Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:39:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481820 times)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2013, 04:08:49 PM
 #2521

fsck yeah!


Balances are now pulled from the DB without rescanning!

I still have plenty left to do (like testing zero-conf tx that never touch the DB), and stop/start/restart/crash DB operations.  And of course, figure out that stupid LevelDB+Windows disaster...

(for instance, I just noticed that when you a receive a tx, it only updates the wallet, not the main ledger, and if a new block comes it that doesn't include it [yet] it disappears)

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
1480927167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927167
Reply with quote  #2

1480927167
Report to moderator
1480927167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927167
Reply with quote  #2

1480927167
Report to moderator
1480927167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927167
Reply with quote  #2

1480927167
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480927167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927167
Reply with quote  #2

1480927167
Report to moderator
1480927167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927167
Reply with quote  #2

1480927167
Report to moderator
1480927167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927167
Reply with quote  #2

1480927167
Report to moderator
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2013, 06:21:35 PM
 #2522

Bug:

Alienware laptop, 32 bit OS, Ubuntu 12.10, 16 GB ram, I7 1st gen.

Armory  0.88.1 launches fine but self crashes after about 5 minutes.

(Cypher sent me more details over email)  That crash is happening in a location I've never seen before (isMineBulkFilter).  Can you export a log file and email that to me?  The only thing that comes to mind that would cause that is:

(1) Corrupted wallet, leading to bad address string which is crashing the code that identifies when tx belong to your wallet
(2) Malformed/corrupt blockdata in your blk*.dat files (does this happen during scanning or after scanning is done?)

I'll tell you more when I see the log file.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
September 08, 2013, 06:48:21 PM
 #2523

Bug:

Alienware laptop, 32 bit OS, Ubuntu 12.10, 16 GB ram, I7 1st gen.

Armory  0.88.1 launches fine but self crashes after about 5 minutes.

(Cypher sent me more details over email)  That crash is happening in a location I've never seen before (isMineBulkFilter).  Can you export a log file and email that to me?  The only thing that comes to mind that would cause that is:

(1) Corrupted wallet, leading to bad address string which is crashing the code that identifies when tx belong to your wallet
(2) Malformed/corrupt blockdata in your blk*.dat files (does this happen during scanning or after scanning is done?)

I'll tell you more when I see the log file.


happening after successfully scanning chain.  sent you an email.
halfawake
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 03:35:55 AM
 #2524

fsck yeah!


Balances are now pulled from the DB without rescanning!

I still have plenty left to do (like testing zero-conf tx that never touch the DB), and stop/start/restart/crash DB operations.  And of course, figure out that stupid LevelDB+Windows disaster...

(for instance, I just noticed that when you a receive a tx, it only updates the wallet, not the main ledger, and if a new block comes it that doesn't include it [yet] it disappears)

You're pulling the balances from the DB now without rescanning?  That's great news, sounds like it'd be much more performance efficient than the current technique.  Good work.

BTC: 13kJEpqhkW5MnQhWLvum7N5v8LbTAhzeWj
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 03:38:07 AM
 #2525

fsck yeah!
...
Balances are now pulled from the DB without rescanning!

I still have plenty left to do (like testing zero-conf tx that never touch the DB), and stop/start/restart/crash DB operations.  And of course, figure out that stupid LevelDB+Windows disaster...

(for instance, I just noticed that when you a receive a tx, it only updates the wallet, not the main ledger, and if a new block comes it that doesn't include it [yet] it disappears)

You're pulling the balances from the DB now without rescanning?  That's great news, sounds like it'd be much more performance efficient than the current technique.  Good work.

Indeed, the new design constructs a master database that hold and tracks all balances of all addresses, though it will be upgraded in the future to hold a much lighter subset of that after this version is stable.  The goal, of course, is to avoid the constant rescanning and the memory usage of the current version which stores just about nothing on disk except your wallet.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 04:16:54 AM
 #2526

Anyone in Linux want to help?  It's the ramreduceleveldb branch.   I know there's a variety of loose ends with the current implementation, but it wouldn't be a bad idea to get a few people trying it out and, especially get the database built so they'll be ready to test the more-stable version.  But there's still a ton of stuff that appears to work, and so I'd like people dig into the parts of the application that I haven't gotten to yet.  Like I just realized I've done minimal testing of importing and sweeping.  

I know that zero-confirmation transactions are a mess.   They disappear when included in a block, and only reappear on a restart (but that's pretty darned fast, now).   And the timestamps on the C++ logging (new!) are broken and spit out garbage where it would print the current time.  There may also be some infrastructure left in for "The blockchain needs to be rescanned, do you want to go offline for a few minutes to do this?", even though the "rescan" is instantaneous now.  

If you do help run/test, please take note of the following:

(1) What extra packages did you have to install?  I think libleveldb is one, which will install boost.  Looking for the minimal apt-get install packages that will fetch everything else needed to upgrade.
(2) How long does it take to build the DB?  NOTE: there's actually two steps to building the DB: one is writing the raw blocks to the DB, the other is actually walking through those blocks and updating the DB with spentness info, and building histories for each address.  The system currently does not give you any real indication that the first step is happening (though it should on the command line, if you run with --debug).  Until I fix that, it may not be obvious that anything is happening... and that first step usually takes like 45 min!  
(3) How much space does the new .armory/databases directory use?  I've seen widely different results, and I think it has to do with seemingly-random times that leveldb decides to do DB compactions.  My first test left me with an 18 GB databases dir.  A more recent had it at 25 GB.  I'm wondering how widely this varies.
(4) This is an excellent opportunity to try out the new backup center.  This version already has all the backup stuff merged, so you can try out fragmented backups and SecurePrint.
(5) Just take lots of notes.  Feel free to only use it on testnet, or use it on mainnet but run it with "--datadir=testdir" which will leave your current wallets and settings untouched.


Almost there!

EDIT:  I think I completely fixed the zero-conf transactions in the ramreduceleveldb.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 04:45:22 PM
 #2527

Update:

the new version of Armory seems to run flawlessly on testnet.  I accidentally deleted my mainnet database when trying to delete the testnet database, so I have to rebuild before I can do any testing on mainnet.   But so far, I don't see anything that doesn't work.  But there's also so many little nooks and crannies, there's no way I can test everything exhaustively.  Help me out!

Reminder: poor interface-user communication:  there's actually two steps to building the DB: one is writing the raw blocks to the DB, the other is actually walking through those blocks and updating the DB with spentness info.  The system currently does not give you any real indication that the first step is happening (though it should on the command line, if you run with --debug).  Until I fix that, it may not be obvious that anything is happening... and that first step usually takes like 45 min!  After that, you should get a fairly accurate progress bar in the GUI for the next 3-4 hours of updating the DB.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 07:17:34 PM
 #2528

I built the ramreduceleveldb branch, and I started it on mainnet with --debug, and I still don't see any indication that something is happening. It's completed the initial blockchain scan, and there is no ~/.armory/databases directory yet.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 07:20:49 PM
 #2529

I built the ramreduceleveldb branch, and I started it on mainnet with --debug, and I still don't see any indication that something is happening. It's completed the initial blockchain scan, and there is no ~/.armory/databases directory yet.

The log file you sent indicates you're still on version 0.88.2.  But if you were on the ramreduceleveldb branch, it would say 0.89.95.

After battling multiple issues destroying mainnet DB (all user error), I did notice that a bunch of my wallet balances were totally wrong on mainnet, but not testnet (frequently reporting "total received", not "current balance").   I confirmed that the DB actually has the correct data, and the GUI just happens to be reading it incorrectly.  Not sure why I'm not seeing the problem on testnet, but at least it'll be easier than tracking down a DB error...

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 07:31:20 PM
 #2530

ARGH.  I somehow reverted one armorymodels.py to the pre-leveldb version.   Just about to commit the fixed version to the ramreduceleveldb branch.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
superbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
September 09, 2013, 07:42:50 PM
 #2531

When I loaded armory this AM, it said it detected a corrupt block in the blockchain.

I closed armory, opened bitcoin 0.8.4 and it offered to repair the chain.  I let this run through and it completed giving me the green checkmark in the bottom right corner.  Then as soon as I went back into armory I got the same error, now I go back into the bitcoin client and it is starting the repair again??

I really need to send coins in my armory wallet out today, what can I do to end this loop?

https://bitfinex.com/?refcode=UInJLQ5KpA <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with the refcode
My feedback thread: Forum thread
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 07:49:29 PM
 #2532

When I loaded armory this AM, it said it detected a corrupt block in the blockchain.

I closed armory, opened bitcoin 0.8.4 and it offered to repair the chain.  I let this run through and it completed giving me the green checkmark in the bottom right corner.  Then as soon as I went back into armory I got the same error, now I go back into the bitcoin client and it is starting the repair again??

I really need to send coins in my armory wallet out today, what can I do to end this loop?

Unfortunately that is actually a bitcoin-qt problem that cropped up today.  From the mailing list:  prepare for some turbulence.

Quote from: gmaxwell
All Bitcoin-qt / Bitcoind nodes will currently fail to come back up
after a restart, reporting

": *** coin database inconsistencies found"
and
"Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Reindexing _will not_ correct the problem.  In Bitcoin-qt you should
say no to this reindex prompt as it will not help for this problem and
will only waste your time.

To workaround:

Please specify the command-line or configuration file argument
-checklevel=2  to Bitcoind or Bitcoin-qt.

You'll have to turn off auto-bitcoind in the Armory preferences and run it yourself using the checklevel command.  I did that today and it worked fine.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
superbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
September 09, 2013, 07:54:34 PM
 #2533

When I loaded armory this AM, it said it detected a corrupt block in the blockchain.

I closed armory, opened bitcoin 0.8.4 and it offered to repair the chain.  I let this run through and it completed giving me the green checkmark in the bottom right corner.  Then as soon as I went back into armory I got the same error, now I go back into the bitcoin client and it is starting the repair again??

I really need to send coins in my armory wallet out today, what can I do to end this loop?

Unfortunately that is actually a bitcoin-qt problem that cropped up today.  From the mailing list:  prepare for some turbulence.

Quote from: gmaxwell
All Bitcoin-qt / Bitcoind nodes will currently fail to come back up
after a restart, reporting

": *** coin database inconsistencies found"
and
"Do you want to rebuild the block database now?"

Reindexing _will not_ correct the problem.  In Bitcoin-qt you should
say no to this reindex prompt as it will not help for this problem and
will only waste your time.

To workaround:

Please specify the command-line or configuration file argument
-checklevel=2  to Bitcoind or Bitcoin-qt.

You'll have to turn off auto-bitcoind in the Armory preferences and run it yourself using the checklevel command.  I did that today and it worked fine.


Please explain what I need to do in the check level command or how this is done?

https://bitfinex.com/?refcode=UInJLQ5KpA <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with the refcode
My feedback thread: Forum thread
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 08:01:29 PM
 #2534

Adding checklevel=2 to the conf file worked , I'm trying Armory now is all good too.[Windows 7 64 bit]
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 08:04:19 PM
 #2535

No compile errors, but this happens when I try to start:
Code:
(INFO) armoryengine.py:589 - Executing popen: free -m
(INFO) armoryengine.py:589 - Executing popen: ['cat', '/proc/cpuinfo']
(INFO) armoryengine.py:768 -
(INFO) armoryengine.py:769 -
(INFO) armoryengine.py:770 -
(INFO) armoryengine.py:771 - ************************************************************
(INFO) armoryengine.py:772 - Invoked: /usr/share/armory/ArmoryQt.py --debug
(INFO) armoryengine.py:773 - ************************************************************
(INFO) armoryengine.py:774 - Loading Armory Engine:
(INFO) armoryengine.py:775 -    Armory Version        : 0.89.95
(INFO) armoryengine.py:776 -    PyBtcWallet  Version  : 1.35
(INFO) armoryengine.py:777 - Detected Operating system: Linux
(INFO) armoryengine.py:778 -    OS Variant            : Gentoo Base System-2.2-
(INFO) armoryengine.py:779 -    User home-directory   : /home/justus
(INFO) armoryengine.py:780 -    Satoshi BTC directory : /home/justus/.bitcoin/
(INFO) armoryengine.py:781 -    Armory home dir       : /home/justus/.armory/
(INFO) armoryengine.py:782 - Detected System Specs    :
(INFO) armoryengine.py:783 -    Total Available RAM   : 15.52 GB
(INFO) armoryengine.py:784 -    CPU ID string         : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
(INFO) armoryengine.py:785 -    Number of CPU cores   : 8 cores
(INFO) armoryengine.py:786 -    System is 64-bit      : True
(INFO) armoryengine.py:787 -    Preferred Encoding    : UTF-8
(INFO) armoryengine.py:788 -
(INFO) armoryengine.py:789 - Network Name: Main Network
(INFO) armoryengine.py:790 - Satoshi Port: 8333
(INFO) armoryengine.py:791 - Named options/arguments to armoryengine.py:
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     leveldbDir      : DEFAULT
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     skipVerCheck    : False
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     satoshiPort     : DEFAULT
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     settingsPath    : /home/justus/.armory/ArmorySettings.txt
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     logFile         : /home/justus/.armory/ArmoryQt.py.log.txt
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     nettimeout      : 2
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     doDebug         : True
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     datadir         : DEFAULT
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     netlog          : False
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     keypool         : 100
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     testnet         : False
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     rpcport         : DEFAULT
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     satoshiHome     : DEFAULT
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     forceOnline     : False
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     logDisable      : False
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     offline         : False
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     mtdebug         : False
(INFO) armoryengine.py:793 -     interport       : 8223
(INFO) armoryengine.py:794 - Other arguments:
(INFO) armoryengine.py:797 - ************************************************************
(CRITICAL) armoryengine.py:1005 - C++ block utilities not available.
(CRITICAL) armoryengine.py:1006 -    Make sure that you have the SWIG-compiled modules
(CRITICAL) armoryengine.py:1007 -    in the current directory (or added to the PATH)
(CRITICAL) armoryengine.py:1008 -    Specifically, you need:
(CRITICAL) armoryengine.py:1009 -        CppBlockUtils.py     and
(CRITICAL) armoryengine.py:1011 -        _CppBlockUtils.so
(ERROR) Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/armory/ArmoryQt.py", line 30, in <module>
    from armoryengine import *
  File "/usr/share/armory/armoryengine.py", line 1001, in <module>
    import CppBlockUtils as Cpp
  File "/usr/share/armory/CppBlockUtils.py", line 26, in <module>
    _CppBlockUtils = swig_import_helper()
  File "/usr/share/armory/CppBlockUtils.py", line 22, in swig_import_helper
    _mod = imp.load_module('_CppBlockUtils', fp, pathname, description)
ImportError: /usr/share/armory/_CppBlockUtils.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6snappy21GetUncompressedLengthEPKcmPm

Error in sys.excepthook:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/armory/armoryengine.py", line 582, in logexcept_override
    sys.__excepthook__(type, value, tback)
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute '__excepthook__'

Original exception was:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/armory/ArmoryQt.py", line 30, in <module>
    from armoryengine import *
  File "/usr/share/armory/armoryengine.py", line 1001, in <module>
    import CppBlockUtils as Cpp
  File "/usr/share/armory/CppBlockUtils.py", line 26, in <module>
    _CppBlockUtils = swig_import_helper()
  File "/usr/share/armory/CppBlockUtils.py", line 22, in swig_import_helper
    _mod = imp.load_module('_CppBlockUtils', fp, pathname, description)
ImportError: /usr/share/armory/_CppBlockUtils.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6snappy21GetUncompressedLengthEPKcmPm
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 08:59:43 PM
 #2536

Did you recompile?  Also, did you install the libleveldb package?

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 09:06:33 PM
 #2537

Did you recompile?
This is Gentoo, so there is no installation method that's not recompiling.
Also, did you install the libleveldb package?
I have leveldb-1.9.0 installed.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 09:26:04 PM
 #2538

Did you recompile?
This is Gentoo, so there is no installation method that's not recompiling.

That's not strictly true, here, since i didn't giveyou an installer.  If you have previously compiled the project and then checkout the new branch and/or pull, it will update the code, but you might have to do a "make clean; make" from the base directory to get it to discard the previous binaries and recompile all of them.  You may know this, but I've frequently forgotten to recompile after pulling an update and been confused by the errors that look like what you just showed.

However, it's also possible that when Gentoo installs leveldb it does not install the snappy compression library which is needed for leveldb.  While trying to get leveldb working I've seen that topic come up a few times even though I didn't have the problem myself on Ubuntu.  But it might be an issue on other system.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 09:38:56 PM
 #2539

Did you recompile?
This is Gentoo, so there is no installation method that's not recompiling.

That's not strictly true, here, since i didn't giveyou an installer.  If you have previously compiled the project and then checkout the new branch and/or pull, it will update the code, but you might have to do a "make clean; make" from the base directory to get it to discard the previous binaries and recompile all of them.  You may know this, but I've frequently forgotten to recompile after pulling an update and been confused by the errors that look like what you just showed.
I'm using an ebuild, so what happens with Gentoo is that when you install a package it extracts the source code to a working directory in /var/tmp/portage, which then gets deleted after installation. There are never any intermediate files left lying around - each compilation takes place in a clean environment.
However, it's also possible that when Gentoo installs leveldb it does not install the snappy compression library which is needed for leveldb.  While trying to get leveldb working I've seen that topic come up a few times even though I didn't have the problem myself on Ubuntu.  But it might be an issue on other system.
I'll check into that.
laurentb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 09:53:52 PM
 #2540

However, it's also possible that when Gentoo installs leveldb it does not install the snappy compression library which is needed for leveldb.
The Gentoo Bitcoin ebuilds force you to install leveldb with snappy disabled.
I haven't been able to gather a real reason why.

Is it possible to compile leveldb locally and embed it? Maybe it could be used as a temporary workaround.
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!