Bitcoin Forum
August 24, 2017, 09:09:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 ... 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 388630 times)
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 10:54:16 PM
 #441

I'm gonna try different sieve sizes on digitalocean vps...having 0 blocks for a day so far.

Honestly, digitalocean is crap. don't waste your money on that crap VPS. there are better VPS's out there that you will see much better performance on for a similar price.

1503565742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503565742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503565742
Reply with quote  #2

1503565742
Report to moderator
1503565742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503565742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503565742
Reply with quote  #2

1503565742
Report to moderator
1503565742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503565742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503565742
Reply with quote  #2

1503565742
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503565742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503565742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503565742
Reply with quote  #2

1503565742
Report to moderator
1503565742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503565742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503565742
Reply with quote  #2

1503565742
Report to moderator
1503565742
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503565742

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503565742
Reply with quote  #2

1503565742
Report to moderator
pgbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 321



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 10:55:25 PM
 #442

so if I just replace the primecoin-qt.exe and the daemon on this windows machine, what will happen with the coins that are already on this machine? Or is it best to send these coins to another account before installing this release on this machine?

We need good Wiki or a FAQ. Same questions been asked over and over again, and you can't point people anywhere.

Your coins are tied to your private key(s), which is in wallet.dat file. That file is located in totally separate directory from your Primecoin client, and any re-installation has no effect on it.
^ Wiki is needed, agreed.
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 10:56:46 PM
 #443

So far, my core 2 duo processor is getting 3-400 PPS compared to 50ish it was getting originally. Of course I still haven't found a block yet... I'm sure global PPS is way up there now. I'll leave it running for 24 hours to see if it's worth it.

Short answer: Use a pool: http://ypool.net/news.php


BS

Are you worried people will get a leg up on your 100 servers?

I am extremely skeptical that this is an actual pool. Writing a pool for XPM looks quite hard and I doubt these guys did it in 7 days. More likely they are just pooling the coins that are solo mined by their users and keeping them.
achillez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 10:59:08 PM
 #444

Ok so which Mikael build is working best ? hp2, hp3, or hp4? Also which sievesize is best?
kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 10:59:36 PM
 #445

So far, my core 2 duo processor is getting 3-400 PPS compared to 50ish it was getting originally. Of course I still haven't found a block yet... I'm sure global PPS is way up there now. I'll leave it running for 24 hours to see if it's worth it.

Short answer: Use a pool: http://ypool.net/news.php


BS

Are you worried people will get a leg up on your 100 servers?

I am extremely skeptical that this is an actual pool. Writing a pool for XPM looks quite hard and I doubt these guys did it in 7 days. More likely they are just pooling the coins that are solo mined by their users and keeping them.

Agreed, the primecoin pool protocol hasn't even been finalized yet. Until the protocol on how to split up primecoin work for pools is finalized and implemented, it don't see how it is feasible to run a "fair" pool.
reb0rn21
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:01:44 PM
 #446

I just did test with mine haswell i5 and looks like i need bigger sievesize 2M to 4M, is that change because of diff rise?

... PLAY SHARE EARN...
.LBRY...
                            __¦¦¦__
                        __¦¦¦¦¦¯¦¦¦¦¦__
                    __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯     ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
                __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯             ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
            __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                     ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
        __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                             ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
    __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                                     ¯¯¦¦¦
__¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                                         __¦¦¦
¦¦¦¯¯                                         __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
¦¦¦     ¦__                               __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
¦¦¦     ¦¦¦¦¦__                       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯  ________
¦¦¦       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__               __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       ¦¦¦¦¦¦
¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¦¦
  ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦___¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯ ¦¦
      ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
          ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
              ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
                  ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦___¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
                      ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
                          ¯
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:06:23 PM
 #447

Ok so which Mikael build is working best ? hp2, hp3, or hp4? Also which sievesize is best?

hp4 is the best as far as pps. On the 18 machines I have access to right now they all saw pps boosts of about 10-20% over hp2/3. They are windows and ubuntu core 2 due, core 2 quad, core i7.

Optimal sieve size is cpu dependent, you would have to do tests on testnet to find it for yours.
Jigsaw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:11:44 PM
 #448

So github just disabled the repository. What do?
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:14:28 PM
 #449

So github just disabled the repository. What do?

wow, we DDOS'd github from building so much
Jigsaw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:23:18 PM
 #450

Yet another failure of github's hipsters and/or people who somehow like to use this shit.

I mirrored my copy there: https://bitbucket.org/pankkake/mikaelh2-primecoin

Not that bitbucket is less of a hipster shit.

Thank you. I'm assuming this is hp4?
bidji29
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:25:34 PM
 #451

Hp4 give the most PPS, but i think hp2 give better result.

http://www.freebieservers.com/  100% FREE GAME SERVERS
akspa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2013, 11:35:18 PM
 #452

I haven't mined any blocks since moving on to hp2 or hp4, but the pps has increased well over 2-3 times what it was with the stock client.

BTC: 15v4Awn59Mz5gTf564DGtDnTs4JQJQuqg4
redphlegm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 243


My spoon is too big!


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:37:43 PM
 #453

mikaelh2's github repo has been disabled.

A little too popular?

Whiskey Fund: (BTC) 1whiSKeYMRevsJMAQwU8NY1YhvPPMjTbM | (Ψ) ALcoHoLsKUfdmGfHVXEShtqrEkasihVyqW | (CGB) 5WHiSkEY8ocPHdeczVfpaGfquJK3j3Lqis
nmersulypnem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:51:05 PM
 #454

Quote
This repository has been disabled.

Access to this repository has been disabled by GitHub staff due to excessive use of resources. Contact support to restore access to this repository. Read here to learn more about decreasing the size of your repository.

How is that possible?  It doesn't actually RUN on github...  Did anyone make a branch or clone??
BitcoinFX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


youtu.be/3kqLVeP7iHA


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2013, 11:54:09 PM
 #455

mikaelh2's github repo has been disabled.

A little too popular?

Yes. It seems that calculating the ever changing distance between rock and stardom is not approved of by GitHub staff...

"This repository has been disabled.

Access to this repository has been disabled by GitHub staff due to excessive use of resources. Contact support to restore access to this repository. Read here to learn more about decreasing the size of your repository."

Lets all send them an email to get it reactivated... in binary - lol  Grin

"The industry of the integrated spectacle and immaterial command owes me money." - We do not Forgive. We do not Forget. Expect Revolution! for we are all Satoshi now? - youtu.be/G7Z8MMk45U0 - "the multiple and the multiplex!" - Don't Cry! Support : https://tornull.org - #freeBogatov
dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:56:08 PM
 #456

Did anyone make a branch or clone??
Yes, just look on the previous page.



I'm not sure why I even bother...

This is the main issue imo that Primecoin is going through. There is no order to any release of anything. We need somehow to better organize source code/software releases so they are accessible to everyone--and so good citizens like yourself don't have to keep saying the same thing 50 times in a row.  Not to mention people not being able to figure out how to compile etc. There are some good posts on Reddit for anyone wondering how to compile a source code on linux.
forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 11:57:01 PM
 #457

mikaelh2's github repo has been disabled.

A little too popular?

Yes. It seems that calculating the ever changing distance between rock and stardom is not approved of by GitHub staff...

"This repository has been disabled.

Access to this repository has been disabled by GitHub staff due to excessive use of resources. Contact support to restore access to this repository. Read here to learn more about decreasing the size of your repository."

Lets all send them an email to get it reactivated... in binary - lol  Grin

Wow.. I think that's a first here..  Cheesy
nmersulypnem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 12:13:33 AM
 #458

mikaelh2's github repo has been disabled.

A little too popular?

Yes. It seems that calculating the ever changing distance between rock and stardom is not approved of by GitHub staff...

"This repository has been disabled.

Access to this repository has been disabled by GitHub staff due to excessive use of resources. Contact support to restore access to this repository. Read here to learn more about decreasing the size of your repository."

Lets all send them an email to get it reactivated... in binary - lol  Grin

Wow.. I think that's a first here..  Cheesy

I guess that's what happens when you command an entire bot-net to download from github...
oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
July 16, 2013, 12:18:08 AM
 #459

mikaelh2's github repo has been disabled.

A little too popular?

Yes. It seems that calculating the ever changing distance between rock and stardom is not approved of by GitHub staff...

"This repository has been disabled.

Access to this repository has been disabled by GitHub staff due to excessive use of resources. Contact support to restore access to this repository. Read here to learn more about decreasing the size of your repository."

Lets all send them an email to get it reactivated... in binary - lol  Grin

Wow.. I think that's a first here..  Cheesy

I guess that's what happens when you command an entire bot-net to download from github...
Funny, but botnets aren't typically on UNIX systems
nmersulypnem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 12:18:18 AM
 #460

mikaelh2's github repo has been disabled.

A little too popular?

Yes. It seems that calculating the ever changing distance between rock and stardom is not approved of by GitHub staff...

"This repository has been disabled.

Access to this repository has been disabled by GitHub staff due to excessive use of resources. Contact support to restore access to this repository. Read here to learn more about decreasing the size of your repository."

Lets all send them an email to get it reactivated... in binary - lol  Grin

Wow.. I think that's a first here..  Cheesy

I guess that's what happens when you command an entire bot-net to download from github...

Or DDOS it to trigger a ban, I suppose.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 ... 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!