Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:28:18 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 242973 times)
Bakemono
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 02:57:47 PM
 #1481

Hello and good job with electrum  Kiss

I have a couple of question though.

I m reading from electrum.org
Quote
Ubiquitous: You can use the same wallet on different computers, it will auto-synchronize.

How do you achieve the auto-synchronization?With the -w part or i am missing something here?

Also what is the master public key and why do i need to be aware of it.

Thank you.

BTC : 1Ct9opEdmq4ZuZmNQmhGBDcurrePFykTRt
LTC : LLqGtKpAdx6Ci8ZaSrvWG6WXfFF3mPK4V9
1480847298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847298
Reply with quote  #2

1480847298
Report to moderator
1480847298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847298
Reply with quote  #2

1480847298
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480847298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847298
Reply with quote  #2

1480847298
Report to moderator
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 09:55:55 PM
 #1482

Hello and good job with electrum  Kiss

I have a couple of question though.

I m reading from electrum.org
Quote
Ubiquitous: You can use the same wallet on different computers, it will auto-synchronize.

How do you achieve the auto-synchronization?With the -w part or i am missing something here?

Also what is the master public key and why do i need to be aware of it.

Thank you.

Your wallets are synchronized because transactions go trough the Electrum Servers, so all your Electrum client instances carrying your seed are synced trough the Servers.

The MPK is used to create seedless wallets, so you can have a wallet without its seed (private keys) and only with your public addresses (almost like a watch-only wallet). With that seedless wallet you can see the transactions and create new receiving addresses, but you cannot spend the coins.

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 10:55:38 PM
 #1483

Just a short note:

I am organizing an asicminer Block Erupter USB groupbuy (Europe):
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195037.0

As little support for electrum:

I pay shipping out of my own pocket for all Electrum developers and server operators.

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 03:51:25 PM
 #1484

I just released version 1.7.4

no new feature, only bug fixes.
the most important fix is the default transaction fee, which is raised to 0.0005/kb if it is below.
indeed the previous version had a wrong default fee setting, which resulted in transactions that remained unconfirmed for a long time.

mac/windows builds from Animazing should follow soon

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
teslacoil404
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 09:40:45 AM
 #1485

the most important fix is the default transaction fee, which is raised to 0.0005/kb if it is below.

0.8.2 Release notes
Fee Policy changes

The default fee for low-priority transactions is lowered from 0.0005 BTC
(for each 1,000 bytes in the transaction; an average transaction is
about 500 bytes) to 0.0001 BTC.

I'm confused  Huh
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2013, 10:53:05 AM
 #1486

the most important fix is the default transaction fee, which is raised to 0.0005/kb if it is below.

0.8.2 Release notes
Fee Policy changes

The default fee for low-priority transactions is lowered from 0.0005 BTC
(for each 1,000 bytes in the transaction; an average transaction is
about 500 bytes) to 0.0001 BTC.

I'm confused  Huh

the problem is that it takes time for this policy to be adopted by miners.
in the meantime, lots of users of Electrum have reported very long confirmation times, so I decided to play it safe.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2013, 06:28:44 PM
 #1487

Windows and OS X binaries for 1.7.4 are now on the site as well.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Michael_S
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277


Bitcoin-Note-and-Voucher-Printing-Empowerer


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 11:35:16 PM
 #1488

I just released version 1.7.4

No new feature, only bug fixes.
[...]

I confirm that
$ electrum -w mywalletFile.dat create
works again in 1.7.4, like it did in 1.7.2.


What stroke my eye: In 1.7.2/1.7.3, I see this:
michael@michael:~/Downloads/Bitcoin_Electrum$ electrum --help
Usage: usage: %prog [options] command
Commands: dumpprivkeys, help, restore, unprioritize, freeze, signmessage, getaddresshistory, getconfig, verifymessage, signrawtransaction, dumpprivkey, setlabel, getseed, contacts, create, setconfig, importprivkey, validateaddress, payto, createmultisig, deseed, getbalance, sendrawtransaction, eval, password, listaddresses, mktx, unfreeze, listunspent, createrawtransaction, prioritize, decoderawtransaction, history [options]

Options:
  -h, --help            show this help message and exit
  ...
  ...




In 1.7.4, the first part is omitted from the help, it just outputs:
michael@michael:~/Downloads/Bitcoin_Electrum$ electrum --help
Usage: %prog [options] command [options]

Options:
  -h, --help            show this help message and exit
  ...
  ...


The commands are removed from the description, but they still work, don't they?
Is there a reason why the help text has been stripped off?

dave111223
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 03:41:00 AM
 #1489

I've been having no problem sending transactions with 0.0001 BTC fees (and getting confirmed within a few blocks).

Does this mean if I upgrade to 1.7.4 I can no longer send transactions with a 0.0001 fee?

TaxReturn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:16:29 AM
 #1490

I've been having no problem sending transactions with 0.0001 BTC fees (and getting confirmed within a few blocks).

Does this mean if I upgrade to 1.7.4 I can no longer send transactions with a 0.0001 fee?

You can still use any fee you want, only the default setting changed.

I'm still curious though why the lite gui shows change addresses as receiving addresses and why is their order reversed?
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 12:44:52 PM
 #1491

The Lite GUI has not been updated in months; I'm guessing some of the internal changes in the recent version might require changes in the lite gui.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
dave111223
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 04:14:53 AM
 #1492

1.7.4 keeps overriding my default fee.

It sets fee to .0005 by default.  I change it to .0001 and it saves fine, but every time I restart Electrum it overwrites the fee back to .0005

Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
May 22, 2013, 10:07:31 AM
 #1493

1.7.4 keeps overriding my default fee.

It sets fee to .0005 by default.  I change it to .0001 and it saves fine, but every time I restart Electrum it overwrites the fee back to .0005

Judging by the code this is intended behaviour; although it seems a bit weird. I will ask Thomas and see if we can make it so it remembers it if you change it back.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 22, 2013, 05:13:31 PM
 #1494

1.7.4 keeps overriding my default fee.

It sets fee to .0005 by default.  I change it to .0001 and it saves fine, but every time I restart Electrum it overwrites the fee back to .0005

Judging by the code this is intended behaviour; although it seems a bit weird. I will ask Thomas and see if we can make it so it remembers it if you change it back.

yes it is.
miners currently do not make any distinction between values lower than 0.0005 and zero, so it does not make sense to make the default fee lower than than.
sorry if this is a bit awkward, I wanted a quick fix because some users were getting stuck with never confirming transactions.
the code currently does not pre-detect which transactions need a fee, so you have to try to set the fee to zero and see if it rejects it or not.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
scalar33
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:37:12 PM
 #1495

Can't get past "synchronizing" with this program.

62 Posts  BTC: 12UByjpZgQMV1j8Hg8KQuztGbmfb2aD5HM
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2013, 12:17:24 AM
 #1496

Can't get past "synchronizing" with this program.

Restart the client or use the green circle to switch server.

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2013, 10:21:14 AM
 #1497

1.7.4 keeps overriding my default fee.

It sets fee to .0005 by default.  I change it to .0001 and it saves fine, but every time I restart Electrum it overwrites the fee back to .0005

Judging by the code this is intended behaviour; although it seems a bit weird. I will ask Thomas and see if we can make it so it remembers it if you change it back.

yes it is.
miners currently do not make any distinction between values lower than 0.0005 and zero, so it does not make sense to make the default fee lower than than.
sorry if this is a bit awkward, I wanted a quick fix because some users were getting stuck with never confirming transactions.
the code currently does not pre-detect which transactions need a fee, so you have to try to set the fee to zero and see if it rejects it or not.


But if the network demands a higher fee anyway why forcing the 0.0005 into everytime? When i set the fee to zero electrum tells me i have to raise. Then i set it mostly to 0.0001 and it goes through... worked yesterday too with electrum 1.7.4. So a warning will appear if a fee is needed and if the fee is high enough it goes through and will get confirmations.
I only dont see why the enforced fee is needed...

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2013, 10:44:55 AM
 #1498

1.7.4 keeps overriding my default fee.

It sets fee to .0005 by default.  I change it to .0001 and it saves fine, but every time I restart Electrum it overwrites the fee back to .0005

Judging by the code this is intended behaviour; although it seems a bit weird. I will ask Thomas and see if we can make it so it remembers it if you change it back.

yes it is.
miners currently do not make any distinction between values lower than 0.0005 and zero, so it does not make sense to make the default fee lower than than.
sorry if this is a bit awkward, I wanted a quick fix because some users were getting stuck with never confirming transactions.
the code currently does not pre-detect which transactions need a fee, so you have to try to set the fee to zero and see if it rejects it or not.


But if the network demands a higher fee anyway why forcing the 0.0005 into everytime? When i set the fee to zero electrum tells me i have to raise. Then i set it mostly to 0.0001 and it goes through... worked yesterday too with electrum 1.7.4. So a warning will appear if a fee is needed and if the fee is high enough it goes through and will get confirmations.
I only dont see why the enforced fee is needed...

It is not enforced, it is recommended

Quote
...
the code currently does not pre-detect which transactions need a fee, so you have to try to set the fee to zero and see if it rejects it or not.

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2013, 10:48:31 AM
 #1499

It is not enforced, it is recommended

I more meant the electrum client. He doesnt allow anymore to set the fee to zero. If i do this and restart i get the popup again that says it has set the fee back to 0.0005BTC. And it looks there is no way around yet.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 05:03:42 PM
 #1500

It is not enforced, it is recommended

Electrum resets the fee to 0.0005 everytime you restart it. So yes, it enforces its recommendation...  Wink
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!