Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 08:06:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 433719 times)
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 08:27:13 PM
 #1101

I'm using Strombom firmware stable @ 11h 11m 33s 83647.44 @ 350 on slush Suggested difficulty set to 32 my temps are alot lower 46

Fans are not set @ 100% Fan1 2400 Fan2 3960 Fan3 3720


How did you change the fan setting from 100% to auto? Thanks

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
1511510806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510806
Reply with quote  #2

1511510806
Report to moderator
1511510806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510806
Reply with quote  #2

1511510806
Report to moderator
1511510806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510806
Reply with quote  #2

1511510806
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511510806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510806
Reply with quote  #2

1511510806
Report to moderator
1511510806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510806
Reply with quote  #2

1511510806
Report to moderator
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 08:28:27 PM
 #1102

So how hot is too hot?

I'm running my batch 1 and batch 2 units at 350MHz now.  B1 seems to have settled on 47c for temp3, where B2 is at 52c now.  Ambient temperature here is somewhat high (28c).

I have to place my unit right at the mouth of AC vent to make sure temp3 < 50C.
 In SW USA, top floor Smiley

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:07:44 PM
 #1103

So how hot is too hot?

I'm running my batch 1 and batch 2 units at 350MHz now.  B1 seems to have settled on 47c for temp3, where B2 is at 52c now.  Ambient temperature here is somewhat high (28c).

I have to place my unit right at the mouth of AC vent to make sure temp3 < 50C.
 In SW USA, top floor Smiley

Dude,
Can you tell me batch one unit blue fan is it sucking or blowing cold air like PWMS?
Please take a look at my last post

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:14:41 PM
 #1104

Blue fan pulls air into unit if I understand correctly
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:34:10 PM
 #1105

If anyone is interested in power consumption of the different clocks:

300:


325:


350:


375:


I think this is very acurate  Wink

greets,
ebereon


██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:42:00 PM
 #1106

Blue fan pulls air into unit if I understand correctly

Yes you do i have just checked it and it is indeed. i get confused
10X

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:45:40 PM
 #1107

ebereon,
Great post about power!

What about hash rate at 375?
I am afraid to test it and as reported there is no big increase performance


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:48:06 PM
 #1108

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:54:02 PM
 #1109

ebereon,
Great post about power!

What about hash rate at 375?
I am afraid to test it and as reported there is no big increase performance
Thanks!

As you can see, I had it running only 1 minute. It had 180HW errors and ~15 shares. The hashrate was ~76GH... very bad and not healty.


Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:55:42 PM
 #1110

And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?


+1. Iam going to upgrade 3avalons with a 4th module from my 4th unit..... eill this need more than 850w psu?  what psu Is highly recommended
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:56:19 PM
 #1111

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 10:58:25 PM
 #1112

325 should be ok on 750 psu?
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:01:47 PM
 #1113

325 should be ok on 750 psu?

There is 14% reserve, so that should be OK. But it depends on quality of PSU.
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:07:53 PM
 #1114

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.

I think 750W is output power of the PSU. Should be ~900W@Wall.

At the moment I calculate 720W@Wall with ~80% effiziency = 576W PSU output. Thats fine I think.

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:10:51 PM
 #1115

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.

I think 750W is output power of the PSU.

At the moment I calculate 720W@Wall with ~80% effiziency = 576W PSU output. Thats fine I think.

Erm you are right. I haven't realized you measured it on the PSU input. My mistake.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:18:23 PM
 #1116

Is the measured consumption for 3 or 4 module Avalon? And what should be the recommended PSU wattage for 350 Mhz and 4 modules?

This is for 3 module avalon batch#2 black (stock 750W PSU). Just calculate the Wattage for 3 module to 1 and you know what it will be for 4 module  Wink

Hmm 720W IMO seems to be too much for 750W PSU in the long term usage.

I think 750W is output power of the PSU. Should be ~900W@Wall.

At the moment I calculate 720W@Wall with ~80% effiziency = 576W PSU output. Thats fine I think.

so they should run 350 ok with stock PSU?
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:19:21 PM
 #1117

so they should run 350 ok with stock PSU?
Thats what I do  Cool

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:21:08 PM
 #1118

so they should run 350 ok with stock PSU?
Thats what I do  Cool

and it won't blow up while i sleep..... lol
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:21:34 PM
 #1119

The power consumption depends a lot on ambient temperature. My stock PSU consumes 850W at night and 950W during the day.
Upgraded to the Seasonic X-650 Gold 750W, and day power consumption reduced to 870W. All at 350MHz.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151087

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:26:10 PM
 #1120

can anyone recommend replacement fans for  batch one?
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!