Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 07:30:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1238799 times)
FireFox31
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 05:51:10 PM
 #861

Hello, I recently upgraded from poclbm_20110325 to poclbm_20110428 and I'm now receiving "long poll exceptions" once every hour:

10/05/2011 14:05:19, long poll exception:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyo", line 259, in longPollThread
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyo", line 222, in request
  File "httplib.pyo", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyo", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyo", line 349, in _read_status
  File "socket.pyo", line 397, in readline
timeout: timed out

On the older version, I had no problems, though I was generating about 4% stale shares.  I hoped the newer version would reduce stale shares.  I'm running Windows XP, a GTX460, and poclbm on GPU mining.  Is this a problem?  Is there a fix?  Thanks for any help you can provide.
1714030254
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714030254

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714030254
Reply with quote  #2

1714030254
Report to moderator
1714030254
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714030254

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714030254
Reply with quote  #2

1714030254
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714030254
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714030254

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714030254
Reply with quote  #2

1714030254
Report to moderator
1714030254
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714030254

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714030254
Reply with quote  #2

1714030254
Report to moderator
1714030254
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714030254

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714030254
Reply with quote  #2

1714030254
Report to moderator
Pygy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 09:13:53 PM
 #862

I didn't read the whole thread, so, please forgive me if this problem has already been addressed (in that case, I'll look for the solution by myself).

I'm mining on a Debian box with a 5970. I'm prudently trying to overclock it, but I run into a problem.

The hashrate in the shell of the second core sometimes gets stuck. CTRL+C is ineffective to quit (I get the "Bye" message, but I dont go back to the prompt).

If I close the shell and confirm that I want to kill the child process, the whole graphical interface freezes. It happened twice at two different clock rates (800 and 780) even though the temperature monitors reported ~66 °C. The second time I actually tried to kill the process from the shell.

At the time, I didn't think of pressing CTRL+ALT+F1 to launch a shell outside of X, and rebooted.

I went back to a lower clock rate, and everything is fine, but I'm curious about the cause of the freezing of the process, and the of the whole GUI.
rtsome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 05:22:52 PM
 #863

i've got a bug to report.
so there was an exception
Code:
14/05/2011 22:52:28, 36a8d1c6, accepted                     
14/05/2011 22:52:30, dfd608d5, accepted                     
14/05/2011 22:53:35, cd65a2af, accepted       
53409 khash/sException in thread Thread-2:                 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/threading.py", line 532, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/threading.py", line 484, in run
    self.__target(*self.__args, **self.__kwargs)
  File "/home/diz/Desktop/bitcoinshit/poclbm/BitcoinMiner.py", line 336, in miningThread
    queue.finish()
LogicError: clFinish failed: invalid command queue

14/05/2011 22:55:35, long poll: new block 00003873116dcf9f 
14/05/2011 22:58:28, long poll: new block 000016bc6ee42ac4 
14/05/2011 22:59:41, long poll: new block 0000071527b5e52e 
14/05/2011 23:00:13, long poll: new block 0000594949d6ec0d 
and mining stopped, had to restart it.
probably relevant dmesgs:
Code:
[30953.851867] NVRM: Xid (0000:01:00): 3, C 00000004 SC 00000000 M 00001010 Data 00000000
[30955.858750] NVRM: os_schedule: Attempted to yield the CPU while in atomic or interrupt context
poclbm commit 06cf386a358a416b4119482bdfaf0d4511ac91b7
ubuntu 10.10@amd64; NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-270.41.06; GTX 280
sniper_sniperson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 07:32:22 AM
 #864

If I put & symbol in the password after --pass option the script says Bad password. Should I try the password with quotes?
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1022

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 07:44:45 AM
 #865

If I put & symbol in the password after --pass option the script says Bad password. Should I try the password with quotes?
Yes

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
Eikill
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 11:01:41 AM
 #866

I have a problem. I got an XFX 6850 card overclocked to 900 core clock and 1150 memory clock with SDK version 2.4 and driver version 11.4.
When I try to use poclmb, I can't get more than ~2 Mhash/s! But when I'm using DiabloMiner I get up to ~200 Mhash/s. Anybody know whats causing this?
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 120


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 11:22:45 AM
 #867

I have a problem. I got an XFX 6850 card overclocked to 900 core clock and 1150 memory clock with SDK version 2.4 and driver version 11.4.
When I try to use poclmb, I can't get more than ~2 Mhash/s! But when I'm using DiabloMiner I get up to ~200 Mhash/s. Anybody know whats causing this?

You probably have the CPU selected as the device to mine with. Change your -d/--device setting. For SDK 2.4 device 0 should be the first GPU. (it's 1 on earlier SDK versions)

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
Eikill
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 04:28:13 PM
 #868

I have a problem. I got an XFX 6850 card overclocked to 900 core clock and 1150 memory clock with SDK version 2.4 and driver version 11.4.
When I try to use poclmb, I can't get more than ~2 Mhash/s! But when I'm using DiabloMiner I get up to ~200 Mhash/s. Anybody know whats causing this?

You probably have the CPU selected as the device to mine with. Change your -d/--device setting. For SDK 2.4 device 0 should be the first GPU. (it's 1 on earlier SDK versions)

So I should just add -d 0 to the command? Okay, I'll try that!

Edit: Yes! thank you! Now I get ~230 Mhash/s Smiley

Edit2: Okay, I got another computer with a sapphire 5770 card running with no overclock, SDK version 2.1 and driver version 10.11 (Because I read that these were the best ones on 5xxx cards, is this true?), and when I try to start poclbm, I get this error:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 3, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\__init__.pyo", line 3, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyo", line 12, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyo", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.

Again, DiabloMiner works fine :/
Druas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2011, 07:12:28 PM
 #869

Just thought I would report my results on a 2011 MacBook Pro, running an AMD Radeon HD 6750M, in Windows 7 (Pro 64bit), SDK v2.4, -v -w 128 = about 72 Mhash/s
Hello
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2011, 04:25:18 PM
 #870

Hi all
I have radeon mobile 5650.
Try to run, but have error
Quote
This OpenCL build requires version 1.4.879, version 1.4.692 installed
I install lasst drivers (11.5) and last AMD APP SDK from http://developer.amd.com/gpu/AMDAPPSDK/Pages/default.aspx
Can you help me?
raffomania
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 08:44:10 PM
 #871

Hey,
I use an AMD Radeon X1900. gpu caps viewer says that it has OpenCL 1.1, but at the OpenCL-tab it only displays my AMD Athlon dualcore CPU. When I try to mine at deepbit.net, I always get the "authentication failed, check hardware" error. What can I do?

Thanks!
biochem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 09:09:02 PM
 #872

miner consume only 60% of GPU on 6990
UBUNTU 11.04 64bit ati-stream-sdk-v2.3-lnx64 on Pentiun I7

poclbm.py --version give poclbm/2011.beta4
Code:
Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    930           1250
             Current Peak :    930           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [1250-1500]
                 GPU load :    65%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    930           1250
             Current Peak :    930           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [1250-1500]
                 GPU load :    64%

What is wrong, and how to use 100% of GPU Huh??

marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348


Eadem mutata resurgo


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 09:45:41 PM
 #873

-f1

biochem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 10:00:45 PM
 #874

-f1
it is significantly  better now!!!
I've got 85%  on average now!!!

PS. mining in the slush pool.
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348


Eadem mutata resurgo


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 10:06:24 PM
 #875

-v

EDIT: you sound like a noob so you had better read the OP (and whatever else you can get your hands on) ... and watch the temp.s if you are going to thrash these cards with mining or you'll fry your cores....

$aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

get nervous with core temp above 80 C ... I keep mine 70 or below.

biochem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 10:24:06 PM
 #876

-v

EDIT: you sound like a noob so you had better read the OP (and whatever else you can get your hands on) ... and watch the temp.s if you are going to thrash these cards with mining or you'll fry your cores....

$aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

get nervous with core temp above 80 C ... I keep mine 70 or below.
-v drop GPU consumption to 70 on average.

I've got few boxes with 2x5970 under archlinux and ubuntu, running for months  and never have such problems like I've got with 6990, so I'm completely disoriented  Embarrassed

And I keep temperature automatically by changing corerate
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348


Eadem mutata resurgo


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:08:47 PM
 #877

-v

EDIT: you sound like a noob so you had better read the OP (and whatever else you can get your hands on) ... and watch the temp.s if you are going to thrash these cards with mining or you'll fry your cores....

$aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

get nervous with core temp above 80 C ... I keep mine 70 or below.
-v drop GPU consumption to 70 on average.

I've got few boxes with 2x5970 under archlinux and ubuntu, running for months  and never have such problems like I've got with 6990, so I'm completely disoriented  Embarrassed

And I keep temperature automatically by changing corerate

Okay, sorry about the noob comment then.

I would have thought the 6990 was v. similar to 5970 but there ya go. I think it sounds like from some of the other threads that SDK 2.4 and 11.4 driver is better with 6990 ... also maybe phoenix miner might be different  with high AGGRESSION setting ...

biochem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:26:13 AM
 #878

Okay, sorry about the noob comment then.

I would have thought the 6990 was v. similar to 5970 but there ya go. I think it sounds like from some of the other threads that SDK 2.4 and 11.4 driver is better with 6990 ... also maybe phoenix miner might be different  with high AGGRESSION setting ...
Sorted!
SDK 2.4  give more than 95% for each GPU on 6990, while SDK 2.3 only can do no more than 65% of load....
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348


Eadem mutata resurgo


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:37:46 AM
 #879

biochem:

Quote
And I keep temperature automatically by changing corerate

What's "corerate" ... is that utility in linux?

biochem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:56:42 AM
 #880

What's "corerate" ... is that utility in linux?
No it is core rate, nothing to do with any linux progs.
 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!