Bitcoin Forum
January 27, 2020, 01:09:19 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 [138] 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 ... 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 520986 times)
go1111111
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 187
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 12:14:43 AM
 #2741

I tested the bejeezuz out of the wallet code before I ever released it for use, and that code continues to remain almost entirely untouched without issue, even after  almost 2 years. 

Good to hear -- thanks for the details.

Talk about not being designed to reason well about probabilities...

Any feedback about how you'd reason differently about this stuff?
1580087359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580087359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580087359
Reply with quote  #2

1580087359
Report to moderator
1580087359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580087359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580087359
Reply with quote  #2

1580087359
Report to moderator
1580087359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580087359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580087359
Reply with quote  #2

1580087359
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1580087359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580087359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580087359
Reply with quote  #2

1580087359
Report to moderator
1580087359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580087359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580087359
Reply with quote  #2

1580087359
Report to moderator
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 11:10:40 AM
 #2742

Noob armory user here. I recently had some problems with the bitcoin-qt client and i would like to switch to Armory, but i need a bit of info first. From what i know using wallets from bitcoin-qt i need to make a backup every time i spend money from that wallet(is this true?). Does this apply to wallets from Armory? If not then all i need to backup is the .wallet file right?
I made 2 transactions to a newly created Armory wallet, but i only see one. Why? Was the first one sent without any fees or why i can't see it? Address is 1ARkEy4NMhEzvrSQCWCKnqBgBkN6fg2xb3
Can i choose from which address i send money?
Any other tips for wallet safety?
Thank you.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1039


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 11:34:16 AM
 #2743

From what i know using wallets from bitcoin-qt i need to make a backup every time i spend money from that wallet(is this true?). Does this apply to wallets from Armory? If not then all i need to backup is the .wallet file right?

It is true for QT (make a backup every 100 used addresses). It's isn't necessary for Armory because the wallet is deterministic (from the initial seed all future addresses can be calculated). Therefore you only have to make a backup of the wallet file OR make a paper backup which is directly supported in Armory in user friendly way.

I made 2 transactions to a newly created Armory wallet, but i only see one. Why? Was the first one sent without any fees or why i can't see it? Address is 1ARkEy4NMhEzvrSQCWCKnqBgBkN6fg2xb3

I see two? https://blockchain.info/address/1ARkEy4NMhEzvrSQCWCKnqBgBkN6fg2xb3 are you certain Bitcoin-QT is synced with the Bitcoin network?

Can i choose from which address i send money?

Yup. The functionality is coin control.

Any other tips for wallet safety?

For additional safety I would recommend configuring a cold wallet/watch only wallet combo. Install Armory on a old computer without access to the internet (EVER!). The export a watch only version of the wallet and import this in your normal computer. The every time you make a transaction you (1) make the transaction on your normal computer, (2) Sign the transaction on the offline computer (the only one with the private keys) and then (3) send the signed transaction to the Bitcoin network on any computer with internet access (and Armory installed). This adds a lot of security because your private keys (which control your Bitcoins) will never touch a computer with internet access!

Read: http://bitcoinarmory.com/about/using-our-wallet/#offlinewallet

Thank you.

You're welcome
czspeedycz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 01:27:26 PM
 #2744

Hi,
I have problem with Armory. When sending bitcoins, when I write password to unlock wallet and confirm transaction, the Armory crash when I hit OK. I have this problem with release version and also with the latest beta version. I have this problem in Win8 and Win8.1 both 64-bit
Have anybody any idea? Thanks for help

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BBd7tu9uycNohRVQwmmysq3qsUFyhEUBHY
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1005


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2013, 02:38:12 PM
 #2745

Hi,
I have problem with Armory. When sending bitcoins, when I write password to unlock wallet and confirm transaction, the Armory crash when I hit OK. I have this problem with release version and also with the latest beta version. I have this problem in Win8 and Win8.1 both 64-bit
Have anybody any idea? Thanks for help

Unfortunately, that sounds like a corrupt wallet.  It fails when trying to unlock.  Do you have a backup? 

We're actually working on a tool that helps recover from corruption, but until then we kind of have to do it manually... unless you have a paper backup.  If you do, make a digital backup of the old wallet first, "Delete/Remove Wallet", and then from the main window, "Import Wallet" and "Restore from Paper Backup."   It will have to rescan, but then you'll have your coins back.




Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
czspeedycz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 04:39:23 PM
 #2746


Unfortunately, that sounds like a corrupt wallet.  It fails when trying to unlock.  Do you have a backup? 

We're actually working on a tool that helps recover from corruption, but until then we kind of have to do it manually... unless you have a paper backup.  If you do, make a digital backup of the old wallet first, "Delete/Remove Wallet", and then from the main window, "Import Wallet" and "Restore from Paper Backup."   It will have to rescan, but then you'll have your coins back.


I tried my first digital backup, which is 3 months old and it should by ok, but still the same problem. I can try to restore it with paper backup tomorrow, but have you any more idea, what could cause this problem? Maybe it is not the unlocking problem, but something with sending? Or generate Armory log or something? Thanks for help Smiley

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BBd7tu9uycNohRVQwmmysq3qsUFyhEUBHY
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1142

Armory Developer


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 04:43:51 PM
 #2747

I've had this problem before. Try to first change your coin password, then send.

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1005


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2013, 04:46:36 PM
 #2748


Unfortunately, that sounds like a corrupt wallet.  It fails when trying to unlock.  Do you have a backup? 

We're actually working on a tool that helps recover from corruption, but until then we kind of have to do it manually... unless you have a paper backup.  If you do, make a digital backup of the old wallet first, "Delete/Remove Wallet", and then from the main window, "Import Wallet" and "Restore from Paper Backup."   It will have to rescan, but then you'll have your coins back.


I tried my first digital backup, which is 3 months old and it should by ok, but still the same problem. I can try to restore it with paper backup tomorrow, but have you any more idea, what could cause this problem? Maybe it is not the unlocking problem, but something with sending? Or generate Armory log or something? Thanks for help Smiley

When it crashes on unlocking, it's definitely a wallet corruption issue.  Technically, it's possible for us to do a raw binary-extract-and-recover operation in the code, but it isn't ready yet.  We'll get it eventually.  

For now, the best thing you can do is make another backup (for catastrophic recovery), then go into wallet properties and "Delete/Remove Wallet."  Then restore from whatever backup you have.   That should resolve the issue.

There is a known problem using older versions of Armory to sign transactions, causing errors when attempting to broadcast.  We have a fix for that which will be integrated into the next testing release.  But that doesn't sound like your problem.  You can verify it's wallet corruption by attempting to make a paper backup, which will also require typing your password.  If it crashes there, then it's corruption.  If you actually get to the print-backup screen, then it's a different issue.

If you do see the paper backup screen (and thus not wallet corruption), then please go to "File"->Export Log File and send us the output.  support@bitcoinarmory.com.  Thanks for your patience!


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
czspeedycz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 05:32:18 PM
 #2749

Ok, I tried it. I can make paper backup and unlock wallet without problems. Little odd is, that when I remove encryption, I cannot send bitcoin without entering password...but when I set new one, the problem is still the same (crash after password confirmation). I will send you the log, hope you help me. Thanks Smiley

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Bwincoin - 100% Free POS. BBd7tu9uycNohRVQwmmysq3qsUFyhEUBHY
dacoinminster
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1024


Rational Exuberance


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2013, 09:56:45 PM
 #2750

Hey Alan,

I just read about the "badbios" virus which can supposedly infect offline computers using USB sticks: http://arstechnica.com/security/2013/10/meet-badbios-the-mysterious-mac-and-pc-malware-that-jumps-airgaps/

Would you mind commenting about whether armory-offline users should be concerned about this virus, or ones like it, and whether we should find a different transport method for offline transaction signing? There has been some concern about this on reddit: http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1pmb82/malware_that_infects_at_the_hardware_level_can/

I sent you an email about this too. Thanks!

edit: On second thought, this question deserves it's own thread, so I made one: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=322491.0

RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 10:04:13 PM
 #2751


I made 2 transactions to a newly created Armory wallet, but i only see one. Why? Was the first one sent without any fees or why i can't see it? Address is 1ARkEy4NMhEzvrSQCWCKnqBgBkN6fg2xb3

I see two? https://blockchain.info/address/1ARkEy4NMhEzvrSQCWCKnqBgBkN6fg2xb3 are you certain Bitcoin-QT is synced with the Bitcoin network?



Right now i have some issues with the bitcoin-qt client (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=321117.0) and i have bitcoin installed in 3 different locations, but with the same wallet. The first transaction was made from location A+no armory running, then i switched to location B and ran armory and no transaction. After that i made the second transaction from location B and i had instant balance in armory from that transaction but still not the first one. Right now i am reindexing block on disk from location C to see what happens.

Is there a way to rescan the whole blockchain from Armory in order to update balances?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
October 31, 2013, 10:11:24 PM
 #2752

You could print out the message instead of using a usb key.  Maybe you could turn it into some kind of qr code.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
November 01, 2013, 10:26:51 AM
 #2753


Is there a way to rescan the whole blockchain from Armory in order to update balances?

Now i see both transactions with a new blockchain downloaded.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
nnimmo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0



View Profile
November 01, 2013, 10:50:32 AM
 #2754

My Mac version is 10.9 . Can you help me to get armory version for mac/osx10.9 ?
Missionary
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
November 01, 2013, 11:36:05 AM
 #2755

My Mac version is 10.9 . Can you help me to get armory version for mac/osx10.9 ?

I think we will have to wait for the next release before we see an installer for Mavericks.

I am an evangelical missionary heading to China. Donations are welcome here (dedicated wallet): 1H8iswayfTaRb6oe2WjMCRmchBJHYyfx9z
You can find more information about my plans here: http://btcmission.com
picobit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547
Merit: 500


Decor in numeris


View Profile
November 01, 2013, 11:53:04 AM
 #2756

My Mac version is 10.9 . Can you help me to get armory version for mac/osx10.9 ?

I think we will have to wait for the next release before we see an installer for Mavericks.

Alan is working on it.
nnimmo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0



View Profile
November 01, 2013, 01:22:34 PM
 #2757

waiting to get it earlier. Smiley
Armory Fan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 01, 2013, 11:31:08 PM
Last edit: November 02, 2013, 12:03:24 AM by Armory Fan
 #2758

Nice interview from LetsTalkBitcoin. They spend about 30 min talking to Alan in the podcast.

http://letstalkbitcoin.com/e55-happy-birthday-bitcoin/#.UnQ6IsvnbqA
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 12:44:10 PM
 #2759

You're welcome

Ok after 2 days of using Armory all i can say is wow. A big leap from the Bitcoin-qt client who is missing some basic stuff for me (like coin control) and with the weird function of generating a new invisible address for change after a payment (what's the logic behind this function?). I will definately send a donation to etotheipi for this awesome program. Also big THANK YOU etotheipi because life in Bitcoin world without your client sucks.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
November 02, 2013, 03:19:05 PM
 #2760

i'm trying to load the Armory blockchain in 0.88.1 linux version but it can't locate the Bitcoin install or home directories.  i have already Shown Hidden Files in the home directory.  Bitcoin Qt was previously installed.

when i go to Change Settings to redirect for these directories while in Armory, they don't show up in the search folders.

any suggestions?
Pages: « 1 ... 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 [138] 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 ... 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!