Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:30:24 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 [99] 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481683 times)
panonym
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Help and Love one another ♥


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 12:16:51 PM
 #1961

No worries.
Your time, your priorities Wink

I have tons of ideas, 'but lack technical knowledge for now.
Best to start with the basics, 'solid foundation is important.
Hopefully one day I will be able to help the community.
Meanwhile, I talk around about Armory.

I didn't read enough, but it seems you will try to merge Armory with the main Bitcoin client.
Or 'make it transparent. Easiness of use is a good thing.
If that's where you're going, 'great to make it the default setting.
Many user will probably appreciate that Armory does on it's own the client's management task.
But try to keep an option for those who would like to have the management for themselves.
If that's not a headache.
('so that in future those trying to use Armory with alternative blockchain/cryptocurrency have it more easy.)

Good continuation.
1480869024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869024
Reply with quote  #2

1480869024
Report to moderator
1480869024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869024
Reply with quote  #2

1480869024
Report to moderator
1480869024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869024
Reply with quote  #2

1480869024
Report to moderator
Creating a Bitcoin client that fully implements the network protocol is extremely difficult. Bitcoin-Qt is the only known safe implementation of a full node. Some other projects attempt to compete, but it is not recommended to use such software for anything serious. (Lightweight clients like Electrum and MultiBit are OK.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480869024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869024
Reply with quote  #2

1480869024
Report to moderator
1480869024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480869024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480869024
Reply with quote  #2

1480869024
Report to moderator
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2013, 01:42:55 PM
 #1962

No worries.
Your time, your priorities Wink

I have tons of ideas, 'but lack technical knowledge for now.
Best to start with the basics, 'solid foundation is important.
Hopefully one day I will be able to help the community.
Meanwhile, I talk around about Armory.

I didn't read enough, but it seems you will try to merge Armory with the main Bitcoin client.
Or 'make it transparent. Easiness of use is a good thing.
If that's where you're going, 'great to make it the default setting.
Many user will probably appreciate that Armory does on it's own the client's management task.
But try to keep an option for those who would like to have the management for themselves.
If that's not a headache.
('so that in future those trying to use Armory with alternative blockchain/cryptocurrency have it more easy.)

Good continuation.

It's funny you say that, because I spent the last week pulling my hair out trying to accommodate all the situations to make "auto-management of Bitcoind" the default without confusing people too much, but also try to leave "self-management" available (which may be forced on OSX, for now).  So far it seems to work, quite reliably, too! 

Strictly speaking, the two won't be "merged", code-wise.  But it will be transparent to the user.  I'm just finishing up the process of helping the user download and install Bitcoin-Qt in Windows.  Once Bitcoin-Qt is installed on the user's system, they'll never see it again (unless they want to).  I'll hopefully be releasing a testing version for Windows, soon, then people can dig in and see for themselves. 

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
MoneypakTrader.com
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473


Never spend your money before you have it.


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 02:40:13 PM
 #1963

I'd like to see a couple features in the client (both windows an linux versions).
Do you have a system for allowing bounties?

$20 in BTC - Allow labeling the sources of coins and adding an option for seeing that in the list instead of the destination address.
Example, I want to see all the coins coming into my wallet from XXX address and I want to label them all as YYYY and sort it to view them all in a cluster.

Great work, I guess the problem is getting more developers to help in creating and improving the code.

Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
March 25, 2013, 07:31:17 PM
 #1964

Sorry, didn'r follow up on the last few pages.
I just noticed:
I have an encrypted wallet. I want to add a comment to an address or transaction, I doubleclick it and type away. The comment isn't saved, though. I am not asked to enter my passphrase neither. And I don't see a manual way to unlock the wallet (without creating a tx).
Armory 0.87-beta

Ente
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2013, 08:08:33 PM
 #1965

I have an encrypted wallet. I want to add a comment to an address or transaction, I doubleclick it and type away. The comment isn't saved, though. I am not asked to enter my passphrase neither. And I don't see a manual way to unlock the wallet (without creating a tx).

As usual, can you email me a log file?  Or copy any errors you see in the log file here.  I suspect there's an error being thrown that is usually some code punctuation out of place or something.  It's usually a quick fix, and usually results in buttons/commands looking like they do something, but then not doing it at all.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
March 26, 2013, 08:03:20 AM
 #1966

I have an encrypted wallet. I want to add a comment to an address or transaction, I doubleclick it and type away. The comment isn't saved, though. I am not asked to enter my passphrase neither. And I don't see a manual way to unlock the wallet (without creating a tx).

As usual, can you email me a log file?  Or copy any errors you see in the log file here.  I suspect there's an error being thrown that is usually some code punctuation out of place or something.  It's usually a quick fix, and usually results in buttons/commands looking like they do something, but then not doing it at all.

Will try to catch it at home!

Ente
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 26, 2013, 05:29:54 PM
 #1967

Hi, my Max OSX firewall is asking me if I want ARMORY to accept incoming traffic. Why is this? I thought armory was relying in Bitcoin-QT, which is the one doing the listening... Am I correct?

Just curiosity, because even if I don't allow armory to accept incoming traffic, it works OK when broadcasting offline transmissions or displaying received funds.

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 06:02:36 PM
 #1968

Hi, my Max OSX firewall is asking me if I want ARMORY to accept incoming traffic. Why is this? I thought armory was relying in Bitcoin-QT, which is the one doing the listening... Am I correct?

Just curiosity, because even if I don't allow armory to accept incoming traffic, it works OK when broadcasting offline transmissions or displaying received funds.

You don't see it, but Armory actually opens a localhost port in order to catch duplicate instances of itself, and handle Bitcoin URIs.  If Armory is opened a second time, it fails to be able to open that same port for listening (because the first instance is already using it), and quits instead.  If there was an argument on the command line, Armory2 sends it to Armory1 over that port, before exiting.  This is how Armory pops up when you click on a link, and also prevents your wallets from being corrupted when multiple instances collide.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Octavian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25



View Profile
March 28, 2013, 02:38:58 PM
 #1969

Is it only my Armory online-client or does it generally consume a lot of memory (Win 7, 64bit)?

For Donations: 186rn8UANAARsnAQp9dDoGThK983B8p41A
13Charlie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214



View Profile
March 28, 2013, 03:07:25 PM
 #1970

Is it only my Armory online-client or does it generally consume a lot of memory (Win 7, 64bit)?
It's not just you. Probably eats about 2.5 GB on memory right now.
Etotheipi (Alan) is working on fixing that.

Not ignoring anyone. . . . . Yet
Tip Jar - 18YWB8cQ8vb5s7PTGvxu1E6DqmQV3Srj2W
Zedster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
March 28, 2013, 06:06:49 PM
 #1971

Armory crashed on me and now it has been scanning the block chain for over 20 minutes.  Kaspersky is reporting problems with python27.dll.  What is going on.  I can't get to the wallet that I just deposited to? 

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2013, 06:15:02 PM
 #1972

Armory crashed on me and now it has been scanning the block chain for over 20 minutes.  Kaspersky is reporting problems with python27.dll.  What is going on.  I can't get to the wallet that I just deposited to? 

Try loading Armory in offline mode (there's a link in your Start menu), and then export a log file for me.  Email or PM.

Of course, you can try stopping it and starting it again.  Sometimes, it just gets stuck scanning (though quite infrequently... it's usually just being slow).   There's a few known stability issues, that result in Armory crashing every week or so.  When the new blockchain utilities go in, that will go away.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Zedster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
March 28, 2013, 06:31:04 PM
 #1973

Armory crashed on me and now it has been scanning the block chain for over 20 minutes.  Kaspersky is reporting problems with python27.dll.  What is going on.  I can't get to the wallet that I just deposited to? 

Try loading Armory in offline mode (there's a link in your Start menu), and then export a log file for me.  Email or PM.

Of course, you can try stopping it and starting it again.  Sometimes, it just gets stuck scanning (though quite infrequently... it's usually just being slow).   There's a few known stability issues, that result in Armory crashing every week or so.  When the new blockchain utilities go in, that will go away.



Ok after a reboot and another 10 minute scan it synced up.  You still want to see a log file sir?

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2013, 06:32:27 PM
 #1974

Ok after a reboot and another 10 minute scan it synced up.  You still want to see a log file sir?

Why not?  Smiley   If it doesn't work right, even a few percent of the time, I should still investigate.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Zedster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
March 29, 2013, 10:15:31 AM
 #1975

Ok after a reboot and another 10 minute scan it synced up.  You still want to see a log file sir?

Why not?  Smiley   If it doesn't work right, even a few percent of the time, I should still investigate.

Emailed it to: alan.reiner@gmail.com I hope that was right.

steelboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
March 29, 2013, 12:38:44 PM
 #1976

Sorry if this has been answered somewhere (as i'm sure it has).

I have just bought a Asus EEE to use offline .96GB RAM and have just read that 2GB of RAM on the online one isnt really sufficient.

I have an old macbook with 2GB 1067 MHz DDR3. Not sure if that is the RAM or not, does that mean 2GB RAM?

Also, can i go about setting this up with a mac as an online computer or do i need to buy a PC for my online computer too?

Thanks
flipperfish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312


Dolphie Selfie


View Profile
March 29, 2013, 04:55:55 PM
 #1977

Sorry if this has been answered somewhere (as i'm sure it has).

I have just bought a Asus EEE to use offline .96GB RAM and have just read that 2GB of RAM on the online one isnt really sufficient.

I have an old macbook with 2GB 1067 MHz DDR3. Not sure if that is the RAM or not, does that mean 2GB RAM?

Also, can i go about setting this up with a mac as an online computer or do i need to buy a PC for my online computer too?

Thanks

It's not just you. Probably eats about 2.5 GB on memory right now.
Etotheipi (Alan) is working on fixing that.

So your macbook's memory will probably be too small for now. But the netbook for offline usage should be sufficient.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2013, 05:56:07 PM
 #1978

Okay, I continue to battle this stupid auto-manage-satoshi upgrade.  It's a real pain in the @$$.  So far, only a couple people have tried it and claimed 0% success.  But in all my testing, I can't find out where it fails.  I know that non-standard configurations are like to mess this up.  And I've done a bit of testing.  Apparently not enough, though.

PLEASE help me figure this out!  I have just released the latest, 0.87.92, installation instructions below.  Note that more than just auto-management has been added.  I also made the little "(?)" icons clickable, and reduced the number of windows you have to click through to use offline wallets. 

Linux:
-- Pull and switch branches: "git checkout managesatoshi"
-- Must install python-psutil package.  This is a new dependency to help with managing the background process.  It will be added to the next offline bundle.
-- Recompile

Windows:
-- http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1139081/ArmoryTestingReleases/armory_0.87.9-testing_win64.msi
-- http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1139081/ArmoryTestingReleases/armory_0.87.9-testing_windows_all.msi

There's a good set of debugging output that happens automatically.  If it doesn't work for you, send me a log file! 

Please try it and let me know!  Try it on a new computer without Bitcoin-Qt ever installed. Try it on a system with Bitcoin-Qt already installed and sync'd.  With Bitcoin running, without it.  With non-standard Bitcoin-Qt directories. With the option to run it yourself instead of letting Armory do it (in the settings).  Etc.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2013, 05:56:48 PM
 #1979

P.S. -- This is the 2,000th message in this thread!  Wow!

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
prezbo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 06:07:50 PM
 #1980

This time it doesn't crash, but it just says "Armory is offline". There's still an exception thrown in the log.

edit: Ok, I am so stupid. Obviously it won't work without an rpc password. Removed the config and now it seems to be working fine. Or is it supposed to read the password from the config file? This was my bitcoin.conf, if it's of any use.
Pages: « 1 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 [99] 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!