Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2017, 05:15:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 429883 times)
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
February 03, 2013, 04:33:22 PM
 #121

DVB allready started to build up the team for GPL AVALON Watercooling elements production. I see heat as a major problem for ASIC devices in general, this heat probably causes the errors, more noise and higher power consumption, aswell the need for the restart. We will investigate, with a thermo camera, as soon the AVALON trade-in harware arrives here in Switzerland.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=101559.msg1493823#msg1493823(

DVB is a DEVCOIN (DEVELOPERS COIN) based and we guys use for development devcoins in between us.

Jeff or BitSyncom: can you make heat pictures from your AVALON? It will show us the heat distribution among the device.

BitSyncom: i guess your shop system will be fixed soon, and we gonna be able to make the trade-in order today Smiley

Thanks

Icoin

I can do thermal imaging of my units when they arrive. I'm in the first batch expecting them soon.

That would be great.
1508562919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508562919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508562919
Reply with quote  #2

1508562919
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508562919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508562919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508562919
Reply with quote  #2

1508562919
Report to moderator
SLok
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 568


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 04:36:40 PM
 #122

There is an onboard DC/DC module that converts the 12V to 1.2V or whatever core voltage the chips are running at, along with whatever they're using for IO.

Yes, but what I meant was that it does not effect the "expected at the wall = 72W" number. Like the usage of the fan, the AC/DC power adapter loss, it is included already in the "at the wall numer".

WARNING! Don't trade BTC with Bruno Kucinskas aka Gleb Gamow, Phinnaeus Gage, etc Laundering BTC from anonymous sellers, avoid!https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=649176.msg7279994#msg7279994 #TELLFBI #TELLKSAG #TELLIRS WARNING! Darin M. Bicknell, a proclaimed atheist, teaching at the Jakarta CanadianMontessori School. Drop your kids there at your own risk! WARNING! Christian Otzipka - Hildesheim is a known group-buy scammer, avoid! WARNING! Frizz Supertramp, faker with dozens of accounts here! WARNING! Christian "2 coins to see SLOk's" Antkow, still playing his little microphone...WARNING! Slobodan "Stolen Valor" Bogovac, faking being a ProfessorWARNING!Marion Sydney Lynn, google him, errr her, errr.. and lol
Icoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585



View Profile WWW
February 03, 2013, 04:37:10 PM
 #123

DVB allready started to build up the team for GPL AVALON Watercooling elements production. I see heat as a major problem for ASIC devices in general, this heat probably causes the errors, more noise and higher power consumption, aswell the need for the restart. We will investigate, with a thermo camera, as soon the AVALON trade-in harware arrives here in Switzerland.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=101559.msg1493823#msg1493823(

DVB is a DEVCOIN (DEVELOPERS COIN) based and we guys use for development devcoins in between us.

Jeff or BitSyncom: can you make heat pictures from your AVALON? It will show us the heat distribution among the device.

BitSyncom: i guess your shop system will be fixed soon, and we gonna be able to make the trade-in order today Smiley

Thanks

Icoin

I can do thermal imaging of my units when they arrive. I'm in the first batch expecting them soon.

Awesome, thank you!

ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 05:10:12 PM
 #124

I can do thermal imaging of my units when they arrive. I'm in the first batch expecting them soon.
where do you live ? (just curious about expecting time...)
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 05:50:44 PM
 #125

I can do thermal imaging of my units when they arrive. I'm in the first batch expecting them soon.
where do you live ? (just curious about expecting time...)

SE USA, Florida.
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 06:34:45 PM
 #126

Still having some amount of reliability problems.  Moving the miner in the office helped a great deal.  However, still seeing machine restarts for unknown reasons (note: must ping support, inquire about reboot logging).
[...]
Hi Jeff, I have noticed on you blog that "The miner is currently running on an already loaded residential house power circuit, while sharing a Back UPS ES 550 with another desktop machine. "
You probably know that your UPS can supply only 330W of load on its "battery backup" four outputs (the upper four ones). So maybe you connected Avalon on one of the four lower, "surge only protection" outputs. These outputs do NOT protect against transient-faults/brown-outs/sags events, so if you experience these in your home, then although unlikely, there is a slight chance that your Avalon unit becomes confused.
I'm also curious about the USB hub between controller and ASIC modules, what's its quality/reliability and how it's powered.
Good luck!
scintill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2013, 12:42:22 AM
 #127

You probably know that your UPS can supply only 330W of load on its "battery backup" four outputs (the upper four ones). So maybe you connected Avalon on one of the four lower, "surge only protection" outputs.

He did originally, but not now:

Quote from: jgarzik link=http://garzikrants.blogspot.com/2013/01/avalon-asic-miner-review.html
After 30 minutes or so of mining, the lights in my room flickered, UPS's beeped and complained.  Because of some stupidity (plugged into 'surge-only' side of UPS), the miner restarted as well.  After some reconfiguration, this problem was solved.

1SCiN5kqkAbxxwesKMsH9GvyWnWP5YK2W | donations
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 12:48:32 AM
 #128

Id suggest either ditching the ups, getting a proper one that's 1400-2000VA or getting a line-r to filter the power.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1375

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 01:12:34 AM
 #129

You probably know that your UPS can supply only 330W of load on its "battery backup" four outputs (the upper four ones). So maybe you connected Avalon on one of the four lower, "surge only protection" outputs.

He did originally, but not now:

Quote from: jgarzik link=http://garzikrants.blogspot.com/2013/01/avalon-asic-miner-review.html
After 30 minutes or so of mining, the lights in my room flickered, UPS's beeped and complained.  Because of some stupidity (plugged into 'surge-only' side of UPS), the miner restarted as well.  After some reconfiguration, this problem was solved.

since a an APC BackUPS ES-550 can only supply 330 watts (I have 2 and can can confirm that spec, its also posted online), plugging a 620 watt Avalon into the "surge only" outlet is correct - ie, use the unit only for surge suppression. if its plugged into the "battery backup" outlets the unit will likely just shut down when presented with that kind of load.

Aseras is right, get something more substantial. at the kind of coin that thing is cranking out right now its almost certainly worth it. needs 1100 VAC (650 watts) at least, so 1400 VAC (820 watt) unit is reasonable.
nathanrees19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
February 04, 2013, 01:45:41 AM
 #130

And right now, the miner is in a strange state where the controller (running Linux) and cgminer are alive, but fans are not running, and no work is occurring:

When they finally release sources, this should be pretty easy to fix.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 02:32:05 AM
 #131


Continuing to see restarts.  Restarts result in resumed mining, in all but one case.  In the "one case", the miner was accessible via web and cgminer was alive, but no work was being performed.

Yifu does not think heat is a factor, but speculates that other software components may be at fault.

Switched from slush to BTC Guild for the "vardiff" feature, to reduce network overhead.  Eligius also just deployed the "vardiff" feature.  This feature will be crucial for ASIC miners.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 02:47:57 AM
 #132

You probably know that your UPS can supply only 330W of load on its "battery backup" four outputs (the upper four ones). So maybe you connected Avalon on one of the four lower, "surge only protection" outputs.

He did originally, but not now:

Quote from: jgarzik link=http://garzikrants.blogspot.com/2013/01/avalon-asic-miner-review.html
After 30 minutes or so of mining, the lights in my room flickered, UPS's beeped and complained.  Because of some stupidity (plugged into 'surge-only' side of UPS), the miner restarted as well.  After some reconfiguration, this problem was solved.

since a an APC BackUPS ES-550 can only supply 330 watts (I have 2 and can can confirm that spec, its also posted online), plugging a 620 watt Avalon into the "surge only" outlet is correct - ie, use the unit only for surge suppression. if its plugged into the "battery backup" outlets the unit will likely just shut down when presented with that kind of load.

Aseras is right, get something more substantial. at the kind of coin that thing is cranking out right now its almost certainly worth it. needs 1100 VAC (650 watts) at least, so 1400 VAC (820 watt) unit is reasonable.

In my post I wanted to say something like "you probably connected into surge because backup output is not able to power it when power fails". If it's plugged into "battery backup" it will work fine until there's an outage or sag. In that moment the APC will shutdown its "backup" outputs and start to beep.
As you said, more substantial UPS is required.
mezzomix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 06:52:10 AM
 #133

BFL's single uses 72W at the wall, there is no ATX psu or DC/DC or extra for fans etc, just the host usage to be added. All speculating of course coz it ain't alive yet, but it is definitely no 620W, or 108W.

Yes it's all speculation. At the moment BFL is paperware which uses no power at all and produces not a single hash. Let's wait if they manage to release an ASIC product at all and after that, let's see what their power and hashing values are. At the moment Josh started with his pre-delay anouncements so don't expect a release soon.

Back to Avalon, will they open the source code or at least provide the sources to their customers?
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 01:26:24 PM
 #134

Good news.  Mining on BTC Guild with vardiff seems to have dramatically reduced the restarts.

Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2013, 01:54:17 PM
 #135

Good news.  Mining on BTC Guild with vardiff seems to have dramatically reduced the restarts.


Thanks for the update.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 01:54:57 PM
 #136

Maybe it's just normal restart variance Cheesy

Couldn't resist.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 02:06:45 PM
 #137

Have any other Avalon user's checked in yet?

Network has rate is up 1.5Ths/s, yes I know that's an estimation. Smiley

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
niko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


There is more to Bitcoin than bitcoins.


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 02:10:48 PM
 #138

I may have missed it - has anyone but Jeff and the hand-delivered BF received their shipment?

They're there, in their room.
Your mining rig is on fire, yet you're very calm.
dooferorg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 02:24:57 PM
 #139

So who is Jeff Garzik and why does he get the red-carpet treatment? I must have missed that memo...


BTC: 1dooferoD3vnwgez3Jo1E4bFfgMf81LR2
ZEC: t1gnToN2HZW4GD52kofEVdijhRijWjCNfYi
rudrigorc2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
February 04, 2013, 03:13:48 PM
 #140

Good news.  Mining on BTC Guild with vardiff seems to have dramatically reduced the restarts.


Which cgminer version are you using?  
For stratum Im using the latest xiangfu openwrt solution with cgminer 2.10.4 running 27 icarus and my rig is constantly restarting,

before update was using cgminer 2.7.5(non stratum) and the 703n was more stable.


edit: Im read the review and confirmed it is the *same* version!
What changes did you make to reduce the restarts?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!