Bitcoin Forum
June 28, 2017, 02:22:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 [76] 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 ... 169 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][YAC] YACoin ongoing development  (Read 331934 times)
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 09:47:36 PM
 #1501

I'll just leave this here Smiley
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=359367

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
1498616564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498616564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498616564
Reply with quote  #2

1498616564
Report to moderator
1498616564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498616564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498616564
Reply with quote  #2

1498616564
Report to moderator
1498616564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498616564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498616564
Reply with quote  #2

1498616564
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498616564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498616564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498616564
Reply with quote  #2

1498616564
Report to moderator
1498616564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498616564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498616564
Reply with quote  #2

1498616564
Report to moderator
1498616564
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498616564

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498616564
Reply with quote  #2

1498616564
Report to moderator
Beave162
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
December 08, 2013, 06:42:41 AM
 #1502


I think the lack of a mining client with stratum support is a pretty big freakin deal, right? 

YaCoin: YL5kf54wPPXKsXd5T18xCaNkyUsS1DgY7z 
BitCoin: 14PFbLyUdTyxZg3V8hnvj5VXkx3dhthmDj
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 10:54:03 AM
 #1503


I think the lack of a mining client with stratum support is a pretty big freakin deal, right? 

Well, not that much. Stratum protocol aims to reduce the load on pool servers with a huge number of miners by letting the miners:
  • create unique valid work for themselves when they run out of shares and there was not a new block on the network
  • listen for changes instead of asking for them every couple of seconds, thus reducing the bandwidth used by miners/pools by disabling longpoll and making the pool push notifications to miner

The first point doesn't need correcting yet as it's not slowing down miners (because YAC mining is so slow anyway), and the second is not a big deal unless the pools run out of bandwidth due to a HUGE amount of miners.

I'd say a bigger deal would be integrating CPU mining into more sophisticated clients like cgminer (AFAIK there's yacminer with only GPU support). This way you would have the option to failover from one pool to another automagically, which is needed badly right now with pools crashing every couple of minutes (no idea why they're crashing).

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
feeleep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 12:38:05 PM
 #1504


I think the lack of a mining client with stratum support is a pretty big freakin deal, right? 

Well, not that much. Stratum protocol aims to reduce the load on pool servers with a huge number of miners by letting the miners:
  • create unique valid work for themselves when they run out of shares and there was not a new block on the network
  • listen for changes instead of asking for them every couple of seconds, thus reducing the bandwidth used by miners/pools by disabling longpoll and making the pool push notifications to miner

The first point doesn't need correcting yet as it's not slowing down miners (because YAC mining is so slow anyway), and the second is not a big deal unless the pools run out of bandwidth due to a HUGE amount of miners.

I'd say a bigger deal would be integrating CPU mining into more sophisticated clients like cgminer (AFAIK there's yacminer with only GPU support). This way you would have the option to failover from one pool to another automagically, which is needed badly right now with pools crashing every couple of minutes (no idea why they're crashing).

its not pool which is crashing - pushpool is not able to handle so many connections... I will open few more ports today evening to support higher interest of yac mining

feeleep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 08:39:34 PM
 #1505

Hi,

As promised I opened 2 new LP ports on http://yac.coinmine.pl pool to handle the load:

8088 - not recommended - heavily used
8080 - not recommended - heavily used
8881 - recommended - new
8882 - recommended - new

Stratum Port: 9088 - recommended

feeleep


sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 08:50:05 PM
 #1506

Hi,

As promised I opened 2 new LP ports on http://yac.coinmine.pl pool to handle the load:

8088 - not recommended - heavily used
8080 - not recommended - heavily used
8881 - recommended - new
8882 - recommended - new

Stratum Port: 9088 - recommended

feeleep



umm... are you sure you're not just running into the default "socket max conn" limit? the default in linux is set to 128, which limits the number of incoming connections per one socket (one pool port) to 128, which is absurdly low. you can check this with
Code:
cat /proc/sys/net/core/somaxconn

or, if this is not the case, you must be getting some errors in the kernel log (dmesg) - if so, what are they? it's also possible you've reached max number of file handles per process (can be increased, too).

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
feeleep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 09:05:02 PM
 #1507

Hi,

As promised I opened 2 new LP ports on http://yac.coinmine.pl pool to handle the load:

8088 - not recommended - heavily used
8080 - not recommended - heavily used
8881 - recommended - new
8882 - recommended - new

Stratum Port: 9088 - recommended

feeleep



umm... are you sure you're not just running into the default "socket max conn" limit? the default in linux is set to 128, which limits the number of incoming connections per one socket (one pool port) to 128, which is absurdly low. you can check this with
Code:
cat /proc/sys/net/core/somaxconn

or, if this is not the case, you must be getting some errors in the kernel log (dmesg) - if so, what are they? it's also possible you've reached max number of file handles per process (can be increased, too).

it is a problem with pushpool itself as it somehow keeps connections established instead of closing it (and yes - I am using block notify scripts Smiley). After few days it is so overloaded (EDIT: sometimes there is 200000 established connections to yac port!) that there are more and more rejects - the only solution is to restart pushpool daemon.

There is no such problems with stratum server so thats why this is important (no only for me but also for miners)

sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 09:51:10 PM
 #1508

it is a problem with pushpool itself as it somehow keeps connections established instead of closing it (and yes - I am using block notify scripts Smiley). After few days it is so overloaded (EDIT: sometimes there is 200000 established connections to yac port!) that there are more and more rejects - the only solution is to restart pushpool daemon.

There is no such problems with stratum server so thats why this is important (no only for me but also for miners)
IMHO that should be fairly easy to fix.
I can take a look after wrapping up the YAC client. BTW, already achieved massive speedup on startup - need more donations! Wink
YAC price will surely spike after we release it, haha! Grin

To the Moon! ┗(°0°)┛

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 01:11:02 AM
 #1509

it is a problem with pushpool itself as it somehow keeps connections established instead of closing it (and yes - I am using block notify scripts Smiley). After few days it is so overloaded (EDIT: sometimes there is 200000 established connections to yac port!) that there are more and more rejects - the only solution is to restart pushpool daemon.

There is no such problems with stratum server so thats why this is important (no only for me but also for miners)
IMHO that should be fairly easy to fix.
I can take a look after wrapping up the YAC client. BTW, already achieved massive speedup on startup - need more donations! Wink
YAC price will surely spike after we release it, haha! Grin

To the Moon! ┗(°0°)┛

Yac price is recovering nicely...usd value has increased afaik.

Now I need to get a proper wallet, mine isn't updating the blockchain after a certain point Huh
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 01:22:13 AM
 #1510

it is a problem with pushpool itself as it somehow keeps connections established instead of closing it (and yes - I am using block notify scripts Smiley). After few days it is so overloaded (EDIT: sometimes there is 200000 established connections to yac port!) that there are more and more rejects - the only solution is to restart pushpool daemon.

There is no such problems with stratum server so thats why this is important (no only for me but also for miners)
IMHO that should be fairly easy to fix.
I can take a look after wrapping up the YAC client. BTW, already achieved massive speedup on startup - need more donations! Wink
YAC price will surely spike after we release it, haha! Grin

To the Moon! ┗(°0°)┛

Yac price is recovering nicely...usd value has increased afaik.

Now I need to get a proper wallet, mine isn't updating the blockchain after a certain point Huh

We have a working prototype of a new wallet ready. Not sure if it's bug-free, though. However, works for me so far.
You can get the latest windows binaries here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pwa2lymjl6igh6q/yacoin-cc-latest.zip

NOTE: you NEED to move/rename (backup) everything except wallet.dat and peers.dat in the yacoin data directory and then run yacoin with -loadblock=C:\blk0001.dat (assuming you put the blk0001.dat file in C:\). This is needed because we had to change the way blocks are indexed and now the wallet starts in LESS THAN 30 SECONDS (down from more than 30 minutes). However, this initial load will take somewhere around 2 hours (still faster than downloading it through the p2p network).

If you don't mind redownloading all the blocks, you can just remove the unneeded files and start yacoin normally (less hassle, but takes more time).

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
Digicoiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 02:45:35 AM
 #1511

I downloaded the new client and ran it using the switch but yacoin still hasn't opened after 15 minutes. Huh
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 03:11:14 AM
 #1512

Thanks Sairon! I'll try it out now...  Cool

EDIT: wow! 30 sec indeed...downloading blocks now. Thanks man!
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:42:28 AM
 #1513

I downloaded the new client and ran it using the switch but yacoin still hasn't opened after 15 minutes. Huh
Well, it should take a long time at first, read the note carefully. Wink

Thanks Sairon! I'll try it out now...  Cool

EDIT: wow! 30 sec indeed...downloading blocks now. Thanks man!
Glad it also works for you. Smiley


Tips for me and my friend who helped me write this appreciated! Cheesy

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
Digicoiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:43:47 AM
 #1514

after the client came up I closed it and opened it again.  This time it opened quickly and some coins went to stake properly.  Previously I'd had an orphan stake.  This looks good.
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:44:50 AM
 #1515

after the client came up I closed it and opened it again.  This time it opened quickly and some coins went to stake properly.  Previously I'd had an orphan stake.  This looks good.
Nice, thanks for the feedback!

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
procrypto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 10:43:43 PM
 #1516

This was posted in the other thread, but figured it might have been missed. Certainly sounds like something we should be in the running for!

Hello there,

Reddit ALTcointip bot has just announced its 2nd round of signups for a list of supported cryptocurrencies.

Please see the announcement for details. Thanks!

-- vindimy

BTC: 13ZSqb4DZUVe93G9o4rigMYtt2bn9hWUwk - LTC: LPRbUP1MhSbccbQLV9zZEKirGoAWyk9USa - DOGE: D65oH28tNus4QXAUJ5kcKwyym78KBxvKq2
Always mine the most profitable coin.. profit switching, optional auto-trading pool http://hashco.ws
aso118
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 11:45:56 PM
 #1517

This is great stuff!  I'll have to download and send a donation when I get home.  This is going to save so much time!  Smiley

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦
0.8%-1% House Edge
Thirtybird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 05:09:54 AM
 #1518

CPU Miner supporting scrypt-chacha on stratum

I was able to use the stratum version of CPU miner from pooler, and found the optimizations in the scrypt-jane library that mikaelh made, and I fixed the bug that prevented shares from being found and was able to compile them all into a series of x64 binaries for Windows.

These binaries should be as fast as the ones that you've been using, and also support stratum.  I kept the "scrypt-jane" command line option - apparently changing it to "yacoin" just confused people (even though it's, well, wrong).

Please, post any feedback or any problems.  PM me as an option.

Latest release will always be here - https://mega.co.nz/#!mwZTnTJD!M6V3Vnmj2Kxz1fhDP8K2LUFXjrtjM-OIcAoJS0S5afw

Source is available as well: http://github.com/Thirtybird/cpuminer

YACMiner: https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner  N-Factor information : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0
BTC: 183eSsaxG9y6m2ZhrDhHueoKnZWmbm6jfC  YAC: Y4FKiwKKYGQzcqn3M3u6mJoded6ri1UWHa
qiwoman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 05:24:58 AM
 #1519

I saw yacoin got a healthy upturn but because I can't mine yet are there any nice sites or faucets I can earn my first yacoin? I am going to buy some also on crypsy tomorrow too but wanted to earn my first yacoin. Smiley

feeleep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 05:41:17 AM
 #1520

Cracked it!!! 

I was able to use the stratum version of CPU miner from pooler, and found the optimizations in the scrypt-jane library that mikaelh made, and I fixed the bug that prevented shares from being found and was able to compile them all into a series of x64 binaries for Windows.

These binaries should be as fast as the ones that you've been using, and also support stratum.  I kept the "scrypt-jane" command line option - apparently changing it to "yacoin" just confused people (even though it's, well, wrong).

Please, post any feedback or any problems.  PM me as an option - I've got some free time tonight and tomorrow morning (EST) to work on this.

minerd-yacoin_stratum_x64.zip - https://mega.co.nz/#!mwZTnTJD!M6V3Vnmj2Kxz1fhDP8K2LUFXjrtjM-OIcAoJS0S5afw


Hi

It works perfect! So here is the message:

Please use Thirtybird's cpuminer to mine on http://yac.coinmine.pl pool to get 5% less stales

Code:
minerd-avx -a scrypt-jane -q -o stratum+tcp://yac.coinmine.pl:9088 -O worker:worker_pass

PS. I will send some donation later

feeleep

Pages: « 1 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 [76] 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 ... 169 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!