Bitcoin Forum
March 26, 2019, 03:39:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 ... 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 419118 times)
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 08:34:28 PM
 #2001

ok , thanks for your advice , i will ty the last time now  if it works.

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
1553571572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553571572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553571572
Reply with quote  #2

1553571572
Report to moderator
1553571572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553571572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553571572
Reply with quote  #2

1553571572
Report to moderator
Crypto Casino Since 2014
Level Up & Get Even More Rewards!
Daily Treasure Chest
& Much More
Roll Hunt
Rakeback
Blackjack
Jackpot
Dice
Slots
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1553571572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553571572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553571572
Reply with quote  #2

1553571572
Report to moderator
1553571572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553571572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553571572
Reply with quote  #2

1553571572
Report to moderator
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 09:06:57 PM
 #2002

ok , thanks for your advice , i will ty the last time now  if it works.

I've tested both algos with core2 compile on i7-6700K and they work ok.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
stealth.money
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 563
Merit: 255

Going stealthy


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 09:14:31 PM
 #2003

Is this version with fees or no fee? I hope the OP could be more clear on this. Thanks

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 09:27:23 PM
 #2004

Is this version with fees or no fee? I hope the OP could be more clear on this. Thanks

It's open source, isn't that clear enough?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2017, 09:38:35 PM
 #2005

Ryzen will be a cryptonight hashing beast.

8 cores, 16MB cache

I hope you can look into the huge pages stuff.

The key for cryptonight performance is cache size and AES performance. 16MB cache is good for 8 threads
but AMD implementations of Intel technology tend to be inferiour.

You'll have to build a good case for large pages. It looks like a lot of trouble with inconsistent results. Nicehash
experimented with it, how did that work out?

Edit: here are some of the questions that need answering in addition to a typical pro-con.

1. What is large pages exactly?

2. What are the OS issues, What changes are required to the OS?

3. Implementation issues, how much code needs changing?

4. User issues, do users need to be root/admin to run cpuminer with large pages?

5. Performance issues, are there conditions where large pages decreases performance?

If you have links to info that answers these questions that's good. I'm a bit skeptical about this
and don't feel like doing all the research work. It also gives me time to decompress after the
Lyra2 issues.

i can try to answer some of these questions, i have encountered large/huge pages in linux in a different field: networking

i have worked with the intel dpdk (dataplane development kit) which roughly gives the user the ability to implement pmd (polling mode driver) for nic's. i have used this in conjunction with open vswitch to build a packet forwarding and routing VM based on ubuntu lts. large pages are used for efficient transport of many packets from host to vm and back.
in general large pages are just like normal pages, except they are bigger/larger and thus the tlb has less entries to go through and is quicker. also large copies are faster.

i have only used this with linux and in linux these pages are reserved on boot, this space is not available for other programs
on windows i have only used it for the mentioned xmr stak miner and it seems its not reserved on boot (at least i didnt see any increase in ram usage in task manager) and the miners ram usage also seems rather small (when i was dealing with the packet forwarding stuff i easily reserved 16GB of ram across multiple numa nodes)

regarding the questions directly:

1) basically larger normal pages as explained before (you can read the first paragraph below the table here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Page_(computer_memory)#Huge_pages )

2.1) on linux you will just have the reserved amount of ram less (i have not tested this with the xmr miner, might differ), you will need to enable this in the grub config once, i would rate this as 1/10 on a difficulty scale
2.2) on windows you will need to go through some gui stuff in the group policy settings to enable it, thats it, i would rate that 1/10 on a difficulty scale

2.2 side note: i have observed my networking transfer speed is limited to about 120mbit/s when i run the xmr stak miner with huge pages enabled, once i exit it, it goes back to full 1 gbit (its a realtek nic)

3) sadly i cant answer that part Tongue you might want to contact the dev of the stak miner about it, not sure if he wants to help though

4) it is stated that i have to run the miner "as admin" in windows for hugepages, though it worked flawlessly without, linux not sure

5) i only observed the nic slowdown in 2.2 side note, i only ran it on windows till now
when the miner isnt run i have not experienced any issues while hugepages are enabled
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 10:36:54 PM
 #2006

ok , thanks for your advice , i will ty the last time now  if it works.

I've tested both algos with core2 compile on i7-6700K and they work ok.

of course , i believe you that on intel cpu with complete instruction-set works or even sse2 , the case was been AMD with only sse2,sse3
 Wink looks like you mixed something up now    no probs  your head is full from solving poor peoples problems  lol

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
xcbtrader
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 867
Merit: 1006


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 11:04:37 PM
 #2007

Hello...

Help to install cpuminer-opt in ubuntu 16.04 Huh

Thanks

integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 11:32:51 PM
 #2008

whats the problem ?

wich kind of assist need you
more facts pls.

what kind of Pc  (cpu )
installed  dependencies ?

maybe this one can help you : http://askubuntu.com/questions/457526/how-to-install-cpuminer-in-ubuntu
if not come back we help you


AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 12:07:32 AM
 #2009

whats the problem ?

wich kind of assist need you
more facts pls.

what kind of Pc  (cpu )
installed  dependencies ?

maybe this one can help you : http://askubuntu.com/questions/457526/how-to-install-cpuminer-in-ubuntu
if not come back we help you



That's a useful link, but everyone should read the instructions in RELEASE_NOTES.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 12:10:20 AM
 #2010

ok , thanks for your advice , i will ty the last time now  if it works.

I've tested both algos with core2 compile on i7-6700K and they work ok.

of course , i believe you that on intel cpu with complete instruction-set works or even sse2 , the case was been AMD with only sse2,sse3
 Wink looks like you mixed something up now    no probs  your head is full from solving poor peoples problems  lol


I just need to confirm where the problem is. Did it work for you compiled for core2. If yes there's no problem, if no there's
an AMD problem.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 12:13:26 AM
 #2011


i can try to answer some of these questions, i have encountered large/huge pages in linux in a different field: networking


Thanks I'll absorb it in time and do a little research, but it's low prority.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 01:21:21 AM
 #2012

ok , thanks for your advice , i will ty the last time now  if it works.

I've tested both algos with core2 compile on i7-6700K and they work ok.

of course , i believe you that on intel cpu with complete instruction-set works or even sse2 , the case was been AMD with only sse2,sse3
 Wink looks like you mixed something up now    no probs  your head is full from solving poor peoples problems  lol


I just need to confirm where the problem is. Did it work for you compiled for core2. If yes there's no problem, if no there's
an AMD problem.

it wont work on any arch i choose on AMD with Cpuminer-opt ( yesscrypt . lyra2z , xevan )
but on Cpuminer-multi yescrypt , xevan working  , dont know if lyra2z is supported yet
so it looks not really as only AMD problem to be     

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 01:46:46 AM
 #2013

ok , thanks for your advice , i will ty the last time now  if it works.

I've tested both algos with core2 compile on i7-6700K and they work ok.

of course , i believe you that on intel cpu with complete instruction-set works or even sse2 , the case was been AMD with only sse2,sse3
 Wink looks like you mixed something up now    no probs  your head is full from solving poor peoples problems  lol


I just need to confirm where the problem is. Did it work for you compiled for core2. If yes there's no problem, if no there's
an AMD problem.

it wont work on any arch i choose on AMD with Cpuminer-opt ( yesscrypt . lyra2z , xevan )
but on Cpuminer-multi yescrypt , xevan working  , dont know if lyra2z is supported yet
so it looks not really as only AMD problem to be     


Thanks. Now you're saying xevan is broken also. This appears to be an issue with AMD and the optimizations
in cpuminer-opt. However, yescrypt is not optimized so it should be identical to cpuminer-multi.

Are there any other AMD users seeing this problem?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 03:00:32 AM
Last edit: February 16, 2017, 03:20:30 AM by joblo
 #2014

Some disjointed thoughts on large pages.

My undertsanding is than enabling large pages in the OS reserves a block of memory for use
reducing the amount available for applications, presumably ones that don't use large pages.
This leads to an engineering issue. How many large pages should be allocated in the OS?
How many large pages would cpuminer use? Is it different based on the algo. What if there aren't
enough large pages for cpuminer?

I found an easier way to enable large pages in Linux, no grub required. It's old and for RH but the commands,
kernel variables and files exist on Ubuntu so it should work.

https://access.redhat.com/documentation/en-US/Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux/5/html/Tuning_and_Optimizing_Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux_for_Oracle_9i_and_10g_Databases/sect-Oracle_9i_and_10g_Tuning_Guide-Large_Memory_Optimization_Big_Pages_and_Huge_Pages-Configuring_Huge_Pages_in_Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux_4_or_5.html

The Wikipedia article says large pages aren't widely used and used mostly in server environments but it
doesn't say why. I suspect it doesn't perform well in a desktop environment with multiple applications
running.

The arcticle also mentioned elevated priviledges, though it's not clear they mean the application must run
as root or only the OS config. It also mentioned issues swapping large pages to disk

The arcticle also mentions the application needs to set a flag, no such flag exists in malloc so it's not so
simple.

I have some thoughts on possible implementation. This looks like a specialist feature that is not applicable
to some environments therefore cpuminer would have to disable it by default. cpuminer would also have
to confirm large pages is enabled in the OS before using them.
Edit: I'm reluctant to advertise such a feature because then I'd be responsible fo helping users setup their OS.

Do large pages apply to static application data or only dynamically allocated memory?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2017, 11:32:49 AM
 #2015

Some disjointed thoughts on large pages.

My undertsanding is than enabling large pages in the OS reserves a block of memory for use
reducing the amount available for applications, presumably ones that don't use large pages.
This leads to an engineering issue. How many large pages should be allocated in the OS?
How many large pages would cpuminer use? Is it different based on the algo. What if there aren't
enough large pages for cpuminer?

I found an easier way to enable large pages in Linux, no grub required. It's old and for RH but the commands,
kernel variables and files exist on Ubuntu so it should work.

https://access.redhat.com/documentation/en-US/Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux/5/html/Tuning_and_Optimizing_Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux_for_Oracle_9i_and_10g_Databases/sect-Oracle_9i_and_10g_Tuning_Guide-Large_Memory_Optimization_Big_Pages_and_Huge_Pages-Configuring_Huge_Pages_in_Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux_4_or_5.html

The Wikipedia article says large pages aren't widely used and used mostly in server environments but it
doesn't say why. I suspect it doesn't perform well in a desktop environment with multiple applications
running.

The arcticle also mentioned elevated priviledges, though it's not clear they mean the application must run
as root or only the OS config. It also mentioned issues swapping large pages to disk

The arcticle also mentions the application needs to set a flag, no such flag exists in malloc so it's not so
simple.

I have some thoughts on possible implementation. This looks like a specialist feature that is not applicable
to some environments therefore cpuminer would have to disable it by default. cpuminer would also have
to confirm large pages is enabled in the OS before using them.
Edit: I'm reluctant to advertise such a feature because then I'd be responsible fo helping users setup their OS.

Do large pages apply to static application data or only dynamically allocated memory?


ah yes i forgot, once enabled you can also set the amount dynamically in the os with the commands referenced

i fully understand and support your statement about advertising this feature, a simple cli option to enable it would be enough in my opinion (just link the os setup guides in the readme or somewhere, everything else is up to the user)

well its not widely used because for most applications there is no need to use it, only memory heavy applications can benefit from it, which largely limits the usecases for most applications (except maybe chrome Tongue)
i dont think it reduces performance, the ram is just gone, so if your system has lets say 12gb and your application uses 1gb, the remaining 11gb should still work as usual

about swapping i dont know, i never had to (and it would ruin performance as well), better know your specs and use hugepages accordingly


last note: you can enable transparent hugepages in linux (not sure if enabled by default), you can read about that here: https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/vm/transhuge.txt

doesnt require you to rewrite anything afaik
seems you also need to adjust the allocations
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 02:05:57 PM
 #2016

Large pages looks like a great feature for a specialist mining distribution. Both the OS and the apps
could be preconfigured for large pages. User friendly and plug and play.

Thougths

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2017, 02:37:25 PM
 #2017

Large pages looks like a great feature for a specialist mining distribution. Both the OS and the apps
could be preconfigured for large pages. User friendly and plug and play.

Thougths

enabling large pages in a linux pre built image is easy, should be doable, but im not aware of any cpumining distros/images, anybody?
obviously one can always ssh into the system and install the cpuminer himself, but then he also can enable large pages himself and its not userfriendly/plug&play

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 03:17:29 PM
 #2018

Large pages looks like a great feature for a specialist mining distribution. Both the OS and the apps
could be preconfigured for large pages. User friendly and plug and play.

Thougths

enabling large pages in a linux pre built image is easy, should be doable, but im not aware of any cpumining distros/images, anybody?
obviously one can always ssh into the system and install the cpuminer himself, but then he also can enable large pages himself and its not userfriendly/plug&play


Here is the best known (to me) mining distro.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=520998.msg5764866#msg5764866

I also found this which describes how to enable an app to use large pages. It includes the following...

https://lwn.net/Articles/375096/
Quote
While applications can be modified to use any of the interfaces, it imposes a significant burden on the application developer.
 To make life easier, libhugetlbfs can back a number of memory region types automatically when it is either pre-linked or pre-loaded.
 This process is described in the HOWTO documentation and manual pages that come with libhugetlbfs.

Didn't read the HOWTO yet but what I infer from that is the OS and application are tightly coupled, which would make it
more challenging to build as a standalone application.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
ZenFr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1043



View Profile
February 16, 2017, 04:06:55 PM
 #2019

Welcome to the 3.5.8 version :-) !
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 04:07:15 PM
 #2020

v3.5.8 is out.

The main thing is lyra2re is fixed on Windows. Also ported the cryptonight optimization from 3.5.7
to the non-aes version but the results were disappointing. Also disappointing were the results of precalculating
the first function's midstate hash for xevan and veltor. It seems to have a bigger impact on high hash rate algos.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 ... 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!