Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:34:43 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 [212] 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2029532 times)
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 02:18:50 PM
 #4221

Is it necessary to use a bitcoin address on the command line that exists in the bitcoind instance you are running? For example, could you mine to a cloud based address (blockchain.info) that didn't exist on your local bitcoind?
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480876483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876483
Reply with quote  #2

1480876483
Report to moderator
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
December 23, 2012, 02:44:01 PM
 #4222

Is it necessary to use a bitcoin address on the command line that exists in the bitcoind instance you are running? For example, could you mine to a cloud based address (blockchain.info) that didn't exist on your local bitcoind?

No.  Yes.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
December 23, 2012, 02:54:17 PM
 #4223

I recompiled to do 30 outgoing connections and restarted, has been running about an hour or two so far...   nothing else has changed, didn't reload bitcoind or change anything else running on the server.  I guess I'll also mention that the pool DOA rate was ranging from 15-18% when I switched

Sample size isn't big enough now, but maybe in 5 or 6 hours

(you can see the swapover on my graph quite clearly @ the 9pm indicator)


err, I killed it for now.  Have to redownload the blockchain, messed up while recompiling w/ higher fee settings.

I believe it was around 85 shares with 3 orphans.... with the 30 outgoing connections.   The precompiled version only allows you to set it to 10, however

ed: nm, found the stats file.  was 87 shares, 4 orphans and 3 DOA.... vs the 72 shares, 9 orphans, and 2 DOA earlier.  the DOA was probably just random chance.  don't think so for orphans

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 03:16:12 PM
 #4224

Is it necessary to use a bitcoin address on the command line that exists in the bitcoind instance you are running? For example, could you mine to a cloud based address (blockchain.info) that didn't exist on your local bitcoind?

No.  Yes.

Thanks.

I'm trying to like p2pool, but I'm getting 50% rejects. I have a good cable internet connection with nothing else significant running on it.

Does it matter if I run bitcoin-qt vs. bitcoind?

Here's my cgminer config:

Code:
{
"pools" : [
        {
                "url" : "http://127.0.0.1:9332",
                "user" : "none",
                "pass" : "none"
        }

]
,
"intensity" : "7,7,7",
"vectors" : "2,2,2",
"worksize" : "128,128,128",
"kernel" : "diablo,diablo,diablo",
"gpu-engine" : "800-875,800-875,800-875",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "300,300,300",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0,0,0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0,0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000,0.000,0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75",
"failover-only" : true,
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 03:26:23 PM
 #4225

Try change to:
Code:
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"queue" : "0",
What is your GBT latency? 50% is soo high stale.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 03:48:03 PM
 #4226

Try change to:
Code:
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"queue" : "0",
What is your GBT latency? 50% is soo high stale.

Changing queue to zero cut my rejects down to about 6 percent. I have not tried changing the threads because that will halve my speed, right?

Where do I find GBT latency?
rdponticelli
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 326


Our highest capital is the Confidence we build.


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 04:12:30 PM
 #4227

i have a bitcoind that has 800 connections

This may be the cause of your DOA. It was already said here, but you shouldn't have that many connections on your bitcoind. The network code for bitcoin isn't yet optimized and with that many connections you're effectively harming yourself and the network as a whole...
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 05:14:59 PM
 #4228

Try change to:
Code:
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"queue" : "0",
What is your GBT latency? 50% is soo high stale.

Changing queue to zero cut my rejects down to about 6 percent. I have not tried changing the threads because that will halve my speed, right?

Where do I find GBT latency?

OK, in the graphs I found - "getwork latency mean 0.787s".

Another thing that has me worried is the "Expected after mining for 24 hours" is only half of what I get on a PPS server.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2012, 06:31:18 PM
 #4229

I was just looking at the charts and was hit by several clumps of tumbleweed..........

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 07:08:49 PM
 #4230

I was just looking at the charts and was hit by several clumps of tumbleweed..........

And as if by magic... Cha-ching.

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 07:09:10 PM
 #4231

Another thing that has me worried is the "Expected after mining for 24 hours" is only half of what I get on a PPS server.

It says:

Code:
Payout if a block were found NOW: x.yz BTC to 1AfPXDktciQyw1Q1wTwT4xPZTbhAKruyL7. Expected after mining for 24 hours: x.yz BTC

So it means the expected payout in the next P2Pool block, not the expected daily revenue! We expect to get a block every 12 hours, so this number should be about half your calculated daily revenue.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 07:37:26 PM
 #4232

"2d 21h 53m" what a long fking block...

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2012, 07:40:15 PM
 #4233

I was just looking at the charts and was hit by several clumps of tumbleweed..........

And as if by magic... Cha-ching.

I'll have to make more inane comments more often..... Grin

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2012, 07:43:11 PM
 #4234

"2d 21h 53m" what a long fking block...

Longest one since I joined this pool. Cripes man.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 07:48:35 PM
 #4235

"2d 21h 53m" what a long fking block...

Longest one since I joined this pool. Cripes man.
and our luck stats went down like shit Tongue
it could have been worse (longer or stale)

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 08:01:31 PM
 #4236

Changing queue to zero cut my rejects down to about 6 percent. I have not tried changing the threads because that will halve my speed, right?
Wrong Smiley
It will change number of threads on GPU, it MIGHT reduce for about 5% but not always.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
December 23, 2012, 09:14:14 PM
 #4237

i have a bitcoind that has 800 connections

This may be the cause of your DOA. It was already said here, but you shouldn't have that many connections on your bitcoind. The network code for bitcoin isn't yet optimized and with that many connections you're effectively harming yourself and the network as a whole...

I'll drop it to 500 and move everything back over tomorrow and see how it goes.  I'm 95% sure the +25 outgoing connections reduced the orphans by at least 50%.  The DOA rate is still a bit high, but I also get 150ms ping times to my hetzner server.  I have 24GB of RAM on my home computer, so I might just end up installing the p2pool server here.

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
December 25, 2012, 06:24:43 PM
 #4238

Is p2pool ready for ASIC's or is there still work that needs to be done? Can it already do variable difficulty?
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
December 25, 2012, 06:41:58 PM
 #4239

Is p2pool ready for ASIC's or is there still work that needs to be done? Can it already do variable difficulty?
yes, vardiff works already. stratum is "ComingSoonTM"

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
December 25, 2012, 06:43:30 PM
 #4240

Is p2pool ready for ASIC's or is there still work that needs to be done? Can it already do variable difficulty?
yes, vardiff works already. stratum is "ComingSoonTM"
Will stratum make the communication between cgminer and the local p2pool process more efficient or is that how variable difficult will be done?
Pages: « 1 ... 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 [212] 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!