Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 04:50:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397583 times)
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:46:48 AM
 #101

How would you start the linux primecoin miner?

./primecoind -daemon
1714798226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714798226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714798226
Reply with quote  #2

1714798226
Report to moderator
1714798226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714798226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714798226
Reply with quote  #2

1714798226
Report to moderator
1714798226
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714798226

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714798226
Reply with quote  #2

1714798226
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, but full nodes are more resource-heavy, and they must do a lengthy initial syncing process. As a result, lightweight clients with somewhat less security are commonly used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
jpmi1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:49:05 AM
 #102

How would you start the linux primecoin miner?

cat primestart.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash


PRIMECOIND=/usr/local/bin/primecoind
DATADIR=$HOME/.primecoin


nice ${PRIMECOIND} -datadir=$DATADIR -rescan -maxconnections=8 \
        -rpcuser=primecoinuser -rpcpassword=TopSecretNotWhatIreallyUse \
        -gen=1 -daemon -rpcport=9912

Then to send it commands/queries,

cat primcoind.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash

PRIMECOIND=/usr/local/bin/primecoind
DATADIR=$HOME/.primecoin

if [ "$1" == "" ]; then
  echo "Syntax: primecoind.sh COMMAND"
  exit
fi

$PRIMECOIND -datadir=$DATADIR \
        -rpcuser=primecoinuser -rpcpassword=TopSecretNotWhatIreallyUse -rpcport=9912 "$@"

NOTE: I do not use config files, if I want to add -addnode or whatever, I add it to my coinstart.sh script.

That means the wallet is the only damn thing in datadir i care about, not having to remember to also copy/save/backup a config file.

(And the wallet can be backed up using ./primecoind.sh backupwallet ~/primecoinwallet-dd-mm.yyyy.sav or whatever so nothing really in datadir at all that I need care about.)

-MarkM-


Thanks How would I set a command to watch mining info and latest transactions?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯ RELAUNCH First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ https://poloniex.com/exchange/btc_yin
XPM:AeuQPMAGRLyWbWkVgAtE4JcfSyGHATUkmG
DTC:D9mwyQo9xPAPWCtKYhthnX2uSPivcjKyLN
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:55:06 AM
 #103

Or you can run my primecoin-qt linux binaries as follows
Code:
chmod +x primecoin-qt
./primecoin-qt
then start mining by opening the debug window and
Code:
setgenerate true NUMTHREADS
where NUMTHREADS is the number of threads on the CPU you'd like to use

DOWNLOAD HERE

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:57:30 AM
 #104

This code seems to like core i's, my i5 and i7s got a bigger boost than my core 2s and fx 8120. About 1.5x more.

I tried doing builds with -O3 -march=native on a core 2 and fx 8120 and it made no difference.
seleme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1028


Duelbits.com


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2013, 05:06:39 AM
 #105

what the heck is wrong with my i3 540, I can't get more than 70 pps, lol. I know it's a crappy cpu but still, it's not Commodore 64 ffs.

       ███████████████▄▄
    ██████████████████████▄
  ██████████████████████████▄
 ███████   ▀████████▀   ████▄
██████████    █▀  ▀    ██████▄
███████████▄▄▀  ██  ▀▄▄████████
███████████          █████████
███████████▀▀▄  ██  ▄▀▀████████
██████████▀   ▀▄  ▄▀   ▀██████▀
 ███████  ▄██▄████▄█▄  █████▀
  ██████████████████████████▀
    ██████████████████████▀
       ███████████████▀▀
.
.Duelbits.
.
..THE MOST REWARDING CASINO......
   ▄▄▄▄████▀███▄▄▄▄▄
▄███▄▀▄██▄   ▄██▄▀▄███▄
████▄█▄███▄█▄███▄█▄████
███████████████████████   ▄██▄
██     ██     ██     ██   ▀██▀
██ ▀▀█ ██ ▀▀█ ██ ▀▀█ ██    ██
██  █  ██  █  ██  █  ██
█▌  ██
██     ██     ██     ████  ██
█████████████████████████  ██
████████████████████████████▀
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
████████████████████████▌
       +4,000      
PROVABLY FAIR
GAMES
   $500,000  
MONTHLY
PRIZE POOL
      $10,000     
BLACKJACK
GIVEAWAY
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:08:44 AM
 #106

Error i got..

Quote
primecoind: checkqueue.h:167: CCheckQueueControl<T>::CCheckQueueControl(CCheckQueue                <T>*) [with T = CScriptCheck]: Assertion `pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle' failed.

Bitrated user: blastbob.
96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:11:30 AM
 #107

Or you can run my primecoin-qt linux binaries as follows
Code:
chmod +x primecoin-qt
./primecoin-qt
then start mining by opening the debug window and
Code:
setgenerate true NUMTHREADS
where NUMTHREADS is the number of threads on the CPU you'd like to use

DOWNLOAD HERE

How is yours verses

https://github.com/mikaelh2/primecoin/
SC123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:29:52 AM
 #108

Good Work!

Used this version: primecoin-0.1.1-hp1-winx64 and got my first block in around 5 hours mining with it. Just updated to primecoin-0.1.1-hp2-winx64 but I'm getting a lower PPS than the previous build:


Ivy 3570K @ 4,4 Ghz

primecoin-0.1.1-hp1-winx64:   around 8000 PPS
primecoin-0.1.1-hp2-winx64:   around 6800 PPS

Gonna trust mikaelh and will use the updated version with the lower PPS.
SC123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:38:07 AM
 #109

Just WOW: found another block in just 20 minutes mining with the new version primecoin-0.1.1-hp2-winx64.

This is by far the best miner/version out there right now!
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675
Merit: 513



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:40:05 AM
 #110

hp2 64bit started at 3240 pps then slowed down to 2340 (2.6GHz AMD Phenom II X4 910e)
Probably overheating CPU, I should clean the dust some time :-)

redphlegm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 246
Merit: 250


My spoon is too big!


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:40:32 AM
 #111

I'm still a bit skeptical. Would like to see updated testnet numbers.

Whiskey Fund: (BTC) 1whiSKeYMRevsJMAQwU8NY1YhvPPMjTbM | (Ψ) ALcoHoLsKUfdmGfHVXEShtqrEkasihVyqW
Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1205
Merit: 1010



View Profile WWW
July 14, 2013, 05:43:48 AM
 #112

Early results with a sieve size of 1,000,000.

Code:
$ grep primemeter debug-hp2.log
2013-07-14 00:16:03 primemeter  43070284 prime/h 300695577 test/h
2013-07-14 00:18:03 primemeter  44915077 prime/h 311393971 test/h
$ grep -c "Probable prime chain" debug-hp2.log
69

Looking good I think.

mikaelh,

  Good work. Could you try to test how much performance boost were coming from limiting sieve round to 10% on the test net, to separate it from the effect of switching library.
ryen123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:46:08 AM
 #113

My first ever block found after running 0.1.1-hp2-winx64 in 45mins. Thanks mikaelh.

wibtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:53:18 AM
 #114

My laptop cpu's temperature is 18F higher with this verion. 3x pps
Teka
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:55:16 AM
 #115

I'm still a bit skeptical. Would like to see updated testnet numbers.

I was very skeptical at first but after finding 3 blocks in the last 4 hours my opinion changed fairly quickly. Before , I used hardware that was twice as powerful and I couldn't find a block in 10 + hours. Great build mikaelh
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 05:56:43 AM
 #116

I guess the network is all over this new build, we're averaging one block per 6 seconds right now!!

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
JohnyBigs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:01:09 AM
 #117

how do you mine this? with cgminer?
dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:03:14 AM
 #118

Hmm, how well will this work with my i3?

I have an i3 2 cores 4 threads. Sould I "set generate -1" or should I go the true core rout and "set generate 2" Huh?

I've read you solve more blocks while using all the cores not necessarily all the threads.
redphlegm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 246
Merit: 250


My spoon is too big!


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:04:25 AM
 #119

Getting tons of compiling errors when trying to build on osx using the makefile. I guess that makefile wasn't updated?

Whiskey Fund: (BTC) 1whiSKeYMRevsJMAQwU8NY1YhvPPMjTbM | (Ψ) ALcoHoLsKUfdmGfHVXEShtqrEkasihVyqW
vingaard
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1011



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:08:18 AM
 #120

Thanks for this version  Grin
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!