Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2019, 02:12:59 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 [842] 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 ... 2038 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4560239 times)
Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 512
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 01:17:42 PM
 #16821

I've been mining using cryptonotepool.org.uk pool.
Now I try to open my wallet.
Seems like the simplewallet.exe just created a new wallet.dat for me. Anyways it asked my password correctly and the address is the same. But how can I access my funds. The monerod.exe just hangs forever and almost freezes my whole computer (v. 0.8.8.3). And the wallet complains that "Error: refresh failed".

1558577579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558577579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558577579
Reply with quote  #2

1558577579
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
muchoman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 01:21:58 PM
 #16822

I've been mining using cryptonotepool.org.uk pool.
Now I try to open my wallet.
Seems like the simplewallet.exe just created a new wallet.dat for me. Anyways it asked my password correctly and the address is the same. But how can I access my funds. The monerod.exe just hangs forever and almost freezes my whole computer (v. 0.8.8.3). And the wallet complains that "Error: refresh failed".


Upgrade to latest version 0.8.8.4
Starving_Marvin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 512
Merit: 250


Open and Transparent Science Powered By Blockchain


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 01:49:08 PM
 #16823

I've been mining using cryptonotepool.org.uk pool.
Now I try to open my wallet.
Seems like the simplewallet.exe just created a new wallet.dat for me. Anyways it asked my password correctly and the address is the same. But how can I access my funds. The monerod.exe just hangs forever and almost freezes my whole computer (v. 0.8.8.3). And the wallet complains that "Error: refresh failed".


Upgrade to latest version 0.8.8.4

It is working now Smiley

If I want to transfer money, what is the mixing_count? How can I paste address into the console window (on windows)?

Shrikez
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 394
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 02:08:57 PM
 #16824


It is working now Smiley

If I want to transfer money, what is the mixing_count? How can I paste address into the console window (on windows)?

click on the commandline symbol in the upper left corner of the CMD window and you'll see the options.

edit/paste

Die Würde des Menschen ist unantastbar
jwinterm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1034



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 02:49:27 PM
 #16825

If I want to transfer money, what is the mixing_count? How can I paste address into the console window (on windows)?

The mixin count is the number of unspent tx outputs to mix with, I think. Basically it is the degree of anonymity. Typically a value of 2 or 3 is recommended.
user2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 02:56:17 PM
 #16826

If you say the DB version is good I'll check it out tomorrow. Cheesy
Here is what I had to do to make it work on Ubuntu 14.04
Code:
git clone https://github.com/tewinget/bitmonero.git bitmonero
cd bitmonero
git checkout blockchain
sudo apt-get install libunbound-dev liblmdb-dev
make

for those who don't need the whole repo
Code:
git clone https://github.com/tewinget/bitmonero.git --branch blockchain --depth 1

▒ NOW token ▒ by ChangeNOW ▒ Get the WIN! ▒
ChangeNOW - an instant Non-custodial Exchange Service  (( changenow.io ))
Whitepaper  ▓  Telegram  ▓  Twitter  ▓  Facebook  ▓  Medium  ▓  Reddit  ▓  Bounty Thread
fuze0000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


Enjoying the ups & downs of Cryptocurrency!


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 11:21:29 PM
 #16827

Can somebody here give the pros and the cons of Monero.  Darkcoin vs Monero please.
Jshank
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:18:58 AM
 #16828

Can somebody here give the pros and the cons of Monero.  Darkcoin vs Monero please.

Give me your darkcoin address and I'll show you.  Wink
vokain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1000

★YoBit.Net★ 1400+ Coins Exchange


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:26:52 AM
 #16829

Is there anything stopping CryptoNote blockchains from storing information the same way Bitcoin 2.0 projects depend on the Bitcoin blockchain do?

Am I spamming? Report me!
bitcoinnee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 01:29:32 AM
 #16830

the market is recovering ,anything XMR can do to boost its price???

Johnny Mnemonic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783
Merit: 505



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 01:48:19 AM
 #16831

the market is recovering ,anything XMR can do to boost its price???

Some sweet media coverage might help... or maybe some new threats from BitcoinEXpress?
saddambitcoin
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1612
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 01:58:37 AM
 #16832

Can somebody here give the pros and the cons of Monero.  Darkcoin vs Monero please.

Pros:
-Monero has its privacy and anonymous features baked right into the protocol (CryptoNote), whereas Darkcoin relies on centralized masternodes in order to obfuscate transactions.

Cons:
-Cryptonote is a completely new protocol and development is in early stages. Developers have been working on implementing a database for the blockchain (almost done), and an official GUI.  Darkcoin gets the benefit of relying on the Satoshi codebase and has the first mover advantage in the anonymous coin market.



onemorebtc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 02:29:02 AM
 #16833

Darkcoin gets the benefit of relying on the Satoshi codebase and has the first mover advantage in the anonymous coin market.


DRK:
 - instamine (with changed mining reward because of a "bug" after it)
 - coinjoin sold as anon (which does not really provide anonymity)
 - bitcoin derieved (no arbitary data per transaction, no dynamic block sizes)
 - masternodes which provide anonymity and an easy attack vector for govs (eg by watching traffic)
 - every release seems to have a bug (this time its with darksend not providing anon because of fees which leaks data)
 - masternode payments not sustainable in the future (someone made a node calculation...but i cant find it right now.. sorry)
 - thinking about going pos right now (ugh... i never thought they would do THAT, but obviously the masternode owners dont like miners)
 - not a tech aware community... they like price and nothing more. at least for me this is a no-go.

i really dont see ANY reason for darkcoin Wink

transfer 3 onemorebtc.k1024.de 1
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1129



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 02:47:19 AM
 #16834

Is there anything stopping CryptoNote blockchains from storing information the same way Bitcoin 2.0 projects depend on the Bitcoin blockchain do?

No, but curious whether you think that is a good thing or a bad thing.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 06:45:45 AM
 #16835

Sorry w/r/t missive. Fluffypony is have difficulties connecting to the internet and is in another country. A person has been hired to handled missives in the future and soon they should continue to be on time.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
lyth0s
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000


World Class Cryptonaire


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 08:40:28 AM
 #16836

Tacotime, smooth or whoever is in charge of running the monero.cc website. Would you like me to help making it look a little more aesthetically appealing? I can't develop wallet code or anything, but I can make some website improvements.

I'd like to help out, so send me a PM and lets get this going Cheesy

Monero - Truly Anonymous Digital Cash. Bitcoin Reading List 2017
bclcjunkie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 838
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 09:08:38 AM
 #16837

thanks!

Sorry w/r/t missive. Fluffypony is have difficulties connecting to the internet and is in another country. A person has been hired to handled missives in the future and soon they should continue to be on time.
lyth0s
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000


World Class Cryptonaire


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 09:12:54 AM
 #16838

I can confirm that upping my virtual memory file to 6 GB from 4GB greatly improved my shitty laptop's performance while running bitmonerod.

Monero - Truly Anonymous Digital Cash. Bitcoin Reading List 2017
florida.haunted
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 125


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 09:21:55 AM
 #16839

Sorry w/r/t missive. Fluffypony is have difficulties connecting to the internet and is in another country. A person has been hired to handled missives in the future and soon they should continue to be on time.

Thank you for notification!
lyth0s
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000


World Class Cryptonaire


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 09:41:06 AM
 #16840

Using my wallet I only see a "tx" which I assume is a transaction id and I have a "global index". But I don't see a transaction hash or block height or any other info. When I go to try to see the details of it on a blockchain explorer nothing comes up

I'm using this block explorer: http://chainradar.com/xmr/blocks?

If I want to lookup any details (IE what block height was my tx in) how do I do that with the info the monero wallet gives me?

Monero - Truly Anonymous Digital Cash. Bitcoin Reading List 2017
Pages: « 1 ... 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 [842] 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 ... 2038 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!