Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 03:28:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 392411 times)
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2013, 03:03:56 PM
 #361

I understand that.  It kills my GPU mining when I use all cores.  But I think you missed something in my post.  I'm getting 5k PPS on 7 cores in the windows client but only 1k PPS in the Linux one.

Look up the "nice" command.

Any CPU mining, whether built in to a coin or using minerd aka cpuminer or whatever, use "nice coind" or "nice minerd", it runs at lower priority so does not seem to impact GPU mining nor FPGA mining nor ASIC mining yet still gets to use most of the cores most of the time.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
1508254097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508254097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508254097
Reply with quote  #2

1508254097
Report to moderator
1508254097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508254097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508254097
Reply with quote  #2

1508254097
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jubalix
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1624


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:04:11 PM
 #362

ok

so it seems the more blocks one instance finds, the more it can find i *know* this is maths - wrong

but seriously as soon as my instances find one block, then next just seem to roll in.

[about 350 XPM mined so far in 48 hours so I am pretty small scale]

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist.
B.Engineering/B.Laws
kcanup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:06:54 PM
 #363


Yes you're successfully mining if primespersec is > 0.  How long to find a block?  This is solo mining where luck plays a huge part.  If the diff were to stay the same (which it is not), I would estimate you will get 1 block every 24 hours.  That's just an extremely rough guide based on how many blocks I'm currently getting with my PPS.  You could get one in 5 minutes or nothing for 3 days though!

Aww thanks that was clear...I will wait and see now when it will find a block.


███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution       



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation 



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██

Krusher33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:17:33 PM
 #364

I understand that.  It kills my GPU mining when I use all cores.  But I think you missed something in my post.  I'm getting 5k PPS on 7 cores in the windows client but only 1k PPS in the Linux one.

Look up the "nice" command.

Any CPU mining, whether built in to a coin or using minerd aka cpuminer or whatever, use "nice coind" or "nice minerd", it runs at lower priority so does not seem to impact GPU mining nor FPGA mining nor ASIC mining yet still gets to use most of the cores most of the time.

-MarkM-


For debug purpose, I've shut down my GPU mining and tried all cores.  I still only get about 1200PPS in linux vm but I'm getting 6000 in Windows.

I was chitchatting with someone else and he said his Linux PPS got halved when he switched to this client too.
kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:23:30 PM
 #365

ok

so it seems the more blocks one instance finds, the more it can find i *know* this is maths - wrong

but seriously as soon as my instances find one block, then next just seem to roll in.

[about 350 XPM mined so far in 48 hours so I am pretty small scale]

I think the block finder has a huge advantage over the rest of the network because they can start work on the next block immediately, and it takes time for the newly found block to propagate through the network. Others cannot start work on the next block until they receive it.

Perhaps this helps explain why primecoin blocks tend to come in spurts?
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2013, 03:26:05 PM
 #366

I think the block finder has a huge advantage over the rest of the network because they can start work on the next block immediately, and it takes time for the newly found block to propagate through the network. Others cannot start work on the next block until they receive it.

Perhaps this helps explain why primecoin blocks tend to come in spurts?

Except that that would result in back to back blocks, not spurts that have gaps between blocks the one node found, other nodes having found blocks inbetween.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
Teka
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:33:08 PM
 #367

Jeez it looks like a lot has happened when I was away. So, do you just set the sieve size in the primecoin.conf file? Also what is the optimal sieve size?
gateway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 537


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:08:37 PM
 #368

Any updated windows builds ?
kcanup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:10:54 PM
 #369

Excellent!! found first block in 1 hour time with this windows build..... Grin


███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution       



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation 



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██

Krusher33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:36:18 PM
 #370

I understand that.  It kills my GPU mining when I use all cores.  But I think you missed something in my post.  I'm getting 5k PPS on 7 cores in the windows client but only 1k PPS in the Linux one.

Look up the "nice" command.

Any CPU mining, whether built in to a coin or using minerd aka cpuminer or whatever, use "nice coind" or "nice minerd", it runs at lower priority so does not seem to impact GPU mining nor FPGA mining nor ASIC mining yet still gets to use most of the cores most of the time.

-MarkM-


I fixed my PPS in linux by restarting the linux VM.

Now I'm looking into this "nice" command which is difficult to google by the way.

I set:
Code:
sudo nice -n -20 primecoind setgenerate true -1

And I'm still taking a 200khps hit on my GPU mining.  It did improve by 50khps over the old way.
DMIS
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:38:36 PM
 #371

The client seems to crash for me after few minutes of mining

running hp3-win64
on Win 7 x64 I7 930



any ideas?
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:39:28 PM
 #372

I understand that.  It kills my GPU mining when I use all cores.  But I think you missed something in my post.  I'm getting 5k PPS on 7 cores in the windows client but only 1k PPS in the Linux one.

Look up the "nice" command.

Any CPU mining, whether built in to a coin or using minerd aka cpuminer or whatever, use "nice coind" or "nice minerd", it runs at lower priority so does not seem to impact GPU mining nor FPGA mining nor ASIC mining yet still gets to use most of the cores most of the time.

-MarkM-


For debug purpose, I've shut down my GPU mining and tried all cores.  I still only get about 1200PPS in linux vm but I'm getting 6000 in Windows.

I was chitchatting with someone else and he said his Linux PPS got halved when he switched to this client too.

Which Linux distribution are you using? I suspect some distributions might not be supplying a properly optimized version of GMP. I may eventually start releasing my own Linux binaries.
gateway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 537


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:44:51 PM
 #373

Excellent!! found first block in 1 hour time with this windows build..... Grin

What build? link?
loucy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:47:23 PM
 #374

Now I'm looking into this "nice" command which is difficult to google by the way.

Maybe you should look into the "man" command first. But that's probably difficult to google as well.  Roll Eyes
Krusher33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:57:51 PM
 #375

I understand that.  It kills my GPU mining when I use all cores.  But I think you missed something in my post.  I'm getting 5k PPS on 7 cores in the windows client but only 1k PPS in the Linux one.

Look up the "nice" command.

Any CPU mining, whether built in to a coin or using minerd aka cpuminer or whatever, use "nice coind" or "nice minerd", it runs at lower priority so does not seem to impact GPU mining nor FPGA mining nor ASIC mining yet still gets to use most of the cores most of the time.

-MarkM-


For debug purpose, I've shut down my GPU mining and tried all cores.  I still only get about 1200PPS in linux vm but I'm getting 6000 in Windows.

I was chitchatting with someone else and he said his Linux PPS got halved when he switched to this client too.

Which Linux distribution are you using? I suspect some distributions might not be supplying a properly optimized version of GMP. I may eventually start releasing my own Linux binaries.

Ubuntu 12.04
kcanup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 04:59:14 PM
 #376

Excellent!! found first block in 1 hour time with this windows build..... Grin

What build? link?

Its a mikaelh's modified client. I downloaded it from the first page of this thread. Windows X64 built binaries.


███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution       



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation 



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██

mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 05:09:43 PM
 #377

I understand that.  It kills my GPU mining when I use all cores.  But I think you missed something in my post.  I'm getting 5k PPS on 7 cores in the windows client but only 1k PPS in the Linux one.

Look up the "nice" command.

Any CPU mining, whether built in to a coin or using minerd aka cpuminer or whatever, use "nice coind" or "nice minerd", it runs at lower priority so does not seem to impact GPU mining nor FPGA mining nor ASIC mining yet still gets to use most of the cores most of the time.

-MarkM-


For debug purpose, I've shut down my GPU mining and tried all cores.  I still only get about 1200PPS in linux vm but I'm getting 6000 in Windows.

I was chitchatting with someone else and he said his Linux PPS got halved when he switched to this client too.

Which Linux distribution are you using? I suspect some distributions might not be supplying a properly optimized version of GMP. I may eventually start releasing my own Linux binaries.

Ubuntu 12.04

Looks like Ubuntu 12.04 comes with GMP version 5.0.2. That's from Aug 2011. It may fail to recognize newer CPUs. In that case, it won't choose the optimal code path.
n4ru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 05:25:56 PM
 #378

Is there
a) A primecoin-qt app for Android. Or at least something that can show when a block is mined via an application?
b) A PrimeCoin wallet app for Android yet?

ETH-Nova - Fully Automated OC/PL/P-state/Mining/Monitoring for Windows
ETH: 0x00972cd6a2c6786afbcc24ca592b8c86f33f747a / BTC: 1n4ruYy5QWbTDBbPEyBRWwj1Ni4U4Sz5P
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 05:35:01 PM
 #379

New version is out!

-hp4 mainly adds L1 and L2 cache optimizations. It removes the performance bottleneck with bigger sieve sizes. Thus it's possible to increase sieve size even further.

I also added a new alternative performance measurement. The client now calculates the number of probable prime chains of length 5 and prints them to debug.log. The printing frequency is also increased.
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443


minor developer


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2013, 05:51:33 PM
 #380

I'm a bit confused.

The primes we are finding are huge, what purpose does the up-to-2,000,000 or so prime sieve serve?

Seconded. I'm guessing it's because the primality test used here is not absolute, it only tests for probable primality. One way to do this is trial division by smaller primes.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!