Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 10:09:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 [145] 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481560 times)
Coiner.de
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
November 24, 2013, 04:37:39 PM
 #2881

You should choose one of the newer paper backup formats when you restore.

Thanks! That works.

The "Test Paper Backup" should already have the right format selected in this use case.
Also the label in the dialog is "Backup Type:" vs. "Wallet Version:" on the paper.
"Backup Type:" on the paper is "Single-Sheet (Unencryped)"

I think it would help if the same terms were used on screen and on paper. Wink
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480802976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802976
Reply with quote  #2

1480802976
Report to moderator
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 04:50:06 PM
 #2882

Ok, so now I'm kinda concerned with Armory as it appears to have transferred my BTC to another address.

I have a watching only wallet on an offline computer which holds the address where the BTC are delivered.  I sent some BTC using the offline computer to sign the transaction but back on the online computer I have two extra addresses marked as 'change received' after I made the transaction.  The problem is that the majority of my remaining funds has been moved from the original BTC address into the 'changed received' account.

Where the hell are the private keys for these two extra addresses?HuhHuh  I have no private keys for these two extra accounts as I have not created them - armory has taken this upon itself.  How the hell am I going to get the money back where it should be in the original BTC address.

What the hell is going on here  Huh

Armory wallets are deterministic. The private keys are derived from a unique root. Keep clicking receive coins on your offline computer, it'll keep generating new addresses until it eventually hits the ones you have marked as "change address" on the online watch only counterpart of the wallet

btcarmory.com
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:13:09 PM
 #2883

Bitcoin always uses change addresses.  Each time you spend your funds whatever wasn't spent will go into a new address.  The paper backup you made with Armory contains all the possible change addresses so you're fine.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
cosmarchy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:32:07 PM
 #2884

Armory wallets are deterministic. The private keys are derived from a unique root. Keep clicking receive coins on your offline computer, it'll keep generating new addresses until it eventually hits the ones you have marked as "change address" on the online watch only counterpart of the wallet

Ah I see.  I have the address now but I'd like to transfer all the funds back to my original BTC address.  Now, the problem is when I come to sign the transaction, there is no transaction amount  Shocked

On the online computer I click the Coin Control button under the send menu and choose the newly created 'change' address only.  Back in the main send window, I choose Use An Existing Address For Change and point it towards my original BTC address (not strictly necessary I know but at least it is done for next time!!) and remember for next time.
I choose the recipient address (original BTC address) and hit the max button.  As I would expect, only the entire balance of the 'change' address appears in the amount box.  So far so good (I think Roll Eyes).
After clicking the Create Unsigned Transaction button, I get a dialog confirming I am about to send x BTC to y address and the fees involved etc...

I click Continue and then save this file to a USB stick which I then take to the offline computer.  I click Offline Transactions and then choose to Sign Offline Transaction.  I loads the unsigned file from the USB stick into the Review Offline Transaction window and the Transaction Amount at the bottom of the window is blank.   Shocked Shocked Shocked  If I click the sign button it asks me to confirm a transaction consisting of nothing more than a transaction fee.  The funds have somehow gone.

What do I do now???

Vedran Yoweri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 08:48:00 PM
 #2885

Quote
What the hell is going on here

I think you have things mixed up.

Quote
I have a watching only wallet on an offline computer which holds the address where the BTC are delivered.

Your watching only wallet is for your online computer. Having this on your offline computer is useless, there will never be anything to 'see'. (it's not online)
You can also never sign anything with it, that's the point of a watch only wallet.

1. You make a unsigned transaction on your watch only, hot - online  wallet.
2. Move it via the USB stick to your cold - offline wallet where you choose to sign a offline transaction, the one on your USB stick, and copy the signed transaction back to the USB.
3. Move the now signed transaction back to your watch only, hot - online wallet and broadcast the transaction.

Maybe sorting above will clear any confusion.
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
November 25, 2013, 01:15:03 AM
 #2886

That may be a bug in the new coin control module.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
cosmarchy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
November 25, 2013, 05:58:06 PM
 #2887

That may be a bug in the new coin control module.

This is what I was dreading  Shocked

Could the Armory developers confirm this either way?

Thanks for your replies guys  Smiley
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 25, 2013, 06:56:05 PM
 #2888

That may be a bug in the new coin control module.

This is what I was dreading  Shocked

Could the Armory developers confirm this either way?

Thanks for your replies guys  Smiley


We're gonna have to try and reproduce this situation on our side. Submit a ticket to support@bitcoinarmory.com

btcarmory.com
jojo69
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
November 26, 2013, 05:22:35 PM
 #2889

 Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   Armory.exe
  Application Version:   0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp:   4918017b
  Fault Module Name:   _CppBlockUtils.pyd
  Fault Module Version:   0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   5171c370
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   00000000000a3d08
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   3706
  Additional Information 2:   37060d73631c530367381071a2eab325
  Additional Information 3:   e26e
  Additional Information 4:   e26e00c9daf3cc00ee3eace873b5b01e

This is not some pseudoeconomic post-modern Libertarian cult, it's an un-led, crowd-sourced mega startup organized around mutual self-interest where problems, whether of the theoretical or purely practical variety, are treated as temporary and, ultimately, solvable.
Censorship of e-gold was easy. Censorship of Bitcoin will be… entertaining.
picobit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


Decor in numeris


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 05:27:58 PM
 #2890

Hi etotheipi and co.

I just want to point out that the Bitcoin-Qt developpers are looking at a levelDB problem that could also affect Armory:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=337294.0


Edit: As goatpig points out, I mean affect Armory in OS X.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 07:50:58 PM
 #2891

Hi etotheipi and co.

I just want to point out that the Bitcoin-Qt developpers are looking at a levelDB problem that could also affect Armory:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=337294.0

Affecting Armory in OSX you mean? We run on a in house port of LevelDB in Windows built with MSVS whereas Bitcoin-Qt is built using MinGW and Boost (if memory servers me right). I've personnally ran in the LevelDB corruption with BitcoinQt, but I haven't seen any Amory bug claims that would pertain to this issue.

If the issue is trully fsync, then there is a simple fix for it. Although it seems the suspicion has shifted to atomics.

btcarmory.com
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
November 26, 2013, 11:10:30 PM
 #2892

It's about time to switch to displaying mBTC...
solex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


100 satoshis -> ISO code


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 11:19:59 PM
 #2893

It's about time to switch to displaying mBTC...

I think this needs to be done in a more sophisticated manner via the user configurable options and, ideally, a fx-rate feed from a source like bitcoinaverage.

Perhaps Armory users could select either BTC or mBTC, and choose their favorite fiat as a reference so that a converted value can also be displayed as the blockchain.info wallet does. It all helps users avoid mistakes like overpaying amounts or fees.


btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 12:26:26 AM
 #2894

My Bitcoind is synced with the network and is up to date at latest block, but for some reason my Armory is stuck on "Connected (271641 Blocks)" I've tried opening / closing, restarting with no dice. Any ideas? I am running .89.99.14 in Ubuntu 12.04 lts. Also, I was wondering if there would be a way to configure Armory to hide the wallet balances?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 12:57:56 AM
 #2895

My Bitcoind is synced with the network and is up to date at latest block, but for some reason my Armory is stuck on "Connected (271641 Blocks)" I've tried opening / closing, restarting with no dice. Any ideas? I am running .89.99.14 in Ubuntu 12.04 lts. Also, I was wondering if there would be a way to configure Armory to hide the wallet balances?

Send a log file to support@bitcoinarmory.com.  Then you can try doing a "Help"->"Rebuild and Rescan Databases".  If it's still stuck there... did you recently move your Bitcoin home directory?  And leave the old one intact?  I've seen it happen where Armory thinks the old home directory is the current one, but connects to Bitcoind which is working in a different directory.  Then Armory never sees any of the updated blockchain files.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Daily Anarchist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 03:12:29 AM
 #2896

Any chance of Bitcoin Armory getting added to the debian repo like Electrum just did?

Discover anarcho-capitalism today!
btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 09:18:31 AM
 #2897

I really wanted to like Armory, I really did. But honestly, I have had nothing but issues. I already had to redownload the entire blockchain once, which seemed to fix everything. But here, not 48 hours later, Armory is once again stuck about 50 blocks behind Bitcoind. When I try to run Armory as root it crashes right after Blockutils.cpp :3810, spitting out Segmentation Fault (core dumped). I want to get this to work and be smooth, as it should be in Ubuntu, but I am not having any luck and am a bit over it. Any ideas?

EDIT:

I think the issue may be with the fact that my Virtual Environment only has 1 gigabye of RAM. I have updated to 2 gigs and thinks seem to have solved themselves. Will keep you posted. Thanks for the great work.


EDIT: issue has resurfaced -- Armory is stuck about 100 blocks behind bitcoind now, I have sent log file to support email.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2013, 03:43:57 AM
 #2898

I know there are some people following this thread who speak German.   I got a guy who has a lot of money stuck in Armory, and his written English is very poor.   I do not understand his situation.  Anyone knowledgeable about Armory willing to help him, or at least help translate?  I'll split any donations received with you (which may be 0 BTC, but sometimes people like this tip generously).

Let me know if you can help.  Even if you just speak german but don't know much about Armory, you can just act as a middle-man translator for our emails. 

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Daily Anarchist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615



View Profile WWW
November 30, 2013, 03:47:59 AM
 #2899

I speak german, but it's my second language. I'm confident I could translate, but why not post help needed in the german section, where you'll get plenty of native germans to help? Also, why doesn't he, or you, post his questions publicly in the german board?

Discover anarcho-capitalism today!
chrisrico
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496


View Profile
November 30, 2013, 06:21:53 AM
 #2900

Hmm... Alan. I recall recently you said that a binary release for the Raspberry Pi might be in the future?

That plus this could equal a cool, cheap little Armory cold storage box...
Pages: « 1 ... 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 [145] 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!