Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:19:51 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243125 times)
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2013, 02:57:22 PM
 #1401

If you are restoring only Full servers are shown to get your entire txs history
Just using it as normal but today I had to select a different server as mine was down due to me upgrading it. Typically I don't even need to look at the servers list.

1481199591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199591
Reply with quote  #2

1481199591
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199591
Reply with quote  #2

1481199591
Report to moderator
1481199591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199591
Reply with quote  #2

1481199591
Report to moderator
1481199591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199591
Reply with quote  #2

1481199591
Report to moderator
EagleTM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
March 02, 2013, 10:23:50 PM
 #1402

Is there some reason I didn't hear about that all the electrum servers are now showing as "F" - full? I'm not getting any pruning servers listed any more.

It's actually a cosmetic display bug. It happens when you connect to a server that doesn't have an IRC  connection. There is no way for it to determine the actual list of servers available and falls back to the hardcoded list built into the client. The servers hardcoded are all shown as full servers however that's just because the built in list doesn't differentiate between the two types. I tried to fix this once, but the fix was too complicated and we reverted it.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 12:32:27 AM
 #1403

Is there some reason I didn't hear about that all the electrum servers are now showing as "F" - full? I'm not getting any pruning servers listed any more.

It's actually a cosmetic display bug. It happens when you connect to a server that doesn't have an IRC  connection. There is no way for it to determine the actual list of servers available and falls back to the hardcoded list built into the client. The servers hardcoded are all shown as full servers however that's just because the built in list doesn't differentiate between the two types. I tried to fix this once, but the fix was too complicated and we reverted it.
Thanks for the explanation.

Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 09:49:20 AM
 #1404

1.7 pre-release is up. Loads of things were added and changed so please help us test it before we can officially release it.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 01:30:02 PM
 #1405

version 1.7 is out! announcement will follow!

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 01:50:02 PM
 #1406

Electrum 1.7 Released

After a few months of hard work we are proud to announce Electrum 1.7. A lot has changed both the inside and outside of the application. Let me run through the list.

Plugin support
The classic gui can now be extended with plugins. Developers who want to add new features to Electrum or let Electrum interface to third-party services are now welcome to do so. Some core functionality in 1.6 and lower has now been refactored into a plugin.

Electrum ships with the following plugins by default.

  • Alias - Retrieve aliases using http.
  • Label sync - Syncs your labels between Electrum installs/instances.
  • Point of Sale - Adds a window with QR Code and more payment information.
  • QR Scanner - As the name implies
  • Virtual Keyboard - Adds a virtual keyboard to the password dialog.

Interactive console
The wall has been turned into a virtual console. The provided python environment gives users access to the wallet and gui. Most
electrum commands are available as python function in the console. Custom scripts an be loaded with a "run(filename)"
command. Tab-completions are available.

Offline wallets
Offline wallets now work in a way similar to Armory:

1. User creates an unsigned transaction using the online (watching-only) wallet.
2. Unsigned transaction is copied to the offline computer, and signed by the offline wallet.
3. Signed transaction is copied to the online computer, broadcasted by the online client.
4. All these steps can be done via the command line interface or the classic GUI. ("Load transaction" from "Import/Export" tabs in settings)

Private key exports
Private keys can be exported from within the classic GUI. For a single address, use the address menu (right-click). To export the keys of your entire wallet, use the settings dialog (import/export tab). It will dump your private keys to a csv file.

Multi-sig transactions
It is possible to create, sign and redeem multisig transaction using the command line interface. This is made possible by the following new commands: dumpprivkey, listunspent, createmultisig, createrawtransaction, decoderawtransaction, signrawtransaction. The syntax of these commands is similar to their bitcoind counterpart. For an example, see Gavin's tutorial: https://gist.github.com/gavinandresen/3966071

Wallet location for Windows changed
The location of the Electrum folder in Windows changed from LOCALAPPDATA to APPDATA. Discussion on this topic can be found here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=144575.0. This process should be automatically done for you but if a wallet is found in both folders it might ask you to resolve it yourself.

Address generation
The wallet waits for 2 confirmations before creating new addresses. This makes recovery from seed more robust. Note that it
might create unwanted gaps if you use Electrum 1.7 together with older versions of Electrum.

Various changes
Because of the internal changes there are currently problems creating the "single .exe build" of Electrum. Only the installation option is available. The good news is that command line options for this version are working and the style for the Lite GUI is packaged again.

Both setup and stand-alone are now available.

Also if somebody could let me know if the "upgrade notification" in 1.6.2 was working that would be great Smiley

Downloads available on the Electrum site
Bug tracker

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
ICantThinkOfaName
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 02:02:10 PM
 #1407

The 1.6.2 upgrade notification definitely works.

I have problem though.  I'm on the windows version and whenever I open my wallet I also get a separate console window.  If I close it, my wallet closes as well.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 04:20:52 PM
 #1408

The 1.6.2 upgrade notification definitely works.

I have problem though.  I'm on the windows version and whenever I open my wallet I also get a separate console window.  If I close it, my wallet closes as well.

This is intended for now. Enabling that console windows makes it so Electrum can accept command line options; without that window it won't accept it and things like portable mode or opening an other wallet are not possible.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 04:58:34 PM
 #1409

The 1.6.2 upgrade notification definitely works.

I have problem though.  I'm on the windows version and whenever I open my wallet I also get a separate console window.  If I close it, my wallet closes as well.

This is intended for now. Enabling that console windows makes it so Electrum can accept command line options; without that window it won't accept it and things like portable mode or opening an other wallet are not possible.
That sounds strange... I've written and used several Windows programs that accept command-line options without a console window. From where does this constraint stem? Are you calling AllocConsole()?

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 07:02:49 PM
 #1410

The 1.6.2 upgrade notification definitely works.

I have problem though.  I'm on the windows version and whenever I open my wallet I also get a separate console window.  If I close it, my wallet closes as well.

This is intended for now. Enabling that console windows makes it so Electrum can accept command line options; without that window it won't accept it and things like portable mode or opening an other wallet are not possible.
That sounds strange... I've written and used several Windows programs that accept command-line options without a console window. From where does this constraint stem? Are you calling AllocConsole()?

It is a result of PyInstaller what is currently used to build the windows packages. If you disable the console it won't accept command line arguments. If you have more experience in such methods please check out the build scripts and see if you can help us improve the windows packages.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 07:31:55 PM
 #1411

The 1.6.2 upgrade notification definitely works.

I have problem though.  I'm on the windows version and whenever I open my wallet I also get a separate console window.  If I close it, my wallet closes as well.

This is intended for now. Enabling that console windows makes it so Electrum can accept command line options; without that window it won't accept it and things like portable mode or opening an other wallet are not possible.
That sounds strange... I've written and used several Windows programs that accept command-line options without a console window. From where does this constraint stem? Are you calling AllocConsole()?

It is a result of PyInstaller what is currently used to build the windows packages. If you disable the console it won't accept command line arguments. If you have more experience in such methods please check out the build scripts and see if you can help us improve the windows packages.
Interesting. I've never used PyInstaller but I'll see what I can do.

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 08:42:33 PM
 #1412

apologies, we had to make a last minute fix to the 1.7 package on the website; there was a bug with imported keys.
please upgrade if you encounter it.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
cavveman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 09:03:06 AM
 #1413

No standalone version for 1.7?
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
March 18, 2013, 09:20:39 AM
 #1414

No standalone version for 1.7?

Let me quota you the correct passage of the announcement I wrote, it's a bit long so you might have missed it.

Quote from: Tachikoma
Because of the internal changes there are currently problems creating the "single .exe build" of Electrum. Only the installation option is available. The good news is that command line options for this version are working and the style for the Lite GUI is packaged again.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
zxyzxy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 11:09:42 PM
 #1415

i upgraded using electrum-v1.7-setup.exe now it wont run on my win32, what is going on? it says electrum.exe is not a valid win32 application.

can i somewhere download previous (old) version that worked fine for me? thanks.
dave111223
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 01:54:26 AM
 #1416

i upgraded using electrum-v1.7-setup.exe now it wont run on my win32, what is going on? it says electrum.exe is not a valid win32 application.

can i somewhere download previous (old) version that worked fine for me? thanks.

Delete your C:/Program Files/Electrum/ folder.

Then download and install this version: http://download.electrum.org/download/electrum-1.6.2-setup.exe

Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 07:40:23 AM
 #1417

i upgraded using electrum-v1.7-setup.exe now it wont run on my win32, what is going on? it says electrum.exe is not a valid win32 application.

can i somewhere download previous (old) version that worked fine for me? thanks.

Normally Slush builds the windows build on wine, which results in a 32bit binary. Slush was not available to build the latest binary for windows so I build it, but it seems I build a 64bit binary. I will see if I can ping Slush to build new packages or else I will see if I can switch my build environment to 32bit.

Sorry about the inconvenience.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
SomeWhere
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 06:13:06 PM
 #1418

The 1.6.2 upgrade notification definitely works.

I have problem though.  I'm on the windows version and whenever I open my wallet I also get a separate console window.  If I close it, my wallet closes as well.

This is intended for now. Enabling that console windows makes it so Electrum can accept command line options; without that window it won't accept it and things like portable mode or opening an other wallet are not possible.
That sounds strange... I've written and used several Windows programs that accept command-line options without a console window. From where does this constraint stem? Are you calling AllocConsole()?

It is a result of PyInstaller what is currently used to build the windows packages. If you disable the console it won't accept command line arguments. If you have more experience in such methods please check out the build scripts and see if you can help us improve the windows packages.

I don't know about Python, but in C / C++ you just need to do this:

Code:
ShowWindow(GetConsoleWindow(), SW_HIDE);

Part of the WinAPI.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 07:40:01 PM
 #1419

The 1.6.2 upgrade notification definitely works.

I have problem though.  I'm on the windows version and whenever I open my wallet I also get a separate console window.  If I close it, my wallet closes as well.

This is intended for now. Enabling that console windows makes it so Electrum can accept command line options; without that window it won't accept it and things like portable mode or opening an other wallet are not possible.
That sounds strange... I've written and used several Windows programs that accept command-line options without a console window. From where does this constraint stem? Are you calling AllocConsole()?

It is a result of PyInstaller what is currently used to build the windows packages. If you disable the console it won't accept command line arguments. If you have more experience in such methods please check out the build scripts and see if you can help us improve the windows packages.

I don't know about Python, but in C / C++ you just need to do this:

Code:
ShowWindow(GetConsoleWindow(), SW_HIDE);

Part of the WinAPI.

I appreciate the idea; but that won't help us. We are using PyInstaller to build the Windows binaries. If you can find something about PyInstaller that could do that please let me know Smiley

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
brincobt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 07:41:56 PM
 #1420

The Electrum 1.7 build for Windows from http://download.electrum.org/download/electrum-v1.7-setup.exe
is 64bit and does install but does not run in Windows 32bit.

I had to step back and download Electrum 1.6.2 from http://download.electrum.org/download/electrum-1.6.2-setup.exe.

Please use the proven installer as from 1.6.2 also for 1.7 to have compatibility with Windows 32bit.

Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!