Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:44:48 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: would you be interested in an next generation ASIC trade up program for your ModMiner Quad?
YES
NO

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 ... 105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: High Efficiency FPGA & ASIC Bitcoin Mining Devices https://BTCFPGA.com  (Read 200772 times)
||bit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 10, 2012, 07:30:32 PM
 #1021

Good Morning,


It's October 10th 2012

Today's Agenda:
  • Going down to the new office space and work on getting it ready
  • Talk to web developers about when the new site will be ready
  • Ask the engineering firm if they can get me some graphic renders of the board for website launch
  • Customer service later this afternoon


I will be out of the office this morning, need to start working on the new office space to get it ready, the business line will be forwarding to my cell if anyone needs me or has any questions.
I will be doing customer service / answering emails when I get back this afternoon. If you dont want to wait for an email please by all means give me a call.

See you later and have a great day! Smiley

Tom
(315) 514-0269


Tom,
Will you be helping out mining pools and software developers soon by providing information on your equipment so they can get their mining software ready for your hardware? I'm no expert, but it makes sense to me  Tongue

I use bitminter and hope that your hardware works with it's java based mining software.

||bit




The lead developers of both cgminer and bfgminer have been contracted/promised to have compatibility with their miners before release of bASIC. I don't know about other systems...

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.

||bit
1481107488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107488
Reply with quote  #2

1481107488
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107488
Reply with quote  #2

1481107488
Report to moderator
1481107488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107488
Reply with quote  #2

1481107488
Report to moderator
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 10, 2012, 07:39:05 PM
 #1022

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 10, 2012, 07:55:35 PM
 #1023

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.

Um, cgminer is the same way.  It's quite powerful and configurable, but defaults work well there too.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 10, 2012, 08:03:47 PM
 #1024

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.
Um, cgminer is the same way.  It's quite powerful and configurable, but defaults work well there too.
Except cgminer stopped merging FPGA updates (except when people bribe Con), so it doesn't really "just work" in many cases.

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
October 10, 2012, 08:38:46 PM
 #1025

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.
Um, cgminer is the same way.  It's quite powerful and configurable, but defaults work well there too.
Except cgminer stopped merging FPGA updates (except when people bribe Con), so it doesn't really "just work" in many cases.
Except that's your opinion of the matter. And seeing as you are in charge of BFGminer, your opinion holds a certain amount of bias. Cgminer does in fact work with many FPGAs, as mdude said.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
||bit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 10, 2012, 09:37:49 PM
 #1026

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.

Thanks for the feedback. For now, bitminter has been working great..and hopefully Tom will work with them. It might seem trivial, but it just might make the difference on whether I make another bASIC vs. BFL purchase.

||bit
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 02:15:42 AM
 #1027

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.
Um, cgminer is the same way.  It's quite powerful and configurable, but defaults work well there too.
Except cgminer stopped merging FPGA updates (except when people bribe Con), so it doesn't really "just work" in many cases.
Except that's your opinion of the matter. And seeing as you are in charge of BFGminer, your opinion holds a certain amount of bias. Cgminer does in fact work with many FPGAs, as mdude said.
... and after spending many hours last night going through the modminer driver in cgminer that luke-jr wrote and submitted into cgminer
Yes we can check the date ... after modminers were out and running
 I've found that the code that was committed into cgminer doesn't work with ModMinerQuads
(and found out why)

I rewrote all the I/O code like in Icarus and still could not see the (obvious in front of my face) reason why it didn't work until I got the errors that the OS returns displayed (rather than ignored as the code does) ... and then tracked down why those errors were occurring.

Simple answer, the code cannot work - the device type of the /dev/ttyACM0 is not a tty according to linux and thus termios timeouts wont work.

Next step will be: rewrite all that to something that works with windows and linux (or 2 versions of it - one for each linux and windows) coz no doubt we'll need that shortly Smiley

... and the actual fix in the 'other' git to make the code work (rather than having something that didn't work at all) was never sent to cgminer ...

Also we didn't know it didn't work - no one ever said that it never worked and neither of us had an MMQ
I do now ... so I can see the problem ... that's why I'm annoyed about the code Tongue
... also why It's taken a while - until I had enough time to attack the code and debug it rather than spending time tuning it ... it doesn't work at all for me on either computer I have, but mpbm works fine ... coz python implements it's own timeouts, so that works on all serial devices

Though all this hacking with termios has found what hopefully will be a fix for the rare problem I got when transferring an FPGA from windows to linux and having to run a python command to clear the problem (unrelated to the problem above where mining always fails even after stopping a working mpbm)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2012, 02:23:15 AM
 #1028

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.

Thanks for the feedback. For now, bitminter has been working great..and hopefully Tom will work with them. It might seem trivial, but it just might make the difference on whether I make another bASIC vs. BFL purchase.

||bit
Sounds like you are using windows
following this guide you can have cgminer running in about 5 minutes from a .bat file
https://ozcoin.net/content/win7-cgminer-setup-guide
you can use the same .bat file with any pool just change mining url, user and pass to the one you want to use

on my dedicated mining rigs I drom a shortcut to the .bat file in the startup folder and cgminer starts when the rig does
and that is just one way to setup and start cgminer Smiley

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
squid
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 02:37:59 AM
 #1029

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.

Thanks for the feedback. For now, bitminter has been working great..and hopefully Tom will work with them. It might seem trivial, but it just might make the difference on whether I make another bASIC vs. BFL purchase.

||bit
Sounds like you are using windows
following this guide you can have cgminer running in about 5 minutes from a .bat file
https://ozcoin.net/content/win7-cgminer-setup-guide
you can use the same .bat file with any pool just change mining url, user and pass to the one you want to use

on my dedicated mining rigs I drom a shortcut to the .bat file in the startup folder and cgminer starts when the rig does
and that is just one way to setup and start cgminer Smiley

You forgot to mention that you named that shortcut "FREE MONEY" so that your wife knows what button to click in case of a crash Cheesy (or was that someone else?)
Jack1Rip1BurnIt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Trust me, these default swaps will limit the risks


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 05:45:02 AM
 #1030

I think it was "Make Money".

Successful trades with bels, misterbigg, ChrisNelson, shackleford, geniusboy91, and Isokivi.
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 795


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 06:01:00 AM
 #1031

I think it was "Make Money".

makemagicinternetmoney.bat
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2012, 06:43:41 AM
 #1032

lol yeah - that was a mate - so it was easy for his wife to restart miners Smiley

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
||bit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 09:30:33 AM
 #1033

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.

Thanks for the feedback. For now, bitminter has been working great..and hopefully Tom will work with them. It might seem trivial, but it just might make the difference on whether I make another bASIC vs. BFL purchase.

||bit
Sounds like you are using windows
following this guide you can have cgminer running in about 5 minutes from a .bat file
https://ozcoin.net/content/win7-cgminer-setup-guide
you can use the same .bat file with any pool just change mining url, user and pass to the one you want to use

on my dedicated mining rigs I drom a shortcut to the .bat file in the startup folder and cgminer starts when the rig does
and that is just one way to setup and start cgminer Smiley

Thanks a lot. I'll try to take a closer look at that later, especially if Tom lags behind on bitminter support.

||bit
cheebydi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 10:21:34 AM
 #1034

So this might be a newbie question, but what else would I need to run 6 bASIC's in Europe?

1 x Laptop
1 x USB 6 Port Hub

and for power?

any tips or links would be really appreciated,
Thanks
dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 11:58:53 AM
 #1035

So this might be a newbie question, but what else would I need to run 6 bASIC's in Europe?

Some responses will come with the website launch.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 01:02:16 PM
 #1036

I've had problems trying to figure out cgminer quickly. It seemed like it would be simple, but setup was not intuitive to me and the help file were poorly made (I think the format examples in the help file were wrong). I had no idea from where to run it...command promt or a window. And trying to disable the GPU using helpfile examples didn't give me any indications it was working in the DOS window (though I still wasn't even sure was the right place to run the program).

Anyway, it didn't take long at all to lose patience with it. A friend told me he used bitminter, and found it from a link on BFL's website. Starting it was just toooo easy and using it's interface was intuitive. So, I've been using it ever since with no real problems.
You should try BFGMiner. Generally, you can simply run it, enter pool info, and it just works.
Um, cgminer is the same way.  It's quite powerful and configurable, but defaults work well there too.
Except cgminer stopped merging FPGA updates (except when people bribe Con), so it doesn't really "just work" in many cases.
Except that's your opinion of the matter. And seeing as you are in charge of BFGminer, your opinion holds a certain amount of bias. Cgminer does in fact work with many FPGAs, as mdude said.
... and after spending many hours last night going through the modminer driver in cgminer that luke-jr wrote and submitted into cgminer
Yes we can check the date ... after modminers were out and running
 I've found that the code that was committed into cgminer doesn't work with ModMinerQuads
(and found out why)

I rewrote all the I/O code like in Icarus and still could not see the (obvious in front of my face) reason why it didn't work until I got the errors that the OS returns displayed (rather than ignored as the code does) ... and then tracked down why those errors were occurring.

Simple answer, the code cannot work - the device type of the /dev/ttyACM0 is not a tty according to linux and thus termios timeouts wont work.

Next step will be: rewrite all that to something that works with windows and linux (or 2 versions of it - one for each linux and windows) coz no doubt we'll need that shortly Smiley

... and the actual fix in the 'other' git to make the code work (rather than having something that didn't work at all) was never sent to cgminer ...

Also we didn't know it didn't work - no one ever said that it never worked and neither of us had an MMQ
I do now ... so I can see the problem ... that's why I'm annoyed about the code Tongue
... also why It's taken a while - until I had enough time to attack the code and debug it rather than spending time tuning it ... it doesn't work at all for me on either computer I have, but mpbm works fine ... coz python implements it's own timeouts, so that works on all serial devices

Though all this hacking with termios has found what hopefully will be a fix for the rare problem I got when transferring an FPGA from windows to linux and having to run a python command to clear the problem (unrelated to the problem above where mining always fails even after stopping a working mpbm)
The irony here is that you're wrong on almost all of this. It's a shame you get rewarded for all your constant trolling, despite having basically no coding skills.

Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 04:09:56 PM
 #1037

So this might be a newbie question, but what else would I need to run 6 bASIC's in Europe?

1 x Laptop
1 x USB 6 Port Hub

and for power?

any tips or links would be really appreciated,
Thanks
I would assume that these will be sold with power supplies - although as a UK user I'd certainly like the option to have them fitted with UK standard plugs out of the box  Cheesy
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 04:15:41 PM
 #1038

So this might be a newbie question, but what else would I need to run 6 bASIC's in Europe?

1 x Laptop
1 x USB 6 Port Hub

and for power?

any tips or links would be really appreciated,
Thanks
I would assume that these will be sold with power supplies - although as a UK user I'd certainly like the option to have them fitted with UK standard plugs out of the box  Cheesy

no, you have to buy your own psu's.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
October 11, 2012, 04:27:12 PM
 #1039

Hello Gentleman

I am pretty much caught up on email corresponding except for a few people

I have been spending a lot of time getting the new office space ready to process the bASIC shipments.

One thing that is really pissing me off is this web design company who was supposedly regarded as being very professional , has broken two deadlines and is now not returning my emails.

Needless to say I am very unhappy about this.

If anyone here has some real high end web design skills and would like to design an opencart front end for me - please let me know.

I am willing to pay in cash (mastercard, bitcoin, wire transfer whatever you prefer), hardware, or both

You must be very high end designer, I can do web design myself and have designed dozens of websites, I am looking for something that is higher quality than what I am capable of creating myself so please if your not a high end commercial web designer please dont waste both of our time, because I really want to get this new web site launched as soon as possible.

Please call me if you think you can provide the service I am looking for.

thank you.
Tom
315-514-0269


dunand
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 05:11:36 PM
 #1040

no, you have to buy your own psu's.

Is it possible to use an old ATX power supply from the GPU mining era with some male barrel adapter like this one to power several bAsic?
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10287

We need to know the size of the barrel connector.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 ... 105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!