Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 08:07:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 433726 times)
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 04:28:42 AM
 #441

Hi

We have document the Avalon at this wiki page, please help us on that wiki page.
  http://en.qi-hardware.com/wiki/Avalon

You can find the firmwares here:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/

ChangeLog:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/ChangeLog

This link is always link to latest firmware:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Please report bug here:
  https://github.com/BitSyncom/cgminer-openwrt-packages

Xiangfu
1511510839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510839
Reply with quote  #2

1511510839
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511510839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510839
Reply with quote  #2

1511510839
Report to moderator
1511510839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510839
Reply with quote  #2

1511510839
Report to moderator
1511510839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511510839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511510839
Reply with quote  #2

1511510839
Report to moderator
xempew
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
March 13, 2013, 04:36:46 AM
 #442

Hi

We have document the Avalon at this wiki page, please help us on that wiki page.
  http://en.qi-hardware.com/wiki/Avalon

You can find the firmwares here:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/

ChangeLog:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/ChangeLog

This link is always link to latest firmware:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Please report bug here:
  https://github.com/BitSyncom/cgminer-openwrt-packages

Xiangfu

Thanks Xiangfu for posting this.  Assuming I get to make use of this resource you have taken the time to set up (pending delivery from BitSyncom)-- may I have an address to send BTC donation to?

Thanks for your efforts.

In Satoshi We Trust.
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 589


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 08:15:54 AM
 #443

is this speed ok or are there only 2 mining:

Code:
Status            MHS5s          MinerCount     AsicCount
Alive            45621.57          24                  10



check if one of the power cable lost connection to the module.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 04:53:36 PM
 #444


Continuing to experience a "halting problem" on my Avalon ASIC miner:

The miner stops mining, fans stop spinning, but cgminer is alive and responding to API queries.

Pastebin of cgminer API log, at the time of the stopped-mining incident:  http://pastebin.com/uiBvaJkH


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
March 13, 2013, 05:11:26 PM
 #445


Continuing to experience a "halting problem" on my Avalon ASIC miner:

The miner stops mining, fans stop spinning, but cgminer is alive and responding to API queries.

Pastebin of cgminer API log, at the time of the stopped-mining incident:  http://pastebin.com/uiBvaJkH



Thank you for a factual, clinically dispassionate report.

I try to be respectful and informed.
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 05:14:38 PM
 #446


Continuing to experience a "halting problem" on my Avalon ASIC miner:

The miner stops mining, fans stop spinning, but cgminer is alive and responding to API queries.

Pastebin of cgminer API log, at the time of the stopped-mining incident:  http://pastebin.com/uiBvaJkH



Are you running the latest firmware that is linked above?  Trying to follow what version people are having issues and success on.  Thanks!

D

[Winter Fire Sale] Hosting: $60.00 per KW) [6-month contracts] - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 05:15:58 PM
 #447


Continuing to experience a "halting problem" on my Avalon ASIC miner:

The miner stops mining, fans stop spinning, but cgminer is alive and responding to API queries.
I think here was the same: after been away for xx hours I see now Elapsed x hours in Cgminer Status...
but I am happy that it seemingly restarts
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 589


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 05:20:34 PM
 #448


Continuing to experience a "halting problem" on my Avalon ASIC miner:

The miner stops mining, fans stop spinning, but cgminer is alive and responding to API queries.

Pastebin of cgminer API log, at the time of the stopped-mining incident:  http://pastebin.com/uiBvaJkH



fan stop spinning? is the ATX power still on? if there is a power fault, you will see a red led light up behind the white (blue led)fan.
if the blue led fan operate normally, i think this is a communication issue between 703N and controlly board. would you please just skip the 703N and connect the control board to a PC and try? do not forget remove the P5 before you do this.

thank you.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 05:36:50 PM
 #449

check if one of the power cable lost connection to the module.
thx, yes there was a non affiliated cable on the lower PCB...
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 07:28:55 PM
 #450

How can I tell what firmware version I'm running?

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 08:53:23 PM
 #451

The firmware I'm currently running is openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory-20130225.bin

MD5SUM: e81950212f813652b9d7b989765bc35f
SHA1SUM: b297223d387e4d69996fa0765879d81a6c897dd6



Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 09:37:00 PM
 #452

The firmware I'm currently running is openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory-20130225.bin

MD5SUM: e81950212f813652b9d7b989765bc35f
SHA1SUM: b297223d387e4d69996fa0765879d81a6c897dd6



Looks like you may be running the same version but you quoted the (20130225 - Feb 25th?) at the end of the file name compared to:

This link is always link to latest firmware:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin


Are these the exact same?

Thanks Jeff,
D

[Winter Fire Sale] Hosting: $60.00 per KW) [6-month contracts] - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 09:43:39 PM
 #453

The firmware I'm currently running is openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory-20130225.bin

MD5SUM: e81950212f813652b9d7b989765bc35f
SHA1SUM: b297223d387e4d69996fa0765879d81a6c897dd6



Looks like you may be running the same version but you quoted the (20130225 - Feb 25th?) at the end of the file name compared to:

This link is always link to latest firmware:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin


Are these the exact same?

The MD5 and SHA1 hashes were provided so that you may answer that question yourself Smiley


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 11:38:15 PM
 #454


Continuing to experience a "halting problem" on my Avalon ASIC miner:

The miner stops mining, fans stop spinning, but cgminer is alive and responding to API queries.

Pastebin of cgminer API log, at the time of the stopped-mining incident:  http://pastebin.com/uiBvaJkH

Another thing to consider ... there are a few locks inside cgminer to of course handle threaded access to certain data.
Maybe something is deadlocking in the Avalon version?
Just a suggested path to look into ... if it isn't a hardware problem.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kaerf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 624


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 12:21:49 AM
 #455

I know the field is currently limited, but has anyone else tried to do some stupid shit like me and attempted to get a custom version of cgminer running on the avalon?

I compiled a new version of cgminer without avalon support but with bitforce support (since the avalon version of cgminer is incompatible with other hardware). Everything compiles, but when run it I get "BFL0: invalid nonce - HW error"

The post at https://forums.butterflylabs.com/fpga-single-minirig-support/266-bitforce-single-fails-2.html seems to point at some bad/incompatible usb issues. My avalon miner also tends to crash after I plug a bitforce into the usb hub.
Have you tried the BFGMiner Avalon firmware? This should work with both Avalon and BitForce devices.

I've tried your openwrt package and it works on a new router that I got. I haven't tried it on the avalon since I put the screws back in the case (what a pain in the ass!) and don't have access to the USB hub now.

FWIW, I tried several versions of cgminer (2.10.5, HEAD, usb-dev, psheps) and all of them fail on OpenWrt with "BFL Invalid nonce" errors. However, BFGminer does not error during mining. BFGMiner, however, does segfault on exit (and messes up the terminal screen).

So my assumption is that bfgminer will work on the avalon based on it working on my tplink wdr4300. note: no way i'm going to try and install the custom bfg firmware...too risky.
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 12:48:06 AM
 #456

How can I tell what firmware version I'm running?

Hi

Under recently firmware. there is a version files for avalon firmware(include all repo commit sha), if your avalon don't have such file. update to latest firmware:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory-20130225.bin

cat /etc/avalon_version
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 01:39:05 AM
 #457

How can I tell what firmware version I'm running?

Hi

Under recently firmware. there is a version files for avalon firmware(include all repo commit sha), if your avalon don't have such file. update to latest firmware:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory-20130225.bin

cat /etc/avalon_version

at some point could you outline step by step how to upgrade firmware for all of us?  i use a macbook pro. 

this is obviously going to be something we all will be doing regularly and none of us want to brick the avalon.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:40:51 AM
 #458

at some point could you outline step by step how to upgrade firmware for all of us?  i use a macbook pro. 

this is obviously going to be something we all will be doing regularly and none of us want to brick the avalon.

That's easy.  Just login to the web interface, and go System -> Backup/Flash Firmware.

Upload the firmware via web browser.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Mills00013
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 03:21:21 AM
 #459

at some point could you outline step by step how to upgrade firmware for all of us?  i use a macbook pro. 

this is obviously going to be something we all will be doing regularly and none of us want to brick the avalon.

That's easy.  Just login to the web interface, and go System -> Backup/Flash Firmware.

Upload the firmware via web browser.



Guessing you have to have the firmware on a flash drive plugged into the USB hub and mounted? Or is there enough space on the device to download the firmware locally?
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 03:26:28 AM
 #460

at some point could you outline step by step how to upgrade firmware for all of us?  i use a macbook pro. 

this is obviously going to be something we all will be doing regularly and none of us want to brick the avalon.

That's easy.  Just login to the web interface, and go System -> Backup/Flash Firmware.

Upload the firmware via web browser.

Guessing you have to have the firmware on a flash drive plugged into the USB hub and mounted? Or is there enough space on the device to download the firmware locally?

To repeat:  upload the firmware via web browser:   System -> Backup/Flash Firmware.

From the perspective of the user (you), the firmware is on the computer with the web browser.  You connect via web browser to the ASIC miner's OpenWRT web interface, and upload the firmware via web browser.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!