Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:37:36 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 [172] 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2032587 times)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 08:42:11 AM
 #3421

...
well, you probably have more connections than the avg bitcoin user.

many will only have 8
9 on my main one and 8 on my secondary one Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1481157456
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157456

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157456
Reply with quote  #2

1481157456
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
September 07, 2012, 08:37:31 PM
 #3422

im trying p2pool now Smiley

I have sucessfuly installed it on my win 7 machine and im pointing 200MH/s to it.


How do the statistics work? They are not displaying anything atm? (Does this need time?)

I want to use P2Pool, bitcoind and my miner on three separate machines. HOw can i get this to work?

Code:
P2Pool: 17433 shares in chain (17222 verified/17437 total) Peers: 10 (0 incoming)
 Local: 250MH/s in last 10.0 minutes Local dead on arrival: ~0.0% (0-10%) Expected time to share: 2.9 hours
 Shares: 0 (0 orphan, 0 dead) Stale rate: ??? Efficiency: ??? Current payout: 0.0000 BTC
 Pool: 277GH/s Stale rate: 6.7% Expected time to block: 11.6 hours
New work for worker! Difficulty: 0.999985 Share difficulty: 591.506619 Total block value: 50.511625 BTC including 622 transactions

What does this mean? is it working properly?


Thx for hlp Smiley

tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2012, 11:45:38 PM
 #3423

Looks like it is working correctly. Go to http://127.0.0.1:9332 in your browser to see some more info. You can run P2Pool on one computer and direct your miners to that computer's IP address instead of the localhost address.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 11:53:31 PM
 #3424

im trying p2pool now Smiley

I have sucessfuly installed it on my win 7 machine and im pointing 200MH/s to it.


How do the statistics work? They are not displaying anything atm? (Does this need time?)

I want to use P2Pool, bitcoind and my miner on three separate machines. HOw can i get this to work?

Code:
P2Pool: 17433 shares in chain (17222 verified/17437 total) Peers: 10 (0 incoming)
 Local: 250MH/s in last 10.0 minutes Local dead on arrival: ~0.0% (0-10%) Expected time to share: 2.9 hours
 Shares: 0 (0 orphan, 0 dead) Stale rate: ??? Efficiency: ??? Current payout: 0.0000 BTC
 Pool: 277GH/s Stale rate: 6.7% Expected time to block: 11.6 hours
New work for worker! Difficulty: 0.999985 Share difficulty: 591.506619 Total block value: 50.511625 BTC including 622 transactions

What does this mean? is it working properly?


Thx for hlp Smiley

With that small hash rate, you might want to check out p2pmining.com.  It seems to work better for smaller miners, and you get merged mining.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
September 08, 2012, 04:46:53 AM
 #3425

i have more to point towards p2pool--> about 4 GHs!

Wanted to try first, to understand how it works Smiley

rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 07:48:30 AM
 #3426

i have more to point towards p2pool--> about 4 GHs!

Wanted to try first, to understand how it works Smiley
Yes, it is working correctly.
On current pool rate you should get share about every 3hrs (using 250MH power).
If you want point more miners to your pool on local network just point miners to http://ip.of.your.node:9332, just be sure that you have port 9332 open.
Also try open port 9333 for incoming connection to get faster info about p2pool shares and new bitcoin blocks.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
doubleganger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 12:11:28 PM
 #3427

I have two jalapenos on pre-order and was wondering if it would be a waste of time to go ahead and try to get set up using cpu mining just to have the set up partly done when the jalapenos get here (if they ever do, that is)? For one thing, I wouldn't want to do anything that would negatively impact the pool. I realize I probably wouldn't get ANY bitcoin from it. Please excuse me if this has already been asked.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 12:49:36 PM
 #3428

I have two jalapenos on pre-order and was wondering if it would be a waste of time to go ahead and try to get set up using cpu mining just to have the set up partly done when the jalapenos get here (if they ever do, that is)? For one thing, I wouldn't want to do anything that would negatively impact the pool. I realize I probably wouldn't get ANY bitcoin from it. Please excuse me if this has already been asked.

I would not use CPU mining.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
doubleganger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 01:44:28 PM
 #3429

Thanks.  The setup would probably be different enough that it wouldn't gain  me anything anyway.
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 05:20:11 PM
 #3430

Cpu mining would be fine to make sure everything's running fine before your asics arrive - as long as you don't mind waiting a few days to get a single share.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
September 08, 2012, 06:11:35 PM
 #3431

I've pointed 400MHs at P2Pool atm; First payout happened today.


Im quite happy with it (looked harder to install than it is). I might switch completely to this solution in a while!

Now i need to separate the bitcoind installation from my p2 pool server.
So that i have three different machines running (i like them separate! debuging gets easier)Smiley

I have a spare Raspberry pi (that is no Use as a miner with my Ztex boards). Would it be possible to run one of the two software on that machine? (how much CPU power does P2Pool need? i pointed a one core and 1.5gib of ram towards this VM. Seems enough....)

I need to forward the pools ports with my fritzbox this evening.



Is there a way to dispplay stst to the internet?
I use BTCmon with eclipse and my other pools. Is there something similar for P2Pool?







Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
September 08, 2012, 06:25:14 PM
 #3432

Is there a way to dispplay stst to the internet?
I use BTCmon with eclipse and my other pools. Is there something similar for P2Pool?
Just forward 9332 to the machine running p2pool and go to http://your.ip:9332 to see stats. Or get a domain name for your network if you have a dynamic IP address. You can see an example of this at http://p2pmining.com:9332

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
doubleganger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 07:37:21 PM
 #3433

Cpu mining would be fine to make sure everything's running fine before your asics arrive - as long as you don't mind waiting a few days to get a single share.

Thanks for the input.  No I wouldn't expect to get any  bitcoin doing it.
dellech
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
September 09, 2012, 09:26:21 PM
 #3434

Block 198040 ... another private fork of p2pool ?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 09, 2012, 09:35:13 PM
 #3435

Block 198040 ... another private fork of p2pool ?

That would explain it...

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
September 10, 2012, 01:14:27 AM
 #3436

Block 198040 ... another private fork of p2pool ?

That would explain it...

M

Damn.  I guess I'll have to blacklist the addresses in those blocks because this is getting annoying.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2012, 03:06:16 AM
 #3437

...
well, you probably have more connections than the avg bitcoin user.

many will only have 8
9 on my main one and 8 on my secondary one Smiley

what about this one:


09/10/12 02:54:36 received block 0000000000000305d54f
09/10/12 02:54:37 SetBestChain: new best=0000000000000305d54f  height=198085  work=471019712921273781188  date=09/10/12 02:54:16


09/10/12 02:55:41 received block 0000000000000600c45a (from p2pool 'peer' share)
09/10/12 02:55:41 ERROR: ProcessBlock() : already have block 198085 0000000000000600c45a

yet blockchain.info shows

https://blockchain.info/block-index/286598/0000000000000600c45a2c0eab5e72939a45160c941d5658937a75f048dcef15

it received at 2:53:28 (afaik, the 'received' times reported on there are accurate'

https://blockchain.info/block-index/286596/0000000000000305d54fd22241482f7d8dae6a7ac947483a9e37249176e37632

the eclipseMC one was received at 2:54:34, i got it at 2:54:36, and passed it out to about 30 people


what other explanation is there, then someone that should be using addnode, or open up more connections?  there are a decent amt of nodes that actually received this block, even though i got it a full minute late

more stuff:

http://nogleg.com:9332/static/share.html#0000000000000600c45a2c0eab5e72939a45160c941d5658937a75f048dcef15

the parent share was seen like 2 1/2 minutes earlier

upstream bandwidth limitation?  that's all i can think of

another edit.. yeah, ok, so opening up more connections wouldn't help.  addnode might.

but  blockmaxsize=10000  in bitcoin.conf would be even better!

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 11:49:15 AM
 #3438

Eh?

I'm suggesting a change to bitcoind that would speed things up.

My comment included the fact that most bitcoind's have most of the transactions that they receive each time they receive a new block.
The problem is that when a node receives a new block, it gets a copy of every transaction in the block and verifies every transaction in the block.
It, however, already has most if not all but one of the transactions in the block, and I'm not sure why the transactions in the memory pool are not verified enough to match the verification applied to the txns in the block.

The network latency of sending around a block is the exact reason I've suggested this before and again here.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 14, 2012, 04:01:06 PM
 #3439

It seems block 198663

http://blockchain.info/block-index/00000000000001323ff001fd62e171e6066886841fb67b7792db3ab8bc2897a4

has been added to p2pool list of solved blocks but it was not a p2pool block.

spiccioli
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 14, 2012, 05:03:22 PM
 #3440

It seems block 198663

http://blockchain.info/block-index/00000000000001323ff001fd62e171e6066886841fb67b7792db3ab8bc2897a4

has been added to p2pool list of solved blocks but it was not a p2pool block.

spiccioli
ahhh.... not again... :/

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
Pages: « 1 ... 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 [172] 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!