Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2021, 01:53:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805379 times)
Nemesis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 22, 2012, 05:46:03 AM
 #1601

These forums on the whole are not bad...
But It is just the complete lack of any basic research skills by some members that really gets my backup.
And  you just know some of them are going to end up in 'management' because they seem so 'smart' and knowledgeable to 'ordinary' people.

As regards to the 'dangerous' chemicals, you would be surprised at just what comes out at ordinary temperatures.....
Basically all colorants used in plastics are carcinogens, ESP. RED, and after >20 years in the industry,
 Virtually none of my appliances are plastic. (kettle/toaster) , nor are any of the food containers.

One Chinese manufacturer was recently busted for using recycled medical waste plastics for the internal moldings of refrigerators.
......Don't even get me started about Chinese 'stainless steel'

Fortunately we don't eat out of computers...




Fucken bullshiet. You dont eat out? you dont use fucking ziplocks? plastic containers in fridge?

What the fck food toxic has anything to do with the magic temp 60c retard?
1624283605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624283605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624283605
Reply with quote  #2

1624283605
Report to moderator
1624283605
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624283605

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624283605
Reply with quote  #2

1624283605
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Nemesis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 22, 2012, 05:49:28 AM
 #1602

Might be harmful if you have 50+ cards all running at super high temp...


I look @ 10+ cards and I may have 1 or two that run a lot hotter than others. This does not worry me at all. If I have a couple cards die. Well so be it.. It's part of the game..

LOLOLOLOL tinfoil around the card eh

These retards probably use Air purifier that positively charged ion the air in their rooms.

LOL, gotta love all these conspiracy bs.
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1001


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 06:26:54 AM
 #1603

The only fumes I've ever smelled was from a cpu grilled eybrow that somehow fell off my face and sandwiched itself between the Athlon II and cpu cooler. The Prime95 burn in must have caused it to squirm/ wiggle out as it was not visible before firing it up.

At first it was very faint, then very noticable after 15-20 minutes. lmao

Too bad I didn't take a pic.  Grin

Wooot ! new pb :p

1280mhz hd 7870, stock volts, 458 - 463.4 mhash/s, Catalyst 12.11 beta4, 41C



opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 03:19:20 AM
 #1604

Crazy pictures on this thread. Didn't even know what I was looking at with some of them. I have a question. I saw lots of pictures where people had multiple video cards just sitting outside or strapped to a board. Then I just saw the power connections on those cards but didn't see any data connections. How are these cards connected to the mainboard? How many video cards can a mainboard have? There are only 1 or 2 PCI-E slots usually on a mainboard, right? I have the ability to get some high end ATI cards. I also won't be paying for any electric, which makes it fairly good for me. I have a few mainboards not being used but find it difficult to know how to connect 4 GPU's to one mainboard, or even more if possible.
Thanks.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 09:13:08 AM
 #1605

Crazy pictures on this thread. Didn't even know what I was looking at with some of them. I have a question. I saw lots of pictures where people had multiple video cards just sitting outside or strapped to a board. Then I just saw the power connections on those cards but didn't see any data connections. How are these cards connected to the mainboard? How many video cards can a mainboard have? There are only 1 or 2 PCI-E slots usually on a mainboard, right? I have the ability to get some high end ATI cards. I also won't be paying for any electric, which makes it fairly good for me. I have a few mainboards not being used but find it difficult to know how to connect 4 GPU's to one mainboard, or even more if possible.
Thanks.

Mos people will use something like this:


This allows you to position the card away from the motherboard, as well as use more than just PCIe x16 slots.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 23, 2012, 05:36:16 PM
 #1606

Crazy pictures on this thread. Didn't even know what I was looking at with some of them. I have a question. I saw lots of pictures where people had multiple video cards just sitting outside or strapped to a board. Then I just saw the power connections on those cards but didn't see any data connections. How are these cards connected to the mainboard? How many video cards can a mainboard have? There are only 1 or 2 PCI-E slots usually on a mainboard, right? I have the ability to get some high end ATI cards. I also won't be paying for any electric, which makes it fairly good for me. I have a few mainboards not being used but find it difficult to know how to connect 4 GPU's to one mainboard, or even more if possible.
Thanks.


5 slots, 69bucks  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128521
today only

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 08:00:04 PM
 #1607

Crazy pictures on this thread. Didn't even know what I was looking at with some of them. I have a question. I saw lots of pictures where people had multiple video cards just sitting outside or strapped to a board. Then I just saw the power connections on those cards but didn't see any data connections. How are these cards connected to the mainboard? How many video cards can a mainboard have? There are only 1 or 2 PCI-E slots usually on a mainboard, right? I have the ability to get some high end ATI cards. I also won't be paying for any electric, which makes it fairly good for me. I have a few mainboards not being used but find it difficult to know how to connect 4 GPU's to one mainboard, or even more if possible.
Thanks.


5 slots, 69bucks  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128521
today only

nice:)

does anyone know, how much the shipping costs to the Finland?

does newegg even ship them to EU?
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 08:43:31 PM
 #1608

mig91 remember that customs will be 23% this year (for orders over ~50€) and 24% (for orders over 25€ ) next year.

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1615
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 24, 2012, 03:44:34 AM
 #1609

There is talk on the ASICs threads about how full PC's consume 100W and therefore are not suitable/wasteful for ASIC mining. As you can see below this is simply not true.  These Foxconn nt-A3700 nettops (with 4GB RAM and 60GB SSD) can run full OS's yet consume about 14.4 Watts when mining.

I am planning to use a few of these for ASIC mining. Each unit has 2x USB 3.0 and 4x USB 2.0 ports for a total of 6 USB ports. I don't even need to buy any hubs because I have more than enough ports.




For this test setup I have a BFL single connected to a USB 3.0 port and another to a USB 2.0 port. Under Windows this works just fine without any apparent compatibility problems.




There is a middle ground between 3-5W SOCs and 100W PCs.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2012, 04:49:38 AM
 #1610

There is talk on the ASICs threads about how full PC's consume 100W and therefore are not suitable/wasteful for ASIC mining. As you can see below this is simply not true.  These Foxconn nt-A3700 nettops (with 4GB RAM and 60GB SSD) can run full OS's yet consume about 14.4 Watts when mining.

I am planning to use a few of these for ASIC mining. Each unit has 2x USB 3.0 and 4x USB 2.0 ports for a total of 6 USB ports. I don't even need to buy any hubs because I have more than enough ports.




For this test setup I have a BFL single connected to a USB 3.0 port and another to a USB 2.0 port. Under Windows this works just fine without any apparent compatibility problems.




There is a middle ground between 3-5W SOCs and 100W PCs.


How many rigs can you plug into that small computer? As many as you wanted if you had a large AC powered USB hub right?

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 24, 2012, 05:52:42 AM
 #1611

There is talk on the ASICs threads about how full PC's consume 100W and therefore are not suitable/wasteful for ASIC mining. As you can see below this is simply not true.  These Foxconn nt-A3700 nettops (with 4GB RAM and 60GB SSD) can run full OS's yet consume about 14.4 Watts when mining.

I am planning to use a few of these for ASIC mining. Each unit has 2x USB 3.0 and 4x USB 2.0 ports for a total of 6 USB ports. I don't even need to buy any hubs because I have more than enough ports.

http://freeportanimalshelter.org/ext_imgs/IMG_0724.jpg


For this test setup I have a BFL single connected to a USB 3.0 port and another to a USB 2.0 port. Under Windows this works just fine without any apparent compatibility problems.
http://freeportanimalshelter.org/ext_imgs/IMG_0723.jpg

http://freeportanimalshelter.org/ext_imgs/ScreenShot.jpg

There is a middle ground between 3-5W SOCs and 100W PCs.

How many rigs can you plug into that small computer? As many as you wanted if you had a large AC powered USB hub right?
That's the way to do it. How much did that lil PC cost you?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1615
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 24, 2012, 12:35:40 PM
 #1612


How many rigs can you plug into that small computer? As many as you wanted if you had a large AC powered USB hub right?
As many as your OS allows, I suppose. I didn't preorder enough ASICs for this to be a concern.

That's the way to do it. How much did that lil PC cost you?
About $190 including RAM and the free 60GB OCZ SSD that Newegg threw in (the deal might still be on). There is an Atom version in the same looking case that goes for about $30 less.
hardcore-fs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2012, 07:26:36 AM
 #1613

I think it was at 40-50 mhash/s for the few minutes I ran it.

This config didn't last long b/c I didn't like seeing the 7870's vrms at 67-72c when mining/gaming. Now that I have a much cooler running mobo, I will try it again and this time work an extra 120mm or two into the equation. xD

~70C for VRM temps are actually pretty good! Why would you complain about that?

I'm 'heat o pheobic'. :p

I also like having the peace of mind of knowing that the card is mint, when it come time to sell.

Over time the temp swings of anything over 60c can/will cause significantly more wear on your gear. The industry temp standard is rigged to increase sales. The faster you burn it out..
 

Once in a while, i always see a noob spilling out myths..... makes me laugh tho


I'll bet you sound like that fat ass comic book guy when you say that. Cheesy

"I'll have you know kind sir, I will be the one dispensing the insults in this establishment !" - The Comic Book Guy

The known laws of physics and the legions of people who waste their time/money with buying new parts or RMAs because they believe 60c+ is "ok", are NOT myths.




Hey retard, can you prove your myth? lol
Stupid as stupid does.

I will give you a hint: Electromigration



The number of SAD ass noobs that think just because they can get a 3 pin plug into the wall the right way up or get a GPU running over 60 deg. makes them some sort of experts on reliability.
There is NOTHING  about the myth of reliability of electronics related to temperature.
Unfortunately the majority of brain dead cretins running electronics are too dumb even to be able to do a bit of research.

FACT....
1. When a device says it has an MTBF of 50,000 hours, it is NOT tested for 50,000 hours, it is accelerated testing which they do by INCREASING the temperature then plotting the failure of a small batches of devices.
BECAUSE there is almost an EXACT correlation between the temperature you run electronics AND its failure rate.
The rule is :
For every 10 degrees OVER 25 degrees , the reliability is HALF!! (yep thats right techno noobs)
WTF do you think the industry specifies ALL its datasheets at a TA=25deg c, it is so they can test at 85deg.c/85% RH and then graph its failure mode.

So almost with a linear line for EVERY 10degc BELOW 25degc you operate, you DOUBLE the reliability of an electronic component.








OH Hi dumbfuck,

Is it also true that if i run my components under phasechange, i can run them until .....eternity?


Btw, everyone knows temperature is correlated to failures rate. Dumbass, please read why i laughed at noobs like you.



Today another noob with no training or background in reliability testing  broke wind.



BTC:1PCTzvkZUFuUF7DA6aMEVjBUUp35wN5JtF
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1001


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2012, 03:34:52 PM
 #1614

Here is why I ALWAYS check under the hood.

Tisk tisk Asus...


This and some fresh TIM on the NB has dropped the temps by 1-4C across the board.  Grin


@hardcore-fs  Plz ignore the nemanoob. Do not let him/her derail this great thread...

pEACe

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:09:57 AM
 #1615

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:14:54 AM
 #1616

Here is why I ALWAYS check under the hood.

Tisk tisk Asus...


I've never been happy with an Asus mobo. They've always have USB stability issues or CNTRL/other key acts like you're pressing it when you're not randomly. It's very annoying when your computer ducks randomly in online first person shooters. Just my personal experience.
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:23:54 AM
 #1617

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 08:40:57 AM
 #1618

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry

Yes sir, 240v. I am planning on adding 3 more Mobos, one where the blank space is on the bottom rack and two on the shelf the monitor is on right now.
Frequency
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538
Merit: 500


COINDER


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2012, 09:10:13 AM
 #1619

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry

Yes sir, 240v. I am planning on adding 3 more Mobos, one where the blank space is on the bottom rack and two on the shelf the monitor is on right now.

Nice weedgrow tent your a using there 😄

#coinderdotcom#
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 10:36:27 AM
Last edit: November 28, 2012, 11:00:53 AM by CoinHoarder
 #1620

240v I hope, you would be pleasantly surprised with the results

The guts of my new alt coin mining setup. It will be ran on a 60 amp circuit and two 30 amp PDUs. I have a lot of work to do  Cry

Yes sir, 240v. I am planning on adding 3 more Mobos, one where the blank space is on the bottom rack and two on the shelf the monitor is on right now.

Nice weedgrow tent your a using there 😄

Lol... umm ya... that way I can control the environment.

I will have a 6" intake fan (250 cfm) and a 6" exhaust fan (450cfm). Hopefully that's enough!
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!