Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:19:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 392669 times)
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446


minor developer


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 08:06:09 AM
 #701

I don't think that's quite it, but it's close.  I don't think this is a case where we can use 30 as the ratio between each chain length; empirically it seems to be off, at the very least--I've estimated it as closer to 12 by looking at the gap between 1- and 5-chains.

Also, that would not be the blocks per hour; it would be the number of 8-chains per hour.  Primecoin has a fractional difficulty that is roughly linear, so if the difficulty is 8.5 then about half of all 8-chains are not valid work shares.  If the difficulty is 8.99 then only 1 in 100 8-chains are valid.  You need to account for that before you arrive at blocks per hour.  Generally it is blocks per hour = 8-chains/h * (1+difficulty-floor(difficulty)), but when you get close to the next integer difficulty things get weird since 9-chains work for difficulty 8.XX and 9-chains are more common than 8.995 chains.

Aha, so while the integer part is logarithmic, the fractional part is linear? I thought the fractional part was represented in a way that makes the entire number smoothly logarithmic (if you have something linear, just take the log, then the addition of these parts corresponds to multiplication in the "original" difficulty space).

Of course, if there are these complications close to the next integer, it won't work exactly, but it might be a useful estimate for long-term block rewards anyway. It's not like mining calculators can guarantee when you find the next block Wink In fact, whether the fractional part is logarithmic or linear won't make such a huge difference, because a huge majority of the difficulty is in the integer part. (Putting my physicist hat on - we're interpolating between two points we know to be correct, so it's hard to make any huge deviations, especially when you are close to either point.)

I admit the base must be much more like 12 than 30, when looking at past block rates. I wonder where the 30 came from, though, I recall seeing it in a number of posts...

1508768356
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768356

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768356
Reply with quote  #2

1508768356
Report to moderator
1508768356
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768356

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768356
Reply with quote  #2

1508768356
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508768356
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768356

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768356
Reply with quote  #2

1508768356
Report to moderator
1508768356
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768356

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768356
Reply with quote  #2

1508768356
Report to moderator
forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:09:35 AM
 #702

I've just downloaded the new wallet. It won't sync and says: No block source available.

What should I do?

You probably need some nodes. Add these to your config file.

addnode=107.20.202.112
addnode=54.225.123.87
addnode=54.224.142.224
addnode=184.72.193.229
addnode=23.20.77.101
addnode=54.224.95.193
addnode=54.234.90.173
addnode=23.21.2.143
addnode=23.20.0.137
addnode=50.16.112.122
addnode=50.112.197.152
addnode=68.226.25.44
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:15:48 AM
 #703

I've just downloaded the new wallet. It won't sync and says: No block source available.

What should I do?

You probably need some nodes. Add these to your config file.

addnode=107.20.202.112
addnode=54.225.123.87
addnode=54.224.142.224
addnode=184.72.193.229
addnode=23.20.77.101
addnode=54.224.95.193
addnode=54.234.90.173
addnode=23.21.2.143
addnode=23.20.0.137
addnode=50.16.112.122
addnode=50.112.197.152
addnode=68.226.25.44

Mostly amazon ips i see Smiley

Psst.. Got Ether?
Kujmandosz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:17:11 AM
 #704

Can you post a general config setup for me here?
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:17:39 AM
 #705

I've just downloaded the new wallet. It won't sync and says: No block source available.

What should I do?

It looks like the seed nodes are getting pummeled a bit, one of the side effects of huge popularity! I think if you're patient a spot will open up.

forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:29:55 AM
 #706

Can you post a general config setup for me here?

gen=0
server=1
rpcuser=homersimpson
rpcpassword=lovesdoughnuts
rpcallowip=192.168.*.*   <-- change this to what your network ip range is.
rpcport=9910
addnode=107.20.202.112
addnode=54.225.123.87
addnode=54.224.142.224
addnode=184.72.193.229
addnode=23.20.77.101
addnode=54.224.95.193
addnode=54.234.90.173
addnode=23.21.2.143
addnode=23.20.0.137
addnode=50.16.112.122
addnode=50.112.197.152
addnode=68.226.25.44
jubalix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:43:15 AM
 #707

well

looks like I have stopped finding blocks....diff to high now....Sad

have not found in hours!!!!

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist.
B.Engineering/B.Laws
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 595



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:46:34 AM
 #708

what is best primecoin mining client?

COBINHOOD – ZERO TRADING FEE CRYPTOCURRENCY EXCHANGE 
slack
Telegram
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:47:10 AM
 #709

what is best primecoin mining client?


Psst.. Got Ether?
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 595



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:55:54 AM
 #710

meh


I;m looking something for win 32bit

COBINHOOD – ZERO TRADING FEE CRYPTOCURRENCY EXCHANGE 
slack
Telegram
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 595



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:56:20 AM
 #711

btw casio4life

COBINHOOD – ZERO TRADING FEE CRYPTOCURRENCY EXCHANGE 
slack
Telegram
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:56:35 AM
 #712

what is best primecoin mining client?

The best Primecoin mining client is...

...found by doing your research.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 595



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:01:28 AM
 #713

I know that I can mining on wallet but I'm looking for something faster for win 32

COBINHOOD – ZERO TRADING FEE CRYPTOCURRENCY EXCHANGE 
slack
Telegram
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:14:11 AM
 #714

I know that I can mining on wallet but I'm looking for something faster for win 32

Again, it's around these forums. Look for mikaelh.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 09:17:02 AM
 #715

I know that I can mining on wallet but I'm looking for something faster for win 32

Again, it's around these forums. Look for mikaelh.

Huh, isn't that what this thread itself is about?

(I guess if I read the first post of the thread I'd know that, but I haven't in so long and these questions really have me wondering now...)

If the objective is an external mining program, then there might be bounties one can contribute to that aim at getting such a thing built, though maybe mostly they want it to be able to use GPUs.

There is the luke's miner prime branch project too though which maybe hasn't even had bounties thrown at it yet...

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:18:41 AM
 #716

Does anyone have a clone of the repo?  Github has taken it down for excessive use of resources.

Edit: sf link, duh

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 09:19:32 AM
 #717

Does anyone have a clone of the repo?  Github has taken it down for excessive use of resources.

Yeah the people who provided links to such repos right here in this thread do, or are theirs down too now?

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
versificateur
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:21:19 AM
 #718

Hi all!
Is there any guide to build primecoin-qt on ubuntu 13.04 or someone could help me? (I saw a screenshot on ubuntu)

Just cd into the source directory (usually 'primecoin') and compile the qt client:

Code:
qmake bitcoin-qt.pro USE_UPNP=-
make

that's all... the binary then appears in the source folder. Of course it might stop while missing some dependencies, but it will tell you... Wink

Thanks! I finally won't use it. primecoind runs fine for me. Turn my rig on 12h ago and already got two block Smiley
idny
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:28:28 AM
 #719

well

looks like I have stopped finding blocks....diff to high now....Sad

have not found in hours!!!!

Same here. 3500 PPS
Nothing in 72 hours. Was getting 2/3 blocks per day before.

But then again, since I changed to HP4 from the Sunny's version i've had nothing.
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 805


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:32:01 AM
 #720

well

looks like I have stopped finding blocks....diff to high now....Sad

have not found in hours!!!!

Same here. 3500 PPS
Nothing in 72 hours. Was getting 2/3 blocks per day before.

But then again, since I changed to HP4 from the Sunny's version i've had nothing.
I can assure you that mikealh's hp4 is the best version out there.  The reason you're not getting blocks is now high difficulty & bad luck.  I have several 10k PPS machines and some of them are not finding blocks in 24 hours now.  Then I have others that have found 3-4 in the same time.  Just be patient.  Or try the pool.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!