Bitcoin Forum
September 16, 2019, 09:27:59 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 [519] 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256279 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 04, 2015, 10:52:45 PM
Last edit: January 04, 2015, 11:03:00 PM by samsonn25
 #10361

Because SP35 at 3650 watts at 208-240 volts, would need very high amp circuit (slightly more than double) than at 110-115 volts that it cannot supply unless you double up to 208-240v


Let me see 3650 watts at 208-240 , whats that a 8800 watt load at 80% safety, then it needs a 80amp slot.  wtf.  40amp 2 pole.

Just 1 machine using almost half of average home 100 amp service.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568669279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568669279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568669279
Reply with quote  #2

1568669279
Report to moderator
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1061



View Profile
January 04, 2015, 10:57:46 PM
 #10362

Anyone who knows what the current price drop will do to the development of new 14/16nm finfet chips?

To the development probably not much, but depending on how expensive they are to produce, the selling of the miners based on that process may be affected.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
Fatman3001
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1003


Make Bitcoin glow with ENIAC


View Profile
January 04, 2015, 11:28:49 PM
 #10363

Anyone who knows what the current price drop will do to the development of new 14/16nm finfet chips?

To the development probably not much, but depending on how expensive they are to produce, the selling of the miners based on that process may be affected.

If they try to produce anything like that now it will end in tears. I see both Bitmain and Spondoolies chose to hold back a bit and keep developing 28nm for a bit (Bitmain already released their S5). It is looking like the clever move right now.

"I predict the Internet will soon go spectacularly supernova and in 1996 catastrophically collapse." - Robert Metcalfe, 1995
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 01:49:12 AM
Last edit: January 05, 2015, 02:02:36 AM by wh00per
 #10364

Because SP35 at 3650 watts at 208-240 volts, would need very high amp circuit (slightly more than double) than at 110-115 volts that it cannot supply unless you double up to 208-240v


Let me see 3650 watts at 208-240 , whats that a 8800 watt load at 80% safety, then it needs a 80amp slot.  wtf.  40amp 2 pole.

Just 1 machine using almost half of average home 100 amp service.

Your math is wrong. With double the voltage you need half the amperage for the same power. 4000W at the wall per SP35 unit gives about 10Amps on a 208V circuit for each PSU.
A 208V 30A circuit will be enough for 1x SP35 (derated as you want it).  

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
bgibso01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 02:02:01 AM
 #10365

Because SP35 at 3650 watts at 208-240 volts, would need very high amp circuit (slightly more than double) than at 110-115 volts that it cannot supply unless you double up to 208-240v


Let me see 3650 watts at 208-240 , whats that a 8800 watt load at 80% safety, then it needs a 80amp slot.  wtf.  40amp 2 pole.

Just 1 machine using almost half of average home 100 amp service.

Your math is wrong. With double the voltage you need half the amperage for the same power. 4000W at the wall per SP35 unit gives about 10Amps on a 208V circuit for each PSU.
A 208V 30A circuit will be enough for 1x SP35 (derated as you wanted it). 

I thought that when I read it also. But either way you slice it, it's a lot of energy per unit.  And a lot of cooling!
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 02:13:20 AM
 #10366

yeap .. almost double of my average household consumption.

You don't need a lot of cooling for 1 unit though. It's like a 70 deg. C room heater good to keep the garage warm in the winter. In the summer, you just need to vent that heat (i.e. keep the garage door cracked, if no animals visit you .. heh).

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
bgibso01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 02:19:39 AM
 #10367

yeap .. almost double of my average household consumption.

You don't need a lot of cooling for 1 unit though. It's like a 70 deg. C room heater good to keep the garage warm in the winter. In the summer, you just need to vent that heat (i.e. keep the garage door cracked, if no animals visit you .. heh).

You're right, one unit is not really a problem.  I'm trying to figure out power arrangements for 8 of them and still be able to turn on the lights at the office. Smiley
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 02:27:07 AM
 #10368

yeap .. almost double of my average household consumption.

You don't need a lot of cooling for 1 unit though. It's like a 70 deg. C room heater good to keep the garage warm in the winter. In the summer, you just need to vent that heat (i.e. keep the garage door cracked, if no animals visit you .. heh).

You're right, one unit is not really a problem.  I'm trying to figure out power arrangements for 8 of them and still be able to turn on the lights at the office. Smiley

A secondary beaker will help.   Also if you are underclocking that 8 will take much less power.  Depending on your settings the amount of power needed very greatly.
bgibso01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 02:32:08 AM
 #10369

yeap .. almost double of my average household consumption.

You don't need a lot of cooling for 1 unit though. It's like a 70 deg. C room heater good to keep the garage warm in the winter. In the summer, you just need to vent that heat (i.e. keep the garage door cracked, if no animals visit you .. heh).

You're right, one unit is not really a problem.  I'm trying to figure out power arrangements for 8 of them and still be able to turn on the lights at the office. Smiley

A secondary beaker will help.   Also if you are underclocking that 8 will take much less power.  Depending on your settings the amount of power needed very greatly.

Yeah, but most places here in the US don't wire one outlet per circuit.  Typically one room or more might be on the same 20a circuit.
stan258
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 440
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 05:40:34 AM
 #10370

yeap .. almost double of my average household consumption.

You don't need a lot of cooling for 1 unit though. It's like a 70 deg. C room heater good to keep the garage warm in the winter. In the summer, you just need to vent that heat (i.e. keep the garage door cracked, if no animals visit you .. heh).

You're right, one unit is not really a problem.  I'm trying to figure out power arrangements for 8 of them and still be able to turn on the lights at the office. Smiley

A secondary beaker will help.   Also if you are underclocking that 8 will take much less power.  Depending on your settings the amount of power needed very greatly.

Yeah, but most places here in the US don't wire one outlet per circuit.  Typically one room or more might be on the same 20a circuit.

If the building was built not cutting corners you should have some empty slots in sub panels and wiring capacity to take several breakers to 240V.  However I have run into "j conduit approved build as is" stamped on the building plans and no conduit for 20 feet. So somebody cut time or costs.

Are you based on the West Coast? Their is a strong possibility I can get you electricians to take a look at what you need.  The team does work from Washington to Texas based in Las Vegas. If they are headed to or from your area I can have them stop by.They will know what you need they did my set up few months ago. PM me if you need more info.    

 
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 07:22:07 AM
Last edit: January 05, 2015, 07:32:09 AM by samsonn25
 #10371

Because SP35 at 3650 watts at 208-240 volts, would need very high amp circuit (slightly more than double) than at 110-115 volts that it cannot supply unless you double up to 208-240v


Let me see 3650 watts at 208-240 , whats that a 8800 watt load at 80% safety, then it needs a 80amp slot.  wtf.  40amp 2 pole.

Just 1 machine using almost half of average home 100 amp service.

Your math is wrong. With double the voltage you need half the amperage for the same power. 4000W at the wall per SP35 unit gives about 10Amps on a 208V circuit for each PSU.
A 208V 30A circuit will be enough for 1x SP35 (derated as you want it).  




Thats right.  They specified 2 x to feed the power.  Because there are not many single 4000 watt psu
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
January 05, 2015, 03:51:22 PM
 #10372

OgNasty measurements:

Bitmain Antminer S5
Using the default frequency of 350M my S5 was able to get 1.13TH/s while using 661 watts (0.58W/GH) and exhausting 122 degree heat.




Spondoolies SP20
Using a voltage setting of 0.62 my SP20 was able to get 1.2TH/s while using 640 watts (0.53W/GH) and exhausting 124 degree heat.




BFL Monarch
Using stock settings 2 Monarchs were able to get 1.2TH/s while using 1040 watts (0.84W/GH) and exhausting 152 degree heat.




Asicminer Prisma
Using stock settings my Prisma operates at 1.2TH/s while using 1240 watts (1W/GH) and exhausting 150 degree heat.


New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 05, 2015, 04:26:32 PM
 #10373

cool, but SP20's price is no longer competitive
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1889



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 04:30:00 PM
 #10374

cool, but SP20's price is no longer competitive

the bitmaintech price drop for the s-5 was very big.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 05, 2015, 04:30:12 PM
 #10375

Jeez, I didn't realize the BFL stuff was that bad. How the hell did they turn ~0.3J/GH at the chip based on real tests into 0.84J/GH at the wall? More shenanigans there.
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 04:42:34 PM
 #10376

A dumb question.

Can SP30 (September Batch) get upgraded with the latest firmware ?

Or is it only for the SP31/35?

Thanks in advance.

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
BITMAIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 741
Merit: 502


https://www.bitmain.com


View Profile WWW
January 05, 2015, 05:12:20 PM
 #10377

OgNasty measurements:


From the same post Spondoolies-Tech quoted.



In conclusion, the Antminer S5 is a top tier miner. It's cheaper & cooler than it's closest counterpart (SP20) and is available to ship from stock for as low as $480 on amazon.com.  I am definitely grateful to Bitmain for the opportunity to review this product and I will keep my eye on their offerings in the future.  If you are searching for a cheap, competitive mining product with lots of customization opportunities, you can't go wrong with the S5 from Bitmain.  I even purchased an additional unit for my mining operation at retail price and was happy to do so.

Cloud Mining? Just Go to Hashnest.com          Best Liquidity   Lowest Price   100% Real Mining Back Up
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
January 05, 2015, 05:14:11 PM
 #10378

Offtopic: Until Bitstamp resumes where do Europeans go to exchange their BTC to fiat? I only user Bitstamp and GOX in the past and I don't know of any other reliable european exchangers.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 05, 2015, 05:16:15 PM
 #10379

cool, but SP20's price is no longer competitive

the bitmaintech price drop for the s-5 was very big.

Don't forget you get what you pay for.  Bitmain hardware, unfortunately, now has a reputation for being lower quality.  Also their customer service tends to be pretty poor as well.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 05, 2015, 05:17:10 PM
 #10380

Offtopic: Until Bitstamp resumes where do Europeans go to exchange their BTC to fiat? I only user Bitstamp and GOX in the past and I don't know of any other reliable european exchangers.

BTC-e ...have been using for years with no problems at all...

ZiG
Pages: « 1 ... 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 [519] 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!