Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 04:56:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432460 times)
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 07:50:52 PM
 #541

Where is a good place to follow the hash rate?

http://bitcoindifficulty.com/

or at the source

http://bitcoin.sipa.be/speed-lin-10k.png

1511110610
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110610

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110610
Reply with quote  #2

1511110610
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511110610
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110610

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110610
Reply with quote  #2

1511110610
Report to moderator
1511110610
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110610

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110610
Reply with quote  #2

1511110610
Report to moderator
luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 09:49:54 PM
 #542

during April it will be ~100TH with Avalon #2. (avalon earnings 3-4 BTC)
lets see if BFL will appear also. With 200TH earnings go to 1.5-2 BTC,...etc
even with 1PH avalon is profitable with current BTC value (i am expecting though btc>100$ before that)
long live Asics, long live Avalon team Smiley
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 10:55:26 PM
 #543

how to disable the blue LED?
(only with cutting?)
TIA
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 11:50:18 PM
 #544

during April it will be ~100TH with Avalon #2. (avalon earnings 3-4 BTC)
lets see if BFL will appear also. With 200TH earnings go to 1.5-2 BTC,...etc
even with 1PH avalon is profitable with current BTC value (i am expecting though btc>100$ before that)
long live Asics, long live Avalon team Smiley

even with crazy difficulty numbers (like adding a 0 to go from 4.8 mil to 48 mil) even a jalepeno is profitable... assuming it's stats bear out, etc etc...

gonna be funny if i end up buying a jalepeno (i'm broke...) and using it to pay for an avalon.
invader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 10:01:48 AM
 #545

Is there someone who tried to move hashmodules lower? Does this improove cooling or not?
As i see, bottom fan just mostly passing cool air thru case (without fourth hashmodule)...
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 10:37:00 AM
 #546

Is there someone who tried to move hashmodules lower? Does this improove cooling or not?
As i see, bottom fan just mostly passing cool air thru case (without fourth hashmodule)...
One picture I've seen posted on a Chinese forum is this one:



but I'm not sure if this is much of an improvement, it would force all the air through the fins of the left module
invader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 10:40:54 AM
 #547

I really smiled when i seen this picture, this is a strange solution.
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 10:53:34 AM
 #548

I really smiled when i seen this picture, this is a strange solution.
I'm sure ngzhang will post that he puked when he saw that picture :-)
invader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 12:25:57 PM
 #549

So i moved the modules, and it seems to be better at first look.
WARNING: use your own mind when considering doing the same.

before
Quote
[2013-03-18 12:37:02] Avalon: Fan1: 0/m, Fan2: 2280/m, Fan3: 2280/m    Temp1: 22C, Temp2: -1C, Temp3: 45C, TempMAX: 46C
after
Quote
[2013-03-18 16:19:23] Avalon: Fan1: 0/m, Fan2: 2040/m, Fan3: 2040/m    Temp1: 19C, Temp2: -1C, Temp3: 44C, TempMAX: 44C
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 02:23:53 PM
 #550

I encountered the fan/temp bug again this morning.  I noticed it cycled the fans on maximum speed for about 200ms, and when I checked the cgminer status page again the temp and fanspeed readings showed non-sane values that varied rapidly and were sometimes negative.

It also stopped hashing.  I presume as a safety measure.

I let it go like this for about 3 minutes this time to see if it would recover.  It cycled the fans onto maximum for 200ms a few more times, but never did.

When I restarted cgminer via System --> Startup in the web UI, it then mined normally again and showed normal sensor values.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 03:02:48 PM
 #551

Anyone have such high HW errors? What does this indicate?

   [Getworks] => 1963
   [Accepted] => 27062
   [Rejected] => 963
   [Hardware Errors] => 866
   [Utility] => 30.57
   [Discarded] => 3649

Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 03:37:35 PM
 #552

Anyone have such high HW errors? What does this indicate?

   [Getworks] => 1963
   [Accepted] => 27062
   [Rejected] => 963
   [Hardware Errors] => 866
   [Utility] => 30.57
   [Discarded] => 3649

I did when I was overclocking with --avalon-options 115200:24:10:45:300

Changing to --avalon-options 115200:24:10:42:300 cleared it up for me (thanks to luffy for suggesting it).

Supposedly the fourth parameter is a "controller timeout".  I'm not sure why reducing it helps.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 03:41:16 PM
 #553

I encountered the fan/temp bug again this morning.  I noticed it cycled the fans on maximum speed for about 200ms, and when I checked the cgminer status page again the temp and fanspeed readings showed non-sane values that varied rapidly and were sometimes negative.

It also stopped hashing.  I presume as a safety measure.

I let it go like this for about 3 minutes this time to see if it would recover.  It cycled the fans onto maximum for 200ms a few more times, but never did.

When I restarted cgminer via System --> Startup in the web UI, it then mined normally again and showed normal sensor values.

is there a way to automate the cgminer restart?
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 03:49:48 PM
 #554

I encountered the fan/temp bug again this morning.  I noticed it cycled the fans on maximum speed for about 200ms, and when I checked the cgminer status page again the temp and fanspeed readings showed non-sane values that varied rapidly and were sometimes negative.

It also stopped hashing.  I presume as a safety measure.

I let it go like this for about 3 minutes this time to see if it would recover.  It cycled the fans onto maximum for 200ms a few more times, but never did.

When I restarted cgminer via System --> Startup in the web UI, it then mined normally again and showed normal sensor values.

is there a way to automate the cgminer restart?

Probably.  I imagine the restart will be the easy part.  Detecting the failure condition programmatically will be the harder part.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 03:57:04 PM
 #555

...
Probably.  I imagine the restart will be the easy part.  Detecting the failure condition programmatically will be the harder part.
Of course not ... my API has all sorts of information that will show the condition ... and if the API isn't working, you take that to mean the condition exists also.
Of course there are updates to the API but ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
invader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 04:01:45 PM
 #556

Someone asked if i moved all modules, or just one - the answer is
MOVE ALL THE MODULES Grin
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 04:03:45 PM
 #557

...
Probably.  I imagine the restart will be the easy part.  Detecting the failure condition programmatically will be the harder part.
Of course not ... my API has all sorts of information that will show the condition ... and if the API isn't working, you take that to mean the condition exists also.
Of course there are updates to the API but ...

Cool.  I'm not too familiar with it.  Is it JSONRPC just like bitcoind?  Care to give a cookbook query string to get the current hashrate?

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 06:25:44 PM
 #558

Anyone have such high HW errors? What does this indicate?

   [Getworks] => 1963
   [Accepted] => 27062
   [Rejected] => 963
   [Hardware Errors] => 866
   [Utility] => 30.57
   [Discarded] => 3649

I did when I was overclocking with --avalon-options 115200:24:10:45:300

Changing to --avalon-options 115200:24:10:42:300 cleared it up for me (thanks to luffy for suggesting it).

Supposedly the fourth parameter is a "controller timeout".  I'm not sure why reducing it helps.

I tried different parameters, including the default 45/282 value, the result is almost the same, hardware error rate about 3% of accepted, and my ambient temp is -3 degree now
   [fan1] => 0
   [fan2] => 720
   [fan3] => 720
   [temp1] => -3
   [temp2] => -1
   [temp3] => 28
   [temp_max] => 28

SZD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 12:34:55 AM
 #559

How loud are these things? Also looks like if you have 20amp circuits you can only have 3 units per circuit  assuming you don't have a ton of other stuff already plugged in! Then maybe just 2. So much power use...
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2013, 03:07:06 AM
 #560

I'm in the US. Will one of these work on my 15-20amp circuit? I have all 110V lines of course, regular house. Do I need to install a 240 or something?


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!