on OS X (Sierra 10.12.6) lately and its working for you?

Here's my situation:

- 1 2pac on on ANKER 5v hub.
- Total String voltage set @ ~1.47v. -  double...  triple...  every try (you know what they say about insanity, right?)...  voltage checked.
- compiled vthong/cgminer from git using all instructions provided throughout this thread, the various README texts & the ckolivas/cgminer thread using autotools build process as well as trying the ./configure, make, make install method.  (--enable-gekko --enable-icarus) Even tried Homebrew but no new taps for the 2pac code.
- removed all other usb devices (usb hub, keyboard & mouse excepted)
- ran the "sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`
sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
sudo reboot" commands.  I'm thinking that is for the Linux build process, but wtf at this point.  No go.
- every time cgminer is launched (in Terminal) this is the output:

 [2017-12-08 20:57:05.386] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2017-12-08 20:57:05.387] Loaded configuration file /Users/**user**/.cgminer/cgminer.conf
 [2017-12-08 20:57:05.387] Fatal JSON error in configuration file.
 [2017-12-08 20:57:05.387] Configuration file could not be used.
 [2017-12-08 20:57:05.775] GekkoScience detect (253:7) failed to initialise (incorrect device?), resetting
 [2017-12-08 20:57:05.775] failed usb_init
 [2017-12-08 20:57:06.221] No devices detected!
 [2017-12-08 20:57:06.221] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 etc.

I've tried the older solutions suggested in both threads - Fabulous Panda, Asteroid (I think its called), etc.

Maybe I'm in the wrong thread for this issue and apologize in advance if so...  but I'm just at wit's end.

I have very basic coding skills (in fact, the last thing I wrote WAS actually in BASIC!?!) so please be gentle and would you very very intelligent folks maybe offer some suggestions, pointers, links, anything that might help get me on the right track.

Thanks in advance for your help.



sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1325

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 03:27:54 AM
 #1156

Have you tried compiling without Icarus support? You don't need it for either Gekkoscience stick, VH's driver is better. Might be causing conflicts in the detection process.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
mradentz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 03:40:47 AM
 #1157

Have you tried compiling without Icarus support? You don't need it for either Gekkoscience stick, VH's driver is better. Might be causing conflicts in the detection process.

sidehack...  man, thanks for the speedy response!!!  I'll give it a try and report back, hopefully successfully.

Also, very sincerely thanks for all the effort and wishing you great success with your ongoing & upcoming projects.  I'll stay tuned in fo' sho'.

-
m
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 04:05:05 AM
 #1158

suddenly had a random thought wondering how this will do in docker.
if the above suggestion doesn't work out, i might have something else to experiment with in a day or so.

vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 07:09:54 AM
 #1159

re:docker
can't seem to map the mac/windows usb devices in so that was a wash.


leaving it in the public docker repo in case someone finds a use for it.

Code:
docker run -it --privileged -v /dev/bus/usb:/dev/bus/usb vthoang/cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x --suggest-diff 32


Dockerfile
Code:
############################################################
# Dockerfile to build cgminer container images
# Based on Ubuntu
############################################################

FROM ubuntu

RUN apt-get update

RUN apt-get upgrade -y

RUN apt-get install -y build-essential git libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev screen libtool automake pkg-config libjansson-dev
     
RUN mkdir -p /opt/git/vthoang && \
    cd /opt/git/vthoang && \
    git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git && \
    cd cgminer && \
    CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko && \
    make -j 2

ENTRYPOINT ["/opt/git/vthoang/cgminer/cgminer"]
CMD ["--url","stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333","--userpass","1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr","--suggest-diff","32"]

yourshadow66
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 12:46:25 PM
 #1160

Hi guys,

I was trying to compile/install on Mac OS 10.12.6 (Darwin 16.7.0) to run it with my 2pac stick.
Got installed cgminer v.4.10.0 after fixing some errors in cgminer.rb script.

When trying to start cgminer with '--gekko-2pac-freq' it exits with message 'unrecognised option'. What does it mean? Did I compiled some wrong outdated version?

When I start cgminer with --compac-freq option I can see it running with the following start-up info:

 cgminer version 4.10.0 - Started: [2017-12-09 12:39:22.765]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (1m):0.000 (5m):0.000 (15m):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s
 A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 Connected to eu.stratum.slushpool.com diff 128 with stratum as user yourshadow66.worker1
 Block: afd2b715...  Diff:1.59T  Started: [12:39:22.765]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 USB management Pool management Settings Display options Quit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2017-12-09 12:39:10.522] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2017-12-09 12:39:21.764] No devices detected!
 [2017-12-09 12:39:21.764] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2017-12-09 12:39:21.764] Probing for an alive pool
 [2017-12-09 12:39:21.847] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2048


From the 'USB Management' menu if I select '[L]ist all known devices' I can see the following:

Bus 20 Device 2 ID: 10c4:ea60 bitshopperde 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner active
1 total known USB device
Hotplug interval:5
0 USB devices, 0 enabled, 0 disabled, 0 zombie


Is this expected behaviour? How to enable my 2Pac device?

Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!