Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:15:26 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 [70] 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243050 times)
cjanthony
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 06:01:39 AM
 #1381

Hello. After extensive use, I have a few questions about Electrum:

- Regarding Electrum addresses with asterisk under "Tx" column. Why have some of these addresses seen previous use (even before I generated the wallet)?
- Can the Electrum seed phrase program be modified to generate a 256 bit seed phrase? Can this be made a cmdline option, e.g. --strength [128,256]?  If not, would a fork be possible?

I can handle lots of 12 word phrases easily; I want more security. I like Electrum, but I'm concerned about 128 bit security and also how certain addresses (with asterisks) have seen previous use according to blockchain.info. Please explain how this is possible. 128 bit seed phrase is ok, but 256 bit option would put Electrum over the top for me.
1481026526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026526
Reply with quote  #2

1481026526
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026526
Reply with quote  #2

1481026526
Report to moderator
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
February 02, 2013, 06:17:38 AM
 #1382

Hello. After extensive use, I have a few questions about Electrum:

- Regarding Electrum addresses with asterisk under "Tx" column. Why have some of these addresses seen previous use (even before I generated the wallet)?
- Can the Electrum seed phrase program be modified to generate a 256 bit seed phrase? Can this be made a cmdline option, e.g. --strength [128,256]?  If not, would a fork be possible?

I can handle lots of 12 word phrases easily; I want more security. I like Electrum, but I'm concerned about 128 bit security and also how certain addresses (with asterisks) have seen previous use according to blockchain.info. Please explain how this is possible. 128 bit seed phrase is ok, but 256 bit option would put Electrum over the top for me.

I do not think there is a serious reason to use 256 bits of entropy. (you might be confused because of RSA, for which a 128 bits key is too short. we're not talking about the same thing here)

if the addresses you generate have been previously used, it means that you are reusing a wallet that you already generated before, or that there is a serious security issue with Electrum. Switch to a full server and you'll recover your full history, not just the asterisks. if you believe this is the case, can you PM me the master public key?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
cjanthony
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 09:04:17 AM
 #1383

I do not think there is a serious reason to use 256 bits of entropy. (you might be confused because of RSA, for which a 128 bits key is too short. we're not talking about the same thing here)

if the addresses you generate have been previously used, it means that you are reusing a wallet that you already generated before, or that there is a serious security issue with Electrum. Switch to a full server and you'll recover your full history, not just the asterisks. if you believe this is the case, can you PM me the master public key?

It is a restored wallet. This would explain previous transactions under asterisk addresses, however I was under the notion that only change addresses were used to bounce coins around. So I didn't expect there to be previous transactions in anything but change addresses.

What does the asterisk mean?

Keep up the good work, I recommend everyone try Electrum. I always hesitate at 128 bits though. I feel it sounds less secure than 256, even if it's not true. Can you explain why 128 entropy is good here?

Thank you
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
February 02, 2013, 09:46:28 AM
 #1384

It is a restored wallet. This would explain previous transactions under asterisk addresses,
oh yes, this would perhaps explain  Grin Grin Grin

Quote
however I was under the notion that only change addresses were used to bounce coins around. So I didn't expect there to be previous transactions in anything but change addresses.
hum, so what, coins never touch the main addresses?

Quote
What does the asterisk mean?
it means that the address has been used, but the history has been pruned by the server, so the number of transactions is unknown

Quote
I always hesitate at 128 bits though. I feel it sounds less secure than 256, even if it's not true. Can you explain why 128 entropy is good here?
standard Bitcoin addresses have an entropy less or equal to 160 bits, (the size of the hash), so going beyond that is completely irrelevant.
128 bits is the standard proposed in BIP32, and it is also used in Armory.




Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
dave111223
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
February 07, 2013, 02:19:50 PM
 #1385

Why do some new transactions show up as date "Unknown" and "-1 Confirmations"?

Even though the transaction has a few confirmations.  When I change the sync server it still says with the -1 confirmations, the only way to update it to the correct confirmations is to restart electrum.

tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
February 07, 2013, 02:25:24 PM
 #1386

Why do some new transactions show up as date "Unknown" and "-1 Confirmations"?

Even though the transaction has a few confirmations.  When I change the sync server it still says with the -1 confirmations, the only way to update it to the correct confirmations is to restart electrum.

Which version are you using?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
dave111223
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
February 07, 2013, 11:42:53 PM
 #1387


Which version are you using?

1.6.2

tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
February 08, 2013, 09:45:31 AM
 #1388


Which server where you using?  There were problems with electrum.be yesterday.

Does a restart of the Electrum client help?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
dave111223
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
February 08, 2013, 10:59:17 AM
 #1389


Which server where you using?  There were problems with electrum.be yesterday.

Does a restart of the Electrum client help?

I tried pretty much all the servers, by clicking the green dot, choosing a new server, then waiting for it to resync.  Each server had the same problem.

After a few restarts and once the confirmations were about 7 the transaction showed up properly.  Note this only seems to occur when the funds are arriving from multiple accounts.

don giovanni
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
February 13, 2013, 02:29:44 AM
 #1390

Hi, i was wondering what happens if all the servers go down for good? Would we lose access to our wallets? Would there be any way to transfer funds from our electrum wallets to other wallets at that point?
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 03:06:41 AM
 #1391

Your keys are easily exportable from the electrum wallet file and thus importable into another wallet system.

The command line way to do it (is there another way?) is

Code:
electrum -w wallet.dat -ak addresses

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
don giovanni
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
February 13, 2013, 11:13:28 PM
 #1392

Your keys are easily exportable from the electrum wallet file and thus importable into another wallet system.

The command line way to do it (is there another way?) is

Code:
electrum -w wallet.dat -ak addresses

Why isnt there an option in the windows client to do this?
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
February 14, 2013, 09:16:43 AM
 #1393

The windows client does not support command line options as far as I know, but Slush can answer that better then I can.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2013, 05:07:25 PM
 #1394

Hi, i was wondering what happens if all the servers go down for good? Would we lose access to our wallets? Would there be any way to transfer funds from our electrum wallets to other wallets at that point?

I guess we should put a FAQ on the website, with this question answered first.
the answer is: you can export your private keys (even if you are offline), and import them in another client.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
VeeMiner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 749


bitcoin hodler


View Profile
February 16, 2013, 11:16:36 AM
 #1395

Hey guys.

So I installed the Electrum client and I'm happy with it. However I have one problem - I wrote down the seed and set a password and everything. However the password that I set was a long one and even though I wrote it down and copied it into notepad, it seems like there is some problem. Now when I try to send money from it it tells me the password is invalid. Is there any way to get my money out and create a new wallet with maybe shorter password or something?

Thanks
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2013, 11:23:37 AM
 #1396

Hi VeeMiner, the seed (which you wrote down to the paper) isn't encrypted. So the worst-case scenario is to load the seed to fresh wallet and set some different password.

VeeMiner
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 749


bitcoin hodler


View Profile
February 16, 2013, 12:01:01 PM
 #1397

Hi VeeMiner, the seed (which you wrote down to the paper) isn't encrypted. So the worst-case scenario is to load the seed to fresh wallet and set some different password.

yeah, I got it working like this, thank you... now Ill send the money that I sent to this wallet out, reinstall the client, get a new wallet, set a seed and some not-as-crazy password that I can actually type Smiley

Edit: another fun question - how do I uninstall electrum from Windows 8? Smiley

or I would like to remove the wallet from the system and create a new one in a clean way...

edit. ok I deleted the .dat file in appdata/local and got it working Smiley
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2013, 10:32:14 PM
 #1398

Hi VeeMiner, the seed (which you wrote down to the paper) isn't encrypted. So the worst-case scenario is to load the seed to fresh wallet and set some different password.

yeah, I got it working like this, thank you... now Ill send the money that I sent to this wallet out, reinstall the client, get a new wallet, set a seed and some not-as-crazy password that I can actually type Smiley

Edit: another fun question - how do I uninstall electrum from Windows 8? Smiley

or I would like to remove the wallet from the system and create a new one in a clean way...

edit. ok I deleted the .dat file in appdata/local and got it working Smiley

If you set a wrong password or want to change it, all you need to do is delete the electrum.dat (imported addresses' privekey will be gone) ir rename it and Restore from your seed to set a new password for the new electrum.dat

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2013, 06:01:45 AM
 #1399

Is there some reason I didn't hear about that all the electrum servers are now showing as "F" - full? I'm not getting any pruning servers listed any more.

edit: Seems to have fixed itself as now (a few hours later) some are "P" again. That's odd. Any reason for that?

btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2013, 02:47:57 PM
 #1400

If you are restoring only Full servers are shown to get your entire txs history

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
Pages: « 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 [70] 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!