Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 05:56:32 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
donkenstien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 04:56:46 PM
 #1161

GUYS I CAN'T GET IT TO WORK ON MY PI  Cry Cry

Had an issue as well.  I used the instructions here:
https://steemit.com/raspberry/@qctechno/howto-install-futurebit-moonlander-2-usb-scrypt-miner-with-raspberrypi-3

It doesn't have the updated driver with the restart but it works.  Also make sure you your hub is at least 2A per port.  Run sudo lsusb on you pi before starting the install to make sure it sees them.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638035792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638035792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638035792
Reply with quote  #2

1638035792
Report to moderator
1638035792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638035792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638035792
Reply with quote  #2

1638035792
Report to moderator
vanberger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 05:43:46 PM
 #1162

i dont get this hub to work... the PSU is 30A on the 5V side

i get tons on "moonlander has stopped hashing" and "unknown rsponse from moonlander" msg

they work (if) very slow also on this hub and get HOT

http://prntscr.com/iitlw5

any recommendations to get 12 Moonlanders loadet?



greets
mike
crawlingspleen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 11:28:08 PM
 #1163


BBK addr : BL6EmxG32YptXQTp6KXDqyq3AMHU2UZbk4



Are you mining BBK? If so what pool are you using if you don't mind me asking?
donkenstien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 01:40:26 AM
 #1164


BBK addr : BL6EmxG32YptXQTp6KXDqyq3AMHU2UZbk4



Are you mining BBK? If so what pool are you using if you don't mind me asking?
I was on minpool for a couple days, but became the only one.  Went over to hashfaster both work fine, but the risk of an orphan block on minpool made me switch.
donkenstien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 01:59:54 AM
 #1165

i dont get this hub to work... the PSU is 30A on the 5V side

i get tons on "moonlander has stopped hashing" and "unknown rsponse from moonlander" msg

they work (if) very slow also on this hub and get HOT

http://prntscr.com/iitlw5

any recommendations to get 12 Moonlanders loadet?






greets
mike
Was Having a similar problem trying to run 15 on the big eyeboot hub.  I left the clock at 600 and raised the minimum difficulty to 2048.  While I only get 3.4 Mh, they run much more stable.  I also added some options to the command line that really helped seemed to help.  I also put a some small usb fans in the empty slots on the hub to help move the air.

bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us.litecoinpool.org:3333 -u worker.1 -p 1,d=2048 -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=600,baud=23040,chips=1,modules=2,usefifo=0,hotplug=17,thread-concurrency=50000,lookup-gap=0,gpu-threads=1


thomasvk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 11:52:29 AM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 04:09:03 PM by thomasvk
 #1166

Hello,

I've been running a ML2 for about 2 days, pretty much at stock settings (upped freq to 620) on a macbook pro usb3 port.
It has been running stable for that time, but suddenly the hashrate dropped to 2.1 - 2.5 MH, it used to be stable at 3 - 3.2 MH.

Am I missing something right here? My setup didn't change (no other devices attached).
For stable 3 MH you will need more than 500 mA. Can macbook pro usb port suplly current more than that?

I have no idea, I can only tell what I saw these last 2 days.

This is what system info says

Current Available (mA):   500
Current Required (mA):   100
Extra Operating Current (mA):   0

Apple docs:

Apple computers equipped with USB 3 provide up to 900 mA (milliamps) at 5 V (Volts) to most Apple USB peripherals as well as all third-party USB peripherals that comply with USB specifications.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204377
According to docs, it can provide from 500 mA up to 1100 mA, depends how much attached device is in some way compatible with oem apple devices. Try to lower clock speed @540... Dropping hasrate is usually all about lack of juice from usb port...

EDIT: 620 is not available clock speed listed on first page.

oh wow..
Must be a typo, I'll see what fixing this does.

Thank you.

It's on 625 now, but it seems it doesn't matter much. I used to get 3.2MH on 600 and stock settings, but hey better than nothing Wink
I'm mainly doing this to support and because I'm interested in it, not to get rich.


It is getting worse and worse from now on. It has drops to 1.5MH.
Frequent unknown responses, restarts,..

I have to lower my freq everyday, while it was stable the first 3 days, something definitely is wrong.

Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/mce5t24ee1w4yu1/Screenshot%202018-02-21%2008.35.11.png





I think you should decrease Vcore to 0.65V. Read page #34 of this thread up to post #669.

Yea to get under 1A and stable operation off a standard computer USB port your going to need to lower the voltage and run under 600 MHz.

I lowered it to 540 freq and around .65 core voltage, went well for 2 days. Then the same thing resurfaced.
Multiple errors, but now the hashrate goes even lower ex. 1.5.

It might have been something with the assembly of the ML by the distributor as the large heatsink with fan came loose (heat?) and I had the put it back.
It was already average assembled from start (fan and heatsink were pretty much off target by 0.5cm Wink )

I can't even let it run for 30 minutes now on low freq and voltage or the glue/paste starts to go soft and as I ran the thing horizontal the fan and heatsink would just fall down.

I'm not much of a hardware guy so I'm trying to explain the things as I see them Smiley

Thank you!
Game_of_Coins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 04:41:40 PM
 #1167

I lowered it to 540 freq and around .65 core voltage, went well for 2 days. Then the same thing resurfaced.
Multiple errors, but now the hashrate goes even lower ex. 1.5.

It might have been something with the assembly of the ML by the distributor as the large heatsink with fan came loose (heat?) and I had the put it back.
It was already average assembled from start (fan and heatsink were pretty much off target by 0.5cm Wink )

I can't even let it run for 30 minutes now on low freq and voltage or the glue/paste starts to go soft and as I ran the thing horizontal the fan and heatsink would just fall down.

I'm not much of a hardware guy so I'm trying to explain the things as I see them Smiley

Thank you!
I don'n know, sounds strange, glue/paste should go soft and starts to peel off at temps when your ML would be dead, at least twice, and it looks like it is alive and hashing with some solvable problems. Maybe you should send it back for repair, it doesn't sounds like something unrepairable but 0.5 cm off target for something 2,5 cm long was red flag from start... Did my best, good luck!
Finless
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 11:01:58 PM
 #1168

So I decided to add some command line options to my start file that significantly increased the stability, slightly increased the hash rate, and significantly decreased the HW on my old Gridseed Blades, with a few changes.  Lo and behold, the same effect was had on my wonderful Moonlander 2's.  I am running 17 of them at the moment on some pretty good hubs.  I saw a stability increase of a day or so, hash rate increase of 5% and 50% reduction in HW!!!.  Not sure what all of the settings do but hey it really seems to make a difference.  I also always launch Bfgminer with full Admin privileges on Windows, the same effect was had on the Pi 3.

C:\moonlander\bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-win64\bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us.litecoinpool.org:3333 -u worker.1 -p 1,d=4096 -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=600,baud=23040,chips=1,modules=2,usefifo=0,hotplug=17,thread-concurrency=50000,lookup-gap=0,gpu-threads=1

Cheers and Happy mining




LTC addr : LbDVdRR8dXwS2WrU4dWY6W97bEY7FY1vfn
DOGE addr : D5oSoTJjWLKabTUSCnSRyhgdPJufAkXmT6
BBK addr : BL6EmxG32YptXQTp6KXDqyq3AMHU2UZbk4



Cool man!  This worked.  It dropped my error rate a little and in fact did jump up my hash rate a little.  I was averaging 8,800 and now averaging 9,200 hash rate on my two Moonlanders. Error rate on both sticks was about 1.8% roughly and now both are below 1% (about .95).

Thanks!

Bob
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 01:43:49 AM
 #1169


I lowered it to 540 freq and around .65 core voltage, went well for 2 days. Then the same thing resurfaced.
Multiple errors, but now the hashrate goes even lower ex. 1.5.

It might have been something with the assembly of the ML by the distributor as the large heatsink with fan came loose (heat?) and I had the put it back.
It was already average assembled from start (fan and heatsink were pretty much off target by 0.5cm Wink )

I can't even let it run for 30 minutes now on low freq and voltage or the glue/paste starts to go soft and as I ran the thing horizontal the fan and heatsink would just fall down.

I'm not much of a hardware guy so I'm trying to explain the things as I see them Smiley

Thank you!

How long was it running with a detached heatsink? That should have completely fried it and probably the reason its not working how it should. These heatsinks are impossible to pull off as long as they are attached correctly (15 lbs force for 15 seconds). Sounds like the distributor you got them from didn't attached this one correct. Where did you buy it from?

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 01:47:03 AM
 #1170

i dont get this hub to work... the PSU is 30A on the 5V side

i get tons on "moonlander has stopped hashing" and "unknown rsponse from moonlander" msg

they work (if) very slow also on this hub and get HOT



any recommendations to get 12 Moonlanders loadet?






greets
mike
Was Having a similar problem trying to run 15 on the big eyeboot hub.  I left the clock at 600 and raised the minimum difficulty to 2048.  While I only get 3.4 Mh, they run much more stable.  I also added some options to the command line that really helped seemed to help.  I also put a some small usb fans in the empty slots on the hub to help move the air.

bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us.litecoinpool.org:3333 -u worker.1 -p 1,d=2048 -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=600,baud=23040,chips=1,modules=2,usefifo=0,hotplug=17,thread-concurrency=50000,lookup-gap=0,gpu-threads=1





Sounds like a placebo effect  lol Tongue

The only option my driver recognizes is "clock=" ...everything else is useless that you have. The only thing that could have made a difference is the d=2048, and those USB fans moving some heat away and causing them to run a bit cooler/more stable.


Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
cashen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 251


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 02:43:01 AM
 #1171

Quote

All I did was plug it in 20 days ago. Haven't touched it since.
Cursedworm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 01:04:12 PM
 #1172

Hello miners,

I received my first Moonlander 2 on Friday.
And now the first steps to get into mining world Smiley.

I managed to get it up and running for Litecoin and it works perfectly.

But I would like to try it as well for one of following coins:
Doge
Verge
DigiByte

Is there somebody who could give me a hand with this?
Don`t know how to set the bat file properly for these.
Can they be mined on litecoin pool as well?

Thanks for all support and help - send me PM for guidance.

All the best!

Finless
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 02:57:44 PM
 #1173

Quote

All I did was plug it in 20 days ago. Haven't touched it since.

Hey!  What is that cool GUI for BFGminer?

Bob
Bitfort
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 327

invest trade and gamble wisely


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 03:36:43 PM
 #1174

Quote

All I did was plug it in 20 days ago. Haven't touched it since.

Hey!  What is that cool GUI for BFGminer?

Bob


This is "awesome miner".

MY HINTs
◄M► MINING
◄G► GAMBLING
◄E► EXCHANGE

◄E► (KCS) Kucoin-Staking, Auto-Lending, Trading-Bot
◄E► (BNB) Binance-Staking, Savings, 10% RefBack
◄E► (TRX) Poloniex-Staking, Lending, Fee Discount
◄E► (LEO) Bitfinex-Staking, Auto-Lending

◄G► Betfury-Faucet, Dividend Earnings (BFG holders, mine BFG by playing)
◄G► Bitvest -  Faucet, Bankroll Invest
◄G► CryptoGames-Faucet, Lotto
◄G► PrimeDice-Faucet

◄M► Prohashing (Multipool)-Payout in any coin, get 0.50% bonus for 30 days
◄M► MiningRigRentals (Marketplace)-buy hashrate or rent your miners
◄M► Viabtc  (Pool)-payout to Coinex (exchnage) without fees


Finless
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 03:47:17 PM
 #1175

Quote

All I did was plug it in 20 days ago. Haven't touched it since.

Hey!  What is that cool GUI for BFGminer?

Bob


This is "awesome miner".

Yes I just found it.

Studying how to enable the API on this version of BFGminer.
I think all I have to do is pass this in the command line --api-network

Bob
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 09:45:39 PM
 #1176

Hello miners,

I received my first Moonlander 2 on Friday.
And now the first steps to get into mining world Smiley.

I managed to get it up and running for Litecoin and it works perfectly.

But I would like to try it as well for one of following coins:
Doge
Verge
DigiByte

Is there somebody who could give me a hand with this?
Don`t know how to set the bat file properly for these.
Can they be mined on litecoin pool as well?

Thanks for all support and help - send me PM for guidance.

All the best!



Welcome to mining!

You should do some general research on the web for mining, each coin usually has its own pool (for example litecoin pool only mines litecoin obviously, and you can't mine any other coin on there). For example if you want to mine verge, you just edit the bat file and change the pool info to miningpoolhub.com (one of the verge mining pools).

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
thomasvk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 08:09:42 AM
Last edit: February 26, 2018, 10:29:18 AM by thomasvk
 #1177


I lowered it to 540 freq and around .65 core voltage, went well for 2 days. Then the same thing resurfaced.
Multiple errors, but now the hashrate goes even lower ex. 1.5.

It might have been something with the assembly of the ML by the distributor as the large heatsink with fan came loose (heat?) and I had the put it back.
It was already average assembled from start (fan and heatsink were pretty much off target by 0.5cm Wink )

I can't even let it run for 30 minutes now on low freq and voltage or the glue/paste starts to go soft and as I ran the thing horizontal the fan and heatsink would just fall down.

I'm not much of a hardware guy so I'm trying to explain the things as I see them Smiley

Thank you!

How long was it running with a detached heatsink? That should have completely fried it and probably the reason its not working how it should. These heatsinks are impossible to pull off as long as they are attached correctly (15 lbs force for 15 seconds). Sounds like the distributor you got them from didn't attached this one correct. Where did you buy it from?

I didn't exactly know when I first noticed, but I sure can't run it any longer now than 15 minutes without coming loose, so it is pretty useless right now.
I ordered it on Bittawmart.
Adriano2010
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 516


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2018, 03:06:22 PM
Last edit: February 26, 2018, 09:53:48 PM by Adriano2010
 #1178

Why now the shares are lower than yesterday on litecoin pool org?




Edit: is ok. The difficulty rises so the shares comes after more seconds than before.
Finless
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 27, 2018, 01:20:07 AM
 #1179

jstefanop,

Your opinion please on temps.

I have 2 of your sticks.  One I bought from you on Ebay and the 2nd from Holybit.
Both sticks are doing great now that I have spent quite a bit of time tuning them.  FUN hobby to be honest especially for mining n00bs Smiley

I am running both at clock of 796.  Using a 6 AMP PS.
Both stick are running .70V on memory (I can get .68 on one) and .79V on core.
Error rate on one is less than 1% and the other is about 1.5%. The one I got from you on Ebay is the better stick.  Not that it mattered really but the error rate is always lower on this one.

I use a heat gun probe tool to measure the small back heat sink and it runs about 153F.  Knowing chips a bit 153F is OK.

So now the question.  When I jump to 832 clock I get an error on both sticks under 3% but both show an error rate of about 2.4ish.
Still all good. BUT the back heat sink runs about 162F.  I think this is pushing it no?  FYI Ambient temp in my room is 75F average right now.

Is 162F OK for the back heat sink?  What is the max temp on this to be careful of reaching?  Back in my old chip days 175F was about it before stuff starts losing a lot of life big time.

Your thoughts on temps please Smiley

Thanks jstefanop.  Your stick rocks for the hobbiest and I am loving them.  I just don't want to go to far and I want to be aware of proper temps.  I see some guys running these MAX out and they have to be smoking hot doing so.... Again your thoughts on temps.

Thanks,
Bob
TimBuck2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2018, 06:22:23 AM
 #1180

jstefanop,

Your opinion please on temps.

I have 2 of your sticks.  One I bought from you on Ebay and the 2nd from Holybit.
Both sticks are doing great now that I have spent quite a bit of time tuning them.  FUN hobby to be honest especially for mining n00bs Smiley

I am running both at clock of 796.  Using a 6 AMP PS.
Both stick are running .70V on memory (I can get .68 on one) and .79V on core.
Error rate on one is less than 1% and the other is about 1.5%. The one I got from you on Ebay is the better stick.  Not that it mattered really but the error rate is always lower on this one.

I use a heat gun probe tool to measure the small back heat sink and it runs about 153F.  Knowing chips a bit 153F is OK.

So now the question.  When I jump to 832 clock I get an error on both sticks under 3% but both show an error rate of about 2.4ish.
Still all good. BUT the back heat sink runs about 162F.  I think this is pushing it no?  FYI Ambient temp in my room is 75F average right now.

Is 162F OK for the back heat sink?  What is the max temp on this to be careful of reaching?  Back in my old chip days 175F was about it before stuff starts losing a lot of life big time.

Your thoughts on temps please Smiley

Thanks jstefanop.  Your stick rocks for the hobbiest and I am loving them.  I just don't want to go to far and I want to be aware of proper temps.  I see some guys running these MAX out and they have to be smoking hot doing so.... Again your thoughts on temps.

Thanks,
Bob


I know your question was to jstefanop and I am not trying to answer it, and I am sure he will do that but I just wanted to comment that as I read your post three times to make sure you didn't mention anything about running external fans to cool with.

I am fairly certain that anyone running these things full bore are also running external cooling. I am running these 6 at also 796 Mhz but I have two cheap USB flex fans on them and the hottest temp I got on the back heat sink (side without the fan) is 43° C (109° F) ...  quite a difference just two cheapo USB flex fans can make. 109°F vs 153°F ...


https://www.bit2dollar.com/image/6_796_ML2.jpg


I put that large text up there so I didn't cheat you out of an answer from jstefanop - not to be obnoxious.



Pages: « 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!