Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2019, 07:52:38 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 [167] 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 ... 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2576193 times)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 22, 2012, 12:37:51 AM
 #3321

We orphaned our own block though?  And I still get payout for that block..

M

yes, we had two blocks in competition for a while.  It looks like both were actually extended by others and it wasn't until the 194902 height that one of them "won" and the other was orhpaned.  You should have gotten a payment for the one that "won" (assuming you had at least 1 share prior to the block being found) and not for the orphaned block.  However, you may have a transaction with 0 confirmations in your transaction log for the orphaned block.  That's normal. It will never get confirmed and so you might as well just ignore it.

I ran "bitcoind -rescan" and it found the missing transaction.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
1558468358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558468358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558468358
Reply with quote  #2

1558468358
Report to moderator
Get alert of price pumps/dumps beforehand 74% average Win Rate
reported by our users
TRY NOW!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558468358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558468358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558468358
Reply with quote  #2

1558468358
Report to moderator
1558468358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558468358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558468358
Reply with quote  #2

1558468358
Report to moderator
Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 01:19:14 AM
 #3322

Is it crazy to see 6.3 gigs upload as a result of P2Pool traffic?  BTC and LTC?

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 679
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:26:38 AM
 #3323

Is it crazy to see 6.3 gigs upload as a result of P2Pool traffic?  BTC and LTC?

Over what timeframe? Or am I confused about the question? There is definite up and down traffic because of P2pool (sending and receiving information from other nodes), but until we know the time frame that 6.3gb was uploaded, I wouldn't know. I haven't measured my network usage from P2pool though.
Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 02:52:43 AM
 #3324

Is it crazy to see 6.3 gigs upload as a result of P2Pool traffic?  BTC and LTC?

Over what timeframe? Or am I confused about the question? There is definite up and down traffic because of P2pool (sending and receiving information from other nodes), but until we know the time frame that 6.3gb was uploaded, I wouldn't know. I haven't measured my network usage from P2pool though.

oops... I thought I put that in there ... 4 days... is what my box says is the uptime.

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 02:55:24 AM
 #3325

Is it crazy to see 6.3 gigs upload as a result of P2Pool traffic?  BTC and LTC?
I do know I'd been running into my data cap (150GB per month) almost every month in the recent months that I was running p2pool. I'm not entirely sure that p2pool was the cause though.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 03:06:20 AM
 #3326

Is it crazy to see 6.3 gigs upload as a result of P2Pool traffic?  BTC and LTC?
I do know I'd been running into my data cap (150GB per month) almost every month in the recent months that I was running p2pool. I'm not entirely sure that p2pool was the cause though.

Well I noticed on my router 2 gigs a day for the last 2 days ..then noticed I left a torrent seeding.. that might be the cause for my internet being shitty today... but looking at stats on my linux box running p2pool

for the last 4 days...

network history 2.7 GiB down 6.6GiB up ... I have done system up dates as well and I haven't uploaded anything from that computer I am watching it in real time and the outgoing spikes to 250 KiB/s for about 10-15 seconds every minute.   No other services on that box that would send info to the internet ... and no one is connected to my pools....

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:16:45 AM
 #3327

Is it crazy to see 6.3 gigs upload as a result of P2Pool traffic?  BTC and LTC?
I do know I'd been running into my data cap (150GB per month) almost every month in the recent months that I was running p2pool. I'm not entirely sure that p2pool was the cause though.
Maybe check on the # of connections you guys are allowing, both in p2pool, and in your daemons, and cut them down more.

That should drop the cumulative bandwidth used.

-- Smoov

ps: You have a data cap? ... Does the data cap only count on traffic that goes outside of our network? Do you get free in-network traffic?
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 04:22:51 AM
 #3328

ps: You have a data cap? ... Does the data cap only count on traffic that goes outside of our network? Do you get free in-network traffic?
AT&T has a cap on all of the data transferred on their network now; 150GB for DSL and 250GB for U-Verse.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:26:43 AM
 #3329

ps: You have a data cap? ... Does the data cap only count on traffic that goes outside of our network? Do you get free in-network traffic?
AT&T has a cap on all of the data transferred on their network now; 150GB for DSL and 250GB for U-Verse.
We haven't received any kind of notice of such a cap, and with the speed plan we have here, I'd hit that 250GB very very quickly.

Maybe, tho, because you're more rural than I...

-- Smoov
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 04:31:18 AM
 #3330

We haven't received any kind of notice of such a cap, and with the speed plan we have here, I'd hit that 250GB very very quickly.

Maybe, tho, because you're more rural than I...

-- Smoov
Nope, they didn't send out a notice (this is AT&T after all), but the caps are definitely there. They were added on May 2 last year.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:40:44 AM
 #3331

We haven't received any kind of notice of such a cap, and with the speed plan we have here, I'd hit that 250GB very very quickly.

Maybe, tho, because you're more rural than I...

-- Smoov
Nope, they didn't send out a notice (this is AT&T after all), but the caps are definitely there. They were added on May 2 last year.
Nah, they have to notify the customers of a change in the contract, which caps would be... otherwise, we'd be able to take them to court.

Even just having a note on one of the bills that they were going to change the terms, would suffice, but we got nothing.

Soo... we'll see...

-- Smoov
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 679
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 06:38:47 AM
 #3332

My provider is Comcast, and I believe we only have a DL limit. When I looked at my account & bill settings online, it showed less than the 250GB limit for the past 3 months, and I'm only at 64gb this month. I don't think they UL is even measured for me.  Tongue
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1005



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 07:33:11 AM
 #3333

I have been using p2pool to merged mine many chains at once for a long time now, it works fine for me personally however I am not at all sure how or where to find statistics about third party miners so that I can calculate appropriate payoffs for them.

Since the objective is to be able to give them choices about which type of coins they get paid in, I have commission set to 100% to prevent them getting automatic payments in bitcoins.

Looking through the browser interface I see some graphs but don't seem to be able find any clear summaries of how many shares or how much hashing or somesuch that each miner has contributed, nor any way to clear a miner's total on paying them in order to start accumulating a new work-total toward a future payment.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 11:54:10 AM
 #3334

I have been using p2pool to merged mine many chains at once for a long time now, it works fine for me personally however I am not at all sure how or where to find statistics about third party miners so that I can calculate appropriate payoffs for them.

Since the objective is to be able to give them choices about which type of coins they get paid in, I have commission set to 100% to prevent them getting automatic payments in bitcoins.

Looking through the browser interface I see some graphs but don't seem to be able find any clear summaries of how many shares or how much hashing or somesuch that each miner has contributed, nor any way to clear a miner's total on paying them in order to start accumulating a new work-total toward a future payment.

-MarkM-


Functionality to do this is not built in.  You'll have to write custom code to do that yourself (as p2pmining.com did).

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 12:21:10 PM
 #3335

My provider is Comcast, and I believe we only have a DL limit. When I looked at my account & bill settings online, it showed less than the 250GB limit for the past 3 months, and I'm only at 64gb this month. I don't think they UL is even measured for me.  Tongue

The Comcast/Xfinity limit has been suspended.

Under Users & Settings...

"Note: enforcement of the 250GB data consumption threshold is currently suspended."

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1005



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 12:37:42 PM
 #3336

I have been asked how p2pool knows how to pay third party miners who connect to it, and neither the wiki page nr the github page seems to say how that is done. I took a wild ass guess that its done by using a bitcoin address as username but is that correct?

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
rdponticelli
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 326
Merit: 250


Our highest capital is the Confidence we build.


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 12:45:01 PM
 #3337

I have been using p2pool to merged mine many chains at once for a long time now, it works fine for me personally however I am not at all sure how or where to find statistics about third party miners so that I can calculate appropriate payoffs for them.

Since the objective is to be able to give them choices about which type of coins they get paid in, I have commission set to 100% to prevent them getting automatic payments in bitcoins.

Looking through the browser interface I see some graphs but don't seem to be able find any clear summaries of how many shares or how much hashing or somesuch that each miner has contributed, nor any way to clear a miner's total on paying them in order to start accumulating a new work-total toward a future payment.

-MarkM-


Functionality to do this is not built in.  You'll have to write custom code to do that yourself (as p2pmining.com did).

Jaycoin said that he was open sourcing p2pmining's code. You can use it for your needs.

I have been asked how p2pool knows how to pay third party miners who connect to it, and neither the wiki page nr the github page seems to say how that is done. I took a wild ass guess that its done by using a bitcoin address as username but is that correct?

-MarkM-


Correct.
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 12:45:17 PM
 #3338

I have been asked how p2pool knows how to pay third party miners who connect to it, and neither the wiki page nr the github page seems to say how that is done. I took a wild ass guess that its done by using a bitcoin address as username but is that correct?

-MarkM-


Yes.  When shares are submitted, they get credited to the address specified in the username (or to the default address if the username is not an address).

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1005



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 12:56:52 PM
 #3339

Jaycoin said that he was open sourcing p2pmining's code. You can use it for your needs.

p2pmining.com is looking like a dead/abandoned site to my browser...

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
rdponticelli
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 326
Merit: 250


Our highest capital is the Confidence we build.


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:03:47 PM
 #3340

Jaycoin said that he was open sourcing p2pmining's code. You can use it for your needs.

p2pmining.com is looking like a dead/abandoned site to my browser...

-MarkM-


Yes, it was hacked and emptied. But it had the functionality that you need already working.

Check this thread.
Pages: « 1 ... 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 [167] 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 ... 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!