Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 08:18:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 [176] 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2035614 times)
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 01:13:01 PM
 #3501

Pool rate: 400GH/s (7.5% stale) Share difficulty: 930
WTF?
Share diff is hittin roof! Last time it was ~900 on 450-500GH.
Some change in latest code?
Probably more separate miners not volunteering a higher share difficulty.
Pool rate: 385GH/s (12% stale) Share difficulty: 750

Not getting it, it should be linear?

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
1481444298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444298
Reply with quote  #2

1481444298
Report to moderator
1481444298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444298
Reply with quote  #2

1481444298
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481444298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444298
Reply with quote  #2

1481444298
Report to moderator
1481444298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444298
Reply with quote  #2

1481444298
Report to moderator
1481444298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444298
Reply with quote  #2

1481444298
Report to moderator
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 02:19:53 PM
 #3502

Pool rate: 375GH/s (10% stale) Share difficulty: 796
O_o
Rate down - SD up??? wth?

Anyway, 55% of network is v4 and v5 so v3 users are spammed by "upgrade now" messages Smiley

edit:
Pool rate: 358GH/s (9.3% stale) Share difficulty: 664

Still have no idea what it is calculated.

Network update status:
v5: 43%
v4: 14%
v3: 41%

Time to upgrade Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 550


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2012, 07:12:12 PM
 #3503

What's responsible for P2Pool's current run of bad luck? Currently, it's been 29 hours (and counting) since the pool last found a block. The last three blocks (excluding the orphan) also took longer than expected...in one case, more than 2.5x longer. Is this a sign of something going wrong, an indication of an anomaly with the larger Bitcoin network, or is it just some unusually bad luck that we're stuck riding out?

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | Gridseed Miners - $25 off your first order | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pyramining: 1 2 3 4 5
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 23, 2012, 07:37:42 PM
 #3504

What's responsible for P2Pool's current run of bad luck? Currently, it's been 29 hours (and counting) since the pool last found a block. The last three blocks (excluding the orphan) also took longer than expected...in one case, more than 2.5x longer. Is this a sign of something going wrong, an indication of an anomaly with the larger Bitcoin network, or is it just some unusually bad luck that we're stuck riding out?

My theory, based on experience, is when the hashrate gets above 300gh, things go south.  I consider it a scaling problem.  Others seem to disagree.

Eventually what happens is enough people leave because of the bad run that it drops below 300gh, then things gets better.  Thing is, they get too good, then people come back and it goes back up above 300gh. 

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
September 23, 2012, 08:42:31 PM
 #3505

The new version seems to have a memory problem. I'm on a box with 32gb of ram and it will crash after 5-6 hours with a out of memory error, and run_p2pool.exe hogging it all.
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
September 24, 2012, 01:09:22 AM
 #3506

My theory, based on experience, is when the hashrate gets above 300gh, things go south.  I consider it a scaling problem.  Others seem to disagree.

Eventually what happens is enough people leave because of the bad run that it drops below 300gh, then things gets better.  Thing is, they get too good, then people come back and it goes back up above 300gh. 

I can't conceive of a scenario where a scaling problem could be responsible for bad luck.  Scaling problems causing more stale shares or more orphaned blocks?  Sure.  Scaling problems making math stop working?  How, exactly could the size of the network have an impact on the likelihood that random numbers are below a defined target?

Just because I can't conceive of it, doesn't necessarily mean it isn't possible, but given an understanding of how this all works, it seems extremely unlikely to be related to scaling.

What's responsible for P2Pool's current run of bad luck?

You said it: bad luck.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 01:26:34 AM
 #3507

The new version seems to have a memory problem. I'm on a box with 32gb of ram and it will crash after 5-6 hours with a out of memory error, and run_p2pool.exe hogging it all.

Try running the python version.  I'm using it on a 4gb box and after 56 hours it's using 200meg of memory.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 550


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
September 24, 2012, 01:28:22 AM
 #3508

The new version seems to have a memory problem. I'm on a box with 32gb of ram and it will crash after 5-6 hours with a out of memory error, and run_p2pool.exe hogging it all.

FWIW, I have it (and bitcoind and cgminer) running on a box with 1 GB. I've only run into memory shortage issues when compiling newer versions of bitcoind.

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | Gridseed Miners - $25 off your first order | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pyramining: 1 2 3 4 5
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 01:29:14 AM
 #3509

My theory, based on experience, is when the hashrate gets above 300gh, things go south.  I consider it a scaling problem.  Others seem to disagree.

Eventually what happens is enough people leave because of the bad run that it drops below 300gh, then things gets better.  Thing is, they get too good, then people come back and it goes back up above 300gh. 

I can't conceive of a scenario where a scaling problem could be responsible for bad luck.  Scaling problems causing more stale shares or more orphaned blocks?  Sure.  Scaling problems making math stop working?  How, exactly could the size of the network have an impact on the likelihood that random numbers are below a defined target?

Just because I can't conceive of it, doesn't necessarily mean it isn't possible, but given an understanding of how this all works, it seems extremely unlikely to be related to scaling.

I'm stating from what I've observed.  Every time the pool hash rate goes > 300gh, things go south.  When it drops back down, things go better.  It could be coincidence that it happens every single time I guess.

When we're below 300gh, yes, we have bad runs, but the good runs always outnumber the bad.  When we get above, the trend reverses.

<shrug>

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
jiyu_shi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 02:45:18 AM
 #3510

I run litcoin with "litecoin.conf":
    rpcuser=abc
    rpcpassword=123
    server=1
    rpcport=10332
    port=10333

and then run:
    run_p2pool --net litecoin -w 10032 abc 123

it returns:


also try:
    run_p2pool --net litecoin --p2pool-port 10032 abc 123

itreturns:


so,will anybody help me?Thanks!
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
September 24, 2012, 03:02:15 AM
 #3511

-w tells p2pool what port to listen for miners on, not what port to connect to.

try --bitcoind-rpc-port 10332 --bitcoind-p2p-port 10333

I'm just looking at main.py.  I don't know if specifying the --net litecoin option changes the names of those two options or not.  It doesn't appear to.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
jiyu_shi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 03:41:40 AM
 #3512

-w tells p2pool what port to listen for miners on, not what port to connect to.

try --bitcoind-rpc-port 10332 --bitcoind-p2p-port 10333

I'm just looking at main.py.  I don't know if specifying the --net litecoin option changes the names of those two options or not.  It doesn't appear to.
it runs successfully!
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 11:26:45 AM
 #3513

-w tells p2pool what port to listen for miners on, not what port to connect to.

try --bitcoind-rpc-port 10332 --bitcoind-p2p-port 10333

I'm just looking at main.py.  I don't know if specifying the --net litecoin option changes the names of those two options or not.  It doesn't appear to.
it runs successfully!
If you have correct litecoin.conf
run_p2pool --net litecoin
should be enough to run p2pool properly. It reads data (ports, user, password) from config file.
Also remember to restart litecond after you change config file.

In mean time 70% of network is on v5 already Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
Ed
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 12:11:05 PM
 #3514

LAN and WAN miners has deepbit as backup pool, when DOA is go to 100% I am manually close port, then
they automatically switch to deepbit and working with DOA 0.45%

as I can see p2pool and deepbit is not compatible in multipool cgminer sheme
if cgminer goes from p2pool (main) to deepbit (backup), and going back to p2pool, longpooling stop functioning and all work going rejected

everything, bitcoind, p2pool, cgminer is last versions
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
September 24, 2012, 02:08:48 PM
 #3515

LAN and WAN miners has deepbit as backup pool, when DOA is go to 100% I am manually close port, then
they automatically switch to deepbit and working with DOA 0.45%

as I can see p2pool and deepbit is not compatible in multipool cgminer sheme
if cgminer goes from p2pool (main) to deepbit (backup), and going back to p2pool, longpooling stop functioning and all work going rejected

everything, bitcoind, p2pool, cgminer is last versions

Correct.  You can not mix p2pool and non-p2pool entries in the same cgminer instance.  

P2Pool, the distributed network itself, is essentially never "down".  If you want a backup to your personal p2pool node being down, use someone else's public p2pool node as a backup (there is a thread here somewhere with a list of public p2pool servers) and specify your bitcoin address as the username.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 24, 2012, 02:33:35 PM
 #3516

Public nodes list:
http://nodes.p2pmine.com/

You can verify fee of pool using http://node:port/fee

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
September 25, 2012, 12:06:38 AM
 #3517

Correct.  You can not mix p2pool and non-p2pool entries in the same cgminer instance.  

P2Pool, the distributed network itself, is essentially never "down".  If you want a backup to your personal p2pool node being down, use someone else's public p2pool node as a backup (there is a thread here somewhere with a list of public p2pool servers) and specify your bitcoin address as the username.

Um.. I have p2pool and ozcoin in my config, and I switch from one to the other without a problem (usually manually, as both have always been up as long as I've been using both).  Yeah, a get a few rejects before it synchs up, but it always works. 

Maybe you mean something other than "can not mix".  Like load balancing maybe?

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 25, 2012, 02:51:35 AM
 #3518

Correct.  You can not mix p2pool and non-p2pool entries in the same cgminer instance.  

P2Pool, the distributed network itself, is essentially never "down".  If you want a backup to your personal p2pool node being down, use someone else's public p2pool node as a backup (there is a thread here somewhere with a list of public p2pool servers) and specify your bitcoin address as the username.

Um.. I have p2pool and ozcoin in my config, and I switch from one to the other without a problem (usually manually, as both have always been up as long as I've been using both).  Yeah, a get a few rejects before it synchs up, but it always works.  

Maybe you mean something other than "can not mix".  Like load balancing maybe?

M
You must ONLY be mining normal BTC or P2Pool at the same time.
Thus any sort of load balancing must only be the same type of pool as the "Priority 0" pool
You also need to use --failover-only or disable all pools that could be 'failed over' to, that are a different type.

Switching may or may not work as expected - YMMV Smiley

But think of it in terms of:
At any time, you MUST disable getting work from ALL pools that are not the same as the "Priority 0" pool

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Ed
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 11:51:35 AM
 #3519

Um.. I have p2pool and ozcoin in my config, and I switch from one to the other without a problem (usually manually, as both have always been up as long as I've been using both).  Yeah, a get a few rejects before it synchs up, but it always works......

changed backup to mtred and problems gone, booth remote sites

thanks all
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 12:04:14 AM
 #3520

I can't conceive of a scenario where a scaling problem could be responsible for bad luck.  Scaling problems causing more stale shares or more orphaned blocks?  Sure.  Scaling problems making math stop working?  How, exactly could the size of the network have an impact on the likelihood that random numbers are below a defined target?

The only thing that would affect scaling would be some large miners purposefully mining on p2pool and witholding the blocks. That would be very costly to do so, but it is possible.

Buy & Hold
Pages: « 1 ... 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 [176] 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!