Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 03:49:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 169 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][YAC] YACoin ongoing development  (Read 345882 times)
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
September 25, 2013, 05:46:56 PM
 #1221

I did see this happen a few times in my wallet - where several small transactions merged through a POS block and ended ~11 YAC in size.   I did have a POS that didn't again recently.

http://yacexplorer.tk/tx/996917e79b248e35cb4c5f98df7e7cda6a5bd1caf1dcb908e2f871fe51681dbf#i0

I'm not sure why sometimes it will merge small transactions, and other times it doesn't.   As you can see from the link above, when it doesn't merge with another transaction, any profit is lost.
IMHO that's a rounding "error". The minimum PoS reward is 0.01 YAC (at least I think it is) and if your reward is below that, you get nothing. Are you sure you had multiple sufficiently small inputs on a single address (beware of change addresses!) when you minted that block?

EDIT: BTW, is the new logo already added in the official repo? If not, can someone please make those so I can build a new wallet with all the bells and whistles not yet included in joe's repo? Need 16x16, 32x32, 48x48, 80x80, 128x128, 256x256 px PNG logo and 48x48 ICO icon.

EDIT2: Found most of the images on github, just need the 256x256 px PNG. Also, fuck... I've deleted my dev virtual machine. -.-"

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
1508687381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508687381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508687381
Reply with quote  #2

1508687381
Report to moderator
1508687381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508687381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508687381
Reply with quote  #2

1508687381
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508687381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508687381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508687381
Reply with quote  #2

1508687381
Report to moderator
1508687381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508687381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508687381
Reply with quote  #2

1508687381
Report to moderator
1508687381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508687381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508687381
Reply with quote  #2

1508687381
Report to moderator
SirMintALot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


In POS we trust


View Profile
September 25, 2013, 08:02:51 PM
 #1222

Pushing CPU to 100% is not the right solution. Idea behind PoS is to use very little power to run the network, a so called eco-friendly cryptocoin.
Never said it's a solution. I proposed it as a troubleshooting procedure.
maybe you can add a new command like "pospriority" to yacoind / debug window to change the POS miner priority for testing purposes?

BTC: 142BHpdq4wey7PC3Cp5QiUoshF19u3yvHN LTC: LbiEUDYjohwpXnv1Gd4LvdGr1Jr1M5Usjc NMC: N3eeYkWqeLFWBJRmS3WyU1zz6WgKkjEVtb
IXC: xtR8uc2EFGWFJgrVEgZZ5yvRsWKhwAg8ZH DVC: 18oVWfSqHjvhJEuHHxsDpCfBeDMuLWyh5p CLR: CGZGWW16sooX69PJBEtJH2Xmo4KFupkow7
PPC: PLJ5uzFw21FkKdSrmfccT3MqubSfSB4soE YAC: Y7FM89AiFhWKBcXh2BzzRaw4eUAYkreXbs LBW: 5ygEWM7dMjeUV2sBeppTvkTTXCkeREKqf2
I0C: jatiogvXJYhK7auegbjPnQRV3kQgFvz482 JPU: JE7fhhPfP1Kjyd1hj8zevNsf7THeMqHo6A NVC: 4Hvecu2fzC2rCwYbKBeYXr8y9pdAZLFZHH
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
September 25, 2013, 08:10:36 PM
 #1223

Pushing CPU to 100% is not the right solution. Idea behind PoS is to use very little power to run the network, a so called eco-friendly cryptocoin.
Never said it's a solution. I proposed it as a troubleshooting procedure.
maybe you can add a new command like "pospriority" to yacoind / debug window to change the POS miner priority for testing purposes?
I've added a command-line only switch "-fastpos". Usage:
Code:
yacoin-qt -fastpos=1
Pull request created and I would build a windows binary, but I've accidentaly deleted my dev virtual machine...

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
September 25, 2013, 09:12:06 PM
 #1224

Pushing CPU to 100% is not the right solution. Idea behind PoS is to use very little power to run the network, a so called eco-friendly cryptocoin.
Never said it's a solution. I proposed it as a troubleshooting procedure.
maybe you can add a new command like "pospriority" to yacoind / debug window to change the POS miner priority for testing purposes?
I've added a command-line only switch "-fastpos". Usage:
Code:
yacoin-qt -fastpos=1
Pull request created and I would build a windows binary, but I've accidentaly deleted my dev virtual machine...

Sweet! Cheesy

A new build with fast startup and this switch would be nice. I'll try it as soon as it's done.
forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
September 25, 2013, 09:55:24 PM
 #1225

Once coins make it to 30 days a PoS block being made within 24 hours would be ideal IMO. My client took like 4-5 days to get one. =/

So speeding up the PoS minting and SHOWING via the CPU usage it's actually doing something would be good IMO..
pmconrad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2013, 09:16:10 AM
 #1226

So speeding up the PoS minting and SHOWING via the CPU usage it's actually doing something would be good IMO..

No! That's totally against the whole point of PoS minting.

Besides, it wouldn't change anything in the long run, because an increase in PoS computing power would eventually lead to a higher PoS difficulty.

Joe_Bauers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783


GCVMMWH


View Profile
September 26, 2013, 12:48:11 PM
 #1227

I did see this happen a few times in my wallet - where several small transactions merged through a POS block and ended ~11 YAC in size.   I did have a POS that didn't again recently.

http://yacexplorer.tk/tx/996917e79b248e35cb4c5f98df7e7cda6a5bd1caf1dcb908e2f871fe51681dbf#i0

I'm not sure why sometimes it will merge small transactions, and other times it doesn't.   As you can see from the link above, when it doesn't merge with another transaction, any profit is lost.
IMHO that's a rounding "error". The minimum PoS reward is 0.01 YAC (at least I think it is) and if your reward is below that, you get nothing. Are you sure you had multiple sufficiently small inputs on a single address (beware of change addresses!) when you minted that block?

EDIT: BTW, is the new logo already added in the official repo? If not, can someone please make those so I can build a new wallet with all the bells and whistles not yet included in joe's repo? Need 16x16, 32x32, 48x48, 80x80, 128x128, 256x256 px PNG logo and 48x48 ICO icon.

EDIT2: Found most of the images on github, just need the 256x256 px PNG. Also, fuck... I've deleted my dev virtual machine. -.-"

I see your edit so it looks like you've found them, but for everyone that isn't aware, all of the new images and logos are here:
https://github.com/yacoin/yacoin/releases/tag/testing_0.4.1-b   Also, the 256x256 is yacoin.png 

This is a testing release that contains coin control, the icons and images, and many other updates and will likely be the next stable release soon. So, test it out if able. 
ilostcoins
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274



View Profile
September 26, 2013, 12:51:07 PM
 #1228

...
What happens if person does not bother generating PoS blocks for let's say 2 years? Does he or she gets the same PoS reward as persons who
were PoS mining every 30 days in same period of time?
...

I think "coinage" is capped at 3 months. So, 10-month-old coins are just like 3-months-old. Waiting a year or two before starting up the client again will be missing the chance for some of the interest that could be generated.

Beyond that, much of POS are still quite mysterious to me.

LTC: LSyqwk4YbhBRtkrUy8NRdKXFoUcgVpu8Qb   NVC: 4HtynfYVyRYo6yM8BTAqyNYwqiucfoPqFW   TAG id: 4313
CMC: CAHrzqveVm9UxGm7PZtT4uj6su4suxKzZv   YAC: Y9m5S7M24sdkjdwxnA9GZpPez6k6EqUjUt
St.Bit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
September 26, 2013, 02:19:41 PM
 #1229

This is a testing release that contains coin control, the icons and images, and many other updates and will likely be the next stable release soon. So, test it out if able. 
Great. Any chance the DB update will make it aswell?

Sign a message and get some YAC: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=300152.0
Joe_Bauers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783


GCVMMWH


View Profile
September 26, 2013, 05:14:06 PM
 #1230

This is a testing release that contains coin control, the icons and images, and many other updates and will likely be the next stable release soon. So, test it out if able. 
Great. Any chance the DB update will make it aswell?

Unfortunately not, but absolutely for 0.4.2 
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
September 26, 2013, 06:49:03 PM
 #1231

So speeding up the PoS minting and SHOWING via the CPU usage it's actually doing something would be good IMO..
No! That's totally against the whole point of PoS minting.

Besides, it wouldn't change anything in the long run, because an increase in PoS computing power would eventually lead to a higher PoS difficulty.
It wouldn't affect PoS diff at all when averaged over a few blocks. It's just a waste of electricity if you have your client running 24/7 anyways (but can actually save electricity when you launch your pc for just a few minutes to get your PoS rewards).

...
What happens if person does not bother generating PoS blocks for let's say 2 years? Does he or she gets the same PoS reward as persons who
were PoS mining every 30 days in same period of time?
...

I think "coinage" is capped at 3 months. So, 10-month-old coins are just like 3-months-old. Waiting a year or two before starting up the client again will be missing the chance for some of the interest that could be generated.
That's right.

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
pmconrad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile WWW
September 27, 2013, 08:59:45 AM
 #1232

So speeding up the PoS minting and SHOWING via the CPU usage it's actually doing something would be good IMO..
No! That's totally against the whole point of PoS minting.

Besides, it wouldn't change anything in the long run, because an increase in PoS computing power would eventually lead to a higher PoS difficulty.
It wouldn't affect PoS diff at all when averaged over a few blocks.

Think globally. A single client using lots of hashpower to generate PoS blocks with only a few coins in the wallet won't change the difficulty much.
But if you change the official client to speed up PoS minting, then everybody will use the higher hashrate, and then difficulty will rise.


 It's just a waste of electricity if you have your client running 24/7 anyways (but can actually save electricity when you launch your pc for just a few minutes to get your PoS rewards).

True.

ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
September 27, 2013, 01:47:44 PM
 #1233

Is it a good idea to send all my coins to a new address to start POS minting?
I switched to Ubuntu now, and I have my old .dat file and also can dual boot win, so I was thinking of doing that.
Thirtybird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
September 27, 2013, 02:02:38 PM
 #1234

Is it a good idea to send all my coins to a new address to start POS minting?
I switched to Ubuntu now, and I have my old .dat file and also can dual boot win, so I was thinking of doing that.

If you send them to a new address, the POS mining date starts over - I would just use the old wallet.

YACMiner: https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner  N-Factor information : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0
BTC: 183eSsaxG9y6m2ZhrDhHueoKnZWmbm6jfC  YAC: Y4FKiwKKYGQzcqn3M3u6mJoded6ri1UWHa
pmconrad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile WWW
September 27, 2013, 02:16:49 PM
 #1235

Is it a good idea to send all my coins to a new address to start POS minting?
I switched to Ubuntu now, and I have my old .dat file and also can dual boot win, so I was thinking of doing that.

You need at least 10 YAC per address, so this may be required if you have lots of small change on different addresses.

ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
September 27, 2013, 02:21:37 PM
 #1236

Is it a good idea to send all my coins to a new address to start POS minting?
I switched to Ubuntu now, and I have my old .dat file and also can dual boot win, so I was thinking of doing that.

If you send them to a new address, the POS mining date starts over - I would just use the old wallet.

I thought the small transactions would be worse, since I mined most of the coins, then bought some more.

How can I import my wallet dat? Just copy and place it inside the yacoin folder in my home directory?
SirMintALot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


In POS we trust


View Profile
September 27, 2013, 03:22:44 PM
 #1237

I would dump the privkey of your YAC adress
Code:
dumpprivkey <yacoinadress>
and then import it on the new machine
Code:
importprivkey <yacoinprivkey> [label]
after that yacoin usually crashes (at least it always did when I imported vanitygen adresses), but when you restart yacoin the new adress should be added to it

BTC: 142BHpdq4wey7PC3Cp5QiUoshF19u3yvHN LTC: LbiEUDYjohwpXnv1Gd4LvdGr1Jr1M5Usjc NMC: N3eeYkWqeLFWBJRmS3WyU1zz6WgKkjEVtb
IXC: xtR8uc2EFGWFJgrVEgZZ5yvRsWKhwAg8ZH DVC: 18oVWfSqHjvhJEuHHxsDpCfBeDMuLWyh5p CLR: CGZGWW16sooX69PJBEtJH2Xmo4KFupkow7
PPC: PLJ5uzFw21FkKdSrmfccT3MqubSfSB4soE YAC: Y7FM89AiFhWKBcXh2BzzRaw4eUAYkreXbs LBW: 5ygEWM7dMjeUV2sBeppTvkTTXCkeREKqf2
I0C: jatiogvXJYhK7auegbjPnQRV3kQgFvz482 JPU: JE7fhhPfP1Kjyd1hj8zevNsf7THeMqHo6A NVC: 4Hvecu2fzC2rCwYbKBeYXr8y9pdAZLFZHH
Joe_Bauers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783


GCVMMWH


View Profile
September 27, 2013, 03:24:13 PM
 #1238

Is it a good idea to send all my coins to a new address to start POS minting?
I switched to Ubuntu now, and I have my old .dat file and also can dual boot win, so I was thinking of doing that.

If you send them to a new address, the POS mining date starts over - I would just use the old wallet.

I thought the small transactions would be worse, since I mined most of the coins, then bought some more.

How can I import my wallet dat? Just copy and place it inside the yacoin folder in my home directory?

If you've already compiled YACoin in Ubuntu, then replace the wallet.dat in .yacoin That's a hidden folder, so you will need to show hidden folder in whatever file manager you have.

If you haven't compiled yet, just create a .yacoin folder in home and copy your wallet.dat there. Then compile.  
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
September 27, 2013, 03:41:57 PM
 #1239

I've compiled it, and optimized with native/O3 flags lol (doubt it'll help with PoS)
I'll try copying my .dat, seems simple enough.

Thanks guys!
St.Bit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
September 27, 2013, 08:19:04 PM
 #1240

Back to YACoin logo debate. The reason ...
At first it was entertaining, but now it's just anoying.

Everyone was heard and could post ideas, we decided that we will vote here on the logo and we voted. No further reasoning needed.

Sign a message and get some YAC: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=300152.0
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 169 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!