Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:56:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 [144] 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 482247 times)
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2013, 05:37:51 AM
 #2861

etotheipi:

I discovered a bug that exists up to version 0.89.99.14. Armory doesn't not recognize multi-sig addresses. I am unable to send a transaction to 3M8XGFBKwkf7miBzpkU3x2DoWwAVrD1mhk (the CoinJoin bounty fund), I am given the following errors:

Quote
You have entered 1 invalid addresses. The errors have been highlighted on the entry screen.

Quote
Address 1 is for the wrong network! You are on the Main Network and the address you supplied is for the Unknown Network.

Well, it's less of a bug and more of an unimplemented feature.  I haven't gotten around to handling P2SH addresses and the testing that needs to be done to make sure I don't lose people's money.  It's one of the things I'll be implementing in the next version which is all about important-but-not-critical updates :  Unicode issues, database optimizations, layout updates, P2SH handling and general polishing.

i probably would've done it sooner if I had realized that RAM reduction was going to take so long!  I'll have it soon, though!

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
1481299015
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299015

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299015
Reply with quote  #2

1481299015
Report to moderator
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481299015
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299015

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299015
Reply with quote  #2

1481299015
Report to moderator
1481299015
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299015

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299015
Reply with quote  #2

1481299015
Report to moderator
chrisrico
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496


View Profile
November 20, 2013, 05:46:28 AM
 #2862

Well, it's less of a bug and more of an unimplemented feature.  I haven't gotten around to handling P2SH addresses and the testing that needs to be done to make sure I don't lose people's money.  It's one of the things I'll be implementing in the next version which is all about important-but-not-critical updates :  Unicode issues, database optimizations, layout updates, P2SH handling and general polishing.

i probably would've done it sooner if I had realized that RAM reduction was going to take so long!  I'll have it soon, though!


Good to know, thanks!
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 08:39:54 PM
 #2863

I was helping a newcomer set up an Armory wallet (he's on .89.9x). He wanted to create a paper backup. He hadn't yet created an address for it.

When he went to create the paper backup, only the root key was printed out, not the chain code. Is the chain code essential for importing the wallet later?

ETA: -And could you tell me why Windows XP isn't supported? Is it just because you don't have it to test on for each new release, or are there significant known issues?

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2013, 08:51:42 PM
 #2864

I was helping a newcomer set up an Armory wallet (he's on .89.9x). He wanted to create a paper backup. He hadn't yet created an address for it.

When he went to create the paper backup, only the root key was printed out, not the chain code. Is the chain code essential for importing the wallet later?

ETA: -And could you tell me why Windows XP isn't supported? Is it just because you don't have it to test on for each new release, or are there significant known issues?

I'll let goatpig explain about the XP issues -- basically our new build system doesn't natively support it.  Luckily, Goatpig appears to have a solution!  We'll implement that in 0.91 (after this release).

As for the backups: yes, wallets created with the new version only contain the root key.  The chaincode is now derived from the root key, and thus does not need to be backed up.  The system detects whether the chaincode needs to be backed up, and then prints a 4-line backup if it's needed, 2-line backup if not. 

I know it's confusing, but there was really no reason not to do it, besides the confusion around questions like these!  You cannot create a 2-line backup with wallets created with 0.88.1 earlier.  Yet, backing those up with the new system (with SecurePrint and/or Fragmented), still work, and will use four lines. 

When in doubt, use the backup tester!  I put it in to calm users' nerves about issues like these Smiley

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 09:04:08 PM
 #2865

Thanks for the speedy response!

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 09:45:55 PM
 #2866


When in doubt, use the backup tester!  I put it in to calm users' nerves about issues like these Smiley

I must admit that i am really impressed by your work and by your way of thinking. You actually think for the users and this is among the few software where i have everything that i need. Usually there is always some small thing that is missing and ruins the whole experience. Great job and thank you for your work!

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 11:04:45 PM
 #2867

Regarding Windows XP support: The code is there, and the builds have worked in my environment. I have passed this build around for users to test out, and so far the reports are positive. However this build implements some changes to the build environment and the code. We need to test these out more thoroughly before including them to the release.

Assuming there is a WinXP user base loud enough to complain about the lack support and etotheipi is ok with this, I'll build and serve the XP binaries. That will be my own build however, it won't be signed and it won't be hosted on Armory's page, only a link in the forums. Use that at your own risk or wait for the official release.

tldr: have a good build, needs more testing, may post home brew builds if you can't wait.

btcarmory.com
btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 08:07:44 AM
 #2868

Question -- with the new database format in .89, am I effectively storing two block chains? One for BitcoinQT, and then another separate DB for Armory of similar size? Will I effectively need to provide double the storage space over time?
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 08:12:11 AM
 #2869

Question -- with the new database format in .89, am I effectively storing two block chains? One for BitcoinQT, and then another separate DB for Armory of similar size? Will I effectively need to provide double the storage space over time?

The current Armory database is about 1.2x larger than the blockchain, for a total of 2.2x blockchain worth of disk space. This is currently the full implementation, aimed at supporting full and super nodes. There are plans to reduce the DB size requirements for plain "client" nodes.

btcarmory.com
btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 12:14:13 PM
 #2870

Question -- with the new database format in .89, am I effectively storing two block chains? One for BitcoinQT, and then another separate DB for Armory of similar size? Will I effectively need to provide double the storage space over time?

The current Armory database is about 1.2x larger than the blockchain, for a total of 2.2x blockchain worth of disk space. This is currently the full implementation, aimed at supporting full and super nodes. There are plans to reduce the DB size requirements for plain "client" nodes.

Thanks for the quick response, goatpig. One other thing -- is there any way currently or planned feature to allow an address to be "paused" -- similar to CoinControl for BitcoinQT -- so that the wallet will disregard the particular addresses funds for any ongoing transactions?

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 12:27:14 PM
 #2871

Thanks for the quick response, goatpig. One other thing -- is there any way currently or planned feature to allow an address to be "paused" -- similar to CoinControl for BitcoinQT -- so that the wallet will disregard the particular addresses funds for any ongoing transactions?

There is a coin control option in expert mode that allows you to exclude an address from the available pool of spendable outputs. Keep in mind that you'll have to exclude these addresses on every send. Don't quote me on this but I'm pretty sure there are some low priority plans to add up coin control functionalities.

btcarmory.com
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 10:46:45 PM
 #2872

Another issue from newcomer on .89.9x

In his setup, QT is run by Armory, not run independently. When it syncs to 100%, Armory switches over to offline mode. If he restarts Armory, the same thing happens (syncs, then switches to offline mode). Trying to get more info (anything in particular which'd be helpful?), but that's what I have on it right now. Any ideas?

ETA: Nm, just didn't notice "Building database."

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 04:00:34 AM
 #2873

Just sent my first transaction to an .89 armory wallet, and it has 5 confirms in the blockchain, but Armory is reading 0 confirms on the transaction and no spendable balance. Any ideas?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 04:01:29 AM
 #2874

Just sent my first transaction to an .89 armory wallet, and it has 5 confirms in the blockchain, but Armory is reading 0 confirms on the transaction and no spendable balance. Any ideas?

What does the bottom-right corner say?  Usually something like "Connected (260837 blocks)".

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 04:17:13 AM
 #2875

Just sent my first transaction to an .89 armory wallet, and it has 5 confirms in the blockchain, but Armory is reading 0 confirms on the transaction and no spendable balance. Any ideas?

What does the bottom-right corner say?  Usually something like "Connected (260837 blocks)".


Connected 270973 blocks -- but I just restarted bitcoind and it says it needs to reindex the blocks on disk, so that might be it. Letting it run now.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 04:25:31 AM
 #2876

Just sent my first transaction to an .89 armory wallet, and it has 5 confirms in the blockchain, but Armory is reading 0 confirms on the transaction and no spendable balance. Any ideas?

What does the bottom-right corner say?  Usually something like "Connected (260837 blocks)".


Connected 270973 blocks -- but I just restarted bitcoind and it says it needs to reindex the blocks on disk, so that might be it. Letting it run now.

Yeah, looks like you're about 60 blocks behind the network.  I'm actually kind of curious if Armory figures out what's going on on the next restart... (I don't see why it wouldn't work, but  yo ucan always be surprised...)

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 05:07:42 AM
 #2877

I've always thought it would be nice if armory could query blockchain.info or something to find out how many blocks there were so that it knew if bitcoind was stuck, or if it was looking in the wrong directory for the blockchain, etc.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
Coiner.de
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
November 24, 2013, 11:58:39 AM
 #2878

I'm testing 89.99.14 on a Xubuntu system.

In the paper backup only the Root Key shows. The Chaincode is missing.
I had a hard time to understand where things should go in the Paper Backup Verify step and dearly missed an example until I realized that half of the information is missing.
picobit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


Decor in numeris


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 03:21:40 PM
 #2879

I'm testing 89.99.14 on a Xubuntu system.

In the paper backup only the Root Key shows. The Chaincode is missing.
I had a hard time to understand where things should go in the Paper Backup Verify step and dearly missed an example until I realized that half of the information is missing.


You should choose one of the newer paper backup formats when you restore.  One of them only has a root key, that should be the one matching newer paper backups of newer wallets (where the chain code is derived from the root key).
cosmarchy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 04:01:07 PM
 #2880

Ok, so now I'm kinda concerned with Armory as it appears to have transferred my BTC to another address.

I have a watching only wallet on an offline computer which holds the address where the BTC are delivered.  I sent some BTC using the offline computer to sign the transaction but back on the online computer I have two extra addresses marked as 'change received' after I made the transaction.  The problem is that the majority of my remaining funds has been moved from the original BTC address into the 'changed received' account.

Where the hell are the private keys for these two extra addresses?HuhHuh  I have no private keys for these two extra accounts as I have not created them - armory has taken this upon itself.  How the hell am I going to get the money back where it should be in the original BTC address.

What the hell is going on here  Huh
Pages: « 1 ... 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 [144] 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!