Bitcoin Forum
May 12, 2021, 12:32:55 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 ... 224 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Launching the Antminer L3+, World's Most Powerful and Efficient Litecoin Miner  (Read 284371 times)
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 04:00:27 PM
Last edit: June 22, 2017, 04:13:31 PM by SplinterZalinsk
 #821

Are someone here using this PSU http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-1200w-Power-Supply-PSU-9-PCI-E-14AWG-breakout-Kit-for-Antminer-L3/371930474252?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D40130%26meid%3Dc89897be2798462f8a36ae654b6edf81%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D112368816422 for L3+?
1620822775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620822775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620822775
Reply with quote  #2

1620822775
Report to moderator
1620822775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620822775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620822775
Reply with quote  #2

1620822775
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1620822775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620822775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620822775
Reply with quote  #2

1620822775
Report to moderator
1620822775
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620822775

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620822775
Reply with quote  #2

1620822775
Report to moderator
MachineZero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 218
Merit: 100

mcrypt.com domain 4sale 20BTC


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 05:11:27 PM
 #822

New PSUs for L3+ now available on bitmain : https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020170619075836591tCPtMxa106D8

$10 more expensive than previous ones and now called APW3++

Just to note these are on pre-order for July/August Delivery

It says two L3+ can be connected at 220v.
Does that mean you need to get a splitter for the 9 cables?

kalombo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 05:25:39 PM
 #823

No idea dude. I just ordered mine today. As i have ordered also the machines.
New to all this. My main problem here is the noise guys. I am living in an apartment and although i will sacrifice a room for mining, i need to find a solution. I;ve seen people on youtube putting the miners in some cooler boxes with holes for the air in-out and tubes taking the air out.
This reduces the noise from 79dB to 55dB which is really good. People could also add soundproof foam pieces to make it better too. The temp inside the cabin stays around 24 degrees and the machine is same temp to the touch whther it's inside or outside the cooler box..
What you think guys..
thanks
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 05:49:18 PM
 #824

No idea dude. I just ordered mine today. As i have ordered also the machines.
New to all this. My main problem here is the noise guys. I am living in an apartment and although i will sacrifice a room for mining, i need to find a solution. I;ve seen people on youtube putting the miners in some cooler boxes with holes for the air in-out and tubes taking the air out.
This reduces the noise from 79dB to 55dB which is really good. People could also add soundproof foam pieces to make it better too. The temp inside the cabin stays around 24 degrees and the machine is same temp to the touch whther it's inside or outside the cooler box..
What you think guys..
thanks

I think this cooler box idea is really a smart solution for noise! How much units will you run in that room?
kalombo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 06:01:10 PM
 #825

I will be running 3 L3+ in that room.
The point it , i could rent a space and do it there. But it will cost about 400EUR a month for the rent ,  the internet line, and some additional costs. So this would actually brake my whole operations, even if it is all still profitable after all.
So i was thinking to "sacrifice" a room, but i want to maintain a certain quality of life lol
I am not into changing fans for quieter ones because i believe that if BITMAIN chose those among hundreds of others, it means that they been testing them all and came to the conclusion that those are the best. I don't want the machine to run on custom aftermarket parts etc...
So i am just looking for a way to isolate in a healthy way the original machines...

Another L3+ owner told me that the noise doesn't really come from the fans themselves. They make some noise but it is normal and not disturbing.
ALL the disturbing and loud noise comes from the air flow going through the machine, parts, cards etc... This makes sense. If you blow with your mouth just like that , there is minimal sound. If you blow with your mouth on a piece of paper really close to your mouth it will make noise...

So i have about 2 months to plan all this so this is why im asking around etc..

Much appreciated!
buggy166
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 06:02:39 PM
 #826

No idea dude. I just ordered mine today. As i have ordered also the machines.
New to all this. My main problem here is the noise guys. I am living in an apartment and although i will sacrifice a room for mining, i need to find a solution. I;ve seen people on youtube putting the miners in some cooler boxes with holes for the air in-out and tubes taking the air out.
This reduces the noise from 79dB to 55dB which is really good. People could also add soundproof foam pieces to make it better too. The temp inside the cabin stays around 24 degrees and the machine is same temp to the touch whther it's inside or outside the cooler box..
What you think guys..
thanks

id pay for sound proofing foam and attach it to the walls of the room. I couldnt be bothered to make 1 cooler box for every machine, not to mention the piping for air flow would be impossible to deal with in a small area.

alternatively, buy a server rack with sound proofing, although, thats the more expensive option.
kalombo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 06:12:10 PM
 #827

Yeah i know. I don't mind building MDF crates with foam etc..
For the server rack, yes it costs a lot.
I never heard the L3+ in real life. Most cellphones and cameras are not accurate. I took a video of my blow drier with my phone, and it sounded like armagedon. So maybe the noise is not that bad.. But 90% of people say it is really bad. Some even sell the machines because of the noise lol.
So an accurate input here would be appreciated. thanks
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 06:35:18 PM
 #828

Yeah i know. I don't mind building MDF crates with foam etc..
For the server rack, yes it costs a lot.
I never heard the L3+ in real life. Most cellphones and cameras are not accurate. I took a video of my blow drier with my phone, and it sounded like armagedon. So maybe the noise is not that bad.. But 90% of people say it is really bad. Some even sell the machines because of the noise lol.
So an accurate input here would be appreciated. thanks

I'm in almost the same boat, but in July batch waiting for 4 L3+s... I will run only 1 unit per 110v/15A circuit. How will you run 3 L3+s in the same room? Do you have a 240v outlet there?
bigmaq
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 06:49:11 PM
 #829

New PSUs for L3+ now available on bitmain : https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020170619075836591tCPtMxa106D8

$10 more expensive than previous ones and now called APW3++

Just to note these are on pre-order for July/August Delivery

It says two L3+ can be connected at 220v.
Does that mean you need to get a splitter for the 9 cables?

It has 9 pairs of cables so 18 connectors total ... no need for splitters

kalombo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 07:22:05 PM
 #830

Yeah i know. I don't mind building MDF crates with foam etc..
For the server rack, yes it costs a lot.
I never heard the L3+ in real life. Most cellphones and cameras are not accurate. I took a video of my blow drier with my phone, and it sounded like armagedon. So maybe the noise is not that bad.. But 90% of people say it is really bad. Some even sell the machines because of the noise lol.
So an accurate input here would be appreciated. thanks

I'm in almost the same boat, but in July batch waiting for 4 L3+s... I will run only 1 unit per 110v/15A circuit. How will you run 3 L3+s in the same room? Do you have a 240v outlet there?


I am located in Greece, and we have 220v here. So basically each new power supply will feed 2 machines.
I really wish i could have the machines sooner as i will have to wait until the end of August...
But on the other hand, it gives me time to plan on how i will setup everything.
Do you also have space issue? I've heard that 1-2 machines will create a room temperate of 38-42 degrees pretty fast. So the tubes for the air flow are a must in any case.
My main problem is the noise. I believe a custom crate for each is the best solution. Made of MDF, with foam on the inside. 2 holes for the airflow in and out. Well sealed to eliminate the maximum noise. Now, people could add small 5w USB fans inside the box to give an extra air flow on the inside of the cabin if it fits.. That's just what i have in mind. here is a link so you can see the difference:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWZVRT6XLn4
dot1q
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 07:49:28 PM
 #831

Guys,

What does it mean? Litecoin countdown.  http://litecoin.mit.edu/
Even Charlie Lee does not know about it   https://twitter.com/SatoshiLite/status/877746201004621825
 Huh Huh Huh
kurbeks
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 255


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 08:03:45 PM
 #832

Just get PSU's from Deep in Mines or Parallelminer. Where is problem?
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 08:16:00 PM
 #833

Just get PSU's from Deep in Mines or Parallelminer. Where is problem?

Out of stock
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 08:17:57 PM
 #834

Guys,

What does it mean? Litecoin countdown.  http://litecoin.mit.edu/
Even Charlie Lee does not know about it   https://twitter.com/SatoshiLite/status/877746201004621825
 Huh Huh Huh

This can only be a good thing! Smiley
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 08:26:04 PM
Last edit: June 22, 2017, 09:38:17 PM by SplinterZalinsk
 #835

Yeah i know. I don't mind building MDF crates with foam etc..
For the server rack, yes it costs a lot.
I never heard the L3+ in real life. Most cellphones and cameras are not accurate. I took a video of my blow drier with my phone, and it sounded like armagedon. So maybe the noise is not that bad.. But 90% of people say it is really bad. Some even sell the machines because of the noise lol.
So an accurate input here would be appreciated. thanks

I'm in almost the same boat, but in July batch waiting for 4 L3+s... I will run only 1 unit per 110v/15A circuit. How will you run 3 L3+s in the same room? Do you have a 240v outlet there?


I am located in Greece, and we have 220v here. So basically each new power supply will feed 2 machines.
I really wish i could have the machines sooner as i will have to wait until the end of August...
But on the other hand, it gives me time to plan on how i will setup everything.
Do you also have space issue? I've heard that 1-2 machines will create a room temperate of 38-42 degrees pretty fast. So the tubes for the air flow are a must in any case.
My main problem is the noise. I believe a custom crate for each is the best solution. Made of MDF, with foam on the inside. 2 holes for the airflow in and out. Well sealed to eliminate the maximum noise. Now, people could add small 5w USB fans inside the box to give an extra air flow on the inside of the cabin if it fits.. That's just what i have in mind. here is a link so you can see the difference:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWZVRT6XLn4

Nice! I liked that miner crate... It seems to work. I don't have so much space here, but I think its enough to 4 L3+s... Surely I will only have a better idea about heat/noise when I start the experiments here
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 08:58:26 PM
Last edit: June 22, 2017, 09:15:36 PM by SplinterZalinsk
 #836

The APW3++ for S9 (https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=000201706220552393488UOm1xDH0679) is 100% identical to The APW3++ for L3+ (https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=000201706190812304704Fch048r0646), except the interface type. It's '5 pairs of 6 pin PCI-E connectors (i.e. 10 connectors)' in APW3++ for S9 and it's '9 pairs of 6 pin PCI-E connectors (i.e. 18 connectors)' in APW3++ for L3+. So, if you will run only 1 L3+/APW3++ in a 110v like me (you can't run more than 1 L3+/APW3++ in 110v anyway)... you can get the APW3++ for S9 (July batch still available) to run your L3+ and it will be 100% identical to using APW3++ for L3+! Plus it's $10 cheaper each that savings $40 in my case.
kurbeks
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 255


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 09:54:15 PM
 #837

Just get PSU's from Deep in Mines or Parallelminer. Where is problem?

Out of stock

They have many PSU's just ask what they have in stock. Delta 2400W was recently and you can power two 2 L3+ with that PSU.
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 22, 2017, 11:06:15 PM
 #838

Just get PSU's from Deep in Mines or Parallelminer. Where is problem?

Out of stock

They have many PSU's just ask what they have in stock. Delta 2400W was recently and you can power two 2 L3+ with that PSU.

Delta 2400w doesn't work with 110v
64dimensions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 571
Merit: 508


View Profile
June 22, 2017, 11:19:11 PM
 #839

Doesn't a EVGA 1600W G2 work for the L3+?

1) One 12V rail

2) 9 PCIe connectors

3)  resale value

4) Designed to be low noise @ moderate load.

5) Available.
SplinterZalinsk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 12:43:46 AM
 #840

Doesn't a EVGA 1600W G2 work for the L3+?

1) One 12V rail

2) 9 PCIe connectors

3)  resale value

4) Designed to be low noise @ moderate load.

5) Available.

Yes... absolutely!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 ... 224 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!