Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:22:24 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 389 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1623481 times)
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
January 14, 2013, 07:03:32 AM
 #1741

IDK but looking at those milk crates or whatever they are I get the feeling that they were specially designed for bitcoin mining.
There must be a bitcoin conspiracy.
1481026944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026944
Reply with quote  #2

1481026944
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026944
Reply with quote  #2

1481026944
Report to moderator
1481026944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026944
Reply with quote  #2

1481026944
Report to moderator
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 07:11:28 AM
 #1742

So how am I getting away with not having to use one ?

Dummy plugs were needed with older versions of the AMD driver.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2013, 09:06:58 AM
 #1743

So how am I getting away with not having to use one ?

Dummy plugs were needed with older versions of the AMD driver.

Ahh.. its probably because of the WDDM driver version. Wink Makes sense now.

Thx

DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 10:54:24 AM
 #1744


Nice spacers btw, mine are just a few peaces of wood. Smiley

Mine are just 4 carpenter's pencils painted black & epoxied together Cheesy

Pardon my noobness but.. why is it some configs need dummy plugs on the gpus...
You need just one dummy on one card if you are not using a monitor. Once upon a time u needed on all cards because MSI Afterburner wouldn't clock cards with no monitors.

I couldn't get the drivers working without plugs.  I'd already made them all and attached em, so I just let them be  Smiley

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 04:56:00 PM
 #1745

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 03:28:58 AM
 #1746

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

Silly Linux users... no BIOS flashes were ever need to downclock memory to 150 in Windows.

Sigh, there's enough PC/Mac/Penguin threads to post in.....

YipYip
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
January 16, 2013, 09:08:39 AM
 #1747

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

Silly Linux users... no BIOS flashes were ever need to downclock memory to 150 in Windows.

Sigh, there's enough PC/Mac/Penguin threads to post in.....

Ohh..that looks like a nasty burn notme..better get some ointment on that ..lol

OBJECT NOT FOUND
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
January 16, 2013, 11:57:13 AM
 #1748

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

Silly Linux users... no BIOS flashes were ever need to downclock memory to 150 in Windows.

Sigh, there's enough PC/Mac/Penguin threads to post in.....

Ohh..that looks like a nasty burn notme..better get some ointment on that ..lol

OK kids, take it outside.
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
January 16, 2013, 04:50:10 PM
 #1749

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

Silly Linux users... no BIOS flashes were ever need to downclock memory to 150 in Windows.

Sigh, there's enough PC/Mac/Penguin threads to post in.....

Ohh..that looks like a nasty burn notme..better get some ointment on that ..lol

Ow.  I'm injured. Roll Eyes

Newbs should learn to do things the right way instead of running to Windows as their savior:
http://amdovdrvctrl.sourceforge.net/

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375



View Profile WWW
January 16, 2013, 06:03:57 PM
 #1750

As I promised - an update on tha case rigs:


http://youtu.be/OCTDN05LKao

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
January 17, 2013, 12:43:54 PM
 #1751

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

I got the shits with linux.  plus i can have about a billion other programs running on my miner with windows Smiley

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
Luno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Current balance: 00$$/00BTC


View Profile
January 17, 2013, 12:55:59 PM
 #1752

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

I got the shits with linux.  plus i can have about a billion other programs running on my miner with windows Smiley

If you have a dedicated miner, linux, or rather BAMT is excellent. I unplugged the cpu fan! Flashing clocks in GPU bios also reduces the overhead as the mining program pools the hardware at intervals to check settings, the GPU don't mine while being pooled. Thats why you don't run variable fans either.

Linux gave me 5% more hashing and saved 50w in power. And you have zero downtime!

Grin SLOT machine with generous payouts and affiliate program. BTC No registration needed BTC Start playing within seconds BTC Provably fair and transparent BTC Win up to 5000 times your bet BTC Or make 30% by referring friends. ->  BitBandit.eu
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
January 17, 2013, 03:59:12 PM
 #1753

Silly windows users... no plugs were ever needed in linux.

I got the shits with linux.  plus i can have about a billion other programs running on my miner with windows Smiley

I run browsers, VMs, games and seriously intensive programs (working on a masters in CS) on my miner all the time.  Even Valve is ditching Windows for Linux.  Microsoft Office being required by others is the only legitimate use case for Windows and I'm happy to do that in a VM.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
greyhawk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
January 17, 2013, 04:09:25 PM
 #1754

*sees a hundred new posts in the rigs thread*
*clicks it open to gawk at new fire hazard opportunities*
*finds OS warfare instead*

take it outside and by it I mean yourselves.
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
January 17, 2013, 04:19:28 PM
 #1755

*sees a hundred new posts in the rigs thread*
*clicks it open to gawk at new fire hazard opportunities*
*finds OS warfare instead*

take it outside and by it I mean yourselves.

You sir are offtopic Tongue

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
greyhawk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile
January 17, 2013, 04:20:22 PM
 #1756

*sees a hundred new posts in the rigs thread*
*clicks it open to gawk at new fire hazard opportunities*
*finds OS warfare instead*

take it outside and by it I mean yourselves.

You sir are offtopic Tongue

Well played.  Cheesy
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
January 25, 2013, 08:14:26 PM
 #1757

OK, before this thread is invaded by ASIC rigs, have some old school contraptions (sorry for the bad quality, an iPod touch is not ideal to take pictures with).

My attempts for a better cooling on a 5870:



Fixing a rattling fan using a small ball-bearing until a replacement fan arrives (actually it worked so good that I never replaced the fan).



Huge cooling solution for an extremely hot 6990.
The J shaped cardboard tunnel is preventing hot air getting back in the room while the black funnel has a large fan inside blowing out, helping the main one (the GPU on this side of the card is the hottest one).
Although bulky, it works very well, the 6990 main fan is running at 28% speed (63 C) while it used to be 100% (80 C).





BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
January 25, 2013, 08:36:33 PM
 #1758

Nice airduct system Smiley

Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 01:33:54 AM
 #1759

Nice job philips.  Those are some very nice ducting examples. Cheesy

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 01:44:09 AM
 #1760

Thanks guys, I am gonna miss this kind of tinkering with my rigs...unless....we can also overclock the crap out of ASICs!
Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 389 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!