Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:46:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [POOL] - Coinotron --- FIRST ETH-ETC MULTIPORT - profit switchng port 7777  (Read 216295 times)
coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 12:31:43 AM
 #241

The other day when I switched them over to TRC something weird happened.

I have about 6 different rigs going, each rig was doubled in my workers list (instead of 6 workers, there were 12) and each rig was mining both TRC and BTC. My Mh/s wasn't magically doubled, but it was split evenly in between BTC and TRC.

I left cgminer running while I switched them over, should I of stopped it first???

Just wondering in case I feel the urge to hop over to TRC in the near future.

That is very good question.
Did you change worker type on webside or user/parword in cgminer on your rigs?
Did this "magic" split last long? Coinotron uses 10 minutes average to calculate worker/user speed. Maybe you just observed averaged TRC and BTC hashrates being momentarily equal?
To be honest I didn't test on the fly switching workers type on cgminer. But it worked very well for poclbm, DiabloMiner, Phoenix miners.
When I0C and IXC were popular I created special AUTO worker which had ability to automatic switch to the most profitable coin.

1481107589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107589
Reply with quote  #2

1481107589
Report to moderator
1481107589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107589
Reply with quote  #2

1481107589
Report to moderator
1481107589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107589
Reply with quote  #2

1481107589
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107589
Reply with quote  #2

1481107589
Report to moderator
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 12:58:00 AM
 #242

That is very good question.
Did you change worker type on website or user/parword in cgminer on your rigs?
Yes, No, No

Did this "magic" split last long? Coinotron uses 10 minutes average to calculate worker/user speed. Maybe you just observed averaged TRC and BTC hashrates being momentarily equal?
Hrm, I should of assumed that... that was probably the case. I'm not sure how long I switched them over, but it wasn't very long at all.

I will try to re-create the problem, but this time leave them on TRC for longer and see if the miners work themselves out. Hopefully the BTC miners delete themselves after ~10 minutes.

meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 03:00:03 AM
 #243

That is very good question.
Did you change worker type on website or user/parword in cgminer on your rigs?
Yes, No, No

Did this "magic" split last long? Coinotron uses 10 minutes average to calculate worker/user speed. Maybe you just observed averaged TRC and BTC hashrates being momentarily equal?
Hrm, I should of assumed that... that was probably the case. I'm not sure how long I switched them over, but it wasn't very long at all.

I will try to re-create the problem, but this time leave them on TRC for longer and see if the miners work themselves out. Hopefully the BTC miners delete themselves after ~10 minutes.

You'll see this as well if say you switch to another pool.. if you look 5 minutes later you'll see a hash rate split in someway between both pools.. as the numbers are some sort of timed average.


that said.. I DONT recommend having TRC and BTC pools in cgminer at the same time (I use a diff batch file for each)... the longpolls will eff everything up and cause cgminer to "freeze" with the WAIT status because it will get a new block info from the TRC pool and think the BTC pool is issueing work for an old block.

If you enjoyed the advice I gave, feel free to toss over some loose change Smiley
1P67xUSyCchQSwngptRVBKso4mMEZMGALZ
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
November 15, 2012, 03:10:21 AM
 #244


CGMiner works perfectly well Smiley

and RPC miner do you know? or anyone

i get error: Could not retrieve work from RPC server.
CURL return value = 7

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 09:49:35 AM
 #245

FYI

Due to lack of popularity we decided to close LQC pool. Pool will be closed on 2012-11-17. Please withdraw your coins until 2012-11-30.

FuzzyBear
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 11:34:17 AM
 #246

FYI

Due to lack of popularity we decided to close LQC pool. Pool will be closed on 2012-11-17. Please withdraw your coins until 2012-11-30.

awww really!! Sad I liked to have LQC set as a backup for all my miners and occasionally jump on... not sure of other pools Sad Well just wanted to let you know I will be sad to see this go, but u got to do what u got to do i suppose

coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 05:41:55 PM
 #247

I'm just creating some space for other/next alt coins Smiley

scrybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
November 15, 2012, 05:50:29 PM
 #248

Tried to mine terracoin with same software mining litecoin and it doesn't work

is that supposed to work? or need the special terracoin sotware with its own miner

Terracoin does not use the scrypt algorithm litecoin uses, so using an scrypt-enabled miner, or more generally  cpu-mining @ terracoin or bitcoin won't give you much coins.


My question still isn't answered

Does terracoin require totally different mining software? not the same algorithm as btc nmc or ltc

You need to turn off the Scrypt engine and just use SHA2. TerraCoin is almost exactly like Bitcoin, not Litecoin which is based on a different hashing algorythm that is much more memory intensive and is not well suited to GPU (Well that didn't take long), FPGA, or ASIC.

It's possible you are not a troll, but honestly have missed this detail through all those posts, I try to give folks the benefit of the doubt. This is something that has been common knowledge for months however, especially among those that mine LTC (I do some) so you must forgive the rabid anti-troll squad.

Any other questions?

"...as simple as possible, but no simpler" -AE
BTC/TRC/FRC: 1ScrybeSNcjqgpPeYNgvdxANArqoC6i5u Ripple:rf9gutfmGB8CH39W2PCeRbLWMKRauYyVfx LTC:LadmiD6tXq7gFZvMibhFUZegUHKXgbu1Gb
stoppots
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
November 17, 2012, 03:41:28 PM
 #249

It would be alot more user friendly if workers payment method could be changed all at the same time rather than changing each one individually the way it is now. This image is wat i am trying to describe.



coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 18, 2012, 12:46:33 PM
 #250

It would be alot more user friendly if workers payment method could be changed all at the same time rather than changing each one individually the way it is now. This image is wat i am trying to describe.


Very good idea. I will probably implement it when we will have uniform worker types for all coins ( i.e. when we switch BTC pool to PPS/RBPPS )

coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 18, 2012, 09:12:02 PM
 #251

We have added SSL support. Our website forces all connections to HTTPS.

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 21, 2012, 05:38:11 PM
 #252

Daaaaang... 4 BTC blocks mined in two days. What are the odds on that? It has to be really small considering the size of the BTC pool at Coinotron.

Of course they are all found when I have my rigs down to reorganize a little bit!! Damn the luck!

coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 21, 2012, 08:04:23 PM
 #253

Daaaaang... 4 BTC blocks mined in two days. What are the odds on that? It has to be really small considering the size of the BTC pool at Coinotron.

Of course they are all found when I have my rigs down to reorganize a little bit!! Damn the luck!

Yes it happened for a very first time. Looks improbable to me as well. But it is true.
To be honest I'm still pretty amazed by round length ranges observed in Bitcoin mining. In last two months shortest round took 1:36h while the longest one over 200h!

You don't have to worry. It is not proportional pool, it is DGM. Series of quick rounds don't affect miners gains.

BTW
I was planning to introduce PPS to BTC pool last Saturday but I postponed it until round 210000. It could be such a good start!

coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 27, 2012, 12:12:55 PM
 #254

10 min downtime of PPC pool to workaround memory leak issue.

coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 09:55:17 PM
 #255

Another 10 min downtime of PPC pool to workaround memory leak issue.

Also, I have changed PPC share difficulty to 4. I just want to limit number of pool restarts.
This should decrease number of getworks and as a result slow down memory consumption by ppcoind.

coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 29, 2012, 09:42:34 AM
 #256

Good news everyone! Smiley

Today we have broken 2 previous records:
400 GH - combined hashrate of all sub-pools
200 MH - LTC pool


doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
November 29, 2012, 10:21:04 AM
 #257

200 GH - LTC pool
The main page of coinotron says 200 Mhash for LTC, but adds it up as Ghash. Is it mhash or ghash? Even 200 mhash strikes me as impressive for ltc.
coinotron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 995


View Profile
November 29, 2012, 10:38:32 AM
 #258

200 GH - LTC pool
The main page of coinotron says 200 Mhash for LTC, but adds it up as Ghash. Is it mhash or ghash? Even 200 mhash strikes me as impressive for ltc.

Oh, my fault. Changed to MH. Smiley
BTW I think that this PPC memory leak bug may be hidden somewhere in code responsible for checking work. Where are you checking every delivered share vs target, directly in your pool or by calling bitcoind rpc getwork?

Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1201



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2012, 04:19:49 PM
 #259

If we are pretty sure getwork call is leaking massive amount of memory, I can maybe add some non-intrusive diagnostic code under debug mode for you guys to try.

Is there a rough estimate of how many getwork call is issued to ppcoind daily on the pool? A million?
dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2012, 04:48:57 PM
 #260

If we are pretty sure getwork call is leaking massive amount of memory, I can maybe add some non-intrusive diagnostic code under debug mode for you guys to try.

Is there a rough estimate of how many getwork call is issued to ppcoind daily on the pool? A million?

Get-work may be part of it, but be aware that PPC explorer is also experiencing creeping memory leakage.

For example after restart and catch up last night ,ppcoind was using about 3.4% of the memory. Overnight it has creeped up to around 6% of the memory.

Just letting you know to keep that in mind.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!