Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2018, 12:40:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 ... 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 435409 times)
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 10:09:33 PM
 #321

In the past, we still need an old cheap PC to control the mining rigs, now with Avalon, we don't even need that PC controller right? ( I have never mined bitcoin before, so I have to ask.)
Rather, it has a router builtin to serve that purpose.
so what's the best way to solo mine with it?  can u load bitcoind into open-wrt or do u have to use a pc?
Avalon/cgminer doesn't work with GBT, so you can't solo mine directly. You'll need to setup a PC with bitcoind + Eloipool.
Once I'm done with BFL SC support, I'll take a longer look at porting BFGMiner to Avalon so solo mining is more practical.

that would be helpful.
1532004035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532004035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532004035
Reply with quote  #2

1532004035
Report to moderator
1532004035
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532004035

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532004035
Reply with quote  #2

1532004035
Report to moderator
fair bitcoin games | pvp - pve - solo pve games | faucet |
Free satoshi code btcoon500
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 10:12:41 PM
 #322

New firmware received from Avalon via email.

Upgrade was successful using standard web-based OpenWRT firmware upgrade procedure.

New image appears to be based on cgminer 2.10.5, and the fans are running at a much higher speed (and noise level) than the previous image.  Restarted and was back to mining within minutes... let's see how this impacts stability.



i too would like to know how to mine solo thru eloipool.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2013, 11:11:20 PM
 #323

are the --avalon-options parameters specified anywhere yet? like what they actually each do? Im curious... does the last one really control the clockspeed?

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1010


Mining since 2010


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2013, 11:17:35 PM
 #324

Jeff,

What is the IP address to access the mining interface on your Avalon?  Did it come with any documentation?

Hosting: Low as $85.00 per KW - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 11:25:40 PM
 #325

Jeff,

What is the IP address to access the mining interface on your Avalon?  Did it come with any documentation?

192.168.0.1 if i recall it correctly. No docs. No dhcp. Just connect and configure manually.

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
Beepbop
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 11:29:22 PM
 #326

It was indeed a static IP
I did say I needed "instructions from the mothership", which was simply the static IP address for which the machine was configured.

Once obtained -- as my review states -- you are able to access the box and set a root password.  Standard OpenWRT behavior and configuration in that regard.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 11:48:42 PM
 #327

It was indeed a static IP
I did say I needed "instructions from the mothership", which was simply the static IP address for which the machine was configured.

Once obtained -- as my review states -- you are able to access the box and set a root password.  Standard OpenWRT behavior and configuration in that regard.

is open wrt anything like dd wrt?
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 11:49:52 PM
 #328

It was indeed a static IP
I did say I needed "instructions from the mothership", which was simply the static IP address for which the machine was configured.

Once obtained -- as my review states -- you are able to access the box and set a root password.  Standard OpenWRT behavior and configuration in that regard.
is open wrt anything like dd wrt?
DD-Wrt is based on OpenWrt.

fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 12:27:28 AM
 #329

It was indeed a static IP
I did say I needed "instructions from the mothership", which was simply the static IP address for which the machine was configured.

Once obtained -- as my review states -- you are able to access the box and set a root password.  Standard OpenWRT behavior and configuration in that regard.
is open wrt anything like dd wrt?
DD-Wrt is based on OpenWrt.

If you can configure a linksys router with a static ip and know how to gpu mine you will have it setup and running in 5 minutes.
As long as you know the ip addy, subnet, default user/pass, and maybe have a cross over eth cable handy for your pc to connectto it you will be just fine.

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 12:44:11 AM
 #330

It was indeed a static IP
I did say I needed "instructions from the mothership", which was simply the static IP address for which the machine was configured.

Once obtained -- as my review states -- you are able to access the box and set a root password.  Standard OpenWRT behavior and configuration in that regard.
is open wrt anything like dd wrt?
DD-Wrt is based on OpenWrt.

If you can configure a linksys router with a static ip and know how to gpu mine you will have it setup and running in 5 minutes.
As long as you know the ip addy, subnet, default user/pass, and maybe have a cross over eth cable handy for your pc to connectto it you will be just fine.

so do we know yet how these Avalons will connect to a pc?  usb or ethernet?
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1001


View Profile
February 20, 2013, 12:51:04 AM
 #331

so do we know yet how these Avalons will connect to a pc?  usb or ethernet?

Wifi or ethernet


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 12:53:48 AM
 #332

It was indeed a static IP
I did say I needed "instructions from the mothership", which was simply the static IP address for which the machine was configured.

Once obtained -- as my review states -- you are able to access the box and set a root password.  Standard OpenWRT behavior and configuration in that regard.
is open wrt anything like dd wrt?
DD-Wrt is based on OpenWrt.

If you can configure a linksys router with a static ip and know how to gpu mine you will have it setup and running in 5 minutes.
As long as you know the ip addy, subnet, default user/pass, and maybe have a cross over eth cable handy for your pc to connectto it you will be just fine.

Can it support IPv6?
Is there an OpenWRT image we can start up in a VirtualBox and shorten the learning curve?

I try to be respectful and informed.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 01:02:46 AM
 #333

Can it support IPv6?
OpenWrt does.

Is there an OpenWRT image we can start up in a VirtualBox and shorten the learning curve?
I think so.

hardcore-fs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2013, 01:03:45 AM
 #334

so do we know yet how these Avalons will connect to a pc?  usb or ethernet?

Wifi or ethernet



both...
Please pay MORE attention to the photographs posted.

BTC:1PCTzvkZUFuUF7DA6aMEVjBUUp35wN5JtF
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 01:19:34 AM
 #335

so do we know yet how these Avalons will connect to a pc?  usb or ethernet?

Wifi or ethernet



i have a windows 7 machine.  i understand that i can configure my 3 avalon units via the browser using open wrt via the wifi connection.

but will i need a copy of bitcoind or qt on the windows machine or does eloipool somehow act as the server?  an explanation as to how you set this up would be helpful for those of us wanting to solo.
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 01:39:46 AM
 #336

Can it support IPv6?
OpenWrt does.

Is there an OpenWRT image we can start up in a VirtualBox and shorten the learning curve?
I think so.

I loaded the VirtualBox image from link on the Wiki page.
Comes up 192.168.1.1, no IPv6 address.


I try to be respectful and informed.
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 01:45:58 AM
 #337

Can it support IPv6?
OpenWrt does.

Is there an OpenWRT image we can start up in a VirtualBox and shorten the learning curve?
I think so.

I loaded the VirtualBox image from link on the Wiki page.
Comes up 192.168.1.1, no IPv6 address.



A lot of those small linux os might not include ipv6 due to size so some research might be needed to find right image or roll your own. But i am sure they crossed that hurdle years ago. But those ready to go images might be made for worse case hardware.

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 02:05:34 AM
 #338

Can it support IPv6?
OpenWrt does.

Is there an OpenWRT image we can start up in a VirtualBox and shorten the learning curve?
I think so.

I loaded the VirtualBox image from link on the Wiki page.
Comes up 192.168.1.1, no IPv6 address.
Most likely it needs to be configured...

ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 03:29:24 AM
 #339

Can it support IPv6?
OpenWrt does.

Is there an OpenWRT image we can start up in a VirtualBox and shorten the learning curve?
I think so.

I loaded the VirtualBox image from link on the Wiki page.
Comes up 192.168.1.1, no IPv6 address.
Most likely it needs to be configured...

I edited /etc/config/network from the console (option proto static --> option proto dhcp) and got basic IPv4 connectivity.
For the actual Avalon, I will have to have a 192.168.1.x subnet configured.

I installed IPv6 support.
    opkg install kmod-ipv6
    opkg install ip

OpenWRT picked up a global IPv6 address from radvd.

My DNS server also has entries that resolve to
    localnet.vima.austin.tx.us  fe00::0
    allnodes.vima.austin.tx.us  ff02::1
    allhosts.vima.austin.tx.us   ff02::3
and these are sometimes useful for troubleshooting.



I try to be respectful and informed.
ralree
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


Manateeeeeeees


View Profile
February 20, 2013, 12:44:17 PM
 #340

Avalon shipped a month ago!  I'm glad so many people have received their equipment.  Go Avalon!

http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20130220T20&p0=33&msg=Avalon+shipped+a+month+ago%21

1MANaTeEZoH4YkgMYz61E5y4s9BYhAuUjG
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 ... 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!