Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:43:12 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 389 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1621237 times)
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1455



View Profile
November 24, 2012, 03:44:34 AM
 #1621

There is talk on the ASICs threads about how full PC's consume 100W and therefore are not suitable/wasteful for ASIC mining. As you can see below this is simply not true.  These Foxconn nt-A3700 nettops (with 4GB RAM and 60GB SSD) can run full OS's yet consume about 14.4 Watts when mining.

I am planning to use a few of these for ASIC mining. Each unit has 2x USB 3.0 and 4x USB 2.0 ports for a total of 6 USB ports. I don't even need to buy any hubs because I have more than enough ports.




For this test setup I have a BFL single connected to a USB 3.0 port and another to a USB 2.0 port. Under Windows this works just fine without any apparent compatibility problems.




There is a middle ground between 3-5W SOCs and 100W PCs.
1480725792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725792
Reply with quote  #2

1480725792
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2012, 04:49:38 AM
 #1622

There is talk on the ASICs threads about how full PC's consume 100W and therefore are not suitable/wasteful for ASIC mining. As you can see below this is simply not true.  These Foxconn nt-A3700 nettops (with 4GB RAM and 60GB SSD) can run full OS's yet consume about 14.4 Watts when mining.

I am planning to use a few of these for ASIC mining. Each unit has 2x USB 3.0 and 4x USB 2.0 ports for a total of 6 USB ports. I don't even need to buy any hubs because I have more than enough ports.




For this test setup I have a BFL single connected to a USB 3.0 port and another to a USB 2.0 port. Under Windows this works just fine without any apparent compatibility problems.




There is a middle ground between 3-5W SOCs and 100W PCs.


How many rigs can you plug into that small computer? As many as you wanted if you had a large AC powered USB hub right?

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
November 24, 2012, 05:52:42 AM
 #1623

There is talk on the ASICs threads about how full PC's consume 100W and therefore are not suitable/wasteful for ASIC mining. As you can see below this is simply not true.  These Foxconn nt-A3700 nettops (with 4GB RAM and 60GB SSD) can run full OS's yet consume about 14.4 Watts when mining.

I am planning to use a few of these for ASIC mining. Each unit has 2x USB 3.0 and 4x USB 2.0 ports for a total of 6 USB ports. I don't even need to buy any hubs because I have more than enough ports.

http://freeportanimalshelter.org/ext_imgs/IMG_0724.jpg


For this test setup I have a BFL single connected to a USB 3.0 port and another to a USB 2.0 port. Under Windows this works just fine without any apparent compatibility problems.
http://freeportanimalshelter.org/ext_imgs/IMG_0723.jpg

http://freeportanimalshelter.org/ext_imgs/ScreenShot.jpg

There is a middle ground between 3-5W SOCs and 100W PCs.

How many rigs can you plug into that small computer? As many as you wanted if you had a large AC powered USB hub right?
That's the way to do it. How much did that lil PC cost you?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1455



View Profile
November 24, 2012, 12:35:40 PM
 #1624


How many rigs can you plug into that small computer? As many as you wanted if you had a large AC powered USB hub right?
As many as your OS allows, I suppose. I didn't preorder enough ASICs for this to be a concern.

That's the way to do it. How much did that lil PC cost you?
About $190 including RAM and the free 60GB OCZ SSD that Newegg threw in (the deal might still be on). There is an Atom version in the same looking case that goes for about $30 less.
hardcore-fs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2012, 07:26:36 AM
 #1625

I think it was at 40-50 mhash/s for the few minutes I ran it.

This config didn't last long b/c I didn't like seeing the 7870's vrms at 67-72c when mining/gaming. Now that I have a much cooler running mobo, I will try it again and this time work an extra 120mm or two into the equation. xD

~70C for VRM temps are actually pretty good! Why would you complain about that?

I'm 'heat o pheobic'. :p

I also like having the peace of mind of knowing that the card is mint, when it come time to sell.

Over time the temp swings of anything over 60c can/will cause significantly more wear on your gear. The industry temp standard is rigged to increase sales. The faster you burn it out..
 

Once in a while, i always see a noob spilling out myths..... makes me laugh tho


I'll bet you sound like that fat ass comic book guy when you say that. Cheesy

"I'll have you know kind sir, I will be the one dispensing the insults in this establishment !" - The Comic Book Guy

The known laws of physics and the legions of people who waste their time/money with buying new parts or RMAs because they believe 60c+ is "ok", are NOT myths.




Hey retard, can you prove your myth? lol
Stupid as stupid does.

I will give you a hint: Electromigration



The number of SAD ass noobs that think just because they can get a 3 pin plug into the wall the right way up or get a GPU running over 60 deg. makes them some sort of experts on reliability.
There is NOTHING  about the myth of reliability of electronics related to temperature.
Unfortunately the majority of brain dead cretins running electronics are too dumb even to be able to do a bit of research.

FACT....
1. When a device says it has an MTBF of 50,000 hours, it is NOT tested for 50,000 hours, it is accelerated testing which they do by INCREASING the temperature then plotting the failure of a small batches of devices.
BECAUSE there is almost an EXACT correlation between the temperature you run electronics AND its failure rate.
The rule is :
For every 10 degrees OVER 25 degrees , the reliability is HALF!! (yep thats right techno noobs)
WTF do you think the industry specifies ALL its datasheets at a TA=25deg c, it is so they can test at 85deg.c/85% RH and then graph its failure mode.

So almost with a linear line for EVERY 10degc BELOW 25degc you operate, you DOUBLE the reliability of an electronic component.








OH Hi dumbfuck,

Is it also true that if i run my components under phasechange, i can run them until .....eternity?


Btw, everyone knows temperature is correlated to failures rate. Dumbass, please read why i laughed at noobs like you.



Today another noob with no training or background in reliability testing  broke wind.



BTC:1PCTzvkZUFuUF7DA6aMEVjBUUp35wN5JtF
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2012, 03:34:52 PM
 #1626

Here is why I ALWAYS check under the hood.

Tisk tisk Asus...


This and some fresh TIM on the NB has dropped the temps by 1-4C across the board.  Grin


@hardcore-fs  Plz ignore the nemanoob. Do not let him/her derail this great thread...

pEACe

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:09:57 AM
 #1627

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry


CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:14:54 AM
 #1628

Here is why I ALWAYS check under the hood.

Tisk tisk Asus...


I've never been happy with an Asus mobo. They've always have USB stability issues or CNTRL/other key acts like you're pressing it when you're not randomly. It's very annoying when your computer ducks randomly in online first person shooters. Just my personal experience.

superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:23:54 AM
 #1629

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:40:57 AM
 #1630

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry

Yes sir, 240v. I am planning on adding 3 more Mobos, one where the blank space is on the bottom rack and two on the shelf the monitor is on right now.

Frequency
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


sheeople


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 09:10:13 AM
 #1631

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry

Yes sir, 240v. I am planning on adding 3 more Mobos, one where the blank space is on the bottom rack and two on the shelf the monitor is on right now.

Nice weedgrow tent your a using there 😄

Put your money were your mouth is…       #coinderdotcom
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 10:36:27 AM
 #1632

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry

Yes sir, 240v. I am planning on adding 3 more Mobos, one where the blank space is on the bottom rack and two on the shelf the monitor is on right now.

Nice weedgrow tent your a using there 😄

Lol... umm ya... that way I can control the environment.

I will have a 6" intake fan (250 cfm) and a 6" exhaust fan (450cfm). Hopefully that's enough!

Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 03:49:17 PM
 #1633

Here is why I ALWAYS check under the hood.

Tisk tisk Asus...


I've never been happy with an Asus mobo. They've always have USB stability issues or CNTRL/other key acts like you're pressing it when you're not randomly. It's very annoying when your computer ducks randomly in online first person shooters. Just my personal experience.

Hio Smiley

It occured to me later that someone at the store may have handled it improperly. It got flipped around a few times while we were trying to figure out if there were any clearance issuses with the cpu's backplate.

Otherwise, no real complaints here. Every Asus part that I've owned or setup has been flawless. And now that I'm into mining, I regret having sold my Asus 790gx and HD 6870.

Within 2 years, that mobo saw 4 cpus (unlocked 2 of the 3 unlockables), 4 kits of ram, 14 gpus and 3 hdds. 0 compatability issues.

The miner that never was...  Cry  lol


Sounds like a bad keyboard or the port may have had some dust/debris blown into it. Or.. as in my case.. cat hair. ahah

And besides, EVERY part maker has an RMA rate. If it wasn't your keboard, then it was simply bad luck.

pEACe

Mapuo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 710



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 01:10:30 PM
 #1634

DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:04:16 PM
 #1635

Right.  Here are pictures of my Prototype.  I called him...ALPHA! (2.9GH/s)

I then created his identical twin BETA (2.9GH/s)

Not long after I built with leftovers, his slightly SPECIAL cousin GAMMA (1.4GH/s)

These pictures are of ALPHA, just after construction stage.

The case is made from an standard Australian Milk Crate.  One of those babies perfectly fits 4 x Radeon 5970s.








The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
BitCoiner2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:12:43 PM
 #1636

Right.  Here are pictures of my Prototype.  I called him...ALPHA! (2.9GH/s)

I then created his identical twin BETA (2.9GH/s)

Not long after I built with leftovers, his slightly SPECIAL cousin GAMMA (1.4GH/s)

These pictures are of ALPHA, just after construction stage.

The case is made from an standard Australian Milk Crate.  One of those babies perfectly fits 4 x Radeon 5970s.

I love milk crates and your projects. They don't get too hot?

BTC Long.
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
December 02, 2012, 04:14:44 PM
 #1637

Right.  Here are pictures of my Prototype.  I called him...ALPHA! (2.9GH/s)

I then created his identical twin BETA (2.9GH/s)

Not long after I built with leftovers, his slightly SPECIAL cousin GAMMA (1.4GH/s)

These pictures are of ALPHA, just after construction stage.

The case is made from an standard Australian Milk Crate.  One of those babies perfectly fits 4 x Radeon 5970s.

I love milk crates and your projects. They don't get too hot?

No Way!  All the holes makes for great heat dissipation, plus having the cards all lengthways sucks airflow the right way.

Here is some more info...


The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 03:44:17 AM
 #1638

Got my setup all ready for ASICs! I got an MK802 II for $41 off fleebay. Then I got a 10 port powered USB hub for $20 on sale on Newegg. Flashed Lubuntu onto an 8GB uSD card, compiled CGMiner and all it's dependencies, and it's all set! It's powered off the USB hub that it now controls, so I only need 1 power brick for the 2 devices. I have it connected to a secure wifi, but set to a static IP so I can SSH in at any time. Running CGMiner in byobu, and it's good! Been mining on the one Single for about a week now, and no issues on OzCoin + stratum. Once I get ASICs and get past filling up all 9 ports, I'll prolly buy another one and just repeat what I have here, rather than just adding more USB hubs. It's cheap enough, and I'd rather not have a single $40 device control much more than $10,000 worth of ASICs LOL.

Sorry for the bad pics, but it's just a crappy cell phone camera, and the lighting is bad. I added a sheet of paper just for contrast. The bottom fan on my Single is dead (BFL is shipping me a replacement), and you can see it flopping on the side. I have a 80mm CPU fan from an AMD heatsink screwed into the bottom heatsink, and keeps it quite cool. Once I get my replacement, I'll move this whole setup somewhere that doesn't require a nearby PC to power the extra fan.







Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 04:20:28 AM
 #1639

Bring on the ASICs ! lol

Just added a 5850 to mine and a new VF3000A is on the way. Grin

Runs a tad warmer, but looks waay better without the shroud. ahah



pEACe

mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 12:55:33 PM
 #1640

Bring on the ASICs ! lol

Just added a 5850 to mine and a new VF3000A is on the way. Grin

Runs a tad warmer, but looks waay better without the shroud. ahah

pEACe

You better check those VRM temps, had a very bad experience from running a Sapphire 5850 without a shroud ...
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 389 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!