Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2019, 02:38:47 PM *
News: Help collect the most notable posts made over the last 10 years.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 39034 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 14, 2019, 05:06:32 PM
 #481

Right, now I remember he's on mac, which is why I didn't say something about zadig earlier.

cgminer's picking up 2Pacs, so either it's already got permissions directly or with the workaround. If it was detected but not able to mine for a permissions issue, there's a warning pops up about that instead of a no-devices-detected. Could that cause a failed-to-initialize without the message about permissions?

Seems to me something at least slightly weird's going on, but I'm the hardware guy so listen to VH and kano.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
1574001527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574001527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574001527
Reply with quote  #2

1574001527
Report to moderator
1574001527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574001527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574001527
Reply with quote  #2

1574001527
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
dashiva
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 14, 2019, 07:31:36 PM
 #482

Hello,

Thanks for the suggestions. Just attempted to mine as superuser, but got the same result.
goldsounds
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 03:42:46 AM
Last edit: April 16, 2019, 04:46:18 AM by frodocooper
 #483

Thanks again for all the advice.

I picked up the 700w power, removed my gtx560
all thats running now is the usb hub (PCIe, 12v rail) with 3 newpacs, and a couple of harddrives running onboard video

i am concerned that i have to crank up my freq to 505mhz for it to get stable.  Anything lower or higher gives me nonce errors or ASIC offline resets.

I tried running the new build again, and adding the noboost code, and tune down 90, and setting the freq at 500 the auto tuner dropped my sticks down to under 70mhz and my pool gave me (too low difficulty) errors.

my question is, should i be concerned of the freq (i do have fans on the sticks)?  everyone else seems to get 100gh/s share with lower freq with a similar build from what i've read?

if the auto tune wont work for me for some reason, can i set the freq by stick instead of globally for all 3 of them?  
GSH 1 - runs about 20gh/s lower than the other 2 sticks, and misses nonce and resets fairly often.

Code:
0: GSH 10031593: BM1387:2 506.25MHz      | 86.73G / 89.21Gh/s WU:1247.2/m
1: GSH 10031670: BM1387:2 506.25MHz      | 83.55G / 73.18Gh/s WU:1022.3/m
2: GSH 10031678: BM1387:2 506.25MHz      | 88.89G / 90.19Gh/s WU:1260.3/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2019-04-15 22:38:58.899] Accepted 221ce1cb Diff 1.92K/512 GSH 0
 [2019-04-15 22:39:07.931] Accepted 22fc2964 Diff 1.87K/512 GSH 1
 [2019-04-15 22:39:19.517] Accepted 296fc51a Diff 1.58K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:39:25.743] Accepted 0ab177bb Diff 6.13K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:39:27.165] Accepted 56406fb6 Diff 760/512 GSH 1
 [2019-04-15 22:39:41.037] Accepted 56b2f16a Diff 756/512 GSH 1
 [2019-04-15 22:39:41.348] GSH 1: missing nonces
 [2019-04-15 22:39:41.864] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-04-15 22:39:47.368] GSH 1: setting frequency to 506.25MHz
 [2019-04-15 22:39:50.877] Accepted 61036a22 Diff 676/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:39:55.828] Accepted 2b6e424d Diff 1.51K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:08.816] Accepted 0c62e004 Diff 5.29K/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:08.816] Accepted 49f8f0e5 Diff 886/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:20.033] Accepted 32a919de Diff 1.29K/512 GSH 0
 [2019-04-15 22:40:38.068] Accepted 7122dbc2 Diff 579/512 GSH 2
 [2019-04-15 22:40:40.462] Accepted 4fb98364 Diff 822/512 GSH 0
 [2019-04-15 22:40:49.236] GSH 1: missing nonces
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 526


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 06:58:52 AM
Last edit: April 16, 2019, 10:16:17 AM by frodocooper
 #484

Before the auto tune version (which is still undergoing changes) I ran my sticks at the freq of the slowest stick, which in my case was 450m. Even though the other sticks would run a bit faster, for simplicity it was just easier to run where they were all happy.

Secondly you could have an instance of cgminer per stick with individual settings.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 152
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 09:20:16 AM
Last edit: April 16, 2019, 10:36:17 AM by Valnurat
 #485

1. I'm currently running Raspian Stretch 9.8 with no issues.

2. You will likely want to save the run.sh file in the same folder as cgminer.

Another way to approach the issue, is  to run cgminer with the initial command line arguments, then use "s" > "w" ("Y" if asked to confirm overwrite) to write a config file.

Open another command prompt and (assuming you have a default instalation) navigate to and edit the config file with:

Code:
sudo su
cd /home/pi/.cgminer
nano cgminer.conf

You can now edit the cgminer config file.

Once you have it edited as desired, exit and save the cgminer.conf file with ctrl+x.

Now you can restart cgminer with "./cgminer" in the original window that cgminer was running in, and it will run with the updated config file settings. If you are switching settings often (maybe manually trying to hone in on a frequency) just leave the second command prompt window open so you can use one window for running cgminer and one for editing cgminer.conf.

3. I'll defer to someone else on this one, I'm just learning linux... (edit: This tutorial may have what you want for a cgminer auto run at start: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=233392.0).

4. For remote access I use VNC viewer.  You do have to sign up for a free account, but it's an easy process to get up and running. https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/how-to-use-remote-desktop-on-the-raspberry-pi-with-vnc/all.

Hope that helps a bit.

I have followed the link in point 3 and in point 10 in the link you have to do this:

Code:
sudo nano /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart

and add this to end of the file:

Code:
@/usr/bin/lxterminal --geometry=90x35 -e cgminer

But for some reason it will not start after reboot.

Do I have to add the whole path to CGminer, if so what is the path?
dfib
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 12:45:41 PM
Last edit: April 17, 2019, 12:23:15 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #486

Putting the whole path in worked for me, but I had to work with a different autostart file to get everything to run.

Try this:

open a terminal

Code:
cd .config/lxsession/LXDE-pi
nano autostart

Then add

Code:
@/usr/bin/lxterminal --geometry=90x35 -e /home/pi/cgminer/cgminer

to the last line.   Save and reboot.
qtstan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 12:48:10 PM
 #487

Is it normal that my newpac gets really hot even at 100 MHz?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 12:51:49 PM
 #488

Yes.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2019, 01:45:44 PM
Last edit: April 17, 2019, 12:24:40 AM by frodocooper
 #489

Is it normal that my newpac gets really hot even at 100 MHz?

Yes, but you can easily add some active cooling and actually get better efficiency. something as simple as a USB fan works wonders.
https://www.419mining.com/shop/fans/arctic-breeze-mobile/

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 526


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 07:52:48 PM
Last edit: April 17, 2019, 12:25:37 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #490

So further to my first attempt at making a copper top plate. I've finally finished (although still not perfect in my eyes, but hey, having a kid in hospital and running back and forth to the city to be with her has taken its toll so i just wanted to get it assembled) :-



The black bottom plate looked a bit odd so used the first attempt as the bottom plate. Shes mighty heavy now but certainly wont be getting knocked off the desk Grin

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2019, 09:33:09 PM
 #491

So further to my first attempt at making a copper top plate. I've finally finished (although still not perfect in my eyes, but hey, having a kid in hospital and running back and forth to the city to be with her has taken its toll so i just wanted to get it assembled) :-

The black bottom plate looked a bit odd so used the first attempt as the bottom plate. Shes mighty heavy now but certainly wont be getting knocked off the desk  Grin

Very Cool! Ive been toying with one that has slots for the fan stand, but your is still better. Very Steampunk.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
goldsounds
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 10:19:10 PM
 #492

How do you run cgminer and tell it which stick to use?
i dont mind running different instances, do i just disable the 2 other sticks in each instance, or is there a code that i can use for each one in my config?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 10:46:20 PM
 #493

New build (7a48c8f)

...

Add new testing parameter --gekko-serial
    Accepts double quoted, comma seperated list of Serial Numbers to target.
    Available for all gekko miner types.   Especially the 2pac type.
    --gekko-serial "GS-10001010,GS-10001011"


Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1972



View Profile
April 16, 2019, 11:30:38 PM
Last edit: April 17, 2019, 12:28:18 AM by frodocooper
 #494

So further to my first attempt at making a copper top plate. I've finally finished (although still not perfect in my eyes, but hey, having a kid in hospital and running back and forth to the city to be with her has taken its toll so i just wanted to get it assembled) :-

https://i.imgur.com/y9rFfYy.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/DiRU6og.jpg

The black bottom plate looked a bit odd so used the first attempt as the bottom plate. Shes mighty heavy now but certainly wont be getting knocked off the desk Grin

You need a lighted fan bro would really dress it up.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 1201


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 16, 2019, 11:44:35 PM
 #495

New build (7a48c8f)

...

Add new testing parameter --gekko-serial
    Accepts double quoted, comma seperated list of Serial Numbers to target.
    Available for all gekko miner types.   Especially the 2pac type.
    --gekko-serial "GS-10001010,GS-10001011"

Also the original advanced USB device selection options in cgminer are:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/blob/master/README#L489

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
goldsounds
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 17, 2019, 03:21:02 AM
Last edit: April 17, 2019, 04:14:10 AM by frodocooper
Merited by bones261 (1)
 #496

@sidehack and @kano

thank you guys,  adding --gekko-serial and running 3 instances of cgminer really got it going!
i have 2 sticks running around 110 gh/s around 515mhz and one at 450 now clocking around 90gh/s
i ended up setting each as a different worker in my pool
If i have not said it before, the help from the gekko team and everyone on this forum for hobby miners like me is fantastic.
you have now got a buyer of your products for life!  keep it up!

now to watch my electric bill!

Code:
[U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: GSH 10031670: BM1387:2 450.00MHz      | 92.74G / 90.92Gh/s WU:1270.7/m

Code:
[U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: GSH 10031678: BM1387:2 518.75MHz      | 114.0G / 111.5Gh/s WU:1557.1/m

Code:
[U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: GSH 10031593: BM1387:2 518.75MHz      | 105.1G / 110.9Gh/s WU:1548.7/m
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 17, 2019, 03:33:51 AM
 #497


you have now got a buyer of your products for life!  keep it up!


Funny you should mention that. *ahem*
   
GekkoScience Terminus R606 up to 1TH


Anyways hey, glad stuff is working for you. The --gekko-serial flag VH put in there is really handy for isolating sticks. As kano mentioned, cgminer already had stuff for separating out items on the USB bus but the serial flag simplifies things, though it only works for GekkoScience hardware. Course anymore, that's about all there is. Other than jstefanop's Litecoin gear and some Chinese knockoffs of my designs (some of which are legit fire hazards), there haven't been many non-Gekko USB miners made since about 2014.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
April 17, 2019, 05:12:45 AM
Last edit: April 18, 2019, 04:13:51 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #498

Hello all,
Just received a NewPac but can't seem to get cgminer 4.11.1 (installed via homebrew on Mac OS Sierra) to initialize the device...

Code:
[2019-04-13 14:43:17.034] GekkoScience detect (20:30) failed to initialise (incorrect device?), resetting
 [2019-04-13 14:43:17.035] No devices detected!
 [2019-04-13 14:43:17.035] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit

[...]

Any ideas? Thanks for reading.

cgminer probably can't claim the device.  
 
try disabling any possibly active vcp modem drivers.  

find them with:

Code:
sudo kextstat | grep -i ftdi

unload the driver to keep it from interfering.

Code:
sudo kextunload -bundle-id com.apple.driver.AppleUSBFTDI

or

Code:
sudo kextunload -bundle-id com.FTDI.driver.FTDIUSBSerialDriver

change from kextunload to kextload if you want them back.

gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 526


View Profile
April 17, 2019, 06:39:49 AM
Last edit: April 18, 2019, 04:14:29 AM by frodocooper
 #499

You need a lighted fan bro would really dress it up.

Funny you should mention that. Since shes been running and the “blinky lights” have been twittering away, i noticed how reflective it was. I may well get some sort of fan or small light strip to out under the fan stand for a little glow.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 149


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2019, 07:20:54 AM
 #500

You just need "mood" lighting is all. Looks like a noctua redux fan?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!