Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:44:28 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243385 times)
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 11, 2013, 12:17:04 PM
 #1321

Electrum 1.6.1 is released. see http://electrum.org/download.html

Changelog:

== Core
* It is now possible to restore a wallet from MPK (this will create a watching-only wallet)
* A switch button allows to easily switch between Lite and Classic GUI.

== Classic GUI
* Seed and MPK help dialogs were rewritten
* Point of Sale mode: requested amounts can be expressed in other currencies and are converted to bitcoin.

== Lite GUI
* The receiving button was removed in favor of a menu item to keep it consistent with the history toggle.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
1481409868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409868
Reply with quote  #2

1481409868
Report to moderator
1481409868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409868
Reply with quote  #2

1481409868
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409868
Reply with quote  #2

1481409868
Report to moderator
1481409868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409868
Reply with quote  #2

1481409868
Report to moderator
1481409868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409868
Reply with quote  #2

1481409868
Report to moderator
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
January 11, 2013, 12:44:25 PM
 #1322

Still no android love: sl4a crashes when trying to run the install script.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
zebedee
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 666



View Profile
January 12, 2013, 04:35:33 AM
 #1323

Looking at the wiki it has

  mktx [-s sourceaddr] [-c changeaddr] [-f fee] <address> <amount>

There is no documentation for what units "fee" and "amount" are in.  Are they in BTC or in Satoshis?

What happens:
- if a change address isn't specified?  Does the same as when in GUI mode, depending on wallet settings?
- if a fee isn't specified? Does it use the default fee, or no fee, or ...?
- if a source address isn't specified?  Does it use the freeze and priority settings of the wallet?

Can the docs be improved to specify these things?  It's far too scary to create a transaction without knowing the answers.

Particularly as there seems to be no way to dump a given transaction in a human readable form that shows inputs, outputs and fee. Hint. Hint.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
January 12, 2013, 05:28:40 AM
 #1324

Looking at the wiki it has

  mktx [-s sourceaddr] [-c changeaddr] [-f fee] <address> <amount>

There is no documentation for what units "fee" and "amount" are in.  Are they in BTC or in Satoshis?

What happens:
- if a change address isn't specified?  Does the same as when in GUI mode, depending on wallet settings?
- if a fee isn't specified? Does it use the default fee, or no fee, or ...?
- if a source address isn't specified?  Does it use the freeze and priority settings of the wallet?

Can the docs be improved to specify these things?  It's far too scary to create a transaction without knowing the answers.

Particularly as there seems to be no way to dump a given transaction in a human readable form that shows inputs, outputs and fee. Hint. Hint.
I had a quick look at the code for you. Amount is definitely in BTC not satoshi. Other items appear to work the same as if you entered a send in the GUI because the values provided on the cmd line are passed to the same function as if from the GUI entry fields.

Ideally the docs would be better but it does take people effort to get that done and no one is getting paid for it.

I think it may be a good idea if perhaps adding a -v (verbose) flag would cause additional mktx info to be output. And in the case of pay_to cmd it could output details and prompt for final confirmation since it cannot be reversed. I could do that myself that if other devs nod agreement.

zebedee
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 666



View Profile
January 12, 2013, 07:28:17 AM
 #1325

Looking at the wiki it has

  mktx [-s sourceaddr] [-c changeaddr] [-f fee] <address> <amount>

There is no documentation for what units "fee" and "amount" are in.  Are they in BTC or in Satoshis?

What happens:
- if a change address isn't specified?  Does the same as when in GUI mode, depending on wallet settings?
- if a fee isn't specified? Does it use the default fee, or no fee, or ...?
- if a source address isn't specified?  Does it use the freeze and priority settings of the wallet?

Can the docs be improved to specify these things?  It's far too scary to create a transaction without knowing the answers.

Particularly as there seems to be no way to dump a given transaction in a human readable form that shows inputs, outputs and fee. Hint. Hint.
I had a quick look at the code for you. Amount is definitely in BTC not satoshi. Other items appear to work the same as if you entered a send in the GUI because the values provided on the cmd line are passed to the same function as if from the GUI entry fields.

Ideally the docs would be better but it does take people effort to get that done and no one is getting paid for it.

I think it may be a good idea if perhaps adding a -v (verbose) flag would cause additional mktx info to be output. And in the case of pay_to cmd it could output details and prompt for final confirmation since it cannot be reversed. I could do that myself that if other devs nod agreement.

Sounds good to me.  If you make the code to "dump details" self-contained, it could be used by mktx, the confirmation for pay_to, and a new dumptx command to show what's going on.  That would be v. cool.
keewee
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1018



View Profile
January 12, 2013, 12:47:55 PM
 #1326

You could try a build from git but if you are not familiar with terminals it might be a bit tricky. I can tell you that there is no reason a future version will suddenly work. It's not a problem with Electrum but the tools used to build a binary version from the Python source. Is there anybody else with the same problem on OS X?

I just tried 1.6.1 with the same result so decided to try some things in the command line. Ran it with -v and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Illegal instruction: 4

So then I renamed the electrum.dat file and tried to recover my old wallet and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Using random server...
electrum.no-ip.org:50001:t
electrum.bitcoin.cz:50001:t
missing tx []
Illegal instruction: 4

Finally I deleted the electrum.dat file and this time created a new wallet and it seems to fail in a similar manner except this time 5 new addresses were generated before the crash. Is there anything here that might lead to a solution? Is there anything else I can try?

1keewee2vRp63UWvPBynT55ZYw6SUCKDB
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
January 12, 2013, 02:31:27 PM
 #1327

You could try a build from git but if you are not familiar with terminals it might be a bit tricky. I can tell you that there is no reason a future version will suddenly work. It's not a problem with Electrum but the tools used to build a binary version from the Python source. Is there anybody else with the same problem on OS X?

I just tried 1.6.1 with the same result so decided to try some things in the command line. Ran it with -v and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Illegal instruction: 4

So then I renamed the electrum.dat file and tried to recover my old wallet and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Using random server...
electrum.no-ip.org:50001:t
electrum.bitcoin.cz:50001:t
missing tx []
Illegal instruction: 4

Finally I deleted the electrum.dat file and this time created a new wallet and it seems to fail in a similar manner except this time 5 new addresses were generated before the crash. Is there anything here that might lead to a solution? Is there anything else I can try?
I know nothing about OSX but a quick google turned up this:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/10177038/illegal-instruction-4-shows-up-in-os-x-lion
I don't know if this is known already but I wanted to make sure it's been looked at.

DPony13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
January 12, 2013, 02:56:49 PM
 #1328

I can't seem to open Electrum

Won't startup.
I need a fix? thanks

EndTheFed123, if you had just taken the money it wouldn't have ended like this Sad
BTW this hasn't been the real DPony13 since he "came back", I just hacked this account, SirLolicon is the real DPony13 I think.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 12, 2013, 09:38:53 PM
 #1329

Please note that I have removed links to third party binaries from the website.
I did this for security reasons, because I believe third-party binaries are the #1 threat for Electrum users.

If you need windows binaries, I invite you use the "official" Electrum builds, which are linked on the website.
These builds are provided by slush (Marek Palatinus), and they are completely open source.
We are also trying to make these builds 'deterministic', so that they will be verifiable by everybody.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
January 12, 2013, 10:30:31 PM
 #1330

That's a bit of a slap in flatfly's face, wouldn't you say? I hope you talked to him before you did that..

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
HostFat
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2013, 12:55:46 AM
 #1331

Are you going to support commands on "official" Windows Electrum builds?

Eternity Wall: Messages lasting forever - The Rock Trading (ref): A good exchange / gateway Ripple, with support for multisig, since 2007. 
https://bitcointa.lk: Bitcointalk backup if offline - Bitcoin Foundation Italia - Blog: http://theupwind.blogspot.it
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
January 13, 2013, 12:00:28 PM
 #1332

You could try a build from git but if you are not familiar with terminals it might be a bit tricky. I can tell you that there is no reason a future version will suddenly work. It's not a problem with Electrum but the tools used to build a binary version from the Python source. Is there anybody else with the same problem on OS X?

I just tried 1.6.1 with the same result so decided to try some things in the command line. Ran it with -v and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Illegal instruction: 4

So then I renamed the electrum.dat file and tried to recover my old wallet and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Using random server...
electrum.no-ip.org:50001:t
electrum.bitcoin.cz:50001:t
missing tx []
Illegal instruction: 4

Finally I deleted the electrum.dat file and this time created a new wallet and it seems to fail in a similar manner except this time 5 new addresses were generated before the crash. Is there anything here that might lead to a solution? Is there anything else I can try?


I wonder if this is perhaps QT related. Can you try to start ./Electrum -g text and see if that does start?

Edit: For those on 10.8 and up, this applies to Electrum as well. I only noticed this now because I already switched this as soon as I got my laptop and then forgot about it. I will see where I can add this to the site.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
MadSweeney
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
January 13, 2013, 12:47:21 PM
 #1333

Electrum 1.6.1 is released. see http://electrum.org/download.html


Thanks to the devs for the fixes. My bash script for making off-line transactions is working again. When electrum reached a certain previous version, 'electrum -w wallet mktx... > tx' stopped redirecting its output to a file if executed within my bash script.

I should have reported that earlier, but I hope it stays fixed in future updates. Sent a donation.

keewee
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1018



View Profile
January 13, 2013, 05:59:36 PM
 #1334

You could try a build from git but if you are not familiar with terminals it might be a bit tricky. I can tell you that there is no reason a future version will suddenly work. It's not a problem with Electrum but the tools used to build a binary version from the Python source. Is there anybody else with the same problem on OS X?

I just tried 1.6.1 with the same result so decided to try some things in the command line. Ran it with -v and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Illegal instruction: 4

So then I renamed the electrum.dat file and tried to recover my old wallet and got:
localhost:MacOS s$ ./Electrum -v
path /Users/s/.electrum/electrum.dat
Install zbar package to enable QR scans
Using random server...
electrum.no-ip.org:50001:t
electrum.bitcoin.cz:50001:t
missing tx []
Illegal instruction: 4

Finally I deleted the electrum.dat file and this time created a new wallet and it seems to fail in a similar manner except this time 5 new addresses were generated before the crash. Is there anything here that might lead to a solution? Is there anything else I can try?


I wonder if this is perhaps QT related. Can you try to start ./Electrum -g text and see if that does start?

Edit: For those on 10.8 and up, this applies to Electrum as well. I only noticed this now because I already switched this as soon as I got my laptop and then forgot about it. I will see where I can add this to the site.

No joy, same error message. I see "Synchronising..." at the bottom left then it crashes with the illegal instruction 4 again

1keewee2vRp63UWvPBynT55ZYw6SUCKDB
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 14, 2013, 12:31:15 PM
 #1335

source packages and binaries for Windows are now provided with gpg signatures.
Windows binaries are built and signed by slush.

To verify the signature of a package, you must first import the public key of the person who signed it.
For  example, this is how you import my gpg key:

Code:
curl "http://pool.sks-keyservers.net:11371/pks/lookup?op=get&search=0x2BD5824B7F9470E6" | gpg --import


Then you do this to verify a file:
Code:
gpg --verify Electrum-1.6.1.tar.gz.asc Electrum-1.6.1.tar.gz


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
sacko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
January 14, 2013, 12:43:15 PM
 #1336

It seems that flatfly has been kicked out. Thats deplorable!
I liked his work.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 14, 2013, 01:06:03 PM
 #1337

That's a bit of a slap in flatfly's face, wouldn't you say? I hope you talked to him before you did that..

It seems that flatfly has been kicked out. Thats deplorable!
I like his work.


We (slush and I) are working to make the build process transparent and open, in the best interest of users.
Flatfly's builds are not open source (violation of GPL, despite my repeated demands) and it is impossible for other developers to verify what he puts in them.

I am sure flatfly is a honest person. However, that is a personal opinion, not a certainty.
I cannot run the risk of exposing hundreds of users to a massive scam, just because I failed to have the right opinion on someone.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
HostFat
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2013, 01:18:10 PM
 #1338

Again, are commands available on the windows build?

Eternity Wall: Messages lasting forever - The Rock Trading (ref): A good exchange / gateway Ripple, with support for multisig, since 2007. 
https://bitcointa.lk: Bitcointalk backup if offline - Bitcoin Foundation Italia - Blog: http://theupwind.blogspot.it
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 14, 2013, 01:24:40 PM
 #1339

Again, are commands available on the windows build?

I don't think they are.
if we do not manage to get this working soon, we will release a command-line only build.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 02:37:50 PM
 #1340

That's a bit of a slap in flatfly's face, wouldn't you say? I hope you talked to him before you did that..

It seems that flatfly has been kicked out. Thats deplorable!
I like his work.


We (slush and I) are working to make the build process transparent and open, in the best interest of users.
Flatfly's builds are not open source (violation of GPL, despite my repeated demands) and it is impossible for other developers to verify what he puts in them.

I am sure flatfly is a honest person. However, that is a personal opinion, not a certainty.
I cannot run the risk of exposing hundreds of users to a massive scam, just because I failed to have the right opinion on someone.

A reasonable stance. Thanks for the clarification.

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
Pages: « 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!