Bitcoin Forum
March 25, 2019, 12:20:03 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 [100] 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 ... 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 419109 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 14, 2017, 10:14:07 PM
 #1981

That would be great, i have a few old servers that would benefit from that, if it's not too much of a hassle for you  Wink

Sent you a beer

Address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
TxId: 1c55626d7c10feacec581988396b367171b18810dadf90ea110038701d274f7c

Keep up the good work  Wink

Now I have to do it. Wink It'll be in the next release. Thanks.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1553473203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553473203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553473203
Reply with quote  #2

1553473203
Report to moderator
1553473203
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553473203

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553473203
Reply with quote  #2

1553473203
Report to moderator
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100

CryptoLearner


View Profile
February 14, 2017, 10:17:46 PM
 #1982

That would be great, i have a few old servers that would benefit from that, if it's not too much of a hassle for you  Wink

Sent you a beer

Address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
TxId: 1c55626d7c10feacec581988396b367171b18810dadf90ea110038701d274f7c

Keep up the good work  Wink

Now I have to do it. Wink It'll be in the next release. Thanks.

Lol, thanks mate, cheers  Grin
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 14, 2017, 11:08:00 PM
 #1983

small question to joblo (or anyone competent in that field, im not Tongue)

i just read the following about upcoming ryzen arch:

Quote
AMD left out 256bit AVX to save space and power to allow for higher clocks, but it can still decode avx, but it uses 2x128 bit, so it takes 2 cycles for 1 avx instruction.

if this turns out to be true, does it have an impact on mining speeds? i suppose yes

cheers
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 12:10:21 AM
Last edit: February 15, 2017, 12:53:47 AM by joblo
 #1984

small question to joblo (or anyone competent in that field, im not Tongue)

i just read the following about upcoming ryzen arch:

Quote
AMD left out 256bit AVX to save space and power to allow for higher clocks, but it can still decode avx, but it uses 2x128 bit, so it takes 2 cycles for 1 avx instruction.

if this turns out to be true, does it have an impact on mining speeds? i suppose yes

cheers

It will reduce the compute power of AVX2 code which will affect some algos, mostly Lyra2 based algos, algos that use
cubehash (x11 family) and Hodl, essentially any algo that reports AVX2 capability. However, if an algo is I/O bound a small
loss in compute power may not affect the hashrate significantly. I'd think twice before buying one for mining.

Edit: I expect the performance to be equal to AVX, maybe a little better.

Edit: I don't know what will happen to AVX2 intrinsic or assembly code. If Ryzen doesn't recongize AVX2 instructions it may
have to rely on the compiler not to generate them. That won't work for hardcoded AVX2. If, on the other hand, Ryzen
internally converts them to their AVX equivalent that won't be a problem.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 12:33:44 AM
Last edit: February 15, 2017, 02:22:16 AM by joblo
 #1985

Lyra2re is going to be a problem. During work on 3.5.6 I would fix lyra2re and it
would break lyra2rev2 or vice versa. I ended up splitting them them up and I got
both working on Linux. I simply assumed they would also work on Windows, but...

The only way to have them both may be to roll back some optimizations but that's not
an option I'm willing to consider. My goal is to be at the leading edge and won't be
slowed down by an algo on life support.

There a a couple of other things I can try but if they don't work I may have to relegate
lyra2re to the legacy branch.

Edit: Things are not looking good. I can't seem to fix lyra2re on Windows without breaking
something else.

The last known working version is v3.5.5, it's unchanged from the legacy version 3.4.12.
However, it does not benefit from the improvements to lyra2 introduced in v3.5.6.

I hereby declare lyra2 unsupported on Windows going forward. It is recommended Windows
users use v3.4.12 , link available in OP. Linux users can continue to use new versions.

Lyra2rev2 and lyra2z are not affected.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
ZenFr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1043



View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:29:16 AM
 #1986

Ok, Jobblo, good work and thak you for all these infos.
icelove
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711
Merit: 270



View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:46:04 AM
 #1987

-a cryptonight -o stratum+tcp://xmr.crypto-pool.fr:3333 -u YOUR_WALLET_ADDRESS -p x 

can't connect to the pools. What was wrong?
Grim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 09:45:11 AM
 #1988

Ryzen will be a cryptonight hashing beast.

8 cores, 16MB cache

I hope you can look into the huge pages stuff.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 04:10:58 PM
 #1989

Lyra2re is going to be a problem. During work on 3.5.6 I would fix lyra2re and it
would break lyra2rev2 or vice versa. I ended up splitting them them up and I got
both working on Linux. I simply assumed they would also work on Windows, but...

The only way to have them both may be to roll back some optimizations but that's not
an option I'm willing to consider. My goal is to be at the leading edge and won't be
slowed down by an algo on life support.

There a a couple of other things I can try but if they don't work I may have to relegate
lyra2re to the legacy branch.

Edit: Things are not looking good. I can't seem to fix lyra2re on Windows without breaking
something else.

The last known working version is v3.5.5, it's unchanged from the legacy version 3.4.12.
However, it does not benefit from the improvements to lyra2 introduced in v3.5.6.

I hereby declare lyra2 unsupported on Windows going forward. It is recommended Windows
users use v3.4.12 , link available in OP. Linux users can continue to use new versions.

Lyra2rev2 and lyra2z are not affected.


Nevermind. I found the problem. I was not freeing aligned memory correctly which leads to
"unpredictable behaviour". That describes it well, very unpredictable. This means the workaround
I implemented in 3.5.6 didn't really fix anything, it only changed the unpredictable behaviour.

It also explains why, when I fixed one algo, it broke another.

All Lyra2 algos should be completely functional in the next release.

The update on cryptonight is that prefetching did not nave a significant impact with the non-aes version.
It looks like that version was not as I/O bound due to the overhead of implementing aes in SW.
I'll make the change anyway as it might help on some CPUs.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 05:38:48 PM
Last edit: February 15, 2017, 06:27:03 PM by integrale
 #1990

good news   finding the strange edge

but for me not as the best , yescrypt wont working on the Amd´ @ Linux  tried different releases , arches  nothing
doing first hash then stopped with error   ( invalid memory write )   something like this , need to find translation to English   sorry.  

tested with Athlon II x 250 , 255

linux 14.04 , gcc 4.8.4    other algos i tested worked but bit slower on this Distro

i´ll switch back to 16.04 and see what happen

it looks then like this
          **********  cpuminer-opt 3.5.7  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
     Forked from TPruvot's cpuminer-multi with credits
     to Lucas Jones, elmad, palmd, djm34, pooler, ig0tik3d,
     Wolf0, Jeff Garzik and Optiminer.

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 255 Processor
CPU features: SSE2
SW built on Feb 15 2017 with GCC 5.4.0
SW features: SSE2
Algo features: SSE2
Start mining with SSE2

[2017-02-15 19:20:09] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.zpool.ca:6233
[2017-02-15 19:20:09] 2 miner threads started, using 'yescrypt' algorithm.
[2017-02-15 19:20:16] Stratum difficulty set to 1 (0.00002)
[2017-02-15 19:20:16] yescrypt block 121780, diff 0.060
Ungültiger Maschinenbefehl (Speicherabzug geschrieben)
boss@boss-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H:~/joblo7$

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:23:18 PM
 #1991

good news   finding the strange edge

but for me not as the best , yescrypt wont working on the Amd´ @ Linux  tried different releases , arches  nothing
doing first hash then stopped with error   ( invalid memory write )   something like this , need to find translation to English   sorry.  

tested with Athlon II x 250 , 255

linux 14.04 , gcc 4.8.4    other algos i tested worked but bit slower on this Distro

i´ll switch back to 16.04 and see what happen

it looks then like this
          **********  cpuminer-opt 3.5.7  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
     Forked from TPruvot's cpuminer-multi with credits
     to Lucas Jones, elmad, palmd, djm34, pooler, ig0tik3d,
     Wolf0, Jeff Garzik and Optiminer.

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 255 Processor
CPU features: SSE2
SW built on Feb 15 2017 with GCC 5.4.0
SW features: SSE2
Algo features: SSE2
Start mining with SSE2

[2017-02-15 19:20:09] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.zpool.ca:6233
[2017-02-15 19:20:09] 2 miner threads started, using 'yescrypt' algorithm.
[2017-02-15 19:20:16] Stratum difficulty set to 1 (0.00002)
[2017-02-15 19:20:16] yescrypt block 121780, diff 0.060
Ungültiger Maschinenbefehl (Speicherabzug geschrieben)
boss@boss-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H:~/joblo7$

That's a segfault.

How did you compile, specifically what options? AMD is tricky to compile properly.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:29:00 PM
Last edit: February 15, 2017, 07:40:26 PM by joblo
 #1992

Ryzen will be a cryptonight hashing beast.

8 cores, 16MB cache

I hope you can look into the huge pages stuff.

The key for cryptonight performance is cache size and AES performance. 16MB cache is good for 8 threads
but AMD implementations of Intel technology tend to be inferiour.

You'll have to build a good case for large pages. It looks like a lot of trouble with inconsistent results. Nicehash
experimented with it, how did that work out?

Edit: here are some of the questions that need answering in addition to a typical pro-con.

1. What is large pages exactly?

2. What are the OS issues, What changes are required to the OS?

3. Implementation issues, how much code needs changing?

4. User issues, do users need to be root/admin to run cpuminer with large pages?

5. Performance issues, are there conditions where large pages decreases performance?

If you have links to info that answers these questions that's good. I'm a bit skeptical about this
and don't feel like doing all the research work. It also gives me time to decompress after the
Lyra2 issues.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:37:12 PM
 #1993

thanks for reply ,  compiled as described used march-native    same effect   tried with cor2 ,btver1,btver2,barcelona    yescrypt isnt working , now i have seen  lyra2z too

other algos  working flawless with such a good hashrate
same machine same OS ,
on epsylon miner it work with plain compile   nothing need to do
:/build.sh   > ./configure > make    finished succesfull and working yescrypt algo     hmmm any idea ?

dont make you headache because me , i can easily switch    more for other they maybe hang on it

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:42:59 PM
 #1994

thanks for reply ,  compiled as described used march-native    same effect   tried with cor2 ,btver1,btver2,barcelona    yescrypt isnt working , now i have seen  lyra2z too

other algos  working flawless with such a good hashrate
same machine same OS ,
on epsylon miner it work with plain compile   nothing need to do
:/build.sh   > ./configure > make    finished succesfull and working yescrypt algo     hmmm any idea ?

dont make you headache because me , i can easily switch    more for other they maybe hang on it


I'm having problems following your description, possibly a language issue.
Is this a problem only on one version of Ubuntu? What about lyra2z too?




cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:46:22 PM
 #1995

on both Linux 14.04 and 16.04    same error on lyr2z as on yescrypt

may i ask your native language ?

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:50:51 PM
 #1996

on both Linux 14.04 and 16.04    same error on lyr2z as on yescrypt

may i ask your native language ?

Uh, english, what's yours?

Your mixing things up, one monent your talking about different versions of cpuminer, the next different
algos, the next different versions of Ubuntu. I't's all gretting mixed up. Try to explain it more clearly.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 07:59:53 PM
Last edit: February 15, 2017, 08:12:56 PM by integrale
 #1997

oh  im sorry i messed this up

two machines same configuration

Note : Both are dual-boot systems

Machine 1
Cpu athlon II x 250        
Cpuminer-opt 3.5.7  
ubuntu 14.04
ubuntu 16.04

Machine 2
Cpu athlon II x 255        
Cpuminer-opt 3.5.7  
ubuntu 14.04
ubuntu 16.04

yescrypt , lyra2z not working  

Cpuminer-Multi 1.3.1
same machines
yescrypt working

its not important for me if it works  , take it as information only  thank a lot
btw. Im German speaker
 

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 08:11:20 PM
 #1998

oh  im sorry i messed this up

two machines same configuration

Cpu athlon II x 250 & 255
Cpuminer-opt 3.5.7 
ubuntu 14.04
ubuntu 16.04

yescrypt , lyra2z not working 


Cpuminer-Multi 1.3.1
same machines
yescrypt working

its not important for me if it works  , take it as information only  thank a lot
btw. Im German speaker
 

Thank you, that's very clear. You also said you tried different compile options including core2.
That is probably the best choice for your CPU.

I will do some testing.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
integrale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


Eager to learn


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 08:20:38 PM
Last edit: February 15, 2017, 08:30:49 PM by integrale
 #1999

yes i tried  different arch     btver1 , btver2 , core2 , barcelona (amd K10) , all the same result
the cpu´s are Family 16 ,, therefore it must be the right arch btver2 ?

thats what me make so courious  on such new algos like timetravel it works perfectly

Timetravel: 2 cores
250@ 3.0 ghz    126 kh/s   37c°
255@ 3.1 ghz    131 kh/s   48°C       its not bad for some old cheap things  espec. 65watt TDP

AltCoin-Mining @ Xubuntu 16.04 LTS
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 08:31:08 PM
 #2000

yes i tried  different arch     btver1 , btver2 , core2 , barcelona (amd K10) , all the same result
the cpu´s are Family 16 ,, therefore it must be the right arch btver2 ?

thats what me make so courious  on such new algos like timetravel it works perfectly

Timetravel: 2 cores
250@126 kh/s
255@131 kh/s   its not bad for some old cheap things  espec. 65watt TDP

Use whatever gives you the best performance, but when nothing else works try core2.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Pages: « 1 ... 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 [100] 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 ... 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!