Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 04:58:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1197 1198 1199 1200 1201 1202 1203 1204 1205 1206 1207 1208 1209 1210 1211 1212 1213 1214 1215 1216 1217 1218 1219 1220 1221 1222 1223 1224 1225 1226 1227 1228 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 [1247] 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 1278 1279 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3011624 times)
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:28:34 AM
 #24921

You guys know of course that every house in north america has 2 phase 110v...so 220v is available at your panel...you would just need an electrician to come and put in a breaker and a dedicated line to the area where the miner is.

That's 120/240V.  Sure, adding a proper 240V circuit is the sensible way to go for homeowners, but may not be an option for renters, especially in apartments.

For those cases I imagine using multiple power supplies on different circuits with properly-sized extension cords may be an option.  If I were doing that I would try to make sure all of the circuits powering one single miner came off the same leg.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
1511369915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369915
Reply with quote  #2

1511369915
Report to moderator
1511369915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369915
Reply with quote  #2

1511369915
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511369915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369915
Reply with quote  #2

1511369915
Report to moderator
1511369915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369915
Reply with quote  #2

1511369915
Report to moderator
1511369915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369915
Reply with quote  #2

1511369915
Report to moderator
ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Hell?


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:42:35 AM
 #24922

I still like my idea of splitting it into two seperate boxes.....
reactor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:48:37 AM
 #24923

I still like my idea of splitting it into two seperate boxes.....

KNC Mini-Rig. Cheesy
Jaymax
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:51:18 AM
 #24924

Y'all stuck thinking inside the box...

My Jupiter and Upgraded Saturn-Jupiter have been running for weeks with nary a PC PSU in sight.

Clue 1) 12V industrial power supplies are not hard to find
Clue 2) 5V industrial power supplies are not hard to find
Clue 3) alidirect.com
Clue 4) common your grounds!

And for a bonus - power supplies designed for a fixed specific voltage, are WAY cheaper.  I have a separate 12V switch-mode supply for each ASIC module, and they cost about £8 each - and they should easily handle two 'legacy' KnC ASICs each.

Now please carry on as you were.
Wesly
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 12:52:35 AM
 #24925

I still like my idea of splitting it into two seperate boxes.....

I sure hope not!  I say give me as much hashing density as one can fit into one standard 4U form factor.  My one biggest wish is they will finally figure out how to integrate/fit the PSU inside the chassis like HashFast and Cointerra, which probably also meant they will need some type of water cooling system.
Wesly
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 12:55:26 AM
 #24926

I still like my idea of splitting it into two seperate boxes.....

KNC Mini-Rig. Cheesy

Hey, that's exactly what I was thinking about too, I guess if they pull a Josh/BFL and it turned out it require 6000+ Watt, they might have to separate into 3 Mini Mini-Rig boxes  Grin
Henchman24
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:56:31 AM
 #24927

Plug one of these into your 30 amp electric dryer outlet.  Bam! Enough power to feed 2 Neptunes!

Do you want bitcoins or dry clothes?   Grin Wink

http://www.powerboxinc.com/7500_combo.html
th3joker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 317


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:57:30 AM
 #24928

What pools are people using for their Jupiters and any special settings other than server, username and password?
Wesly
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 12:57:37 AM
 #24929

Y'all stuck thinking inside the box...

My Jupiter and Upgraded Saturn-Jupiter have been running for weeks with nary a PC PSU in sight.

Clue 1) 12V industrial power supplies are not hard to find
Clue 2) 5V industrial power supplies are not hard to find
Clue 3) alidirect.com
Clue 4) common your grounds!

And for a bonus - power supplies designed for a fixed specific voltage, are WAY cheaper.  I have a separate 12V switch-mode supply for each ASIC module, and they cost about £8 each - and they should easily handle two 'legacy' KnC ASICs each.

Now please carry on as you were.

Sounds interesting, how energy efficiency are these industrial power supplies?   alidirect.com took me to some generic landing page hosted by Bluehost...
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 01:12:47 AM
 #24930

I had the option and opportunity to buy a pre-order 10K unit but my gut told me it won't be as lucrative as the Jupiter I have now. Because of the other companies putting out hardware (it's only a matter of time they will), and such a far time in the future KNC indicated shipping times. When a company says they will ship a product in Q1/Q2 that means they have no clue on when they are shipping anything. How can you NOT know when you will ship something within a three month time? If things are that messed up and have to add another 3 months to it then something is wrong.

I am jealous of people getting Jupiters now, I would have loved to grab a couple of those and to tell you the truth have no idea why I didn't order any. I guess my single upgraded Saturn hashing at 560Gh/s will stay on until it dies.


Hey, anyone in the US know how to compute what it cost approx to run this rig? It pulls 650 watts from the wall and I think is at 5-6 amps. I'm just trying to figure out what the electrical cost is. I'm in the Eastern US.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Jaymax
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:15:44 AM
 #24931

Y'all stuck thinking inside the box...

My Jupiter and Upgraded Saturn-Jupiter have been running for weeks with nary a PC PSU in sight.

Clue 1) 12V industrial power supplies are not hard to find
Clue 2) 5V industrial power supplies are not hard to find
Clue 3) alidirect.com
Clue 4) common your grounds!

And for a bonus - power supplies designed for a fixed specific voltage, are WAY cheaper.  I have a separate 12V switch-mode supply for each ASIC module, and they cost about £8 each - and they should easily handle two 'legacy' KnC ASICs each.

Now please carry on as you were.

Sounds interesting, how energy efficiency are these industrial power supplies?   alidirect.com took me to some generic landing page hosted by Bluehost...

Doh! My bad - aliexpress.com (it's late here)  -  I am in the luxurious position of having unmetered power, so I haven't checked at the wall to see if they meet the claimed efficiency - but then, with power supplies generally, the quoted efficiency is probably only valid within some narrow load range.  It would only be fair to note that the wee internal fans have already crapped out on two of the eight 12V supplies I have running so far; but dropping on a cheap external 12V fan over the chassis grill will not be hard (because the supplies are under-loaded, I haven't bothered with this yet)
kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:24:31 AM
 #24932

I had the option and opportunity to buy a pre-order 10K unit but my gut told me it won't be as lucrative as the Jupiter I have now. Because of the other companies putting out hardware (it's only a matter of time they will), and such a far time in the future KNC indicated shipping times. When a company says they will ship a product in Q1/Q2 that means they have no clue on when they are shipping anything. How can you NOT know when you will ship something within a three month time? If things are that messed up and have to add another 3 months to it then something is wrong.

I am jealous of people getting Jupiters now, I would have loved to grab a couple of those and to tell you the truth have no idea why I didn't order any. I guess my single upgraded Saturn hashing at 560Gh/s will stay on until it dies.


Hey, anyone in the US know how to compute what it cost approx to run this rig? It pulls 650 watts from the wall and I think is at 5-6 amps. I'm just trying to figure out what the electrical cost is. I'm in the Eastern US.



If your cost is 15 cents per kilowatt hour, I believe you would calculate it like this:

((650 watts * 24 hours) / 1000 watts per hour) * .15 cents = $2.34 per day
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:25:04 AM
 #24933

Do we even know if 20nm is just a die shrink of 28nm or a completely new design?  If it's a new ASIC design then power usage estimates are pointless at this point.

Bitfury had comparable power usage at 55nm and HashFast and Cointerra are predicting much more efficient devices at 28nm than KNC's.  So hopefully KNC will continue to stay one step ahead and no just accept an inefficient design as inevitable.
wasubii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


...


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:25:12 AM
 #24934

A reasonably priced batch of Saturn/Mercury type units would sell out no problem at this point since KNC is 'proven', but all their store shows is the Neptune.  

I can not understand this either and KnC makes no sense in not offering Saturn/Mercury miners "in mass".

Any ASIC business usually develops a chip and then runs it for at least 1 year. Now that their first design is proven, bugs are worked out and NRE costs recouped, KnC could do large volume runs of the older line and price these things at levels that blow the competition away. Everyone will flock to them since they are proven. Or they could just offer the ASICs and let the 3rd party board developers run with it.

In the ASIC business the high-volume player always wins in the long run, it makes sense for any successful bitcoin ASIC vendor to take this route early to establish themselves. IMHO KnC is opening the door for Black Arrow or other similar ASICs to take a higher volume route with 3rd party board developers.


Doing that may kill the goose that lays the golden egg. I think the reason Knc is doing limiting batches is to avoid driving up the difficulty to the point where it is no longer cost effective for them to manufacture new ASIC devices.

Every machine Knc delivers effectively pushes down the value of their future devices, which is one of the great paradoxes of the zero sum bitcoin mining game.

KnC have always stated that they will sell machines and they will ALSO mine.

If it were me, i would still be producing 28nm machines for mining, not selling.

While the schmucks are swooning over 20nm in 6 months, KnC mine is reaching into the PH level based on tuned and tweaked 28nm tech

EDIT: forgot to disclose that i am one of those Schmucks with a 20nm preorder...

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄             
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄       
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █   
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀     
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀               
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 01:29:49 AM
 #24935

Anyone interested in a way to remove the 24 pin ATX cable  Roll Eyes

I made some for myself - you just plug it directly at the back of the PSU and it starts.

The left single one is for EVGA 1300W and the right 2 ones are for Cooler Master V850/V1000 and probably other PSUs that use the same platform:



Good buy unnecessary 24 pin cable  Grin

I'm going to buy two Cooler Master V1000's so I would need two of those 19pin plugs. Do you have them made already? I know where to buy them and even have PCI-E pins/crimps but if you already have them, let me know. I'll need two of them.
Thanks.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:36:15 AM
 #24936


I'm going to buy two Cooler Master V1000's so I would need two of those 19pin plugs. Do you have them made already? I know where to buy them and even have PCI-E pins/crimps but if you already have them, let me know. I'll need two of them.
Thanks.


You need 19pin and 10 pin per PSU or it will not start. I've been racking my brain for the past couple of days why it wouldn't start and found the answer Smiley

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 01:47:57 AM
 #24937


I'm going to buy two Cooler Master V1000's so I would need two of those 19pin plugs. Do you have them made already? I know where to buy them and even have PCI-E pins/crimps but if you already have them, let me know. I'll need two of them.
Thanks.


You need 19pin and 10 pin per PSU or it will not start. I've been racking my brain for the past couple of days why it wouldn't start and found the answer Smiley

Thanks for the helpful info, I would have never guessed since every PSU I ever jump started only used one connector. I do see that has two MB connections. Also, this unit has 4 PCI-E which is great for 4 modules and a Jupiter but heard Coolermaster was cheap and only put 3 cables in the box. Is that true?

Did you buy extra cables from Coolermaster?

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:50:52 AM
 #24938


I'm going to buy two Cooler Master V1000's so I would need two of those 19pin plugs. Do you have them made already? I know where to buy them and even have PCI-E pins/crimps but if you already have them, let me know. I'll need two of them.
Thanks.


You need 19pin and 10 pin per PSU or it will not start. I've been racking my brain for the past couple of days why it wouldn't start and found the answer Smiley

Thanks for the helpful info, I would have never guessed since every PSU I ever jump started only used one connector. I do see that has two MB connections. Also, this unit has 4 PCI-E which is great for 4 modules and a Jupiter but heard Coolermaster was cheap and only put 3 cables in the box. Is that true?

Did you buy extra cables from Coolermaster?

V850 comes with 3 cables. V1000 comes with 4.
Another thing is you can safely use the CPU ports with PCI-E cables, so you have 6 in total Wink

Cooler Master sent me free cables that I requested over email Wink

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
elaramus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 220


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:54:28 AM
 #24939

November order 10103, received my tracking number today. States expected delivery Thursday 5, December.
KGBSlim
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

CoinSlingin


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 02:15:33 AM
 #24940

November order 10103, received my tracking number today. States expected delivery Thursday 5, December.
102xx same deal man! Congratz and happy mining!

Tips - 16AbA3b2GRR37t6RasVJmoxXTGuGUE1PAP
Pages: « 1 ... 1197 1198 1199 1200 1201 1202 1203 1204 1205 1206 1207 1208 1209 1210 1211 1212 1213 1214 1215 1216 1217 1218 1219 1220 1221 1222 1223 1224 1225 1226 1227 1228 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 [1247] 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 1278 1279 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!