Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2019, 11:53:28 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 164 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Setup & Troubleshoot] Bitmain AntMiner S1 180GH/S miner  (Read 451599 times)
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 01:55:55 PM
 #241

Anybody managed to control the fan speed? I want to put it much higher as I am suspecting overheat

get a 4-pin to 7V molex or 12V molex adapter. If you have it run at a fixed 7V it may be low, but you can set it to be at 12V all the time if you dont mind the noise

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
1574121208
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574121208

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574121208
Reply with quote  #2

1574121208
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 01:57:25 PM
 #242

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 02:14:47 PM
 #243

http://cs408417.vk.me/v408417063/55f2/JJzQnJimET4.jpg

It's not ok, yep?

I already connected double 700watt chieftec 1 for 1 blade


Solved. 1  of psu is  broken.

Now its  works from 650w chftck.
http://cs408417.vk.me/v408417063/5649/Hav3QjnWq70.jpg
from different supply chain

Does putting that paper on top of the heatsinks really help airflow that much?  What are the temp differences with and without that you are seeing?

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 02:28:07 PM
 #244

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

Must be the psu. Running an OCZ 550W +80 having two modular pci, one for each board. What if I have 800 two rail? Enough to OC to 400 MHz? Otherwise what brand is advisable for single rail that splits into 2 6pin pci? Thanks

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
HappyS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1002



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 02:29:48 PM
 #245

http://cs408417.vk.me/v408417063/55f2/JJzQnJimET4.jpg

It's not ok, yep?

I already connected double 700watt chieftec 1 for 1 blade


Solved. 1  of psu is  broken.

Now its  works from 650w chftck.
http://cs408417.vk.me/v408417063/5649/Hav3QjnWq70.jpg
from different supply chain

Does putting that paper on top of the heatsinks really help airflow that much?  What are the temp differences with and without that you are seeing?
i'm also add second fun (12cm to 5v pins, low noise), without paper it is a ~50-54 after adding - ~42-45.
Paper is the most important to the most distant from the fan chips. Without it, the end of the radiator can be burned my finger when i touching.

Haм нyжны бoтинки для гoльфa, инaчe мы oтcюдa нe выбepeмcя.
13H5Cu9ixeud7kiD52mDXrR7NWgc2PERdJ
Andrey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 02:34:56 PM
 #246

Looks like PSU I've used is shit. It had 10.9V while working or so, even though it is designated as 650W. Now trying with better PSU.

sushi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100

ASIC Myth Buster


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 02:50:22 PM
 #247

There are may PSU claim to be a big strong one, but please select a brand name quality PSU for the Ant.  

1 Rail +12V is not enough but you can use 1 rail PCI-E and lines from CPU Power lines. 

Looks like PSU I've used is shit. It had 10.9V while working or so, even though it is designated as 650W. Now trying with better PSU.

>>> PM me for New ASIC Miner's Info.  We will go check it out <<<
FEEL GENEROUS TODAY?  ==> 1AHNusc3BQA2QJCokySAQ1Qtymr1ZyAG6P
sushi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100

ASIC Myth Buster


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 02:51:32 PM
 #248

BitMain AntMiner Group Buy3

200 Units

Ships on December 20 & 21st

4.25 BTC

Royalty & Quantity Discount Available

Hosting Option is Now Available

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=374199.0

>>> PM me for New ASIC Miner's Info.  We will go check it out <<<
FEEL GENEROUS TODAY?  ==> 1AHNusc3BQA2QJCokySAQ1Qtymr1ZyAG6P
Andrey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 02:53:09 PM
 #249

There are may PSU claim to be a big strong one, but please select a brand name quality PSU for the Ant.  

Looks like PSU I've used is shit. It had 10.9V while working or so, even though it is designated as 650W. Now trying with better PSU.

That one was Chieftec . Now I have FSP 650 aurum and  FSP 750 aurum they both are holding 11.6V while asic works. And still I get xxx sometimes. Will go buy better PSU's right now.  

giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 03:56:44 PM
 #250

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

Must be the psu. Running an OCZ 550W +80 having two modular pci, one for each board. What if I have 800 two rail? Enough to OC to 400 MHz? Otherwise what brand is advisable for single rail that splits into 2 6pin pci? Thanks
Corsair 1000 or 1200Gold or Platinum could be enough for 2 OC Antminer.


                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 04:23:03 PM
 #251

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

Must be the psu. Running an OCZ 550W +80 having two modular pci, one for each board. What if I have 800 two rail? Enough to OC to 400 MHz? Otherwise what brand is advisable for single rail that splits into 2 6pin pci? Thanks
Corsair 1000 or 1200Gold or Platinum could be enough for 2 OC Antminer.

Thank you sir...

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
arorts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 11:04:06 PM
 #252

http://cs408417.vk.me/v408417063/55f2/JJzQnJimET4.jpg

It's not ok, yep?

I already connected double 700watt chieftec 1 for 1 blade


Solved. 1  of psu is  broken.

Now its  works from 650w chftck.
http://cs408417.vk.me/v408417063/5649/Hav3QjnWq70.jpg
from different supply chain

Does putting that paper on top of the heatsinks really help airflow that much?  What are the temp differences with and without that you are seeing?
i'm also add second fun (12cm to 5v pins, low noise), without paper it is a ~50-54 after adding - ~42-45.
Paper is the most important to the most distant from the fan chips. Without it, the end of the radiator can be burned my finger when i touching.

I'm running my Antminer with 2 fans. Should I still put a piece of paper on top of the heatsinks?? If so, hopefully it won't cause an accident in case it gets in flames. Perhaps there's a better material...
mikep2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 11:32:11 PM
 #253


I'm running my Antminer with 2 fans. Should I still put a piece of paper on top of the heatsinks?? If so, hopefully it won't cause an accident in case it gets in flames. Perhaps there's a better material...

Why should it get in flames - heatsink? According to this - autoignition point for paper is at 218-246 'C  - I kinda doubt it that you will reach it with antminer. As for a better material - perhaps you can use a metal plate, but again there is a risk that it will melt at 1538 'C  Grin


           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
      ▄▄█████████████▄▄
    ▄█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
   ██████ ▄████▀  ▄███████
  ████████████   ██████████
 ▐██████████▀  ▄███████████▌
 ██████████   █████▀████████
 ████████▀  ▄████▀  ███████▌
  ███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████
   ████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
    ▀████████▄  ▄███████▀
      ▀▀█████████████▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
      ▄▄█████████████▄▄
    ▄█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
   ██████ ▄████▀  ▄███████
  ████████████   ██████████
 ▐██████████▀  ▄███████████▌
 ██████████   █████▀████████
 ████████▀  ▄████▀  ███████▌
  ███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████
   ████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
    ▀████████▄  ▄███████▀
      ▀▀█████████████▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
ANN THREAD
▬▬▬▬
BOUNTY
TWITTER
▬▬▬▬
FACEBOOK
SLACK
▬▬▬▬
TELEGRAM
MEDIUM
▬▬▬▬
LINKEDIN
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
      ▄▄█████████████▄▄
    ▄█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
   ██████ ▄████▀  ▄███████
  ████████████   ██████████
 ▐██████████▀  ▄███████████▌
 ██████████   █████▀████████
 ████████▀  ▄████▀  ███████▌
  ███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████
   ████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
    ▀████████▄  ▄███████▀
      ▀▀█████████████▀
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
arorts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 400
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 01:31:06 AM
 #254


I'm running my Antminer with 2 fans. Should I still put a piece of paper on top of the heatsinks?? If so, hopefully it won't cause an accident in case it gets in flames. Perhaps there's a better material...

Why should it get in flames - heatsink? According to this - autoignition point for paper is at 218-246 'C  - I kinda doubt it that you will reach it with antminer. As for a better material - perhaps you can use a metal plate, but again there is a risk that it will melt at 1538 'C  Grin


I don't know. Just thought of potential sparks somehow in case of some crazy short circuit since I'm planning to leave miner unattended during the Holidays. Hehe. Let's in that case use some Tungsten sheets. 10000 'F a pop :p
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 04:04:44 AM
 #255

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

Must be the psu. Running an OCZ 550W +80 having two modular pci, one for each board. What if I have 800 two rail? Enough to OC to 400 MHz? Otherwise what brand is advisable for single rail that splits into 2 6pin pci? Thanks

Personally, I have 1 machine running on a 600W Corsair, which claims 560W on a single 12V rail. It is happily operating a 400MHz antminer (from the second batch) and seems problem-free around 48/50 degrees, 2 fans and some paper overtop (the paper does help) using 1 4-pin ATX per board (wires are barely warm).

That said, not all PSUs (or electronics in general) meet the specs. some can handle more then rated and some struggle to come close, even in the same brand or batch. Even if you have more than the required (~500W?) available on your 12V rail the PSU may not be capable of providing the limit 24/7.

ALSO: make sure that if you have 2 or more rails each board has a seperate rail with enough amperage. I have a 730W PSU with roughly 325W available on 2 rails. 1 rail is used via the 2x4pin ATX cable, and the other via the PCI-e cable.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 05:26:02 AM
 #256

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

Must be the psu. Running an OCZ 550W +80 having two modular pci, one for each board. What if I have 800 two rail? Enough to OC to 400 MHz? Otherwise what brand is advisable for single rail that splits into 2 6pin pci? Thanks

Personally, I have 1 machine running on a 600W Corsair, which claims 560W on a single 12V rail. It is happily operating a 400MHz antminer (from the second batch) and seems problem-free around 48/50 degrees, 2 fans and some paper overtop (the paper does help) using 1 4-pin ATX per board (wires are barely warm).

That said, not all PSUs (or electronics in general) meet the specs. some can handle more then rated and some struggle to come close, even in the same brand or batch. Even if you have more than the required (~500W?) available on your 12V rail the PSU may not be capable of providing the limit 24/7.

ALSO: make sure that if you have 2 or more rails each board has a seperate rail with enough amperage. I have a 730W PSU with roughly 325W available on 2 rails. 1 rail is used via the 2x4pin ATX cable, and the other via the PCI-e cable.

Makes a lot of sense klondike-bar...you are a very kind man

+1

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 621
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 06:53:15 AM
 #257

My AntMiner starts to beep after a short time and stops mining.
Does anyone know what the problem could be or how I can debug this?

I use a 650W PSU without OC so it should have enough W.
The environment temperature is 14 degrees C.

Thanks!

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
Andrey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 07:03:49 AM
 #258

I've noticed that in cold room AntMiners are less stable, cause they drop fan RPM and thus farther from the fan side overheats even more. Temperature gradient becomes sharper in the cold room.

We need a means to control the fan settings. I would like to set lower target temperature but it seems cgminer just ignores --bitmain-fan and --bitmain-temp settings

slastar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 08:01:51 AM
 #259

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

Must be the psu. Running an OCZ 550W +80 having two modular pci, one for each board. What if I have 800 two rail? Enough to OC to 400 MHz? Otherwise what brand is advisable for single rail that splits into 2 6pin pci? Thanks
Corsair 1000 or 1200Gold or Platinum could be enough for 2 OC Antminer.
I run 2x 200GH AntMiner on Seasonic X-series 1050W Gold and they take 830W from the wall.
JKBtCn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 09:48:22 AM
 #260

xxoxoxxo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

178 Gh/s
Freq OC to 375
Connected via WIFI

Pretty happy with this after all of the setup issues but...

Is this acceptable/common on these machines having 5 chips out of service?


no, its not. you should have all chips in operation always if possible. reboot the unit and see if that helps. otherwsie, check your PSU. at 375MHz you will need at least a 450W 12V rail, preferably 600W on a single 12V rail

Must be the psu. Running an OCZ 550W +80 having two modular pci, one for each board. What if I have 800 two rail? Enough to OC to 400 MHz? Otherwise what brand is advisable for single rail that splits into 2 6pin pci? Thanks
Corsair 1000 or 1200Gold or Platinum could be enough for 2 OC Antminer.
I run 2x 200GH AntMiner on Seasonic X-series 1050W Gold and they take 830W from the wall.


Very nice setup. Thanks. I'm now getting 202Gh with no 'x' on boards after reboot. Wall is 240V which may help. But all is good for now (except increasing difficulty)!

NXT-XFAH-7N9C-6AS6-B3GLZ                BTC: 1MMzqYNNqQMMhY524Z9ThuQrRQW2whCmGk
NHZ: 8709719431783299770                 QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | Qi24ssRqmEo3Wepv9pgdmqNuTDKQByiEfd
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 164 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!