Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 09:38:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 392462 times)
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 10:59:24 AM
 #621

What's the best OS for this in this list?

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64
gentoo amd64 minimal 20121210
ubuntu 12.10 server amd64
gentoo x86 minimal 20121213
CentOS 5.8 x86-64
CentOS 6.3 X86-64
FreeBSD 9.1 release amd64
debian 6.0.6 amd64
debian 6.0.6 i386

It's a VPS, and only has linux options...

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64 is a safe bet

Yet I'm having trouble compiling the miner: http://www.ppcointalk.org/index.php?topic=341.msg2361#msg2361
Haven't got an answer yet...seems to be a bug or something when doing apt-get install for certain dev files.

I had this same error, took me a day to figure out after hours and hours of trying different things.

As blastbob pointed out somewhere in here, turns out it's your Memory that's lacking.

Run this command, it should solve the issue:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

1508319488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508319488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508319488
Reply with quote  #2

1508319488
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508319488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508319488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508319488
Reply with quote  #2

1508319488
Report to moderator
1508319488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508319488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508319488
Reply with quote  #2

1508319488
Report to moderator
1508319488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508319488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508319488
Reply with quote  #2

1508319488
Report to moderator
cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 11:12:36 AM
 #622

can anyone write a proper guide for this on linux, thanks ?


the guide on this page is not working at all

http://www.primecoiner.com/primecoin-high-performance-linux-hp2-hp3/



i want to try it out on my server

████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
     ▄▄████████▄▄
   ▄██████████████▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
██████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀█
██████     █████     █
██████     █████     █             ▄▄▄
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀     █        ███  ███
 ▀████                  ▄▄▄   ███  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄
   ▀██     ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄█████▄ ███  ███ ███  ███ ████████████▄
     ▀     █████      ███▄▄██ ███  ███ ███  ███ ███ ▀███ ▀███
           ▀▀███      ███▄▄▄  ███▄ ███ ███▄████ ███  ███  ███
               ▀       ▀████▀  ▀██ ███ ▀███▀███ ███  ███  ███
                   ▀█
████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
|
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 11:13:24 AM
 #623

What's the best OS for this in this list?

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64
gentoo amd64 minimal 20121210
ubuntu 12.10 server amd64
gentoo x86 minimal 20121213
CentOS 5.8 x86-64
CentOS 6.3 X86-64
FreeBSD 9.1 release amd64
debian 6.0.6 amd64
debian 6.0.6 i386

It's a VPS, and only has linux options...

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64 is a safe bet

Yet I'm having trouble compiling the miner: http://www.ppcointalk.org/index.php?topic=341.msg2361#msg2361
Haven't got an answer yet...seems to be a bug or something when doing apt-get install for certain dev files.

I had this same error, took me a day to figure out after hours and hours of trying different things.

As blastbob pointed out somewhere in here, turns out it's your Memory that's lacking.

Run this command, it should solve the issue:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile



this part

sudo swapon /swapfile

gives a not allowed message on my server?

████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
     ▄▄████████▄▄
   ▄██████████████▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
██████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀█
██████     █████     █
██████     █████     █             ▄▄▄
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀     █        ███  ███
 ▀████                  ▄▄▄   ███  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄
   ▀██     ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄█████▄ ███  ███ ███  ███ ████████████▄
     ▀     █████      ███▄▄██ ███  ███ ███  ███ ███ ▀███ ▀███
           ▀▀███      ███▄▄▄  ███▄ ███ ███▄████ ███  ███  ███
               ▀       ▀████▀  ▀██ ███ ▀███▀███ ███  ███  ███
                   ▀█
████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
|
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 11:19:59 AM
 #624

this part

sudo swapon /swapfile

gives a not allowed message on my server?

It probably means that your VPS provider has disabled it for some reason, especially for Linux if it is based on kernel-level isolation as opposed to a "real" (OS-agnostic) hypervisor.

I would increase (boost) the RAM size to 1 GB to work around the problem while compiling, then set it back to 512 MB.
cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 11:36:09 AM
 #625

yeah it's probably been disabled.

Oh well i will try my dedicated server and see what happens.

did anyone try this guide?

apt-get install make
apt-get install git
git clone https://bitbucket.org/pankkake/mikaelh2-primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
apt-get install libgmp-dev
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo “rpcuser=SomeUser
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLong
gen=1″ > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv -f primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind –daemon -sievesize=200000
watch ‘primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo’

it seems the guy didnt test it out and there are a few mistakes in there that stop it working?  someone told me this mikaelh2  version would work way better but i like a few others could not get that to work at all? 

████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
     ▄▄████████▄▄
   ▄██████████████▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
██████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀█
██████     █████     █
██████     █████     █             ▄▄▄
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀     █        ███  ███
 ▀████                  ▄▄▄   ███  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄
   ▀██     ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄█████▄ ███  ███ ███  ███ ████████████▄
     ▀     █████      ███▄▄██ ███  ███ ███  ███ ███ ▀███ ▀███
           ▀▀███      ███▄▄▄  ███▄ ███ ███▄████ ███  ███  ███
               ▀       ▀████▀  ▀██ ███ ▀███▀███ ███  ███  ███
                   ▀█
████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
|
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
jubalix
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1624


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 11:50:38 AM
 #626

hi,

if I mine on linux do I have to pay mining fees's when I send?

also if I send from the QT (non mining) do I have to pay fees of 0.01 to get it processed

what happens if no fees are paid

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist.
B.Engineering/B.Laws
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 804


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:05:11 PM
 #627

hi,

if I mine on linux do I have to pay mining fees's when I send?

also if I send from the QT (non mining) do I have to pay fees of 0.01 to get it processed

what happens if no fees are paid

1) only if you configure them
2) only if you configure them
3) in theory the transaction will be slower.  however i didn't even realise that i didnt have any fees configured and my transactions are pretty quick

OnkelPaul
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1045



View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:16:41 PM
 #628

Currently Primecoin seems to be set up with no transaction fees.
I don't know whether that will change when the network is swamped with transactions.
I think that since there is no rigid reduction of mining rewards, transaction fees are not needed to keep miners happy as with Bitcoin :-)

Onkel Paul

tocket
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:24:19 PM
 #629

I had to pay transactions fees when I transferred some XPM (using primecoind). The first time it was because the coins were too new (0.01 XPM fee) and the second time because the transaction was big (200 XPM, 0.02 XPM fee).
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:36:34 PM
 #630

Can anyone tell me how to read the primemeter lines in debug.log? What do the three values, prime/h, test/h, and 5-chains/h measure and which one is the best performance indicator?
Vannicke
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


That guy, you know, with the face


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:58:01 PM
 #631

Can anyone tell me how to read the primemeter lines in debug.log? What do the three values, prime/h, test/h, and 5-chains/h measure and which one is the best performance indicator?

Mikaelh said that 5-chains/h is the best measure of performance since 5-chains/h is more on par with the 8-chains [soon to be 9-chains] that we are mining to find blocks.

prime/h = 1-chains and he said test/h doesn't give much info at all.

The Satoshi Jar: 16t2BLGZyaMpGm3vzYWxucGz8g4bVotr1h
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 01:36:10 PM
 #632

yeah it's probably been disabled.

Oh well i will try my dedicated server and see what happens.

did anyone try this guide?

apt-get install make
apt-get install git
git clone https://bitbucket.org/pankkake/mikaelh2-primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
apt-get install libgmp-dev
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo “rpcuser=SomeUser
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLong
gen=1″ > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv -f primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind –daemon -sievesize=200000
watch ‘primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo’

it seems the guy didnt test it out and there are a few mistakes in there that stop it working?  someone told me this mikaelh2  version would work way better but i like a few others could not get that to work at all? 

Try this, just wrote the guide:
http://ecoinomist.com/xpm-primecoin-mining-guide-on-linux

dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 17, 2013, 01:40:15 PM
 #633

average right now I'm seeing is  1 block per day for each ~3K PPS. A little more than cost of electricity on a standard PC.

Annnnnnnnnnnnd now the difficulty has changed ridiculous level since  even 2 days ago. 
cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 01:50:50 PM
 #634

yeah it's probably been disabled.

Oh well i will try my dedicated server and see what happens.

did anyone try this guide?

 

Try this, just wrote the guide:
http://ecoinomist.com/xpm-primecoin-mining-guide-on-linux


thanks, i'm going to give it a try Smiley

will this work ok on centos 6.3 64bit? 

████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
     ▄▄████████▄▄
   ▄██████████████▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
██████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀█
██████     █████     █
██████     █████     █             ▄▄▄
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀     █        ███  ███
 ▀████                  ▄▄▄   ███  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄
   ▀██     ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄█████▄ ███  ███ ███  ███ ████████████▄
     ▀     █████      ███▄▄██ ███  ███ ███  ███ ███ ▀███ ▀███
           ▀▀███      ███▄▄▄  ███▄ ███ ███▄████ ███  ███  ███
               ▀       ▀████▀  ▀██ ███ ▀███▀███ ███  ███  ███
                   ▀█
████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
|
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 01:55:18 PM
 #635

yeah it's probably been disabled.

Oh well i will try my dedicated server and see what happens.

did anyone try this guide?

 

Try this, just wrote the guide:
http://ecoinomist.com/xpm-primecoin-mining-guide-on-linux


thanks, i'm going to give it a try Smiley

will this work ok on centos 6.3 64bit? 

I don't know, haven't tested, only installed it on Ubuntu and Debian and both worked.

ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 949


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 01:57:07 PM
 #636

HP4 crashes on Linux every few hours. Another machine runs Windows and seems fine.

Code:
primecoind: checkqueue.h:167: CCheckQueueControl<T>::CCheckQueueControl(CCheckQueue<T>*) [with T = CScriptCheck]: Assertion `pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle' failed.

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
mhps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 02:00:25 PM
 #637

Currently Primecoin seems to be set up with no transaction fees.
I don't know whether that will change when the network is swamped with transactions.
I think that since there is no rigid reduction of mining rewards, transaction fees are not needed to keep miners happy as with Bitcoin :-)

That the wallet doesn't show tx fee in the configuration is a bug. http://www.ppcointalk.org/index.php?topic=333.0

BTC 1HxvAEC4nj37hyenz9DwsyrMMnkwzpbzno PPC PU6zS8RRBWP2UxhuRFengGsu8n4tEYB5xV XPM AJAgBpPjGQoL38mrtW91dVqhbMHqu25vfG
OnkelPaul
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1045



View Profile
July 17, 2013, 02:29:39 PM
 #638

Currently Primecoin seems to be set up with no transaction fees.
I don't know whether that will change when the network is swamped with transactions.
I think that since there is no rigid reduction of mining rewards, transaction fees are not needed to keep miners happy as with Bitcoin :-)

That the wallet doesn't show tx fee in the configuration is a bug. http://www.ppcointalk.org/index.php?topic=333.0

Ok, thanks for the clarification. I must admit I never tried to transfer the ~20 XPC that my aging i3 CPU mined when XPM was young :-)

Onkel Paul

hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 02:40:37 PM
 #639

yeah it's probably been disabled.

Oh well i will try my dedicated server and see what happens.

did anyone try this guide?

apt-get install make
apt-get install git
git clone https://bitbucket.org/pankkake/mikaelh2-primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
apt-get install libgmp-dev
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo “rpcuser=SomeUser
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLong
gen=1″ > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv -f primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind –daemon -sievesize=200000
watch ‘primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo’

it seems the guy didnt test it out and there are a few mistakes in there that stop it working?  someone told me this mikaelh2  version would work way better but i like a few others could not get that to work at all?  

Try this, just wrote the guide:
http://ecoinomist.com/xpm-primecoin-mining-guide-on-linux

Is that multiple machines using the same wallet ecoinomist? You are getting a crazy number of blocks for one machine.

Is it possible for multiple machines to share one wallet? How would I do that? copy the wallet.dat around?
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 02:43:31 PM
 #640

yes

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!