Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2018, 04:11:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 435409 times)
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 08:27:13 PM
 #1101

I'm using Strombom firmware stable @ 11h 11m 33s 83647.44 @ 350 on slush Suggested difficulty set to 32 my temps are alot lower 46

Fans are not set @ 100% Fan1 2400 Fan2 3960 Fan3 3720


How did you change the fan setting from 100% to auto? Thanks

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
1531843868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531843868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531843868
Reply with quote  #2

1531843868
Report to moderator
1531843868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531843868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531843868
Reply with quote  #2

1531843868
Report to moderator
Automated Bitcoin Fork Extraction Tool WE DO TOUGH WALLETS: BCH | BTG | BCD | SBTC | UBTC | B2X | BCX | BTF Electrum 2FA, Trezor, Ledger, SegWit, Bech32
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531843868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531843868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531843868
Reply with quote  #2

1531843868
Report to moderator
1531843868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531843868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531843868
Reply with quote  #2

1531843868
Report to moderator
1531843868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531843868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531843868
Reply with quote  #2

1531843868
Report to moderator
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 08:28:27 PM
 #1102

So how hot is too hot?

I'm running my batch 1 and batch 2 units at 350MHz now.  B1 seems to have settled on 47c for temp3, where B2 is at 52c now.  Ambient temperature here is somewhat high (28c).

I have to place my unit right at the mouth of AC vent to make sure temp3 < 50C.
 In SW USA, top floor Smiley

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:07:44 PM
 #1103

So how hot is too hot?

I'm running my batch 1 and batch 2 units at 350MHz now.  B1 seems to have settled on 47c for temp3, where B2 is at 52c now.  Ambient temperature here is somewhat high (28c).

I have to place my unit right at the mouth of AC vent to make sure temp3 < 50C.
 In SW USA, top floor Smiley

Dude,
Can you tell me batch one unit blue fan is it sucking or blowing cold air like PWMS?
Please take a look at my last post

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:14:41 PM
 #1104

Blue fan pulls air into unit if I understand correctly
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:34:10 PM
 #1105

If anyone is interested in power consumption of the different clocks:

300:


325:


350:


375:


I think this is very acurate  Wink

greets,
ebereon


.ARAW.
The Decentralised
Payment
for E-Commerce Ecosystem
███████████████████████████
██████████████▀▀▀▀▀████████
████████████░░░░░░░████████
███████████░░░░▄███████████
███████████░░░░████████████
████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄▄▄░░░░▄▄▄█████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████░████████▀░░░░▀▀▄█████
█████░░▀▀████░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄░░░░░░░░▄█████████
████▄▀░░░░░░░░▄▄███████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████▀░░▀███████████████████
████▄░░▄███████████████████
███████████████████████████
████░░░░██░░░░▀░░░░░░▀█████
████░░░░██░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:42:00 PM
 #1106

Blue fan pulls air into unit if I understand correctly

Yes you do i have just checked it and it is indeed. i get confused
10X

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:45:40 PM
 #1107

ebereon,
Great post about power!

What about hash rate at 375?
I am afraid to test it and as reported there is no big increase performance


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:48:06 PM
 #1108

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:54:02 PM
 #1109

ebereon,
Great post about power!

What about hash rate at 375?
I am afraid to test it and as reported there is no big increase performance
Thanks!

As you can see, I had it running only 1 minute. It had 180HW errors and ~15 shares. The hashrate was ~76GH... very bad and not healty.


Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

.ARAW.
The Decentralised
Payment
for E-Commerce Ecosystem
███████████████████████████
██████████████▀▀▀▀▀████████
████████████░░░░░░░████████
███████████░░░░▄███████████
███████████░░░░████████████
████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄▄▄░░░░▄▄▄█████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████░████████▀░░░░▀▀▄█████
█████░░▀▀████░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄░░░░░░░░▄█████████
████▄▀░░░░░░░░▄▄███████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████▀░░▀███████████████████
████▄░░▄███████████████████
███████████████████████████
████░░░░██░░░░▀░░░░░░▀█████
████░░░░██░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:55:42 PM
 #1110

And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?


+1. Iam going to upgrade 3avalons with a 4th module from my 4th unit..... eill this need more than 850w psu?  what psu Is highly recommended
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:56:19 PM
 #1111

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:58:25 PM
 #1112

325 should be ok on 750 psu?
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:01:47 PM
 #1113

325 should be ok on 750 psu?

There is 14% reserve, so that should be OK. But it depends on quality of PSU.
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:07:53 PM
 #1114

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.

I think 750W is output power of the PSU. Should be ~900W@Wall.

At the moment I calculate 720W@Wall with ~80% effiziency = 576W PSU output. Thats fine I think.

.ARAW.
The Decentralised
Payment
for E-Commerce Ecosystem
███████████████████████████
██████████████▀▀▀▀▀████████
████████████░░░░░░░████████
███████████░░░░▄███████████
███████████░░░░████████████
████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄▄▄░░░░▄▄▄█████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████░████████▀░░░░▀▀▄█████
█████░░▀▀████░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄░░░░░░░░▄█████████
████▄▀░░░░░░░░▄▄███████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████▀░░▀███████████████████
████▄░░▄███████████████████
███████████████████████████
████░░░░██░░░░▀░░░░░░▀█████
████░░░░██░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:10:51 PM
 #1115

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.

I think 750W is output power of the PSU.

At the moment I calculate 720W@Wall with ~80% effiziency = 576W PSU output. Thats fine I think.

Erm you are right. I haven't realized you measured it on the PSU input. My mistake.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:18:23 PM
 #1116

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.

I think 750W is output power of the PSU. Should be ~900W@Wall.

At the moment I calculate 720W@Wall with ~80% effiziency = 576W PSU output. Thats fine I think.

so they should run 350 ok with stock PSU?
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:19:21 PM
 #1117

so they should run 350 ok with stock PSU?
Thats what I do  Cool

.ARAW.
The Decentralised
Payment
for E-Commerce Ecosystem
███████████████████████████
██████████████▀▀▀▀▀████████
████████████░░░░░░░████████
███████████░░░░▄███████████
███████████░░░░████████████
████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄▄▄░░░░▄▄▄█████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████░████████▀░░░░▀▀▄█████
█████░░▀▀████░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄░░░░░░░░▄█████████
████▄▀░░░░░░░░▄▄███████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████▀░░▀███████████████████
████▄░░▄███████████████████
███████████████████████████
████░░░░██░░░░▀░░░░░░▀█████
████░░░░██░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
████░░░░██░░░░█████░░░░████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:21:08 PM
 #1118

so they should run 350 ok with stock PSU?
Thats what I do  Cool

and it won't blow up while i sleep..... lol
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:21:34 PM
 #1119

The power consumption depends a lot on ambient temperature. My stock PSU consumes 850W at night and 950W during the day.
Upgraded to the Seasonic X-650 Gold 750W, and day power consumption reduced to 870W. All at 350MHz.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151087

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:26:10 PM
 #1120

can anyone recommend replacement fans for  batch one?
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!