Bitcoin Forum
June 27, 2017, 05:43:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 384135 times)
SC123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:23:27 PM
 #261

Hmm what would be the optimal sievesize for a Ivy 3570K ?
1498542187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542187
Reply with quote  #2

1498542187
Report to moderator
1498542187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542187
Reply with quote  #2

1498542187
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498542187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542187
Reply with quote  #2

1498542187
Report to moderator
1498542187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542187
Reply with quote  #2

1498542187
Report to moderator
1498542187
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498542187

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498542187
Reply with quote  #2

1498542187
Report to moderator
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:27:04 PM
 #262

@mikaelh
I presume you can`t do AVX2 optimization, or primecoin can not benefit from it?
pooler did AVX2 optimization on cpuminer and gain is ~90% with haswell

This is about primes, not about hashes.

On my A8 my PPS actually rose rather then fell with sievesize=2000000 in the conf, though it rose very minimally, which makes me wonder if it does anything at all.

If you really want, you can check that with the debugging options.

debug=1
printmining=1

You should see that the sieve size is whatever you set it to in debug.log.
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


^ will code for bitcoins


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:31:39 PM
 #263

Mikael, how do you decide which sievesize to set for which cpu? Or just experimenting in testnet? How many testnet blocks are there btw, wanted to test too, but downloading those 20k+ blocks from only 3 connections takes ages...
@ryen: sievesize=1000000 should work.

If somebody tested for optimal sievesize on testnet and DigitalOcean small droplet I would be grateful if he shares that value he got, just trying to avoid duplicate work.
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:32:09 PM
 #264

Mikael, how do you decide which sievesize to set for which cpu? Or just experimenting in testnet? How many testnet blocks are there btw, wanted to test too, but downloading those blocks takes ages...
I'm guessing the optimal value may have something to do with L2 and L3 cache sizes.

Large sieves also take long to build which means a new block may arrive before it's complete.
Thanks, my i7 930 has 8MB cache aswell so i tried the values 1000000, 2000000 and 3000000 in testnet, 2M seems much faster than 1M indeed, 3M is slower than 2M but faster than 1M.
Finetuning miners to find the best settings is always fun, cheers!
OnlyC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 06:55:38 PM
 #265

Can anyone show me how to use testnet to compare blocks between sievesize values?

on linux please
drummerjdb666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 232



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 07:08:15 PM
 #266

URGENT!!!!!

Has anyone else just seen a 25% drop in PPS?  I'm getting this on every single machine/VPS I have running.  Happened in the last 30 mins.  Perhaps due to the >8.0 diff increase?

Quote
~$ primecoind getdifficulty
8.02573842

Yes pps dropped even more than 25% on my rigs.
Yes down from 6143 to 4208

same drop here..



Same here, but I've gotten two blocks since the drop, which seems luckier.  I wonder how the difficulty gets calculated if not by PPS.  Because a network wide PPS drop you would expect a diff drop too. I derped, per Aggro's post below.

Edit: in another thought, the difference in diff rise between releases of hp1 and hp2 indicates clearly that hp2 is doing better.

I got three blocks since the release of hp2..  you think one of you guys could post a .conf you are using for hp3 in win7?  pleaase?
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 07:57:16 PM
 #267

So to set the -sievesize do you do the following?

Code:
primecoind -sievesize=1000000
primecoind --daemon
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

Or?

Code:
primecoind --daemon -sievesize=1000000
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'


dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:17:11 PM
 #268

Mikael, how do you decide which sievesize to set for which cpu? Or just experimenting in testnet? How many testnet blocks are there btw, wanted to test too, but downloading those blocks takes ages...
I'm guessing the optimal value may have something to do with L2 and L3 cache sizes.

Large sieves also take long to build which means a new block may arrive before it's complete.
Thanks, my i7 930 has 8MB cache aswell so i tried the values 1000000, 2000000 and 3000000 in testnet, 2M seems much faster than 1M indeed, 3M is slower than 2M but faster than 1M.
Finetuning miners to find the best settings is always fun, cheers!

So for 3MB L3 (ivy i3 3225) would you set your value to 1000000? What do you type in the .config file? Should I get rid of my .config file (using windows HP3 build) because I haven't changed any settings since the 2nd day of launch?
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:18:59 PM
 #269

Does setting the sievesize in the config file work? If so, how do you do it? I need help...

reb0rn21
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:24:30 PM
 #270

for windows just run it like this:
primecoin-qt.exe -sievesize=2000000

conf file don`t work for me

... PLAY SHARE EARN...
.LBRY...
                            __¦¦¦__
                        __¦¦¦¦¦¯¦¦¦¦¦__
                    __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯     ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
                __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯             ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
            __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                     ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
        __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                             ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__
    __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                                     ¯¯¦¦¦
__¦¦¦¦¦¯¯                                         __¦¦¦
¦¦¦¯¯                                         __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
¦¦¦     ¦__                               __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
¦¦¦     ¦¦¦¦¦__                       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯  ________
¦¦¦       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__               __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       ¦¦¦¦¦¦
¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¦¦
  ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦___¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯ ¦¦
      ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦¯¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
          ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       ¯       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
              ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦__       __¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
                  ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦___¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
                      ¯¯¦¦¦¦¦¯¯
                          ¯
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:24:47 PM
 #271

So for 3MB L3 (ivy i3 3225) would you set your value to 1000000? What do you type in the .config file? Should I get rid of my .config file (using windows HP3 build) because I haven't changed any settings since the 2nd day of launch?
Honestly no idea, best way to find out is to connect to the testnet and compare block finding rate, a 5 minute job.  Wink
Note that my test was really short and i didn't test further.
megges
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 371


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:25:35 PM
 #272

        "category" : "immature",
        "amount" : 13.40000000,
        "confirmations" : 230,


how long does it takes to mature?

tip me! Tongue XtSrWch1U3BsTBFBHj7acTTzxFo1fy5BMa
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:26:45 PM
 #273

        "category" : "immature",
        "amount" : 13.40000000,
        "confirmations" : 230,


how long does it takes to mature?

3200 confirmations.

UNOE
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:28:06 PM
 #274

I'm confused about building a 64bit client on Ubuntu.  What flag do I use.

yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:36:42 PM
 #275

Seems like this worked.

Code:
primecoind --daemon -sievesize=2000000

Thanks mikaelh for the awesome build!

Magic8Ball
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:37:38 PM
 #276

        "category" : "immature",
        "amount" : 13.40000000,
        "confirmations" : 230,


how long does it takes to mature?

Block reward has gone down to 13. Thats a sharp decrease.
Vannicke
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


That guy, you know, with the face


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:40:00 PM
 #277

for windows just run it like this:
primecoin-qt.exe -sievesize=2000000

conf file don`t work for me

I found the opposite on win7 and win8 .... conf worked, but batchfile primecoin.qt.exe -sievesize=2000000 still showed 1000000 in debug.log

Once I had sievesize=2000000 in conf it did work.

The Satoshi Jar: 16t2BLGZyaMpGm3vzYWxucGz8g4bVotr1h
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:40:10 PM
 #278

Block reward has gone down to 13. Thats a sharp decrease.
primecoind getdifficulty
8.65543556
Rising fast. Shocked
Vannicke
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


That guy, you know, with the face


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:41:37 PM
 #279

Block reward has gone down to 13. Thats a sharp decrease.
primecoind getdifficulty
8.65543556
Rising fast. Shocked

Yup, looks like everyone's getting in some cpu mining / loads of digitalocean accounts and amazon accounts firing up.

The Satoshi Jar: 16t2BLGZyaMpGm3vzYWxucGz8g4bVotr1h
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 08:43:39 PM
 #280

What's the optimal sievesize? 1M, 2M? Been trying to experiment. Do you want it higher or lower?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!