Bitcoin Forum
May 17, 2022, 08:23:03 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 ... 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397530 times)
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 03:52:46 AM
 #601

Same here. Although are you sure that's right? 1 block is worth 5 bucks right now. My rig draws 200~ watts when mining. I estimate that's just a couple of cents in power.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
1652818983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1652818983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1652818983
Reply with quote  #2

1652818983
Report to moderator
1652818983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1652818983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1652818983
Reply with quote  #2

1652818983
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1652818983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1652818983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1652818983
Reply with quote  #2

1652818983
Report to moderator
1652818983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1652818983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1652818983
Reply with quote  #2

1652818983
Report to moderator
1652818983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1652818983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1652818983
Reply with quote  #2

1652818983
Report to moderator
romerun
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1001


Bitcoin is new, makes sense to hodl.


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 04:31:55 AM
 #602

what's up with the git, has the latest code moved somewhere ?
sva_h4cky0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


onore dikeido


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 07:49:05 AM
 #603

check page 1  Grin
#Darren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 250


DIA | Data infrastructure for DeFi


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 08:02:24 AM
 #604

In hp4 I don't have to manually configure he sieve size do I?   It gives an automatic 1 mill correct?   It's just that on page 1 the faq refers to manually entering it...


      ████████████████
   ████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████   ███████████████████
█████████████████        ███████████████
█████████████████          █████████████
█████████████████            ████████████
█████████████████             ███████████
█████████████████             ███████████
█████████████████              ██████████
█████████████████              ██████████
█████████████████             ███████████
█████████████████            ███████████
█████████████████          █████████████
█████████████████      ███████████████
█████████████████ ████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
     █████████████████
          ████
DIA | OPEN ACCESS FINANCIAL DATA
ryen123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 08:09:46 AM
 #605

In hp4 I don't have to manually configure he sieve size do I?   It gives an automatic 1 mill correct?   It's just that on page 1 the faq refers to manually entering it...

The default sievesize is 1mill. No need to do anything if you don't wish to change.

#Darren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 250


DIA | Data infrastructure for DeFi


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 08:16:38 AM
 #606

In hp4 I don't have to manually configure he sieve size do I?   It gives an automatic 1 mill correct?   It's just that on page 1 the faq refers to manually entering it...

The default sievesize is 1mill. No need to do anything if you don't wish to change.


Thanks  Smiley


      ████████████████
   ████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████   ███████████████████
█████████████████        ███████████████
█████████████████          █████████████
█████████████████            ████████████
█████████████████             ███████████
█████████████████             ███████████
█████████████████              ██████████
█████████████████              ██████████
█████████████████             ███████████
█████████████████            ███████████
█████████████████          █████████████
█████████████████      ███████████████
█████████████████ ████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
     █████████████████
          ████
DIA | OPEN ACCESS FINANCIAL DATA
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 10:50:58 AM
 #607

Report on sievesize (for 20 systems @ 3000pps each, hp4)
 - 700K: no blocks after 2 hrs
 - 1M: ~1 block/hr
 - 2M: ~0.8 block/hr
 - 4M: ~0.6 block/hr

Seems 1M sievesize is the sweet spot?

Same finding here.

Between 23:30 and 2:30 (1 block/hr)
- I run on 163840 sievesize (weird number, I know, multiples of 4096 - CPU cache size, and I found this to give the best PPS on 1 core and 2 core  machines)

Between 5:00 and 7:00 (1 block/hr)
- I run on 2M sievesize (again seems to decreased to 1 block/hr)

Default - all other times (2 blocks/hr)
- I run on default 1 M




Conclusion: default 1M is optimium for finding XPM blocks!

eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 10:59:24 AM
 #608

What's the best OS for this in this list?

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64
gentoo amd64 minimal 20121210
ubuntu 12.10 server amd64
gentoo x86 minimal 20121213
CentOS 5.8 x86-64
CentOS 6.3 X86-64
FreeBSD 9.1 release amd64
debian 6.0.6 amd64
debian 6.0.6 i386

It's a VPS, and only has linux options...

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64 is a safe bet

Yet I'm having trouble compiling the miner: http://www.ppcointalk.org/index.php?topic=341.msg2361#msg2361
Haven't got an answer yet...seems to be a bug or something when doing apt-get install for certain dev files.

I had this same error, took me a day to figure out after hours and hours of trying different things.

As blastbob pointed out somewhere in here, turns out it's your Memory that's lacking.

Run this command, it should solve the issue:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1167

MY RED TRUST LEFT BY SCUMBAGS - READ MY SIG


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 11:12:36 AM
 #609

can anyone write a proper guide for this on linux, thanks ?


the guide on this page is not working at all

http://www.primecoiner.com/primecoin-high-performance-linux-hp2-hp3/



i want to try it out on my server

cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1167

MY RED TRUST LEFT BY SCUMBAGS - READ MY SIG


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 11:13:24 AM
 #610

What's the best OS for this in this list?

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64
gentoo amd64 minimal 20121210
ubuntu 12.10 server amd64
gentoo x86 minimal 20121213
CentOS 5.8 x86-64
CentOS 6.3 X86-64
FreeBSD 9.1 release amd64
debian 6.0.6 amd64
debian 6.0.6 i386

It's a VPS, and only has linux options...

ubuntu 12.04.1 server amd64 is a safe bet

Yet I'm having trouble compiling the miner: http://www.ppcointalk.org/index.php?topic=341.msg2361#msg2361
Haven't got an answer yet...seems to be a bug or something when doing apt-get install for certain dev files.

I had this same error, took me a day to figure out after hours and hours of trying different things.

As blastbob pointed out somewhere in here, turns out it's your Memory that's lacking.

Run this command, it should solve the issue:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile



this part

sudo swapon /swapfile

gives a not allowed message on my server?

matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1024


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 11:19:59 AM
 #611

this part

sudo swapon /swapfile

gives a not allowed message on my server?

It probably means that your VPS provider has disabled it for some reason, especially for Linux if it is based on kernel-level isolation as opposed to a "real" (OS-agnostic) hypervisor.

I would increase (boost) the RAM size to 1 GB to work around the problem while compiling, then set it back to 512 MB.
cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1167

MY RED TRUST LEFT BY SCUMBAGS - READ MY SIG


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 11:36:09 AM
 #612

yeah it's probably been disabled.

Oh well i will try my dedicated server and see what happens.

did anyone try this guide?

apt-get install make
apt-get install git
git clone https://bitbucket.org/pankkake/mikaelh2-primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
apt-get install libgmp-dev
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo “rpcuser=SomeUser
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLong
gen=1″ > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv -f primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind –daemon -sievesize=200000
watch ‘primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo’

it seems the guy didnt test it out and there are a few mistakes in there that stop it working?  someone told me this mikaelh2  version would work way better but i like a few others could not get that to work at all? 

jubalix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1018


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 11:50:38 AM
 #613

hi,

if I mine on linux do I have to pay mining fees's when I send?

also if I send from the QT (non mining) do I have to pay fees of 0.01 to get it processed

what happens if no fees are paid

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist. B.Engineering/B.Laws

https://www.binance.com/?ref=10062065
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:05:11 PM
 #614

hi,

if I mine on linux do I have to pay mining fees's when I send?

also if I send from the QT (non mining) do I have to pay fees of 0.01 to get it processed

what happens if no fees are paid

1) only if you configure them
2) only if you configure them
3) in theory the transaction will be slower.  however i didn't even realise that i didnt have any fees configured and my transactions are pretty quick
OnkelPaul
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1040
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:16:41 PM
 #615

Currently Primecoin seems to be set up with no transaction fees.
I don't know whether that will change when the network is swamped with transactions.
I think that since there is no rigid reduction of mining rewards, transaction fees are not needed to keep miners happy as with Bitcoin :-)

Onkel Paul

tocket
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:24:19 PM
 #616

I had to pay transactions fees when I transferred some XPM (using primecoind). The first time it was because the coins were too new (0.01 XPM fee) and the second time because the transaction was big (200 XPM, 0.02 XPM fee).
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:36:34 PM
 #617

Can anyone tell me how to read the primemeter lines in debug.log? What do the three values, prime/h, test/h, and 5-chains/h measure and which one is the best performance indicator?
Vannicke
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


That guy, you know, with the face


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:58:01 PM
 #618

Can anyone tell me how to read the primemeter lines in debug.log? What do the three values, prime/h, test/h, and 5-chains/h measure and which one is the best performance indicator?

Mikaelh said that 5-chains/h is the best measure of performance since 5-chains/h is more on par with the 8-chains [soon to be 9-chains] that we are mining to find blocks.

prime/h = 1-chains and he said test/h doesn't give much info at all.

The Satoshi Jar: 16t2BLGZyaMpGm3vzYWxucGz8g4bVotr1h
eCoinomist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


Independent Analyst


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2013, 01:36:10 PM
 #619

yeah it's probably been disabled.

Oh well i will try my dedicated server and see what happens.

did anyone try this guide?

apt-get install make
apt-get install git
git clone https://bitbucket.org/pankkake/mikaelh2-primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
apt-get install libgmp-dev
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo “rpcuser=SomeUser
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLong
gen=1″ > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv -f primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind –daemon -sievesize=200000
watch ‘primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo’

it seems the guy didnt test it out and there are a few mistakes in there that stop it working?  someone told me this mikaelh2  version would work way better but i like a few others could not get that to work at all? 

Try this, just wrote the guide:
http://ecoinomist.com/xpm-primecoin-mining-guide-on-linux

dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 17, 2013, 01:40:15 PM
 #620

average right now I'm seeing is  1 block per day for each ~3K PPS. A little more than cost of electricity on a standard PC.

Annnnnnnnnnnnd now the difficulty has changed ridiculous level since  even 2 days ago. 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 ... 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!