Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:20:43 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: would you be interested in an next generation ASIC trade up program for your ModMiner Quad?
YES
NO

Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: High Efficiency FPGA & ASIC Bitcoin Mining Devices https://BTCFPGA.com  (Read 200830 times)
chrcoe01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 12:59:43 PM
 #1121

You are using a compatible Router (in my case I currently use an ASUS RT-16n, I have used a Cisco/Linksys 3000 and 4200v1) - it controls my FPGAs using cgminer, the router uses max 8 watts vs 200watts for a PC
What computer uses 200W at idle? Mine uses 85W, and it's not a small or cheap system. Most laptops will be between 20-30W, and my old netbook used to use 12W.
Good for you, I'm so happy your using power efficient units.

Where did I say idle or laptops?
You did not say idle, but since we're talking about mining with USB devices (and nothing else), the CPU will pretty much be idle the entire time.

My point is just that while DD-WRT is totally kickass, the power savings aren't really all that much.

If the computer is off while your not using it, the small savings add up.

what's wrong with a rpi ?  ~$35 and max of 5 watts

then again I'm not sure how many ASICs it would be able to control but it is fairly powerful for the size/price/wattage

"You may delay, but time will not, and lost time is never found again." -Benjamin Franklin
1481199643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199643
Reply with quote  #2

1481199643
Report to moderator
1481199643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199643
Reply with quote  #2

1481199643
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199643
Reply with quote  #2

1481199643
Report to moderator
1481199643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199643
Reply with quote  #2

1481199643
Report to moderator
1481199643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199643
Reply with quote  #2

1481199643
Report to moderator
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 02:26:59 PM
 #1122

You are using a compatible Router (in my case I currently use an ASUS RT-16n, I have used a Cisco/Linksys 3000 and 4200v1) - it controls my FPGAs using cgminer, the router uses max 8 watts vs 200watts for a PC
What computer uses 200W at idle? Mine uses 85W, and it's not a small or cheap system. Most laptops will be between 20-30W, and my old netbook used to use 12W.
Good for you, I'm so happy your using power efficient units.

Where did I say idle or laptops?
You did not say idle, but since we're talking about mining with USB devices (and nothing else), the CPU will pretty much be idle the entire time.

My point is just that while DD-WRT is totally kickass, the power savings aren't really all that much.

If the computer is off while your not using it, the small savings add up.

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 03:08:56 PM
 #1123

You are using a compatible Router (in my case I currently use an ASUS RT-16n, I have used a Cisco/Linksys 3000 and 4200v1) - it controls my FPGAs using cgminer, the router uses max 8 watts vs 200watts for a PC
What computer uses 200W at idle? Mine uses 85W, and it's not a small or cheap system. Most laptops will be between 20-30W, and my old netbook used to use 12W.
Good for you, I'm so happy your using power efficient units.

Where did I say idle or laptops?
You did not say idle, but since we're talking about mining with USB devices (and nothing else), the CPU will pretty much be idle the entire time.

My point is just that while DD-WRT is totally kickass, the power savings aren't really all that much.

If the computer is off while your not using it, the small savings add up.

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?

Fine, I run it behind my regular firewall. If your paranoid, use ssh keys for access, docs are on any web search.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 04:24:48 PM
 #1124

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.

rb2k
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 04:31:00 PM
 #1125

Just wanted to add a little bit of positive feedback about Tom.

I ordered an FPGA unit, waited a bit, got the USPS tracking number and then watched the USPS page not change for a few weeks.
I called USPS, they said it's probably stuck in customs. I called customs and they said that they don't have anything matching on records.
I mailed Tom and asked if he could open a claim with USPS, he offered to reimburse me. While it did feel weird because neither of us did anything wrong, I accepted the Bitcoin and Tom came through.

Great customer service, fast responses to emails, I'll happily do future business with him.
It's nice to see that somebody is valuing customer happiness.
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 04:34:11 PM
 #1126

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.

Your point being what? What specifically do you want to interject with your comment? Unless you wish to spread more FUD and instill fear among potential users? Which router? Since DD-WRT is used so wide spread, including several manufacturers of routers, it seems a good bet that it is a good choice. My comments were specifically toward the hardware that is controlling that is running the miner program.

If you use a piece of hardware (router) to run a miner, it is just as vulnerable as any PC on your network, unless you take steps to harden it. DD-WRT does a good job of hardening their setups.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 04:37:48 PM
 #1127

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.

Your point being what? What specifically do you want to interject with your comment? Which router? My comments were specifically toward the hardware that is controlling that is running the miner program.

If you use a piece of hardware (router) to run a miner, it is just as vulnerable as any PC on your network, unless you take steps to harden it. DD-WRT does a good job of hardening their setups.
I was agreeing with you, and trying to explain to cypherdoc why it was obviously just as secure.

Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 04:47:38 PM
 #1128

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.

Your point being what? What specifically do you want to interject with your comment? Which router? My comments were specifically toward the hardware that is controlling that is running the miner program.

If you use a piece of hardware (router) to run a miner, it is just as vulnerable as any PC on your network, unless you take steps to harden it. DD-WRT does a good job of hardening their setups.
I was agreeing with you, and trying to explain to cypherdoc why it was obviously just as secure.

Your original comment shows your intended objective of mis-information. As per your your statement, It can be generalized in this context, if you use DD-WRT to run cgminer, someone can break into your router.
Dusty
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 722


Libertas a calumnia


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2012, 05:51:29 PM
 #1129

Please don't.
I know who they are, and how they operate.
If you want additional downtime go with them.
Can you please elaborate? I would like more details since I'm relying on them more and more.

I had no issues until now, but it's only a few months.

Thanks for any info

Articoli bitcoin: Il portico dipinto
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 05:57:44 PM
 #1130

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.
Your point being what? What specifically do you want to interject with your comment? Which router? My comments were specifically toward the hardware that is controlling that is running the miner program.

If you use a piece of hardware (router) to run a miner, it is just as vulnerable as any PC on your network, unless you take steps to harden it. DD-WRT does a good job of hardening their setups.
I was agreeing with you, and trying to explain to cypherdoc why it was obviously just as secure.
Your original comment shows your intended objective of mis-information. As per your your statement, It can be generalized in this context, if you use DD-WRT to run cgminer, someone can break into your router.
I"m not Luke's biggest fan, but I honestly don't see what your problem is here. I don't see any problem with his post.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 06:01:38 PM
 #1131

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.

Your point being what? What specifically do you want to interject with your comment? Which router? My comments were specifically toward the hardware that is controlling that is running the miner program.

If you use a piece of hardware (router) to run a miner, it is just as vulnerable as any PC on your network, unless you take steps to harden it. DD-WRT does a good job of hardening their setups.
I was agreeing with you, and trying to explain to cypherdoc why it was obviously just as secure.

Your original comment shows your intended objective of mis-information. As per your your statement, It can be generalized in this context, if you use DD-WRT to run cgminer, someone can break into your router.
Um, no u? Don't know how you completely misread what I said.

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 07:15:56 PM
 #1132

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.

but if you're running ufw in linux in addition to the router firewall, wouldn't you get a layering effect of security?
Plazzman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 09:15:05 PM
 #1133

Tom,
   Any word on the new bitstream we are supposed to get for existing mod owner's?
TML sucks hind end in my opinion..!!!  Grin
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2012, 12:13:04 AM
 #1134

Tom,
   Any word on the new bitstream we are supposed to get for existing mod owner's?
TML sucks hind end in my opinion..!!!  Grin


It should be nearly done, I will try and get ahold of Glasswalker and see how the progress is coming.
scrybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 08:47:30 AM
 #1135

how's the security of a router stand up to that of running cgminer in linux?
All the routers in question here are Linux. And if someone can break into your router, they can bypass it entirely. So the security of the network depends on the security of the router itself.

Your point being what? What specifically do you want to interject with your comment? Which router? My comments were specifically toward the hardware that is controlling that is running the miner program.

If you use a piece of hardware (router) to run a miner, it is just as vulnerable as any PC on your network, unless you take steps to harden it. DD-WRT does a good job of hardening their setups.
I was agreeing with you, and trying to explain to cypherdoc why it was obviously just as secure.

Your original comment shows your intended objective of mis-information. As per your your statement, It can be generalized in this context, if you use DD-WRT to run cgminer, someone can break into your router.

to be accurate:
IF you use DD-WRT to run cgminer, ON your only router that is connected to the internet, THEN you are exposing the security of your router.
IF you use DD-WRT to run cgminer, ON a secondary router that is connected to a DMZ, THEN you are not exposing the security of your internet router with cgminer AND cgminer is protected by the firewall in the Internet router.

Think of the DD-WRT running cgminer as a server. If you put it on the Internet directly, it better be very secure, or you are going to have a bad day. It's much better to have a firewall/router (performing NAT as well) and one or more of these "micro-servers running on router hardware" behind it.

"...as simple as possible, but no simpler" -AE
BTC/TRC/FRC: 1ScrybeSNcjqgpPeYNgvdxANArqoC6i5u Ripple:rf9gutfmGB8CH39W2PCeRbLWMKRauYyVfx LTC:LadmiD6tXq7gFZvMibhFUZegUHKXgbu1Gb
whizter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 10:07:26 AM
 #1136

Hey, I'm about to preorder a 27GH device, but I can't find info on the Power usage anywhere. Will it be about 30W like the BFL products?

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 10:16:58 AM
 #1137

Hey, I'm about to preorder a 27GH device, but I can't find info on the Power usage anywhere. Will it be about 30W like the BFL products?

Power specs haven't been released yet.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 12:10:35 PM
 #1138

Quote
IF you use DD-WRT to run cgminer, ON your only router that is connected to the internet, THEN you are exposing the security of your router.

Why is that? What about other firmware like tomato?

Hai
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 02:59:26 PM
 #1139

Hey, I'm about to preorder a 27GH device, but I can't find info on the Power usage anywhere. Will it be about 30W like the BFL products?

Power specs haven't been released yet.

M

Yeah, I have a feeling these companies want to suck as many preorders in before releasing horrible power consumption specs =(.....

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 03:32:17 PM
 #1140

Yeah, I have a feeling these companies want to suck as many preorders in before releasing horrible power consumption specs =(.....

actually bAsic (tom) will refund your preorder at any time, so he said.

Hai
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!