Bitcoin Forum
September 16, 2019, 03:43:22 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 34435 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 521


View Profile
May 16, 2019, 09:53:05 AM
 #661

Did someone play baseball with it or something?

Reading through these oddball problems with temp sensors and blinking lights I was wondering if there could well be a link to it being shipped and the handling of it? As you said you haven’t had any problems with testing but now people are having issues and the only common factor is shipping or possible storage (although these are selling like hotcakes so I doubt its that).

Could it be possible something has become unseated/worked loose?

P.S. sidehack please dont take that as a slur on your workmanship. I love your gear and its robust build quality 👍🏼

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
1568648602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568648602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568648602
Reply with quote  #2

1568648602
Report to moderator
1568648602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568648602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568648602
Reply with quote  #2

1568648602
Report to moderator
1568648602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568648602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568648602
Reply with quote  #2

1568648602
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568648602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568648602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568648602
Reply with quote  #2

1568648602
Report to moderator
1568648602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568648602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568648602
Reply with quote  #2

1568648602
Report to moderator
1568648602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568648602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568648602
Reply with quote  #2

1568648602
Report to moderator
DaveF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1454
Merit: 765



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2019, 12:15:12 PM
Last edit: May 17, 2019, 12:15:38 AM by frodocooper
 #662

Reading through these oddball problems with temp sensors and blinking lights I was wondering if there could well be a link to it being shipped and the handling of it? As you said you haven’t had any problems with testing but now people are having issues and the only common factor is shipping or possible storage (although these are selling like hotcakes so I doubt its that).

Could it be possible something has become unseated/worked loose?

P.S. sidehack please dont take that as a slur on your workmanship. I love your gear and its robust build quality 👍🏼

If you take a look at the Apollo LTC miner discussion you can see jstefanop had some shipping issues with them. They were shipped in a very sold box that was very well padded and people still had miners coming in damaged.

Mine came in yesterday and is hashing away with no issues. Can't get it above 750G, going to play with it more today.

-Dave




.




  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄████████▀▀▀▀███▄
███████▀     ████
███████   ███████
█████        ████
███████   ███████
▀██████   ██████▀
  ▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀

  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄
██    ▄▄▄▄▄ ▀  ██
██   █▀   ▀█   ██
██   █▄   ▄█   ██
██    ▀▀▀▀▀    ██
▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██▀
  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

            ▄▄▄
█▄▄      ████████▄
 █████▄▄████████▌
▀██████████████▌
  █████████████
  ▀██████████▀
   ▄▄██████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

    ██  ██
  ███████████▄
    ██      ▀█
    ██▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀
    ██▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
    ██      ▄█
  ███████████▀
    ██  ██




               ▄
       ▄  ▄█▄ ▀█▀      ▄
      ▀█▀  ▀   ▄  ▄█▄ ▀█▀
███▄▄▄        ▀█▀  ▀     ▄▄▄███       ▐█▄    ▄█▌   ▐█▌   █▄    ▐█▌   ████████   █████▄     ██    ▄█████▄▄   ▐█████▌
████████▄▄           ▄▄████████       ▐███▄▄███▌   ▐█▌   ███▄  ▐█▌      ██      █▌  ▀██    ██   ▄██▀   ▀▀   ▐█
███████████▄       ▄███████████       ▐█▌▀██▀▐█▌   ▐█▌   ██▀██▄▐█▌      ██      █▌   ▐█▌   ██   ██          ▐█████▌
 ████████████     ████████████        ▐█▌    ▐█▌   ▐█▌   ██  ▀███▌      ██      █▌  ▄██    ██   ▀██▄   ▄▄   ▐█
  ████████████   ████████████         ▐█▌    ▐█▌   ▐█▌   ██    ▀█▌      ██      █████▀     ██    ▀█████▀▀   ▐█████▌
   ▀███████████ ███████████▀
     ▀███████████████████▀
        ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀
FIND OUT MORE AT MINTDICE.COM
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 16, 2019, 12:53:37 PM
 #663

Wes0310, according to the device line, cgminer is only detecting 1 chip on that stick. If it's brand-new (just received), it's probably damaged and should be replaced. If it's not new, could be the voltage is set way too low and it's not picking up properly, or the voltage is set too high and it's overheating.

Adjust the voltage up a bit, make sure you have good cooling, and try it again. Sometimes an unplug-replug will take care of that.

gt_addict, I had similar issues with temp sensors not reporting on some advanced-controls prototype sticks last summer but chalked it up to the firmware. This one's code is much more robust, and when I first got temp sensors going I let one run for a week without any hiccups. But something's for sure going on, and the "quick fix" is just disabling that part pending a redesign. I can probably get the same functionality out of the microcontroller's internal temp sensor, though it's not as close to the heatsinks so won't read out the same which is why I didn't want to rely on it. Might have that implemented before Batch 2 starts shipping.

Additionally, I have a couple pods here that, on volt setting 4, could only hit something like 535MHz but were otherwise great. So everything will be tested at Volt 4 but with a second round at Volt 5 if it's only a few percent low. We did a similar adjust-retest for the weaker 2Pacs and nobody complained.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cliftonk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 6


View Profile
May 16, 2019, 06:14:49 PM
Last edit: May 17, 2019, 12:16:39 AM by frodocooper
 #664

@DaveF  Happy for you.  Mine is going back, and depending on how that goes I will probably just have to look at other equipment.

@Rockmoney the seller has not responded to my PM sent here, and calling the phone number listed just says "user busy."

@sidehack  Just to rule out the Ubuntu 18.04 industrial computer that works fine with the newpac,  but gets the chip errors with the R606, I got out a Dell Windows7 laptop.  Installed the latest build and the R606 fails in exactly the same manner.  Completely different hardware and different O/S.

Going to give @Rockmoney another couple hours, then just hit the return all button and be done with it.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 16, 2019, 06:22:09 PM
 #665

Speaking as not just a seller but also a manufacturer working 11-hour days for the last eight years or so - patience is a virtue. Rockmoney's usually up to his eyeballs dealing with all the various garbage Amazon throws at its sellers in exchange for the benefits of an unfair marketplace that embraces counterfeiting and withholds payouts for weeks at a time and can't always be relied upon to answer emails within a few minutes. But he'll take care of you if you let him.

And if he doesn't, I will.

It's possible your miner is the one he was discussing with me this morning.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cliftonk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 6


View Profile
May 16, 2019, 06:28:51 PM
Last edit: May 17, 2019, 12:17:23 AM by frodocooper
 #666

I appreciate that @sidehack.   Integrity makes all the difference in this day and time.  It says a lot about you.  Thanks.
rockmoney
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 440
Merit: 293


www.amazon.com/shops/MinersSupply


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2019, 06:32:11 PM
Last edit: May 17, 2019, 12:17:42 AM by frodocooper
 #667

I appreciate that @sidehack.   Integrity makes all the difference in this day and time.  It says a lot about you.  Thanks.

Message sent. My apologies for the delay, as we have been extremely busy (like sidehack mentioned). Also as sidehack mentioned, we have been talking about how to best resolve the issue you're experiencing.

Please shoot me another email when you get this. Thanks!  Wink


GekkoScience Products on Amazon Prime 1-DAY SHIPPING 
lrowland21093
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 13


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 01:26:56 AM
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #668

One more data point - I have three R606 from 419.  One of them was giving me the blinking lights and would not mine higher than about 200GH.
I worked with Nick from 419 and after compiling the latest cgminer on a RPi all three are hashing 800-900 each now.
This is using a Gekko USB hub and one of the HP DPS-1200FB power supplies.  
Again it is on a RPi.  I have tried mining with cksolo, kano, and slush and ASICBoost works on all at the same 900GH on all.

The one miner that is blinking is apparently #1 off the "assembly line" according to Nick (it does not have a notch on the case for the USB connection).
While it is still blinking, it is running nicely now.

Using a laser thermometer, the temperature on all three miners is about the same - about 100F.

These are great little machines - thank you sidehack for making them and vh for updating the cgminer!!
kingofhammers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 7


View Profile
May 17, 2019, 03:11:54 AM
 #669

@sidehack- after careful consideration I have decided to forgo re-engineering a case. The fun part is outweighed by the cost part.
DieselWeaseI
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 15


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 02:00:58 PM
Last edit: May 20, 2019, 12:10:10 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #670

Just wanted to share my testing results from the past two days with my R606 powered by an HP1200. Running on a Raspberry Pi 3B+ over wifi, so it looks like I'm maxxed out on this config as 600MHz is autotuning to 588. Might try an ASUS Tinker Board since that has a little more horsepower. I really want to keep this setup as mobile as possible. Still need to run a cable to where I have this sitting, so I haven't tried a hardwired network connection yet.

V4 550MHz - whole setup is drawing 102W at the wall (if you trust my Wemo Insight switch):

https://imgur.com/a/0nb1vWf

V4 600MHz - drawing 107W at the wall:

https://imgur.com/a/QVnpGaV
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 02:08:38 PM
 #671

Try a higher voltage setting first. If it still throttles low, it's more likely the controller than the miner.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2744
Merit: 1018


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 02:12:13 PM
Last edit: May 20, 2019, 12:11:04 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #672

588Hhz @ Voltage level 4 sounds pretty good.  If your shooting for a higher frequency why haven't you set the voltage higher?  The power draw seems high, but I have no idea what your power supply is consuming.

I'm testing a run at Power Level 6 and it's at 681Mhz and drawing 91 Watts, ATX Power supply and R606 only, although it may still be tuning.

Edit: yep it was still tuning.  Seems to have settled at 656Mhz.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1889



View Profile
May 18, 2019, 02:34:04 PM
 #673

I am getting  767.5  with voltage 7   and  about  1.025 th

power is an evga 750 watt T2  psu. (Titanium class)

cpu is  a ryzen 2700

16 gb ram

1 tb  sandisk ssd.

this is nice unit.  happy with it.

http://solo.ckpool.org/users/1JdC6Xg3ajT3rge3FgPNSYYFpmf53Vbtje

Will be throwing a nice party when I hit that block with it. Roll Eyes


I still have 8 compacs to give away.

I think I will do first raffle. Today will be the start.

Send me a pm  that you purchased a r606  from

sidehack or 419miner or rockmoney  or minefarmbuy.

lets try to get the first drawing done  on Tuesday the 21st.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DieselWeaseI
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 15


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 02:50:27 PM
 #674

Try a higher voltage setting first. If it still throttles low, it's more likely the controller than the miner.

Even at V5, it throttles down. I'm betting on the issue being the pi. Autotune drops it big time if I try to use any of the resources on the pi while mining. I'd set it up in my office and connect it to my antique AMD mining rig, but the temperature is still swinging up and down in New Jersey and my heat may kick on at some point and blow hot air on my equipment overnight.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1889



View Profile
May 18, 2019, 03:03:38 PM
Last edit: May 20, 2019, 12:12:17 AM by frodocooper
 #675

Even at V5, it throttles down. I'm betting on the issue being the pi. Autotune drops it big time if I try to use any of the resources on the pi while mining. I'd set it up in my office and connect it to my antique AMD mining rig, but the temperature is still swinging up and down in New Jersey and my heat may kick on at some point and blow hot air on my equipment overnight.

it can run in a 90f garage at voltage 7 and do 1.035th.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ANZPRnjCpA

video show 775 and 1.035th.

over time (a week) it sagged to freq 767.5 and 1.025th.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DieselWeaseI
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 15


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 03:06:44 PM
 #676

I still have 8 compacs to give away.

I think I will do first raffle. Today will be the start.

Send me a pm  that you purchased a r606  from

sidehack or 419miner or rockmoney  or minefarmbuy.

lets try to get the first drawing done  on Tuesday the 21st.

I'd love to join in, but my account isn't allowed to send pm's yet. I bought mine from 419 and received it on Thursday.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 03:10:20 PM
Last edit: May 20, 2019, 12:12:59 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #677

@DieselWeaseI

Those asic chips of the R606 expects work every few ms, on the dot.   If the CPU gets diverted elsewhere or the USB bus gets congested by other traffic for even a short period, it's not going to perform ideally.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1889



View Profile
May 18, 2019, 03:11:02 PM
Last edit: May 20, 2019, 12:13:31 AM by frodocooper
 #678

I'd love to join in, but my account isn't allowed to send pm's yet. I bought mine from 419 and received it on Thursday.

You are first on list.

1) DieselWeaseI

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
kingofhammers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 7


View Profile
May 18, 2019, 03:57:35 PM
 #679

Just wanted to share my testing results from the past two days with my R606 powered by an HP1200. Running on a Raspberry Pi 3B+ over wifi, so it looks like I'm maxxed out on this config as 600MHz is autotuning to 588.

This is damn near a mirror of what I am seeing. My Pi is hardwired just because of proximity.

Good to know that someone is having a similar experience. Time to pull an old desktop out and start fiddling with it.

Thank you for the insight @DieselWeaseI
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1889



View Profile
May 18, 2019, 04:40:50 PM
Last edit: May 20, 2019, 12:14:32 AM by frodocooper
 #680

When the list fills in a bit more I will use randomnumber.org to pick winner.
If you are on list and win I need two things proof of purchase and an address to send the prize.
I realized this prevents a false claim to a certain extent.
If you win you do not go into next  free raffle.

1) DieselWeaseI
2) Irowland21093
3) Kingofhammers

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!