Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2022, 06:08:18 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397530 times)
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 252


555


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 07:44:39 AM
 #681

Why did you write this script? what did you change, and what problem did you solve?
Looks to me that its a python script, basicly a frontend for,
currency = {
    "bitcoin": "BTC",
    "chncoin": "CNC",
    "litecoin": "LTC",
    "namecoin": "NMC",
    "ppcoin": "PPC",
    "primecoin": "XPM",
}
Makes bitcoind/primecoind/... usage easier, etc. updated script also tries to estimate block finding time for XPM also.

I should probalby have linked to the readme instead. These are some of my personal cryptocoin scripts I've been building up since 2010, and I'm not sure if they are useful to anyone else, but feel free to grab some ideas.

world famous math art | masternodes are bad, mmmkay?
Every sha(sha(sha(sha()))), every ho-o-o-old, still shines
1653458898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653458898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653458898
Reply with quote  #2

1653458898
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1653458898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653458898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653458898
Reply with quote  #2

1653458898
Report to moderator
1653458898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653458898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653458898
Reply with quote  #2

1653458898
Report to moderator
Kujmandosz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:04:45 AM
 #682

I've just downloaded the new wallet. It won't sync and says: No block source available.

What should I do?

teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 252


555


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 08:06:09 AM
 #683

I don't think that's quite it, but it's close.  I don't think this is a case where we can use 30 as the ratio between each chain length; empirically it seems to be off, at the very least--I've estimated it as closer to 12 by looking at the gap between 1- and 5-chains.

Also, that would not be the blocks per hour; it would be the number of 8-chains per hour.  Primecoin has a fractional difficulty that is roughly linear, so if the difficulty is 8.5 then about half of all 8-chains are not valid work shares.  If the difficulty is 8.99 then only 1 in 100 8-chains are valid.  You need to account for that before you arrive at blocks per hour.  Generally it is blocks per hour = 8-chains/h * (1+difficulty-floor(difficulty)), but when you get close to the next integer difficulty things get weird since 9-chains work for difficulty 8.XX and 9-chains are more common than 8.995 chains.

Aha, so while the integer part is logarithmic, the fractional part is linear? I thought the fractional part was represented in a way that makes the entire number smoothly logarithmic (if you have something linear, just take the log, then the addition of these parts corresponds to multiplication in the "original" difficulty space).

Of course, if there are these complications close to the next integer, it won't work exactly, but it might be a useful estimate for long-term block rewards anyway. It's not like mining calculators can guarantee when you find the next block Wink In fact, whether the fractional part is logarithmic or linear won't make such a huge difference, because a huge majority of the difficulty is in the integer part. (Putting my physicist hat on - we're interpolating between two points we know to be correct, so it's hard to make any huge deviations, especially when you are close to either point.)

I admit the base must be much more like 12 than 30, when looking at past block rates. I wonder where the 30 came from, though, I recall seeing it in a number of posts...

world famous math art | masternodes are bad, mmmkay?
Every sha(sha(sha(sha()))), every ho-o-o-old, still shines
forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:09:35 AM
 #684

I've just downloaded the new wallet. It won't sync and says: No block source available.

What should I do?

You probably need some nodes. Add these to your config file.

addnode=107.20.202.112
addnode=54.225.123.87
addnode=54.224.142.224
addnode=184.72.193.229
addnode=23.20.77.101
addnode=54.224.95.193
addnode=54.234.90.173
addnode=23.21.2.143
addnode=23.20.0.137
addnode=50.16.112.122
addnode=50.112.197.152
addnode=68.226.25.44
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:15:48 AM
 #685

I've just downloaded the new wallet. It won't sync and says: No block source available.

What should I do?

You probably need some nodes. Add these to your config file.

addnode=107.20.202.112
addnode=54.225.123.87
addnode=54.224.142.224
addnode=184.72.193.229
addnode=23.20.77.101
addnode=54.224.95.193
addnode=54.234.90.173
addnode=23.21.2.143
addnode=23.20.0.137
addnode=50.16.112.122
addnode=50.112.197.152
addnode=68.226.25.44

Mostly amazon ips i see Smiley

Bitrated user: blastbob.
Kujmandosz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:17:11 AM
 #686

Can you post a general config setup for me here?

rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:17:39 AM
 #687

I've just downloaded the new wallet. It won't sync and says: No block source available.

What should I do?

It looks like the seed nodes are getting pummeled a bit, one of the side effects of huge popularity! I think if you're patient a spot will open up.

forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:29:55 AM
 #688

Can you post a general config setup for me here?

gen=0
server=1
rpcuser=homersimpson
rpcpassword=lovesdoughnuts
rpcallowip=192.168.*.*   <-- change this to what your network ip range is.
rpcport=9910
addnode=107.20.202.112
addnode=54.225.123.87
addnode=54.224.142.224
addnode=184.72.193.229
addnode=23.20.77.101
addnode=54.224.95.193
addnode=54.234.90.173
addnode=23.21.2.143
addnode=23.20.0.137
addnode=50.16.112.122
addnode=50.112.197.152
addnode=68.226.25.44
jubalix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1018


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 08:43:15 AM
 #689

well

looks like I have stopped finding blocks....diff to high now....Sad

have not found in hours!!!!

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist. B.Engineering/B.Laws

https://www.binance.com/?ref=10062065
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 759
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:46:34 AM
 #690

what is best primecoin mining client?
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:47:10 AM
 #691

what is best primecoin mining client?


Bitrated user: blastbob.
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 759
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:55:54 AM
 #692

meh


I;m looking something for win 32bit
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 759
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 08:56:20 AM
 #693

btw casio4life
junglist.massive
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 759
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:01:28 AM
 #694

I know that I can mining on wallet but I'm looking for something faster for win 32
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2828
Merit: 1051



View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 09:17:02 AM
 #695

I know that I can mining on wallet but I'm looking for something faster for win 32

Again, it's around these forums. Look for mikaelh.

Huh, isn't that what this thread itself is about?

(I guess if I read the first post of the thread I'd know that, but I haven't in so long and these questions really have me wondering now...)

If the objective is an external mining program, then there might be bounties one can contribute to that aim at getting such a thing built, though maybe mostly they want it to be able to use GPUs.

There is the luke's miner prime branch project too though which maybe hasn't even had bounties thrown at it yet...

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1002


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:18:41 AM
 #696

Does anyone have a clone of the repo?  Github has taken it down for excessive use of resources.

Edit: sf link, duh

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2828
Merit: 1051



View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 09:19:32 AM
 #697

Does anyone have a clone of the repo?  Github has taken it down for excessive use of resources.

Yeah the people who provided links to such repos right here in this thread do, or are theirs down too now?

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
versificateur
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:21:19 AM
 #698

Hi all!
Is there any guide to build primecoin-qt on ubuntu 13.04 or someone could help me? (I saw a screenshot on ubuntu)

Just cd into the source directory (usually 'primecoin') and compile the qt client:

Code:
qmake bitcoin-qt.pro USE_UPNP=-
make

that's all... the binary then appears in the source folder. Of course it might stop while missing some dependencies, but it will tell you... Wink

Thanks! I finally won't use it. primecoind runs fine for me. Turn my rig on 12h ago and already got two block Smiley
idny
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:28:28 AM
 #699

well

looks like I have stopped finding blocks....diff to high now....Sad

have not found in hours!!!!

Same here. 3500 PPS
Nothing in 72 hours. Was getting 2/3 blocks per day before.

But then again, since I changed to HP4 from the Sunny's version i've had nothing.
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:32:01 AM
 #700

well

looks like I have stopped finding blocks....diff to high now....Sad

have not found in hours!!!!

Same here. 3500 PPS
Nothing in 72 hours. Was getting 2/3 blocks per day before.

But then again, since I changed to HP4 from the Sunny's version i've had nothing.
I can assure you that mikealh's hp4 is the best version out there.  The reason you're not getting blocks is now high difficulty & bad luck.  I have several 10k PPS machines and some of them are not finding blocks in 24 hours now.  Then I have others that have found 3-4 in the same time.  Just be patient.  Or try the pool.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!